Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Maintenance Charger

Halfords Maintenance Charger is great for infrequently used vehicles like classic cars and caravans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.26 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
41 of 48(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Review 1 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maintenance Charger,
June 28, 2016
By
from Comber, Newtownards, Ards BT23, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Handy little gadget for keeping car battery charged that is not used very much. Seems a little expensive for what it is, but it also does 6v for bike batteries and it switches from maintenance to charge. Have two others already no problems. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (CONNSWATER)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
confusing,
February 08, 2016
By
from Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I bought the Maintenance Charger to maintain my battery while i was away so was confused when the instructions said to check it regularly in case it got hot .. so am now scared too leave it on unless im around .. this is not what i expected.. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Maintenance Charger Review,
February 08, 2016
By
from Basildon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great product
" I bought two of these to maintain the batteries of two cars that sometimes sit for six or seven weeks without being run and in the winter will drain the batteries. One of the cars is old with a 6.2 L small block Chevy and I like to crank the starter to raise oil pressure prior to starting and the batteries often went flat during this process. These units actually charge the batteries - it takes a while unlike a conventional charger - but then it maintains the charge around 13 Volts on the meter. I can easily get 20 pounds of oil pressure now just on spinning the starter alone and the batteries are still good for multiple starts even in the cold. Fabulous product and much cheaper than new car batteries! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect Maintenance Charger,
February 05, 2016
By
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Ideal for keeping motorhome battery tapped up during winter or idle periods. Small, light, easy to accommodate. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
L.E.D Goes Out,
January 23, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" This is my second charger, the red to green charging light went out on the previous charger, I bought a new one and the light has gone out as well! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dead bikes :(,
January 16, 2016
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good price, ok for extended use
" I only use my motorbike occasionally during the winter months, very frustrating then to get all geared up only to find it won't start. Now I just plug it in when I get home and KNOW it will be ok next time I want to use it. It says it's ok for extended use but only time will tell on that one, certainly no problems so far though, just easy starting :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHINGFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
January 06, 2016
By
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact
" Just the job, 6 and 12v,ideal for my classic car, I tend to switch it off at night just in case, but I believe you can leave it on for long periods. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Maintenance battery charger,
December 24, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Seems ok instructions not great nothing to shout about "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Maintenance Charger,
December 01, 2015
By
from Lochgilphead PA31, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Gives you peace of mind when you have an 'old banger' sorry that should be 'your pride and joy' that you only take out once or twice a year when it is dry and when it is not on a SORN.
No need to keep firing up 'quattro' (ashes to ashes) to keep the battery charged now.
Thank you Halfords.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Unit,
November 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: plug in and forget
" This is a fantastic, simple unit. I just leave it connected to my Mini while in the garage and It gets on with the job. No more flat batteries if I don't use the car for 3 weeks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money,
November 18, 2015
By
from Kent, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I bought this as a replacement for one bought in 1970 and sold on in 2010.
My car is used rarely these days and the Halfords maintenance charger looked an attractive buy.
It has lasted barely a year. It has no moving parts so cannot have worn out; cheap and nasty construction with the emphasis on cost cutting. I am going to have to buy another but it definitely will not have the Halfords name on it.
Do not waste your money on this substandard product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bit of a one trick pony - but perfect for my classic car.,
November 15, 2015
By
from Flintshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: compact size, simple operation, everything you need in the pack
Cons: a bit pricey, limited functionality
" Quite expensive for what it is, as it doesn't have the automatic conditioning and fast charge functions of some smart chargers.
Nevertheless, actually perfect for keeping my '50s classic's new battery fully charged while it's in the lock-up, just connect and forget.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple & effective,
September 28, 2015
By
from Norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this as a replacement for it's predecessor which I managed to break! Use it on a weekend sports car which is permanently garaged, easy to fit and works a treat on keeping the battery topped up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? EAST DEREHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A bit of a disappointment,
August 04, 2015
By
from Loughorough
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: its looks and size
Cons: its failure to keep working
" This is a neat and tidy charger and I thought it was just what I wanted. And so it was for about a year. But then it just packed up. As dead as a door nail. So despite its attractive appearance and all the claims made for it, it's disappointing to say the least. Do I really want to shell out £24.99 every year to keep my battery up to scratch? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Trickle Charger OK but flawed,
July 25, 2015
By
from Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: reasonably inexpensive
Cons: tiny weeny ickle o ring connectors too small
" My one major critism with this product is that the O ring connectors are way, way too small to fit to a car battery terminal, hence I can't keep a permanent connection on the battery and simply clip the rest of the charger on, instead I rely on the crocodile clips. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what expected!,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I use this charger for my golf buggy battery. It's a slow charge but works perfectly fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Throw your money away, it would be just as effective at charging batteries.,
June 07, 2015
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Pound for pound this is singularly the biggest waste of money I've ever expended. Having garaged a car over winter and installed the charger as per the manufacturers instructions, the fully charged battery lost all charge over a few months.
I then did what I should of at the outset and purchased a CTEK battery charger. This fully charged and maintained the same battery without issue.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great littel charger,
April 29, 2015
By
from Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great little charger needed to charge my motorcycle battery as soon as possibly it did . Quickly clean and fast. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well chuffed,
April 04, 2015
By
from Inverness, Highland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spare leads for permanent fixing to battery
Cons: doesn't feel as substantial as it looks
" wasnt sure if this would charge my tractor mower battery but it worked a treat. Hooked it up overnight - job done. Only a third of the price of a new battery. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has done the job so far.,
March 06, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The equipment was easy to set up as long as some form of connection to mains electricity is available. It has been in use for over a week and has maintained a working battery from flat with very little running of the car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>