Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Battery Chargers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger

Ring RCB320 Battery Charger 12v, 20A metal case battery charger with fast & slow charge rates
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 of 41(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Review 1 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Charger for the price,
July 05, 2015
By STiSi
from Dorchester, Dorchester, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, price, build quality
Cons: switch is upside down
" Good charger for the price, Obviously there are better chargers out there but we bought this one for my dad as his charger was a few years old (20+) . It came within budget and looked like a heavy duty "portable" charger.
We have used it quite a few times now as we have a small workshop and when cars have been left to stand for a while this does exactly what it says. It's currently charging a battery right now.
The switch on the front is upside down as some people have already commented on, but I don't see that as a problem as you can see where the settings are.
The unit feels heavy duty as its made of rubber and metal.
If your looking for a charger for home or small workshop then this is it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ok, but needs improvement,
June 11, 2015
By TonyUK
from Lewes, East Sussex, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" It does the job. I have not tried the engine start facility yet, but the slow charge works well. I did notice that the charging light comes on even if the unit is not charging and the green light only displays that the battery has charged on fast charge and not on the slow charge. The swirch is also around the wrong way. The meter can be a bit confusing, but I got it to charge a battery and that is what it does. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for modern cars with lots of electrical accrsories,
June 10, 2015
By Addax12345
from Stevenage
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: jump start from mains, fast and slow charges
Cons: switch is confusing
" Bought this because both my fords showed low battery warnings even though they are less than 3 years old. They tend to do short journeys and it seems these progressively and gradually drain the battery. The Fiesta then went flat and this charger allows a jump start from the mains - far better than using another car. After that it allows a choice between fast and slow charges. I used this charger without disconnecting the battery so no problem resetting the radio code etc. I was confused whether to move the switch left or right for starting - eventually concluded it was to left. Great product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you need a charger,
June 02, 2015
By SureshP
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: strong charge, solid base, very easy to use
" Hi All,
I thought I would write a little review as I was sceptical about spending £70 on this battery charger.....
So - firstly I had a car with a completely flat battery and the keys stuck in the ignition, so I needed a car charger that could start the car so I could release the key with a 'boost' and then charge the battery slowly or quickly. My battery is like new!
This product is different because it comes with 'heavy duty leads' which means you can start bigger engine cars and also the machine charges bigger batteries that most.
Well suffice as to say that it did it all that it said!
It also saved me £350 getting the car recovered.
An excellent piece of equipment and one worth keeping in the garage - as it might save you buying more batteries!
Thank you Cyril at Halfords Edgeware Road London for helping me find it.
Regards,
Suresh
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Robust charger with good features,
February 26, 2015
By Beeza
from Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" This product is a strong built charger with advantage of start facility. Good value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent options fast & slow charge rate,
February 25, 2015
By couriersid
from Renfrewshire Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Sturdy and robust great charger value for money, fast and slow charge rates. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best buy,
February 21, 2015
By 125SRB
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent piece of kit, slow charge is slow but the slower the charge the longer the battery will hold it.
Fast charge is very fast.
Have not tried car starter direct yet.
EXCELLENT PIECE OF
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GOOD CHARGER LET DOWN BY POOR INSTRUCTIONS,
February 19, 2015
By Nicodemus
from Dunkeld, Dunkeld, Perth and Kinross PH8, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: poor instructions, charge/jump start selection switch
" The written instructions for Battery Charging and 'Jump' Starting did not match the accompanying illustrations. The enclosed written amendments sheet just made matters more confusing.
It would help if the arrow on the Charge/Jump Start Selection Switch was on the bottom (rather than the top) of the selector so as to be directly above the selection icons.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A good performer,
January 13, 2015
By dipple
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is a heavy duty, good quality charger. Of especial note is the ability to start a car with a boost.
Good quality,good price!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ring RCB320 Battery Charger,
January 13, 2015
By Cliviscus
from Hemyock, Cullompton, Devon EX15, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I haven't had a chance to use this as I have been ill but this machine is so comprehensive and weighty that it can't be anything but good. In fact I almost can't wait for my battery to give up the ghost just to let this mean machine loose on it!
