Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Speed Camera Detectors or
Choose a Category

Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription

Road Angel Gem automatically updates safety camera and blackspot locations every few minutes
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
4
17 of 23(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Review 1 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Road angel,
December 16, 2013
By Anonymous
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have found this product to be informative when you activate all the features some times you have to look at the device as some times it does not tell you but you get flashing images to look at the first road angel I purchased froze I took it back I was given the choice of a refund or a new unit took the chance and had a new unit this appears to be working fine the in car charger caused my fuse to blow in both my cars took that back gave me a new one appears to be working fine now"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice features.,
December 09, 2013
By Hemm15
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This was purchased for my wife who found it very easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (FOLESHILL RD)
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good product, poor service,
December 01, 2013
By IanCat
from Gloucester
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: product functionality
Cons: service at halfords
"Ordered and reserved this product at Stroud. Came to collect it and was given the unit in a battered, half-open box. Not impressed,but they said they only had one.
Got it home to find the USB power cable was the wrong one. All the back to Stroud so they could find the right cable. I did wonder if I was being sold a used one as new....
Product itself works fine, does all it says...just won't buy from Halfords again"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Best of a bad bunch,
November 23, 2013
By grpservices
from Merseyside
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: display, has most cameras on it
Cons: poor firmware, inaccurate, awkward menus
"Poor menu structure, not as easy to use as it could be.
It is supposed to live update and therefore never out if date but it seems to think the M6 till road is a 50 limit with average speed cameras along it.
Had to turn it off as you can't remove the alarm. You can't update the database as it won't let you enter the menu when an alert is in progress, even a 10 mile long one.
Quite frustrating. However, 85-90% of the roads it got right.
Shame as better firmware would elevate this product to " essential".
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road Angel or the Devil,
October 09, 2013
By pjsooty
from mansfield
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Not sure how to rate this product in theory it is an excellent product but I am having issues with it the warnings are good and the system updates all the time which can only be a good thing. The main problem is the system sticks and locks it has been such a problem I have returned the unit for a replacement. I wanted to stick with the product because when it is working it is good but if this unit does the same then a refund would be required as I would have given it a fair chance and it was recommended by Auto Express."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would be 5* if not for failure of first unit,
October 08, 2013
By BournemouthJeremy
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Works fantastically - first unit failed after 4 hours use - replaced quickly by halfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road Angel,
October 03, 2013
By Anonymous
from dewsbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you have a built in satnav then this is a must have item, its been really useful in my new Insignia"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dissapointment,
October 02, 2013
By Orbs
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"With recent speeding points on my licence I researched what I 'thought' would be the best product to buy. Sadly this isnt it. Absolute garbage!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-15points
5out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Road Angle Gem Camera Detector,
September 30, 2013
By nothappyboy46
from Hailham
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have just purchased this Road Angle latest model after seeing a friends who had an earlier model.
The one i have has proved very poor in comparison the view screen is smaller and is very dull to view and the in car charger lead is only 32 inches long and will not reach the power supply socket on my new Fiesta model and i suspect many other cars WHY so short a lead supplied ?
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWHAVEN
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sounds cheap,
September 12, 2013
By ro88ygh
from East Midlands
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good warnings well in advance
Cons: the tinny almost distorted sound
"Having previously owned and used Road Angel compact and having bought a new car, I thought I would update to this model. The overall performance seems to be working well but the poor sound output is really annoying
It does what it's meant to do and does it well
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Invaluable except when it's sunny,
July 14, 2013
By Dr7Evil
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: accurate
Cons: illegible in sunlight
"It's not even worth trying to read the screen in bright sunlight"
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful product but might be faulty,
June 18, 2013
By Mair
from South Wales
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: clear display, easy set up, magnetic dashboard mount
Cons: lacks a visual warning when over the speed limit, sticky pad to attach base-plate to the dash
"I'm using the Road Angel Gem every time I drive so that I always know the speed limit and can read my exact speed at a glance instead of using the car's speedometer. Having used it for just a few weeks, I would now feel lost without it.
The safety camera van warnings are useful but trigger whether or not a van is actually there, which I think is ok. I would rather a false warning than more points on my licence.
