Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger 12v, 20A metal case battery charger with fast & slow charge rates
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
51 of 52(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Review 1 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice bit of kit,
March 17, 2016
By
from Gravesend
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy
Cons: cables could be longer
" A strong and sturdy charger with the feel of something that will last.
As always, the cables could do with being a bit longer but a nice, simple to use charger that seems to do the job very well.
It's the sort of kit that you want to leave on the floor when charging, but the cables only just reach into the bonnet of a 320 BMW (which is quite a low ride)
Not a 'deal-breaker', but another foot of cable would make it even better.
Not used the start function yet but it certainly performs well as a charger, easily outperforming the big old tin box that it has replaced. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GRAVESEND
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product doesn't live up to expectations,
March 14, 2016
By
from Woodsetts, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" The product doesn't do what is described in the instructions/on the box "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great product,
March 14, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" well pleased with this product and also the service I received at your leigh branch, I ordered it online as I was stuck with an almost flat battery, picked it up one hour later and was soon on my way. thankyou, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
all you need in 1 product,
March 12, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got at sale price so that made it a good buy very well made, is easy to use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
March 09, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got this product as it was in promotion, 40% off.
Very pleased with it as it saved me from having to get a third party to rescue me. Managed to fully charge a completely drained battery in a little over 8 hours on the "fast charge" option.
The only downside are the cables that are a bit short.
The device seems to be very sturdy and should last a few good years.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ring RCB320 batt charger/Halfords cr battery,
March 09, 2016
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am not urge what item is faulty, I think it may be he charger. I charged my battery fully(battery charge indicator showers Green). However the charger continued to show battery being charged and 2amps indicated on the ammeter an the indicator light indicating "Charging". This continued for 3 days with the charge control switch on 12v Fast. In the instruction book it states that when the battery is fully charged the "Fully Charged Light" will light. The battery (Halfords Silver 5000 HSB053 Yuasa) is a year old and has a 5 year guarantee. So you see my quandary, is it the charger or the battery faulty!!! Perhaps you can help? The local staff dismissed it said it carried on trickle charging. The instruction book states that this occurs when the charge switch is on12v slow. "
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great machine,
March 08, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Best priced quality charger I could find after a lot of research. €49.99 euro third price of anything near in standard. Charged 3 my car battery's efficiently. I have a number of classic cars and it's just the job. Strong heavy quality feel to iylt. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well made,
March 01, 2016
By
from tyrone
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: booster
Cons: no on off switch
" well made battery charger. Can also be used as a booster to start cars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? OMAGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
January 30, 2016
By
from Nuneaton, Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust design
Cons: the ammeter scale poor.
" It is well made and robust which is essential for such a product. Some insulation around the positive clip would be an improvement to avoid accidental short circuits. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good battery charger for larger vans,
December 22, 2015
By
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this battery charger to charge my Fiat motorhome battery it is a very heavy item but it is good quality it has a very clear display . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
product is great but service is not,
December 08, 2015
By
from leicester
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" when i came to collect, there was three members of staff, but they where not servicing the customers but just taking between themselves for 5 min....
product is ok!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
-15points
0out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does the job.,
October 18, 2015
By
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is a good piece of equipment. For the purist it is not 20A r.m.s which would of course imply 240W at 12v. A couple of quibbles: the meter is pretty hopeless at low amps, moving iron probably for robustness; connecting mains and battery under charge as instructed is imperative.
Haven't tried the 'start' function but no reason why it shouldn't work. Not sure why they advise 'binning' the charger if the mains lead is damaged, apart from the obvious of course! Any competent electrician/diy could rewire easily (I think). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Charger for the price,
July 05, 2015
By
from Dorchester, Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, price, build quality
Cons: switch is upside down
" Good charger for the price, Obviously there are better chargers out there but we bought this one for my dad as his charger was a few years old (20+) . It came within budget and looked like a heavy duty "portable" charger.
We have used it quite a few times now as we have a small workshop and when cars have been left to stand for a while this does exactly what it says. It's currently charging a battery right now.
The switch on the front is upside down as some people have already commented on, but I don't see that as a problem as you can see where the settings are.
The unit feels heavy duty as its made of rubber and metal.
If your looking for a charger for home or small workshop then this is it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, but needs improvement,
June 11, 2015
By
from Lewes, East Sussex, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" It does the job. I have not tried the engine start facility yet, but the slow charge works well. I did notice that the charging light comes on even if the unit is not charging and the green light only displays that the battery has charged on fast charge and not on the slow charge. The swirch is also around the wrong way. The meter can be a bit confusing, but I got it to charge a battery and that is what it does. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for modern cars with lots of electrical accrsories,
June 10, 2015
By
from Stevenage
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: jump start from mains, fast and slow charges
Cons: switch is confusing
" Bought this because both my fords showed low battery warnings even though they are less than 3 years old. They tend to do short journeys and it seems these progressively and gradually drain the battery. The Fiesta then went flat and this charger allows a jump start from the mains - far better than using another car. After that it allows a choice between fast and slow charges. I used this charger without disconnecting the battery so no problem resetting the radio code etc. I was confused whether to move the switch left or right for starting - eventually concluded it was to left. Great product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you need a charger,
June 02, 2015
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong charge, solid base, very easy to use
" Hi All,
I thought I would write a little review as I was sceptical about spending £70 on this battery charger.....
So - firstly I had a car with a completely flat battery and the keys stuck in the ignition, so I needed a car charger that could start the car so I could release the key with a 'boost' and then charge the battery slowly or quickly. My battery is like new!
This product is different because it comes with 'heavy duty leads' which means you can start bigger engine cars and also the machine charges bigger batteries that most.
Well suffice as to say that it did it all that it said!
It also saved me £350 getting the car recovered.
An excellent piece of equipment and one worth keeping in the garage - as it might save you buying more batteries!
Thank you Cyril at Halfords Edgeware Road London for helping me find it.
Regards,
Suresh
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust charger with good features,
February 26, 2015
By
from Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" This product is a strong built charger with advantage of start facility. Good value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent options fast & slow charge rate,
February 25, 2015
By
from Renfrewshire Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Sturdy and robust great charger value for money, fast and slow charge rates. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best buy,
February 21, 2015
By
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent piece of kit, slow charge is slow but the slower the charge the longer the battery will hold it.
Fast charge is very fast.
Have not tried car starter direct yet.
EXCELLENT PIECE OF
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GOOD CHARGER LET DOWN BY POOR INSTRUCTIONS,
February 19, 2015
By
from Dunkeld, Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross PH8, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: poor instructions, charge/jump start selection switch
" The written instructions for Battery Charging and 'Jump' Starting did not match the accompanying illustrations. The enclosed written amendments sheet just made matters more confusing.
It would help if the arrow on the Charge/Jump Start Selection Switch was on the bottom (rather than the top) of the selector so as to be directly above the selection icons.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>