Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"

The Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike features 21-speed Shimano gearing with Shimano EZ-fire trigger shifters.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 33(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Review 1 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, light, everyday bike.,
February 21, 2013
By Speedyro
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this bike a couple of weeks ago to use for my daily commute to work. I previously had a mountain bike as, where I live is pretty remote and bumpy, but I was just finding it too slow and heavy for the city side of my journey.
The Carrera Subway is the best of both worlds. It can handle the bumps where I live yet is light and so much faster for in the city. It has made such a difference to my daily journey.
The only downside is that it just has a very slightly cheap feel to it, but then you get what you pay for. For the price it is a good, light bike perfect for a daily runabout.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18",
February 21, 2013
By NutK1
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A good quality bike at a great price.
Excellent value for money..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good quality for a great price.,
February 16, 2013
By MrMass71
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Thus far this seems like a good, sturdy bike and was seemingly great value for money. I only wanted the bike for work, rather than using my race mountain bike or my road bike (also both Carreras). I've so far had the bike two months and have experienced no problems. Performance-wise the bike is fine. A worthwhile purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera subway hybrid limited edition,
February 14, 2013
By gilmat
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had many mountain bikes in the past, but now my riding consisted mainly tow path/road cycling. I researched a lot of bikes and it was narrowed down to 2 bikes.I decided on the carrera. I have been really impressed with the bike due to its handling and comfort. Cycling it is so much more enjoyable than my mountain bikes. It was also great value for money.
I would have no hesitation in recommending it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features are very good,
February 08, 2013
By Tracey21
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: how light it is, the finish
"The gears are very simple with just a click to change them easily whilst cycling. The quality of the gears are felt instantly, for the price of the bike these gears are excellent quality. When deciding to purchase the bike I struggled with the size as I would normally have gone for the 20 inch and was worried about the 18 inch at 5 feet 9 inches its perfect its also very light and the finish is off a high standard and a good colour. It definitely exceeded my expectations."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: More than 3
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality and value,
February 03, 2013
By Bagzi44
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike is really good value for money, especially as I got it for half price. As soon as you get on the bike you can tell the quality of it.
I use this bike every day for my commute to work and have found it to be very reliable and a very smooth ride.
Highly recommended - especially for the price!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
February 01, 2013
By Min48
from Overton, Wrexham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm delighted with this bike, excellent value at half price. First class support from Bike Hut staff in Wrexham store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bargain in the sales,
January 30, 2013
By Hubert1917
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: frame
Cons: rear gears old design
"Great bike with reasonable components for the price.
Rear gears are the old freehub design so not compatible with the current cassette design. Work fine but could limit your choices if you need to replace it in the future."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great road bike,
January 29, 2013
By Stunty
from Bristol. UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the frame, the wheels, the gears
Cons: brake pads
"This bike is perfect for towns and city journeys, like going to work. I brought this bike for the quality, you got for your money. Its a light bike so makes daily commutes to work very quick and enjoyable, together with a very smooth and comfortable ride. My wife rode the bike and wants to buy one for herself."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike, great price,
January 27, 2013
By Jononz
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great bike and I am very pleased with its performance. Buy buy buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
January 27, 2013
By kfr153
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i have just bought this bike and i love it the gear shifts are realy smooth and its just great to ride"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carrera subway ltd edition,
January 26, 2013
By Maynardia
from Sudbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money, quality, brakes & gears, t & a
"what can I say Haverhill's Matt was a revalation, excellent Customer Service throughout and really great bike.
Weather has prevented a real test but all looks excellent value for money.
well done Haverhill Halfords brilliant customer service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality,
January 24, 2013
By Cody22
from Bournemouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent. recommended, got the bike for half price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
subway,
January 23, 2013
By jontchef
from preston
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"good bike,no problems at all. feels sturdy and comfortable and im a big bloke.tough enough to bounce up a few kerbs"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super subway,
January 22, 2013
By Matthews123
from Northampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A great price in the sales . I wanted something light so I could get it on top if the car. Something that would last. A a bike that I could take out with my five year old and then also go our on my own for a longer ride . This bike ticks all the boxes"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value in the January Half price sale.,
January 20, 2013
By JimmyBeeJames
from Bradford UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent gear change, fairly light, feels well made
Cons: boring colour scheme
"I bought this bike for my 16 year old nephew. He loves it. I've had a ride to see how it feels. The bike handles really well and the gear changes are very smooth. It's not a top of the range Hybrid, but for commuting, or for a young person to get around on, it's an excellent bike. I'm not so sure it's fantastic value at full price, but in the sale it's really superb value. It's fairly light and feels robust, and the components look of a good quality. The gears are excellent, and very low ranging, so if you want a bike to get up the hills, this one will certainly do. In fact, if I had space for another bike, I would get one for myself, it's ideal for towpaths etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hybrid Bike,
January 19, 2013
By SteveL61
from Sheffield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hybred features
"This product was purchased for my daughter who is really enjoying using this bike at university"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Quality Good Value,
January 18, 2013
By jim88
from Plymouth Devon UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good all round cycle,The purchase came off the back off a pervious days purchase from Halfords (Boardman Hybrid)
Both of us are now out and about and getting fit.Good quality and Value ,not overly heavy so easy to mount onto car bike racks.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good basic hybrid bike,
January 18, 2013
By digbones
from shropshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Solid ride - won't win too many races but is more than sufficient to get out in town or on the back roads and tracks. Have heard bad things about the brakes but mine were quite good (until it got wet). Comfy saddle and riding position (I'm 5" 5" and the 18" frame is fine). The trigger shifters are good but take some getting used to after grip shifters, I have also found that I catch the brake levers at the same time so be careful!
I asked for the bike to be boxed as I wanted to set it up myself but when I got to the shop it was ready assembled. But the technician was friendly and helpful. On the plus side I ordered the Subway Ltd Edition 2012 but for whatever reason was given the Ltd edition 2013 for the same price :) bonus (probably ran out)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Subway Limited Edition Hybrid Bike 2012 -18"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Carrera subway 2012,
January 11, 2013
By naughtyme
from Basingstoke
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comfort and ride
Cons: build - some unsightly frame welds
"A great bike that performs well, with a comfortable ride
The build is solid, but some of the frame welds are a little unsightly; it gives an air of a quick as possible weld that was decided could be covered up with the paint job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>