Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth

Philips CarStudio Mech-less Car media docking system CMD305A Dock for Android
Average Customer Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Review 1 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product for a good price,
December 27, 2013
By Schiwago
from Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: charging my phone, big buttons on the phones app
"The built quality seems good. I believe it is good value for money. It has all features and some more for a radio in this price range. Unfortunatly, it says no-where that your phone connects to the radio via bluetooth and NOT via usb port. The usb port is purly for charging, which is very handy. The free Philips "Car Studio" app works well. Except, that is not clear from the description that your phone actually needs bluetooth to connect to the radio, I can not find any fault with it. Works very well. On some older phones where the usb port is a bit worn, it can be tricky to get the phone in the cradle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
looks cool,
December 24, 2013
By hole
from berkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cool looks
Cons: bluetooth has to be set up everytime you power on
"Great car stereo really great value. Easy to install with easy to follow instructions. Only downside is everytime you turn on power you have to select bluetooth manually. Shame the app dont allow you to use spotify. But hey still good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good ... for the price,
December 24, 2013
By CodeThief
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: sturdy dock, fast bluetooth handshake, price
Cons: no steering control integration, very few audio tweaks, fixed faceplate
"This is a brilliant idea for a simple car head-unit and mostly well executed. The build quality of the device is actually better than I expected considering the price but it's a shame there isn't a way to remove the faceplate :(
You'll need to make sure the head-unit is fitted into a substantial centre console as you need to give the dock a good pull to lock it in place. I have a flimsy plastic dash converter in my Focus and the head-unit pulls out every time I move the dock!
The audio quality is acceptable which is a good job as there really isn't anything you can do to adjust it other than turning on a MAX BASS setting!
I really wish there was a way of integrating steering controls but the buttons on the front are accessible enough.
Overall I'm very pleased with this head-unit but would like a little more tweakability!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic value for money!,
December 24, 2013
By chrissignmaker
from hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had this stereo installed and was shocked at how good it was! Boost sound quality multi functional charges my phone the lot. Never need a CD again thanks to this stereo. Can't go wrong at the price! Very happy and well recommended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Buy!!,
December 23, 2013
By pellequelle2
from Kilmarnock
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: hands free calls, plays music great, charges my phone when i'm driving, gives sat nav instructions from my phone
Cons: nothing!
"Great product, easy to use and operate. The way car stereos should be."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great quality made product,
December 22, 2013
By Tony2013
from Bolton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price & quality
Cons: fiddely to connect with the usb slot
"I have had this items installed into my car
when the phone app connects it is a fantastic stereo.
you have to configure the developer features of your android phone to enable your screen to stay on whilst plugged into a usb charger.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome stereo if you're an Android geek!,
December 13, 2013
By Blackfish
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have a Galaxy S4 and this fits and connects perfectly. The holder is very sturdy and charges the phone at the same time, which is great, as you don't have to worry about. After drain if your using GPS and streaming music over bluetooth at the same time. It's also way better than any cheap phone cradle from eBay!
All in all very pleased and would definitely recommend it to anyone who rarely uses CDs anymore. Controls are simple and it's well built. The sound quality is great too, good bass and clear tones. I wouldn't hesitate buying another should I need to."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great,
December 12, 2013
By Eldin
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it works
Cons: radio connction
"does what it says on the tin,
also works with my windows phone!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SKEGNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
just ok,
December 12, 2013
By schuee5
from Craigavon
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: decent phone holder
Cons: poor interface app
"Not a great product very awkward to use and dangerous to be playing about with your phone while on the move. Also kept changing settings on galaxy s4."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
December 12, 2013
By Dan7476
from Kings lynn
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good product and helpful staff, had issues with my order in store but did their upmost to sort it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? KINGS LYNN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fab sound system,
December 12, 2013
By nay89
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this for my partner and he is VERY hard to please. He was over the moon with it :) the sound is fantastic and he loves not having to use a wire to plug his phone in anymore :) looks lovely and smart :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great, but...,
December 08, 2013
By Stevenm
from Dublin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sound
Cons: lack of security panel
"Great system, I bought it and I'm happy I did, however it's let down by a couple of things, firstly, the phone dock drawer is a bit clunk click- everytime I open it I think I'm gonna break it. then there's the micro usb connector, its for a phone with dead centre mounting, mine are offset. it does come with a lead but you buy this to be wireless....
