Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna

The Sonichi DAB antenna for improved signal, can be easily fitted to your vehicle with its magnetic mount.
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Review 1 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value and performance,
April 04, 2014
By dj45
from KINROSS
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy fit, bargain price, great fm reception
Cons: none
"This aerial has solved my poor FM reception on my 2010 Ford Focus. So easy to fit and the cable is plenty long enough.Only thing I had to do was fit an ISO plug as my radio is not DAB. My wife is over the moon with the good reception."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolute Bargain,
April 03, 2014
By djmf
from KINROSS
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: super easy fitting
"This aerial picks up FM signals really strongly. Better than my 2010 Ford Focus Aerial Which really struggled with Radio 2. My wifes favourite ride to work with Chris Evans show in the morning. Its great. My radio is not Dab. The only thing that I had to do is fit an ISO plug in place of the original. You only have to do this if you have a standard FM/AM radio.DAB radios are ok with the standard plug type.First class aerial at a bargain price.Fitting is foolproof and the cable is long enough to fit the longest car built."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
February 16, 2014
By wetrix
from portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the price, easy to install
Cons: no cons
"i had one of those stick on window antenna you get with the radio system which is rubbish keeps cutting out etc, i then read the reviews on this aerial but because of the price of it didnt think it would be that good, how wrong i was , no more cutting out and can get more radio stations than before and only takes 5 minutes to install, would recommend this to anyone"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy!,
February 13, 2014
By mmd249
from Aberdeen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value, easy to install, works perfectly
"I bought one of the Halfords "Autoleads" t-bar internal , powered aerials, thinking powered would make it great. Most I got driving about town as 3 bars of signal, and it frequently dropped out. I decided to try this magnetic exterior antenna based on the reviews. Easy to fit, and have maximum signals more or less all the time, dropping to 4 occasionally when driving about.
As this was cheaper than the other one, I am very impressed with its performance"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than an on-glass or amplified one,
December 14, 2013
By NikNikNik
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent performance, good price, easy to fit, long cable
"As a radio ham, I know that you can't beat an external antenna fitted properly (ie drilled) to the roof of a car using the car's body as a groundplane which is just as important as the antenna itself. Second best is a magmount as it is electronically bonded to the roof by it's proximity to the metal. Worst, are the on glass ones that only have a very small groundplane, or rely on sticking something to the A-pillar to try and make an electrical contact.
Anyway, I got an on-glass one free with my radio. I tried it. It was ok in the North West of England. I had some dropouts when going up and down local hills. But I was suitably surprised that it performed as well as it did.
Sick of the dropouts, I tried this mag mount. The cable is long enough that it will reach from the boot of an estate car, all the way under the headlining, down the A pillar and to the stereo.
Wow, the difference was amazing. Retuning bought in stations that the other hadn't heard and I haven't had a single drop out on the ones I listen too.
It unscrews too so you don't need to worry about it being nicked, or getting washed in a car wash!
Good price, easy to fit and excellent performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use, good reception,
December 01, 2013
By Chrisdw
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"cannot compare to other antennas, but i always have good signal with this aerial.
only had just enough cable, and i have a small car, extension may be needed for estate cars.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is really good,
November 22, 2013
By Vinnie87
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had a areial that came with my sony radio that you stick on the inside of the window screen it was rubbish and could never get reception but now I purchased this one and it works great really happy with it never loose reception and at the price it's a steal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good,
November 22, 2013
By martg
from derbyshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: nice and easy
"good magnet on ariel very easy to fit and hide the wires imroved my reception greatly impressed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ASHBOURNE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wish i bought earlier,
October 20, 2013
By baboon1624
from Lancashire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When I got my dab radio I bought the in side stick to windscreen type and was a bit dissapointed by reception in my area of the north west. My wife got a car with dab fitted and realised its not the reception in the area. Bought this aerial after reading some reviews and was not disspointed at all so much better than my old one. Just buy it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sonichi External DAB Aerial,
October 16, 2013
By K9DBW
from Newport, Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
Cons: nothing
"Easy to fit. Just place on the roof and thread through door rubbers. Attach to DAB Radio and Bob's your uncle. Great reception on my Pure Highway."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and easy to install,
October 08, 2013
By Jonboy23
from Norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: no loss of signal
Cons: fear of it falling off on motorways
"Purchased this prduct as my previous one stopped working. All I can say is I'm glad I bought this one."
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dave,
September 29, 2013
By del70ta
from okehampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have no hesitation in recommending this antenna,easy to fit, strong mag mount,excellent signal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? EXETER (RYDON LANE RTL PK)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good solution,
August 01, 2013
By ForestFred
from Forest of Dean
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent reception in low and medium signal areas
"When the radio was fitted I used an internal T-bar antenna which was useless. Replaced with this and it is fantastic. I can now get a signal virtually anywhere.
I used the Halfords fitting service and it took no more than 20 minutes. The lead is hidden in the door seal and there is only a little bit of lead visible."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what more do you want,
June 27, 2013
By Sloseph
from Lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"it looks great, it's easy to fit, just give the roof of your car a bit of a wipe and then stick this on
i've run my through the boot of my 1997 Polo and it reaches the head unit just fine but i would thing if you had a bigger car you might need something a little longer"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (WRAGBY RD)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased!,
March 15, 2013
By Daveytn
from Minster, Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to install, awesome reception
"I bought this for my DEH-X8500DAB radio as it didn't come with one, and I'm very pleased with it. Amazing reception gives me access to LOADS of DAB stations!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moderate signal booster,
March 06, 2013
By M4commuter
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: stronger rx signal compared to glass mount antenna, stays stuck to the roof on the motorway
Cons: not retractable
"I bought a Sony DAB from Halfords, which came with a 'sensitive' glass mountable antenna. The manufacturer's antenna worked okay except on DAB regional area fringes. With this antenna the fringes overlap nicely. If you are techy you get somewhere between 3 - 6dBi gain over the Sony glass mounted antenna. It won't improve DAB reception in poor coverage areas though, more transmitters are needed to fix that."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonichi Magnetic Roof Mount DAB Antenna
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bad reception solved,
January 22, 2013
By gram4321
from scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great reception, 5metre lead, strong magnet, slim build, easy fit to rear of vehicle, thin lead helps easy routing from rear to front of, good price
Cons: nothing i dont like as it solved my problem
"I have a pure 300di dab radio which i recently bought from halfords ,it came with a window fitted aerial which looked the part but i found the reception to be so poor.
So i eventually bought this external Sonichi roof mount aerial,
Fitted it and the signal went straight up to 100% reading on the radio information screen., used to be around 40%.
Now reception is just so good it has made what i thought was
a poor quality radio into a great radio.
I noticed that the pure 300di radio sold by halfords no longer comes with this window aerial , and i can now see why.
So i thought i would publish this review in case anyone else had poor reception with the pure 300di car radio or for that matter other car dab radios.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.