Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna

Sonichi DAB antenna for improved signal, can be easily fitted to your vehicle with magnetic mount.
Average Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
52 of 54(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Review 1 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement aerial for active windscreen type,
May 02, 2016
By
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This gives far better reception, even used inside car, than the active windscreen fixed type it replaced. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little thing,
April 30, 2016
By
from Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Very good little aerial for the best DAB reception! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So easy,
March 29, 2016
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great buy great price, and easy to fit, well made.
Gave me 98% signal strength and 97% signal quality.
Result works a treat in my wifes Smart Car.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works in my mini,
March 25, 2016
By
from Exeter, Exeter, Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After having a dab windscreen type antenna which did not last long I have tried this sonichi antenna, and it works great pure dab sound without any interference or breaks it sits on the back shelf very discretly so my good old style mini gets some great music. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (SIDWELL STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Product, Great Price.,
March 13, 2016
By
from Bracknell, Bracknell Forest, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, price
Cons: none found!
" I purchased this DAB aerial after getting poor reception with the supplied default aerial that sticks on the inside of windscreen (Wasn't getting many stations & bubbly sounds)
I then tried another internal aerial with similar results so I decided to give this one a go, long story short, I wish I'd gone with this one in the first place!
I've mounted this on my boot lid & fed the lead via the boot & under the carpet through to the DAB unit at the dash, the lead is plenty long enough at 5 metres (had to loop the lead under the rear seat)
The signal/reception went up from the low 30s up to 80+% with loads of stations being picked really clearly!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic dab antenna,
March 05, 2016
By
from Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: long cable and strong magnet.
" On a long road trip from Hampshire to Harrogate the only time we lost dab signal was when we where driving though Newbury. We brought this antenna because the supplied antenna that came with our smart dab system is rubbish. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best,
February 29, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having had this aerial recommended to me from various DAB radio sites, I wanted to try this out for myself. It's actually smaller than I thought but works perfectly. Flawless DAB radio reception- this is also one of the only aerials available with 5 m of flex which is incredibly useful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? TOTTENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great solution,
February 26, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This picked up a huge range of stations even just parked on my driveway with the aerial in my lap, so I've actually just placed it on the parcel shelf rather than fitted it outside. I've only had a couple of drop-outs since and that was going under bridges and through tunnels. This is a far better solution for me than ones that adhere to the windscreen because the glass in my Scenic is heat-reflective, which blocks the signal. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dab antenna,
January 07, 2016
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up
" chose this dab aerial over the stick on screen type as it had a better review. i have had it connected to my radio for a couple of weeks and i haven't had any signal loss and this is with it mounted inside the car on the tailgate. the length of cable is plenty for my clio but might be a bit short for bigger cars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not so good,
December 19, 2015
By
from Malvern Link, Malvern, Worcestershire WR14, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I had the other hafords one without the twist in the wire but got ripped off so replaced with this one.
with this one constant drop outs and signal drops to 1 all the time not as quarter as good.
same wire routing same position
Note to halfords bring back the older one as i worked very well
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MALVERN
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible Difference,
October 04, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What an amazing difference this product has made.
I had a Pure system fitted by my local Audi garage. They used the windscreen aerial which performed OK in most towns but blipped (1-5 seconds drop) and suffered total loss in more rural areas. In short, it was poor and I thought I had wasted my money on the DAB system...and being Audi, that was a lot of money!
I decided to give this ago for the money. The difference is incredible. My signal strength and signal quality on the device have gone from massively fluctuating between 0% and 85% to almost rock-solid 100% on strength and 90%-100% on quality. I mounted this on the roof, at the back, near to the existing shark-fin FM aerial and ran the cable into the boot, down to the floor, along the doors and into (behind) the glove box. The 5m cable was JUST enough. I've not experienced wind-noise that some have mentioned, probably helped by mounting it at the rear of the car.
Seriously, DAB in the car is now rock solid, just like in my other car (VW) which had factory-fit original DAB. This device has salvaged my opinion of the Audi-fitted Pure system.