My one problem was that I had to return the first unit I bought when it stopped working within two days of purchase. I'd read other reviews that also mentioned this issue so I'd taken the precaution of buying from Halfords so that I knew I would be able to return the product to a local shop if it developed a fault. So far, the second unit has worked well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CAERPHILLY
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor effort from road angel,
June 11, 2013
By Gn05
from Beds
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have used road angel products for many years now and have found them very good, not the case this time with the gem, I had it 2 days and experiencing issues already, the unit keeps turning itself off and several times I have found it won't even turn on, even by resetting it, the screen is so dim you can't see it in bright sunlight, the speaker is so tinny it's annoying, the charging cable is too short, constant false alerts, road speeds are incorrect, the buttons are not responsive, I could go on, I will be sending it back at the weekend for a refund, this unit does not justify the price, there is much better products out there!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road Angel Gem.,
May 26, 2013
By XH558
from Sawbridgeworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid construction, fast boot up time, good mag mount and adhesive pad sticks like ......, +ve action on the buttons, e alert if you crash.
Cons: flashes up hazards which distract s, smaller numerals
"Got this as a secondary Speedometer as I'm an ADI. Had a Road Angel Plus previously but it got stolen. Then recovered after I bought this one.
This acquires satellites much faster than my old unit. Pupils prefered the old unit as it only displayed the speed in bigger numerals.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Road Angel Gem camera detector,
May 12, 2013
By Phil1940
from Nottingham
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: the way it looks, colour screen
Cons: the way it works or sounds, mount stuck to dash messy when removed
"Brought this item Friday 10/5/2013. Stopped working in any way on Sunday 12/5/2013. Speed kept jumping up and down to the point it could not be relied upon to even be used with any trust. Voice was so tinny it's got to be a joke. Could not and would not recommend wasting your time or money on this product until they have sorted out some issues with it. Does not even have red light speed cameras on the device returning to Halfords for a refund ASAP"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Road Angel Gem Camera Detector,
March 20, 2013
By thfcn17
from thfcn17
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"seems like a very good product but the subcriptions are a lot of money.the unit itself picks up police camera vans when no van is there which can be a bit of a pain but better to warn you than not. only been using for a few weeks so a bit early to say how good but so far so good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Bit of Kit,
March 12, 2013
By monkeymagic99999999999999
from Bath
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This is a good bit of kit but an absolutely awful mounting. A sticky mounting is no use if you haven't got a flat dashboard or want to use the unit in different cars.
That out of the way the unit works well and picks up camera zones (i've only tried it locally but it seems to pick up all the ones I kinow about and a few that I dont! (Never seen a van there in 30 years).
The warning beeps are a bit intrusive and go on forever. However as I bought it as a warning device it's better it leans toward over rather than under notification."
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FROME
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The gem has all the features I was looking for,
March 07, 2013
By Anonymous
from Condorrat
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: information is very good
Cons: tinny sound
"The unit is additional to my built in Sat Nav in the Prius and gives me alerts and tells me what the speed limit is at all times.
Some difficulty registering as PayPal said subscription paid – Road Angel site said it was not. Quick phone call to a friendly lady sorted this out.
The speaker is small – speech and alerts are clear but tinny.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CUMBERNAULD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
poor stuff,
February 20, 2013
By Jeez
from Luton
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"When you pay good sum for a poor product it always hurts. Build quality is horrible. Dash mont is bad. Too many false mobile camera warnings. No flashing screen to warn if you turn the irretating voice off or listening to loud music. Waste of money. Going to return mine first thing in morning. I am going back my old road angel plus which is a lot better."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Road Angel Gem Camera Detector + 4 months free subscription
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very useful bit of kit,
February 17, 2013
By neldogg
from middlesbrough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"im enjoying using this device it makes you more aware of your speed and gives an accurate speed which is interessting to see the tolerance your car speedo has. easy to use and set up only bad point is that it will go nuts every now and then sayin there is a mobile speed camera van but it is actually a point where the mobile camera vans are known to sit but you can choose to switch it off. other than that its spot on"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>