Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop DAB Car Stereos or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna

Sonichi DAB antenna for improved signal, can be easily fitted to your vehicle with magnetic mount.
Average Customer Rating:
4.653 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
44 of 46(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Review 1 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dab antenna,
January 07, 2016
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up
" chose this dab aerial over the stick on screen type as it had a better review. i have had it connected to my radio for a couple of weeks and i haven't had any signal loss and this is with it mounted inside the car on the tailgate. the length of cable is plenty for my clio but might be a bit short for bigger cars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not so good,
December 19, 2015
By
from Malvern Link, Malvern, Worcestershire WR14, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I had the other hafords one without the twist in the wire but got ripped off so replaced with this one.
with this one constant drop outs and signal drops to 1 all the time not as quarter as good.
same wire routing same position
Note to halfords bring back the older one as i worked very well
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MALVERN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible Difference,
October 04, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What an amazing difference this product has made.
I had a Pure system fitted by my local Audi garage. They used the windscreen aerial which performed OK in most towns but blipped (1-5 seconds drop) and suffered total loss in more rural areas. In short, it was poor and I thought I had wasted my money on the DAB system...and being Audi, that was a lot of money!
I decided to give this ago for the money. The difference is incredible. My signal strength and signal quality on the device have gone from massively fluctuating between 0% and 85% to almost rock-solid 100% on strength and 90%-100% on quality. I mounted this on the roof, at the back, near to the existing shark-fin FM aerial and ran the cable into the boot, down to the floor, along the doors and into (behind) the glove box. The 5m cable was JUST enough. I've not experienced wind-noise that some have mentioned, probably helped by mounting it at the rear of the car.
Seriously, DAB in the car is now rock solid, just like in my other car (VW) which had factory-fit original DAB. This device has salvaged my opinion of the Audi-fitted Pure system.
For the record, I am not normally any good at fitting car wiring so for me to do this shows how easy it was. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good aerial, lead is too short for a LARGE vehicle,
September 25, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: well made, sturdy mount
Cons: cable too short for larger vehicles, price
" This is a sturdy aerial, with a strong mag-mount and a 5m lead. I have a Honda CRV, and found the lead to be 3ft too short when mounting the antenna on top of the vehicle at the rear left corner. I took the shortest route to the stereo head unit that I could (which was pretty direct). For me, I would have scored higher if the lead had been 6m. Otherwise worked well after I had cut and spliced in an extra length of cable from another DAB antenna, with addition of hear shrink tubing to make it a neat job. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Reception,
September 25, 2015
By
from Kettering, Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reception, price
Cons: can't find one
" I got this Antenna to replace a windscreen mounted one that was next to useless , I was a little concerned that this would be a waste of money and not up to the job because it was cheaper than the one it was replacing .
How wrong was I , Where I live there is next to no DAB coverage and the old windscreen one failed to pick up stations apart from the 6 strongest BBC ones but these would quickly drop out when you started to drive. This new antenna is so much better I now get over 30 stations on my Pioneer DAB head unit, my daily commute is over 30 miles across Northamptonshire and the signal is now nice and strong. Today I have travelled from home(Northants) to London and back and had no drop outs at all in 160 miles of driving
if you need an Antenna get this one it just works "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Noisy DAB Antenna in the wind,
September 23, 2015
By
from Devon, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought this DAB Antenna yesterday for my new car stereo and one thing I will say about this it's it's really noisy that is caused by the wind when you drive. if you go over 40 MPH I had to turn the music up loud so I couldn't here the whistling coming from top of my car. It's a bit of a silly design because it has a coil and the wind blows through it causing what I would call unacceptable noise. It works well enough but the wind noise will drive you nuts. I've fixed the problem now by wrapping insulation tape around the coil and now no wind noise. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easily fitted,
September 23, 2015
By
from Droitwich Spa, Droitwich, Worcestershire WR9, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: best for mk1 highway
" fitted this aerial to a mk1 pure highway in my 2009 x type jag estate tailgate rubber traps cable snugly with hardly any showing no water leaks even in heavy rain power is from socket under boot floor highway traps neatly behind rear headrest so no cables in car fantastic performance with no signal loss you will need some adaptors to go from smb to 2.5mm jack maplins sorted me out warning! disable highway backlight or you will be showing a bright green light through your rear screen "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Far better than I expected. Very impressed,
August 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Far better than I expected. Very impressed. It works better than the signal I get in my factory fitted DAB radio in my other car "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
June 15, 2015
By
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
" Purchased this product to use with Sonichi DAB unit,
Signal was 9 times greater than the windscreen aerial.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sonic hi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna,
June 12, 2015
By
from Didcot, Didcot, Oxfordshire OX11, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, easy fitting, sound quality
" After purchasing a Pure H240dbi stereo to replace the factory fitted stereo in my car I need to purchase a DAB Antenna. I previously had a Pure Highway portable DAB radio that used to work via a spare FM frequency and that required a roof mounted DAB antenna andd I thought I could use this to go with it, but unfortunately it wasn't compatible with the new stereo. Therefore I looked on a couple of websites and I decided to go for the Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antena and Halfords had the best price and it was also in stock. I opted for the click and collect option and it was as easy as pie. I picked up the antenna and connected it to the new stereo and had it all fitted in about half an hour. It was easy to fit, as was the stereo, and the sound quality is absolutely superb, I couldn't be any happier with this product and I cant recommend it highly enough. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sonichi mag dab aeriel,
June 07, 2015
By
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit and a good amount of lead for the pric
" great for the price , fitted on land rover traced wires under roof bar used gaffer tape now invisible , ran wire round door rubber so no wires show at all , if it was a car 5mtrs would be great but I put mine centre of roof and it left me just 3ft short but easy getting a extension and now perfect reception and no dropping CANT understand how anyone can have probs hiding wires . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BARKING
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better that active aerials,
June 05, 2015
By
from Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the best dab aerial tried, small and unobsrusive, thin coax cable
Cons: exposed cable across roof, would like a panel mount option, 5m cable not quite long enough for me
" My commute is across rural Dorset; you could say my requirement is very demanding. I have tried several aerials for my Pure Highway 300di DAB radio.