For the record, I am not normally any good at fitting car wiring so for me to do this shows how easy it was. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good aerial, lead is too short for a LARGE vehicle,
September 25, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: well made, sturdy mount
Cons: cable too short for larger vehicles, price
" This is a sturdy aerial, with a strong mag-mount and a 5m lead. I have a Honda CRV, and found the lead to be 3ft too short when mounting the antenna on top of the vehicle at the rear left corner. I took the shortest route to the stereo head unit that I could (which was pretty direct). For me, I would have scored higher if the lead had been 6m. Otherwise worked well after I had cut and spliced in an extra length of cable from another DAB antenna, with addition of hear shrink tubing to make it a neat job. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Reception,
September 25, 2015
By
from Kettering, Kettering, Northamptonshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: reception, price
Cons: can't find one
" I got this Antenna to replace a windscreen mounted one that was next to useless , I was a little concerned that this would be a waste of money and not up to the job because it was cheaper than the one it was replacing .
How wrong was I , Where I live there is next to no DAB coverage and the old windscreen one failed to pick up stations apart from the 6 strongest BBC ones but these would quickly drop out when you started to drive. This new antenna is so much better I now get over 30 stations on my Pioneer DAB head unit, my daily commute is over 30 miles across Northamptonshire and the signal is now nice and strong. Today I have travelled from home(Northants) to London and back and had no drop outs at all in 160 miles of driving
if you need an Antenna get this one it just works "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Noisy DAB Antenna in the wind,
September 23, 2015
By
from Devon, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought this DAB Antenna yesterday for my new car stereo and one thing I will say about this it's it's really noisy that is caused by the wind when you drive. if you go over 40 MPH I had to turn the music up loud so I couldn't here the whistling coming from top of my car. It's a bit of a silly design because it has a coil and the wind blows through it causing what I would call unacceptable noise. It works well enough but the wind noise will drive you nuts. I've fixed the problem now by wrapping insulation tape around the coil and now no wind noise. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWTON ABBOT
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easily fitted,
September 23, 2015
By
from Droitwich Spa, Droitwich, Worcestershire WR9, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: best for mk1 highway
" fitted this aerial to a mk1 pure highway in my 2009 x type jag estate tailgate rubber traps cable snugly with hardly any showing no water leaks even in heavy rain power is from socket under boot floor highway traps neatly behind rear headrest so no cables in car fantastic performance with no signal loss you will need some adaptors to go from smb to 2.5mm jack maplins sorted me out warning! disable highway backlight or you will be showing a bright green light through your rear screen "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Far better than I expected. Very impressed,
August 27, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Far better than I expected. Very impressed. It works better than the signal I get in my factory fitted DAB radio in my other car "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
June 15, 2015
By
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting
" Purchased this product to use with Sonichi DAB unit,
Signal was 9 times greater than the windscreen aerial.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sonic hi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna,
June 12, 2015
By
from Didcot, Didcot, Oxfordshire OX11, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, easy fitting, sound quality
" After purchasing a Pure H240dbi stereo to replace the factory fitted stereo in my car I need to purchase a DAB Antenna. I previously had a Pure Highway portable DAB radio that used to work via a spare FM frequency and that required a roof mounted DAB antenna andd I thought I could use this to go with it, but unfortunately it wasn't compatible with the new stereo. Therefore I looked on a couple of websites and I decided to go for the Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antena and Halfords had the best price and it was also in stock. I opted for the click and collect option and it was as easy as pie. I picked up the antenna and connected it to the new stereo and had it all fitted in about half an hour. It was easy to fit, as was the stereo, and the sound quality is absolutely superb, I couldn't be any happier with this product and I cant recommend it highly enough. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sonichi mag dab aeriel,
June 07, 2015
By
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit and a good amount of lead for the pric
" great for the price , fitted on land rover traced wires under roof bar used gaffer tape now invisible , ran wire round door rubber so no wires show at all , if it was a car 5mtrs would be great but I put mine centre of roof and it left me just 3ft short but easy getting a extension and now perfect reception and no dropping CANT understand how anyone can have probs hiding wires . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BARKING
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better that active aerials,
June 05, 2015
By
from Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the best dab aerial tried, small and unobsrusive, thin coax cable
Cons: exposed cable across roof, would like a panel mount option, 5m cable not quite long enough for me
" My commute is across rural Dorset; you could say my requirement is very demanding. I have tried several aerials for my Pure Highway 300di DAB radio.
Initially I used the standard active car aerial, which worked but with drop outs.
Next I tried a Kinetic active FM/DAB aerial but that was no better than the standard car aerial; I sent the Kinetic back to the supplier.
This Sonichi mag mount is the best whereby there are no drop outs on my commute. Quite simply - it works.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (RINGWOOD RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>