Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket

The Halfords Wicker Bike Basket adds a traditional look to your bicycle.
Average Customer Rating:
2.692 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
6 of 13(46%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Review 1 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money,
September 18, 2014
By Grace14
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: cant hold any weight, bracket isn't strong enough, waste of money
"Awful product, for the money it is appalling. I used it for two days attached to my Raleigh bike, to put my bag in on my way to work. Noticed on the third day, the bracket on the bike had broken from the weight of holding one bag. The screw had just popped out, and there was no way of fixing it. It wobbles loads and just doesn't feel safe. Its annoying as it was a birthday present and i feel bad replacing it, but its broken after two days. A metal bracket would be a lot more substantial and the plastic one of this just snapped in two."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picking up my second basket after many years of using No 1,
August 01, 2014
By ettenaj
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: nice and deep
"I was really surprised to read the other negative views. I have just ordered a replacement for the same basket I have had for many years. Yes, it is now falling apart but it has had many years of use and has been left out in the rain and wind many times. I love the quick release and the fact that I can carry it off when shopping. I guess it wouldn't do a heavy shop but it has been fine for my use of a few bits and pieces, my bag, my jack russell on occasion, my heavy bike lock and a coat. It is also nice and deep."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only for show,
July 02, 2014
By Pendleton
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this last year with my new pendleton bike. Looks great but sadly has now fallen apart and marked all my bike.
Great if you don't put anything in it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very easy to put on,
March 09, 2014
By lindylouielou90
from hastings east sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Despite the previous reviews I thought I would give this a try- so went and purchased it today. It was easy to fix onto the front of my Rayleigh bike and to attach the basket as well. The quick release is a little stiff but this may be down to it being new. The bracket on the basket was central and not bent so I couldn't fix it.
I am very happy with this product and could ride my bike with it perfectly. Holds a flask some nibbles and a jacket very well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made,
October 17, 2013
By Beckiboo777
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the detachable feature
"I bought this for my mother as a birthday present and she was extremely pleased to receive it. It was easy to install and fitted her bike perfectly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good enough,
October 15, 2013
By Lee343
from Abingdon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good enough basket for what I need, coat and an iphone for school runs, but basket doesn't hold much weight you wouldn't be able to put too many bits of shopping in there. Looks very good and I like that you can take it off and walk to a shop with it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD (BETWEEN TOWNS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks good but not practical,
July 20, 2013
By Katerpillar
from Manchester
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: the look
Cons: the design, it isnt practical
"This was the only basket option that my local halfords stocked when I was buying my Pendleton bike so we had it fitted when I took the bike. Whilst the basket looks pretty it isn't practical and it takes very little weight. I was hoping to use this to pick up groceries but the basket tilts as you put things in so it really can't hold much"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok - but it's heavy,
July 09, 2013
By klmr14
from Surrey
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: the look
Cons: the weight
"Looks great, but very heavy on the handlebars. Generally end up not using it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbi,
July 07, 2013
By Issitt6609
from London, England
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: items that work
"Do not under any circumstances be foolish enough to buy this product.
As in previous reviews, we found the bracket easy enough to put onto the handlebars, however it is then nigh on impossible to attach the basket to the bracket.
A complete waste of time,effort & money.
P.S
I would have given this piece of tat 0 stars, however it appears that you cannot submit a review without at least 1 star.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHINGFORD
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing,
May 29, 2013
By betty82
from Central Scotland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this basket about a month ago, to encourage me to take less junk with me to the station.
The wicker is not of the best quality, but it is wicker, so you can mend it easily with cane or raffia. All the baskets in the shop seemed to have the mounting system applied off-centre.
For my bike (a 25 year old roadster) the plastic mounting system is not effective. No matter how I tightened the screws or put on tape/rubber grips to bulk out the handle bars, the basket would not stay level.
After a final 8 miles with it rubbing on the front tyre, I removed the quick release mounting system ( as a whole. I was never able to operate the quick release) and inserted some cable ties in the manner of the old leather straps.
This is a better way to mount the basket, and it now holds light weights (up to 500g). I am looking for a bike basket support, which should finally enable it to take the weight of my handbag (1.5kg, half of the stated maximum load)."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your time.,
May 05, 2013
By Nikki13
from UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: the classic styling
Cons: the quality, the difficulty to use, it supposedly carries 15litres - doubtful
"Having just bought this basket today I have to say its awful. At the checkout we spotted that the bracket (for quick release) was set off to one side, it was also a very light straw shade.. The one we swopped it for was a better colour and the bracket was screwed on more centrally, however the quality remained the same - something to be desired, bits of wicker sticking out here and there etc, but I thought for the price it was worth a try.
My partner put the bracket on the frame of the bike ok, but when trying to get the basket onto it he simply couldn't do it! Keeping in mind he is over 6ft and 16 stone it's not normal to struggle so much trying to get a simple basket on! If he could only just get it on, with loads of force, then there's no way I could do it! The problem lies with the fact the bracket on the basket curves a little - matching the slight curve of the basket, had it been flat/not bent it could've perhaps gone on easier. I'm hoping I can return it and either buy something more expensive, or buy something with leather straps.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted.,
May 03, 2013
By Bespoke212
from Burton upon Trent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the traditional look, quick release fitting
"Just what I was looking for. Picked it from the website, reserved it on-line. Got discount. Very friendly helpful staff fitted it for me at a reasonable price. All together I am chuffed to bits with it. The quick release fitting means I can take it off my bike, do my shopping and fix the whole thing back on before cycling home. Perfect!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BURTON ON TRENT
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Wicker Front Bike Basket
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wicker Bike Basket,
April 25, 2013
By lulu27
from felixstowe
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent bike basket, halfords chap fitted it which was very helpful could not fault it and would definitely recommend it, looks fab too"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FELIXSTOWE
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.