Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger 12v, 20A metal case battery charger with fast & slow charge rates
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 of 23(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Review 1 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 05, 2014
By Kbabsc
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this to charge a Aston DB9. Within 1/2 hour of charging the big lump of an engine fired up first time. Left it on slow charge overnight. No problems since. Highly recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ring RCB320 battery charger,
July 18, 2014
By rpher
from Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I saw all the positive comments on this site before buying this charger, but I was somewhat disappointed.
It certainly gives a good solid impression, but the indicators do not behave as one one expect.
The first thing which appeared strange was that the orange "charging" light comes on as soon as it was connected to the battery, before connecting the mains. This light is supposed to indicate that it is charging the battery, and the fact that it comes on when it is manifestly NOT charging the battery makes one wonder exactly what it does indicate.
After wondering why the green "Fully charged" light never came on I eventually discovered that it operates only in one of the three modes - the Fast Charge mode (see p19 of the Instructions booklet).
It does charge the battery, which is why I bought it, but I was hoping that an expensive product like this would behave more logically."
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product, works where others have failed,
March 05, 2014
By Sam1980
from Dublin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: charges a completely dead battery, well built
Cons: short cables
"this is an excellent charger that will charge a completely dead battery.
before i bought this, i bought a different charger at the same price (also from halfords, smartcharge 200) and that would not allow me to charge a completely dead battery, by design.
I'm very glad i was able to return that product and buy this one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use battery charger,
December 30, 2013
By DRMW
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good visual display
Cons: short leads to car
"A battery charger that is easy to use. Will start a car with a flat battery. Tow charging facilities, fast and slow."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
December 10, 2013
By magicman877
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well i've had a few battery chargers over the years, mainly coming in plastic casings, which have cracked after a lot of use but this is a solid unit of metal and rubber. I've used it already a number of time's on mine and friends batteries and it seem's to perform well, it's easy to use and i'm hoping it will last as long as it feels it should."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very robust,
November 26, 2013
By Ben47
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This charger has done what I want it to do, Trouble starting my motorbike, brought a new motorbike charger it didn't last five minutes, but this charger is done the job,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of kit,
November 17, 2013
By Starwatcher
from Teesside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I changed the diesel fuel tank on a 2.0L Rover, bled the fuel lines then had the usual fight trying to get it started again. The cheap and cheerful 6amp charger I had just wouldn't cut it - taking hours to recharge between attempts. After countless frustrating hours of retrying, I finally went out and bought this baby. A couple of hours later and the car is fired up and perfect. This really is a "proper" charger, man enough for the job. The engine start function worked like a dream and the 20amp fast charge is over 3 times quicker than a run-of-the-mill charger. Should last for many years :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product saved me time, hassle and money!,
October 27, 2013
By Saj1501
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, features
"I bought this product because my vehicle wouldn't start, as the battery was completely depleted. Recovery told me that my car would have to be taken into a dealership as he couldn't jump start it. I decided not to accept this diagnosis and bought this product. I charged my battery for an hour and the car spring into life, which gave me the opportunity to take it to my usual garage which is far cheaper than a dealership. I required a new battery. Between the cost if this device and a new battery vs recovery and a dealership charge, I am still quids in. I can't recommend this product more highly. Some devices you need to take the battery out if the car to charge it, with this one you don't, a very big positive."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BALHAM
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great charger,
September 15, 2013
By jaylo264
from scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this charger does just what i need- it even started my old campervan!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring RCB320 Battery Charger,
August 05, 2013
By westd
from gb
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Ring RCB320 Battery ChargerThe Ring RCB320 Battery Charger is a high quality 12v, 20A metal case battery charger. Fully automatic with fast and slow charge rate settings. Includes 80A engine start function.
gd item great service :)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product exudes quality,
July 31, 2013
By Plute
from Falmouth, U.K.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It live up to its description. It feels like a heavy duty battery charger for the domestic garage. As soon as I picked it up , I was satisfied that it would "do the business", unlike the plastic lightweights with similar claims.
My only dislike is that the slow trickle charge orange charging light seems to sometimes "stick on". A minor observation. For me, it is just the job, and does what it says on the tin!!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
July 26, 2013
By Jdbmw
from Sutton London.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid and robust. charges well.
Cons: gets hot in use.
"Charged my battery well. Does what it says on the tin. But don't buy it for engine start function as it needs to be plugged in to start car. Which is ok if your battery goes flat on your drive way and you have a long extension lead. But not much use if your battery goes flat away from home."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Real Charger at last!,
July 24, 2013
By Rozilad
from blyth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: superfast charge
"I run a mast photography business and have 3 12v batteries fitted in the load compartment of my van. They power my inverter so need to be re-charged almost every day.
I needed something that was going to do the job quick so I purchased my Ring RCB320 some time ago and i am really impressed with it.
This is a quality charger which looks and feels the part and it does exactly what it should.
I cannot comment on the engine start function as i have never had to use it but when i do i am sure this quality charger will do the job!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant service by the the Farnham Surrey Shop Staff,
July 11, 2013
By Anonymous
from Aldershot Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ring products
"I reserved the charger I then receieved a pleasent call from a young lady confirming my order.
I collected it easily by the helpful staff.
It charged a battery ok but the LEDs failed to illuminate correctly.
I contacted the Farnham shop who changed it for another immediatly
Can,t wish for better service or more friendly staff.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FARNHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Revived completely dead battery.,
July 02, 2013
By lander
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: charges completely dead batteries, jump start facility, quality
Cons: unit is heavy
"My battery was completely dead, and had been for a few days. It's also 10 years old so I thought that this would have killed it for good. Walked (shock, horror) to my local Halfords to collect this charger after first reserving online. Put the battery on charge for about 7 hours and the battery was back to normal.
The unit is VERY sturdy with s metal enclosure. One of the reasons that I chose this is that it can also be used to jump start a car. So far I have not used that facility though.
Looking at reviews for a variety of chargers before buying this one it appeared to me that not all chargers like charging completely dead batteries. This one worked brilliantly.
Great buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good charger and jump starter,
June 19, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"use it for 2 times only. Easy to use, dose the job perfectly. The box is not a big size but its good quality build, gives confidence that will last.
I would definitely recommend this to any home user who need to have a backup in their garage...just in case!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring RC320,
May 09, 2013
By prawy
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"A must have charger in every household with 2 or more cars."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
March 21, 2013
By Richard78
from Gosport, Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: usability
"The Instructions were easy to understand and it was sufficient to turn over a petrol engine reasonably easily. Charging the battery was also simple although it does assume a certain level of knowledge about batteries."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bit of kit,
March 17, 2013
By BLK1
from Bangor. NI
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Robust charger with booster inbuilt, gre.at value on line as £50 cheaper than the instore price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR (N. IRELAND)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ideal van accessory,
March 02, 2013
By ddkkhh55
from ferndown dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"first class charger with three features, got battery charged quickly allowing me to get back to work. solid and robust. Easy to follow instructions."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>