Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Battery Chargers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Maintenance Charger

Halfords Maintenance Charger is great for infrequently used vehicles like classic cars and caravans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Review 1 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
December 20, 2014
By Jeffj
from Burnham on Sea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Inexpensive fix for little used classic car. Took 5 minutes to install. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product great price,
December 02, 2014
By helloitsme97531
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was nervous about buying this as it was half the price of comparable charges in the local motorbike shop. It has done exactly what it said on the box. Very happy to recommend this to anyone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a very useful product,
November 21, 2014
By bangorian
from Wrexham, Wrexham, Wrexham, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" this product is easy to use and very handy for a car that doesn't come out of the garage very often. a really good buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal for keeping batteries topped up.,
November 18, 2014
By Wrangler1861
from Barrhead, East Renfrewshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the compact size.
" I have found this particular charger of great use as I use it to keep my 4x4 batteries fully charged which is a godsend this time of year as the vehicle has twin batteries and use a lot of power to start on cold mornings.I am also using it to keep my caravan batteries topped up over the winter to avoid any degradation in them.A great purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Half ores maintenance charger- a great buy,
September 17, 2014
By Oulton
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fit for purpose
" Highly recommended a trickle charger for my classic car. Cheaper than rivals but equally as good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LEIGH
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Horse box,
September 13, 2014
By Andy7184
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Using charger to keep battery on a 7.5 horse box with full charge. The battery were very low took 48 hours to full charge now on full time to keep battery's fully charge for winter . So far working very well Sagan starts first time "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal for the job,
September 08, 2014
By mardler
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: size is good small wall wart in the garage.
Cons: could do with slightly larger battery clips.
" needed to keep battery charged while vehicle not in use. this does the job without and fuss.
Could do with slightly larger battery clips.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy One.,
September 07, 2014
By Mitchster26
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: keeps battery charged.
" I have had This maintenance charger about 2 weeks and it is great, took about 3 days to get to full charge and has stayed on full charge ever since.
The charger I received is not look the same as the one advertised.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? GRAVESEND
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Maintenance charger,
September 05, 2014
By Conno1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very simple to use
" I was after a charger for my golf trolley after being quoted ridiculous amounts for certain branded chargers somebody recommend I try Halfords . I shopped online and took a chance that their own maintenance charger would work, I have to tell you now it was the best £24.99 I have spent. Not only is it simple to use and very compact it gave my battery a full charge over night so I was also able to leave it charging without having to worry about it getting to hot. Thanks Halfords for a great product!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BROMBOROUGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No fuss does does the job,
August 21, 2014
By NYBiker
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cost, simplicity, choice of connection
" Had a look around at various chargers within this price range as I didn't fancy spending too much just in case it wasn't the battery. I have a v twin motorbike so the battery needs to be good. The one on mine went flat after a ride out. Anyway got this instead of the specific motorbike one from Halfords as you can't leave the motorbike one plugged in for long periods. This one you can. I connected the lead direct to the battery and plugged it in. Took about six hours for the LED to go from red to green. So I unplugged it and turned the bike on. Turned over and fired up like it had a new battery so definitely recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
A mixed view,
August 06, 2014
By LPAugust
from Ruthin, Ruthin, Denbighshire LL15, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the theory of its usage., the clear instructions for use.
Cons: the warning about possible overheating.
" I wanted a charger with which I could leave a car unattended for several months in a locked garage. The specs for this seemed ideal. I have no doubt it would be great for the task. However, when I came to use it, upon reading the instruction sheet it stated that if the car battery became too warm I should switch off the charger...something I would be unable to do as I travel overseas a great deal for my work (hence the need to keep the car on charge). Therefore, I couldn't take the risk of leaving it on charge with a possible resultant fire, and I will undoubtedly come home to another flat battery. Sadly, I am unable to use the charger for the purpose for which I purchased it. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap, simple, does the job well,
August 02, 2014
By Parkpre1234
from Bodelwyddan, Denbighshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Don't be fooled my more expensive alternatives. I bought this to replace a previous trickle charger which cost more than twice the price. The previous one looked jazzy, but did exactly the same job as this one. Who cares what your trickle charger looks like!!?? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Excellent Product,
June 26, 2014
By youngmind
from Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact and light, led indicator light when charged
Cons: 6' lead a little short
" I bought this to charge a completely drained battery on my hyundai getz, as the battery was a factory fitted sealed type that has been in the car since 2005 I really thought there would be no chance of it recovering from this, but within a couple of hours of using this charger there was more than enough power in the battery to start the car. As this is a trickle charger it took around 24hrs of use to fully charge the battery, but as it is designed to give a slow charge I knew that there was less chance of it buckling the plates inside the battery compared to a faster charger. All in all well pleased with this product! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant product,
June 11, 2014
By ChazzJ
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it works brilliantly
Cons: could do with a longer lead
" Struggled for years with the batteries on my Mercedes SL, left for 3 days or more would not start due to battery drain. Did not think this would work but gave it a try. FANTASTIC, starts everytime now and you can leave in connected all the time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well,
February 01, 2014
By AlanMGB
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: low cost
Cons: nothing
" I own two classic MGB, as they are not used all the time and are both fitted with Trackers i found that on odd occasions the battery would be flat. I have looked at expensive chargers but found this one in my local Halfords store.
It comes with two types of connections one fitted with clips the other fitted with eyes which you can fit to your car and leave on. I have removed the clips and wired both into the cars, the small charger plugs into the wall and I simply swap the cars over every week or so. This works very well and I now have no problems starting due to low batteries.
It is a cheap simple to use charger that works for me!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery charger / maintainer,
December 18, 2013
By Bomber123
from Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very simple and easy to use, lightweight and compact, good quality, great price! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lovely small product and ideal .,
June 07, 2013
By Audionut
from Essex, England .
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very neat and small device
Cons: as review small crocodile clips .
" I have for a long time struggled with batteries in my Saab convertible bought new 1996 and still loving it . Anyway I don't use my car that often and sometimes battery is nearly dead . I think the hood motors etc. take it out of the battery . Have been thinking about trickle charger for a while . I changed to a new Bosch battery from Halfords and use the trickle charger with that . Every time I go into garage to check the trickle charger is on green and battery fully charged . A small and neat device and my only criticism is that manufacturers always seem to put tiny crocodile clips on battery items . I have jump leads and had to buy heavy duty to get wide jaw clips and would be happy to pay extra for wider and thicker crocodile clips on any battery related accessory . That said clips do just open enough to put on battery posts . "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking little charger,
April 15, 2013
By JimTheJeep
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap, doeas what is say's on the tin
Cons: nothing negative
" I run two vintage vehicles, both 12v and 6v and these are ideal for keeping the batteries in good condition. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SUDBURY
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
April 10, 2013
By Wagless56
from Wirral, Merseyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, size
" After the charging unit packed up on my old caravan, wanted to replace with original but was so expensive. Having seen this on the web site thought I would give it a try.
Turned out to be a brilliant replacement at a quarter of the price. Have been away in the van for 6 days and nights and this kept my battery fully charged even though we use all 12 volt lights and use the fridge on 12 volt as well. So all in all would highly recommend this product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
charger review,
February 16, 2013
By p1doc
from ellon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" easy to use and works well does not overheat when left overnight "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
+30points
44out of 58found this review helpful.