Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger 12v, 20A metal case battery charger with fast & slow charge rates
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 37(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Review 1 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust charger with good features,
February 26, 2015
By Beeza
from Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" This product is a strong built charger with advantage of start facility. Good value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent options fast & slow charge rate,
February 25, 2015
By couriersid
from Renfrewshire Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Sturdy and robust great charger value for money, fast and slow charge rates. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best buy,
February 21, 2015
By 125SRB
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent piece of kit, slow charge is slow but the slower the charge the longer the battery will hold it.
Fast charge is very fast.
Have not tried car starter direct yet.
EXCELLENT PIECE OF
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GOOD CHARGER LET DOWN BY POOR INSTRUCTIONS,
February 19, 2015
By Nicodemus
from Dunkeld, Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross PH8, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: poor instructions, charge/jump start selection switch
" The written instructions for Battery Charging and 'Jump' Starting did not match the accompanying illustrations. The enclosed written amendments sheet just made matters more confusing.
It would help if the arrow on the Charge/Jump Start Selection Switch was on the bottom (rather than the top) of the selector so as to be directly above the selection icons.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A good performer,
January 13, 2015
By dipple
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is a heavy duty, good quality charger. Of especial note is the ability to start a car with a boost.
Good quality,good price!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring RCB320 Battery Charger,
January 13, 2015
By Cliviscus
from Hemyock, Cullompton, Devon EX15, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I haven't had a chance to use this as I have been ill but this machine is so comprehensive and weighty that it can't be anything but good. In fact I almost can't wait for my battery to give up the ghost just to let this mean machine loose on it!
My old charger just works but it is 25 years old and needs to be recycled.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TIVERTON
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little charger,
December 30, 2014
By Orangeman12
from Wells, Wells, Somerset BA5, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this charger as my van doesn't get much use and the battery goes flat after a couple of weeks, but with the jump start on it, I just give it a fast charge for 5 mins the put it too the jump start and it turns the van over straight away. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Charget,
December 10, 2014
By Tomoash
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Proper Heavy Duty Charger..... It fully charged a battery that had been sitting in my garage for 7 months (totally flat) and is now being used on my car. Boost Start feature is worth the extra money as Sealey do one similar to this for £250+ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A fast charger, but not yet perfection.,
December 08, 2014
By Patchiagi
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Purchased to revive T4 2.5 TDI camper battery.
Found it to be really sturdy and for sure will charge a battery in a very short time.
Main comments are:
- Build too last, quite heavy and robust.
- Simple to operate.
- Build quality is questionable. LEDs point out at all angles and the slider button that identifies the mode is actually upside down.
- Croc leads quite short, which in my case means the charger needs to sit right under the van for charging with the leads almost taught.
- When connected to a complete dead battery it identified it as OK, and didn't try charging it. (when I put some charge in the battery by jumping it, the charger then worked as I would have expected)
- It has a starter mode, for cranking the engine with a poor battery. This didn't work on the T4 with 2.5 TDI engine, but I guess may work on smaller car engines and motorbikes.
All in all, quite happy as it will be used mainly on my van and motorbikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great build quality,
November 30, 2014
By darrendazzler
from North Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: led's on front sticking out slightly too much
" I've had a few chargers in the past but this is the best of them, the build quality is very good with a good quality 'heaviness' to it. A charger that will last a long time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
November 29, 2014
By Halfordsbuyermsnytimes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: speed of charging
Cons: short leads
" Good solid product.
Agree with other reviewers that leads could be longer.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality robust product,
November 15, 2014
By Richhh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent product - used to charge almost completely dead battery in diesel car - 3 hours on fast charge and done. Also has direct start option that is well worth paying the extra for that day when there is no time to wait to charge. Robust construction means this will last. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value,
September 27, 2014
By axsor100
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy build, good charge rate
Cons: couldn't find one yet
" Needed a decent battery charger as toyota has twin batteries, this looked the part, once I had got it it was well made and chargdboth batteries with no problems whatsoever. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit,
September 25, 2014
By davidlxv
from Christchurch, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: design
Cons: weight
" I bought this charger as I have a couple of classic cars and my old charger was failing. It does everything it claims to do; the only down side for us elderly enthusiasts is it is on the heavy side. My initial reaction was the same as one of the reviewers who rated product very low until I found that the power to which I had connected the unit was not working. When connected to 240v it worked perfectly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 05, 2014
By Kbabsc
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this to charge a Aston DB9. Within 1/2 hour of charging the big lump of an engine fired up first time. Left it on slow charge overnight. No problems since. Highly recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ring RCB320 battery charger,
July 18, 2014
By rpher
from Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I saw all the positive comments on this site before buying this charger, but I was somewhat disappointed.
It certainly gives a good solid impression, but the indicators do not behave as one one expect.
The first thing which appeared strange was that the orange "charging" light comes on as soon as it was connected to the battery, before connecting the mains. This light is supposed to indicate that it is charging the battery, and the fact that it comes on when it is manifestly NOT charging the battery makes one wonder exactly what it does indicate.
After wondering why the green "Fully charged" light never came on I eventually discovered that it operates only in one of the three modes - the Fast Charge mode (see p19 of the Instructions booklet).
It does charge the battery, which is why I bought it, but I was hoping that an expensive product like this would behave more logically. "
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product, works where others have failed,
March 05, 2014
By Sam1980
from Dublin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: charges a completely dead battery, well built
Cons: short cables
" this is an excellent charger that will charge a completely dead battery.
before i bought this, i bought a different charger at the same price (also from halfords, smartcharge 200) and that would not allow me to charge a completely dead battery, by design.
I'm very glad i was able to return that product and buy this one. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use battery charger,
December 30, 2013
By DRMW
from manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good visual display
Cons: short leads to car
" A battery charger that is easy to use. Will start a car with a flat battery. Tow charging facilities, fast and slow. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHEADLE
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
December 10, 2013
By magicman877
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Well i've had a few battery chargers over the years, mainly coming in plastic casings, which have cracked after a lot of use but this is a solid unit of metal and rubber. I've used it already a number of time's on mine and friends batteries and it seem's to perform well, it's easy to use and i'm hoping it will last as long as it feels it should. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very robust,
November 26, 2013
By Ben47
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This charger has done what I want it to do, Trouble starting my motorbike, brought a new motorbike charger it didn't last five minutes, but this charger is done the job, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>