Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Battery Chargers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger 12v, 20A metal case battery charger with fast & slow charge rates
Average Customer Rating:
4.871 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
30 of 30(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Review 1 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Charget,
December 10, 2014
By Tomoash
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Proper Heavy Duty Charger..... It fully charged a battery that had been sitting in my garage for 7 months (totally flat) and is now being used on my car. Boost Start feature is worth the extra money as Sealey do one similar to this for £250+ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A fast charger, but not yet perfection.,
December 08, 2014
By Patchiagi
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Purchased to revive T4 2.5 TDI camper battery.
Found it to be really sturdy and for sure will charge a battery in a very short time.
Main comments are:
- Build too last, quite heavy and robust.
- Simple to operate.
- Build quality is questionable. LEDs point out at all angles and the slider button that identifies the mode is actually upside down.
- Croc leads quite short, which in my case means the charger needs to sit right under the van for charging with the leads almost taught.
- When connected to a complete dead battery it identified it as OK, and didn't try charging it. (when I put some charge in the battery by jumping it, the charger then worked as I would have expected)
- It has a starter mode, for cranking the engine with a poor battery. This didn't work on the T4 with 2.5 TDI engine, but I guess may work on smaller car engines and motorbikes.
All in all, quite happy as it will be used mainly on my van and motorbikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great build quality,
November 30, 2014
By darrendazzler
from North Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: led's on front sticking out slightly too much
" I've had a few chargers in the past but this is the best of them, the build quality is very good with a good quality 'heaviness' to it. A charger that will last a long time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
November 29, 2014
By Halfordsbuyermsnytimes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: speed of charging
Cons: short leads
" Good solid product.
Agree with other reviewers that leads could be longer.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality robust product,
November 15, 2014
By Richhh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent product - used to charge almost completely dead battery in diesel car - 3 hours on fast charge and done. Also has direct start option that is well worth paying the extra for that day when there is no time to wait to charge. Robust construction means this will last. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value,
September 27, 2014
By axsor100
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy build, good charge rate
Cons: couldn't find one yet
" Needed a decent battery charger as toyota has twin batteries, this looked the part, once I had got it it was well made and chargdboth batteries with no problems whatsoever. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit,
September 25, 2014
By davidlxv
from Christchurch, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: design
Cons: weight
" I bought this charger as I have a couple of classic cars and my old charger was failing. It does everything it claims to do; the only down side for us elderly enthusiasts is it is on the heavy side. My initial reaction was the same as one of the reviewers who rated product very low until I found that the power to which I had connected the unit was not working. When connected to 240v it worked perfectly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 05, 2014
By Kbabsc
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this to charge a Aston DB9. Within 1/2 hour of charging the big lump of an engine fired up first time. Left it on slow charge overnight. No problems since. Highly recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ring RCB320 battery charger,
July 18, 2014
By rpher
from Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I saw all the positive comments on this site before buying this charger, but I was somewhat disappointed.
It certainly gives a good solid impression, but the indicators do not behave as one one expect.
The first thing which appeared strange was that the orange "charging" light comes on as soon as it was connected to the battery, before connecting the mains. This light is supposed to indicate that it is charging the battery, and the fact that it comes on when it is manifestly NOT charging the battery makes one wonder exactly what it does indicate.
After wondering why the green "Fully charged" light never came on I eventually discovered that it operates only in one of the three modes - the Fast Charge mode (see p19 of the Instructions booklet).
It does charge the battery, which is why I bought it, but I was hoping that an expensive product like this would behave more logically. "
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product, works where others have failed,
March 05, 2014
By Sam1980
from Dublin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: charges a completely dead battery, well built
Cons: short cables
" this is an excellent charger that will charge a completely dead battery.
before i bought this, i bought a different charger at the same price (also from halfords, smartcharge 200) and that would not allow me to charge a completely dead battery, by design.
I'm very glad i was able to return that product and buy this one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use battery charger,
December 30, 2013
By DRMW
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good visual display
Cons: short leads to car
" A battery charger that is easy to use. Will start a car with a flat battery. Tow charging facilities, fast and slow. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
December 10, 2013
By magicman877
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Well i've had a few battery chargers over the years, mainly coming in plastic casings, which have cracked after a lot of use but this is a solid unit of metal and rubber. I've used it already a number of time's on mine and friends batteries and it seem's to perform well, it's easy to use and i'm hoping it will last as long as it feels it should. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very robust,
November 26, 2013
By Ben47
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This charger has done what I want it to do, Trouble starting my motorbike, brought a new motorbike charger it didn't last five minutes, but this charger is done the job, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of kit,
November 17, 2013
By Starwatcher
from Teesside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I changed the diesel fuel tank on a 2.0L Rover, bled the fuel lines then had the usual fight trying to get it started again. The cheap and cheerful 6amp charger I had just wouldn't cut it - taking hours to recharge between attempts. After countless frustrating hours of retrying, I finally went out and bought this baby. A couple of hours later and the car is fired up and perfect. This really is a "proper" charger, man enough for the job. The engine start function worked like a dream and the 20amp fast charge is over 3 times quicker than a run-of-the-mill charger. Should last for many years :-) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product saved me time, hassle and money!,
October 27, 2013
By Saj1501
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, features
" I bought this product because my vehicle wouldn't start, as the battery was completely depleted. Recovery told me that my car would have to be taken into a dealership as he couldn't jump start it. I decided not to accept this diagnosis and bought this product. I charged my battery for an hour and the car spring into life, which gave me the opportunity to take it to my usual garage which is far cheaper than a dealership. I required a new battery. Between the cost if this device and a new battery vs recovery and a dealership charge, I am still quids in. I can't recommend this product more highly. Some devices you need to take the battery out if the car to charge it, with this one you don't, a very big positive. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BALHAM
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great charger,
September 15, 2013
By jaylo264
from scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this charger does just what i need- it even started my old campervan! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring RCB320 Battery Charger,
August 05, 2013
By westd
from gb
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Ring RCB320 Battery ChargerThe Ring RCB320 Battery Charger is a high quality 12v, 20A metal case battery charger. Fully automatic with fast and slow charge rate settings. Includes 80A engine start function.
gd item great service :)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+1point
8out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product exudes quality,
July 31, 2013
By Plute
from Falmouth, U.K.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It live up to its description. It feels like a heavy duty battery charger for the domestic garage. As soon as I picked it up , I was satisfied that it would "do the business", unlike the plastic lightweights with similar claims.
My only dislike is that the slow trickle charge orange charging light seems to sometimes "stick on". A minor observation. For me, it is just the job, and does what it says on the tin!!!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TRURO
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
July 26, 2013
By Jdbmw
from Sutton London.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: solid and robust. charges well.
Cons: gets hot in use.
" Charged my battery well. Does what it says on the tin. But don't buy it for engine start function as it needs to be plugged in to start car. Which is ok if your battery goes flat on your drive way and you have a long extension lead. But not much use if your battery goes flat away from home. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Real Charger at last!,
July 24, 2013
By Rozilad
from blyth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: superfast charge
" I run a mast photography business and have 3 12v batteries fitted in the load compartment of my van. They power my inverter so need to be re-charged almost every day.
I needed something that was going to do the job quick so I purchased my Ring RCB320 some time ago and i am really impressed with it.
This is a quality charger which looks and feels the part and it does exactly what it should.
I cannot comment on the engine start function as i have never had to use it but when i do i am sure this quality charger will do the job!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>