My old charger just works but it is 25 years old and needs to be recycled.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TIVERTON
-9points
1out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little charger,
December 30, 2014
By Orangeman12
from Wells, Wells, Somerset BA5, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this charger as my van doesn't get much use and the battery goes flat after a couple of weeks, but with the jump start on it, I just give it a fast charge for 5 mins the put it too the jump start and it turns the van over straight away. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Charget,
December 10, 2014
By Tomoash
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Proper Heavy Duty Charger..... It fully charged a battery that had been sitting in my garage for 7 months (totally flat) and is now being used on my car. Boost Start feature is worth the extra money as Sealey do one similar to this for £250+ "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A fast charger, but not yet perfection.,
December 08, 2014
By Patchiagi
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Purchased to revive T4 2.5 TDI camper battery.
Found it to be really sturdy and for sure will charge a battery in a very short time.
Main comments are:
- Build too last, quite heavy and robust.
- Simple to operate.
- Build quality is questionable. LEDs point out at all angles and the slider button that identifies the mode is actually upside down.
- Croc leads quite short, which in my case means the charger needs to sit right under the van for charging with the leads almost taught.
- When connected to a complete dead battery it identified it as OK, and didn't try charging it. (when I put some charge in the battery by jumping it, the charger then worked as I would have expected)
- It has a starter mode, for cranking the engine with a poor battery. This didn't work on the T4 with 2.5 TDI engine, but I guess may work on smaller car engines and motorbikes.
All in all, quite happy as it will be used mainly on my van and motorbikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great build quality,
November 30, 2014
By darrendazzler
from North Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: led's on front sticking out slightly too much
" I've had a few chargers in the past but this is the best of them, the build quality is very good with a good quality 'heaviness' to it. A charger that will last a long time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
November 29, 2014
By Halfordsbuyermsnytimes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: speed of charging
Cons: short leads
" Good solid product.
Agree with other reviewers that leads could be longer.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High quality robust product,
November 15, 2014
By Richhh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Excellent product - used to charge almost completely dead battery in diesel car - 3 hours on fast charge and done. Also has direct start option that is well worth paying the extra for that day when there is no time to wait to charge. Robust construction means this will last. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value,
September 27, 2014
By axsor100
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdy build, good charge rate
Cons: couldn't find one yet
" Needed a decent battery charger as toyota has twin batteries, this looked the part, once I had got it it was well made and chargdboth batteries with no problems whatsoever. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FOLKESTONE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit,
September 25, 2014
By davidlxv
from Christchurch, Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: design
Cons: weight
" I bought this charger as I have a couple of classic cars and my old charger was failing. It does everything it claims to do; the only down side for us elderly enthusiasts is it is on the heavy side. My initial reaction was the same as one of the reviewers who rated product very low until I found that the power to which I had connected the unit was not working. When connected to 240v it worked perfectly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 05, 2014
By Kbabsc
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this to charge a Aston DB9. Within 1/2 hour of charging the big lump of an engine fired up first time. Left it on slow charge overnight. No problems since. Highly recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ring RCB320 Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ring RCB320 battery charger,
July 18, 2014
By rpher
from Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I saw all the positive comments on this site before buying this charger, but I was somewhat disappointed.
It certainly gives a good solid impression, but the indicators do not behave as one one expect.
The first thing which appeared strange was that the orange "charging" light comes on as soon as it was connected to the battery, before connecting the mains. This light is supposed to indicate that it is charging the battery, and the fact that it comes on when it is manifestly NOT charging the battery makes one wonder exactly what it does indicate.
After wondering why the green "Fully charged" light never came on I eventually discovered that it operates only in one of the three modes - the Fast Charge mode (see p19 of the Instructions booklet).
It does charge the battery, which is why I bought it, but I was hoping that an expensive product like this would behave more logically. "
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>