next is the lack of a face off panel, which will encourage any dead loss into smashing my window and stealing my lovely radio. the unit has great connectivity-usb, 3.5 etc and even makes paper speakers sound decent however I would recommend the simpler bluetooth unit, I find I'm leaving my phone in my pocket anyway..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SWORDS (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great idea - why isn't there any more like this?,
December 06, 2013
By Anonymous
from Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the phone dock, the quality, sound features
Cons: screen size, phone might block screen on rhd cars. made for lhd, number keys may be small for some
"Great looks and features. No need to have a windscreen mount anymore and no need for my broken ipod adaptor!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mistake,
December 02, 2013
By Pewe369
from Camberley
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I could kick myself for not checking the box when purchased.
I asked for a system for iPod/iPhone, was given the Android/USB version instead and .... my mistake : I did not check the box I gave as a present for my daughter who had it installed and is disappointed that her iPhone does not fit
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
-12points
0out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good, but,
August 02, 2013
By Ajdhfh
from liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This radio is very good, but, there is a negative point.
I'd love there to be a DAB radio, but that's probably being greedy.
The negative point is, when I dock my phone it changes the settings on my phone, which need changing back for me to be able to use my phone, even whilst docked.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
htc one issues,
July 25, 2013
By weavers
from bedford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great stereo and the dock is very sturdy but the HTC one will not fit the dock as it's usb is on the far bottom right. The Phillips dock usb is right in the middle.
With the supplied mini usb to mini usb plugged in,it actually prevents it sitting on the doc. The cable would work for a side usb android phone.
It's a real shame as it looks and feels very well made
Anyone with a android with the usb in the bottom middle or side it would be great"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shame about the dock!,
July 17, 2013
By MrOwl
from Buckinghamshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, excellent sound and reception, stable bluetooth
Cons: dock connector wrong way round fro htc android pho, display a little small and hard to see in daylight
"What a great piece of kit and a very nice price. This is an easy to fit, excellent sounding, made for Android phones product and I would give 5 stars all round if it was not for the fact that the connector on the dock is the wrong way round ! Or at least it is for both my HTC Desire HD and HTC Desire S phones. I can connect of course using the suppleid mini USB lead but that is not the point, it does not do exactly what it says on the tin."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fitted into 01-05 Honda civic.,
July 03, 2013
By Jambassy
from Newry
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: hands free system, practicality, no need for c.ds, usb & aux in, great sound, free app
Cons: not flush with dash, dock needs some force to extract, unit flexes not the best fit, sun glare disrupts display
"Great service, the overall product is very good.
Pro's:
- Eliminates c.d's saving a lot of space,
- Hands free system is brilliant,
- the app is free and useful
- usb, & aux in,
- charges the phone
Cons:
- Unit sticks out from the dash about half an inch,
- Sun glare can limit the display on the unit which mostly does not matter since the phone displays and controls the entire unit.
- Dock is far from elegant, the force required to eject and retract the dock is quite at comfortable at first, but will eventually get used to it.
- unit flexes so it is not the best fit.
Overall the pros outnumber the cons, I will not be changing for another unit in the future I am pleased overall."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Car media system,
June 17, 2013
By MikeMJM
from Middlesbrough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product excellent features but the android dock requires phone to be attached in upright position, my car has a protruding dash board lip so very difficult to get phone attached. You need to have a dash board that is flat above the unit for the height of your phone otherwise you will struggle. This is not mentioned in the specs."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? COULBYNEWHAM
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Philips CMD305A Android/USB/Bluetooth
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Philips CMD305A,
May 26, 2013
By monkey34
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Hold is good and unit works well well samsung S" and Ace."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>