Initially I used the standard active car aerial, which worked but with drop outs.
Next I tried a Kinetic active FM/DAB aerial but that was no better than the standard car aerial; I sent the Kinetic back to the supplier.
This Sonichi mag mount is the best whereby there are no drop outs on my commute. Quite simply - it works.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DAB aerial,
May 04, 2015
By
from South of Englang
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: a solution to a problem!
" I used this aerial on our boat, 30ft sailing yacht. I have installed a Pioneer DAB radio with no CD drive as we do not want to carry a CD collection with us, just use music stored on portable devices. So far the aerial workings well. I have fitted the aerial in a locker adjacent to the radio but left enough cable to move it into the cockpit should we need better reception. As the boat has small narrow windows I this this aerial is a good option for our boat rather than the window stick on type. I hope this info helps others. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Be careful,
April 09, 2015
By
from Trowbridge, Trowbridge, Wiltshire BA14, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great signal, excellent value for money compared to windscreen, discreet
Cons: bit of a faff to route wires around car
" This is an excellent aerial for signal.
I bought this to replace the autoleads windscreen mount aerial. I opted not to go for the autoleads aerial again for a couple of reasons:
1. the orientation is not correct; it was quite clearly made to be placed on the left hand side of the vehicle, which is not all that practical in a right hand drive (UK model) car.
2. the signal dropped out fairly regularly
THIS AERIAL, the Sonichi magnetic roof mount aerial (incidentally, the same make as the head unit I have), is a bit of a faff to install if trying to hide wires or avoid wires being passed between door and jamb, BUT the signal is much better. I am in an area which I thought I had quite patchy signal using the windscreen aerial, but is very good using the Sonichi.
My only word of warning is to avoid moving it too much during the fitting process; the magnet is so strong that it stuck to the car and the aerial came away in my hand (the glue wasn't strong enough to hold the aerial). It stuck back down, but I am a little wary that it might not be very secure in the future. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value aerial, nice and discrete,
March 24, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size - nice and small
" Dont buy the Sonachi 100 DAB kit without this aerial. I opted at first for a window mounted aerial but this was very poor reception. This aerial comes in loud and clear. Lots of cable to work with and easy to fit. Worked better on the roof than in the car for me, although I hear some fit this in the car boot. It really isnt that big at all, very thin and discrete. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good antenna,
March 24, 2015
By
from London UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" bought this together with the Sonichi dab adaptor, reception is ok, so far so good, thanks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAYES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DAB aerial,
March 07, 2015
By
from Skegness, Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the design of this great little aerial, fantastic reception
Cons: cable length is to short for my car
" I purchased this aerial to go with my new Pure DAB in car system, it works fantastic with the unit and easy to install/connect using the SMB connector, The only down side is the 5 meter of cable isn't long enough to reach from the rear of the boot all the way to the head unit once tucked behind the panels/sills etc on my 2005 Ford Mondeo Estate which mean until I find a 1 meter long SMB extention cable the wire has had to be put under my drivers seat to cut the corner off. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing1,
February 23, 2015
By
from Eastbourne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great little arial at a great price, much better tha n glass mounted arial, and no drop out, highly recommended!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Aerial,
February 12, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good aerial, easy to fit and no dropout of signal. Would recommend to everyone with a DAB Radio. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product and good value.,
February 02, 2015
By
from Swindon, Swindon, Swindon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this product from Halford online after reading thereviews, it was exactly what the reviews said. Easy to install better reception than the windscreen I had before. No complicated power connection like the active windscreen. This product worth every penny I paid. I will highly recommend it to anyone thinking of installing DAB antenna receiver. Thanks to the reviewers they made me buy this product and really happy for the product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>