Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Maintenance Charger

Halfords Maintenance Charger is great for infrequently used vehicles like classic cars and caravans.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Review 1 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Excellent Product,
June 26, 2014
By youngmind
from Wakefield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact and light, led indicator light when charged
Cons: 6' lead a little short
"I bought this to charge a completely drained battery on my hyundai getz, as the battery was a factory fitted sealed type that has been in the car since 2005 I really thought there would be no chance of it recovering from this, but within a couple of hours of using this charger there was more than enough power in the battery to start the car. As this is a trickle charger it took around 24hrs of use to fully charge the battery, but as it is designed to give a slow charge I knew that there was less chance of it buckling the plates inside the battery compared to a faster charger. All in all well pleased with this product!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant product,
June 11, 2014
By ChazzJ
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it works brilliantly
Cons: could do with a longer lead
"Struggled for years with the batteries on my Mercedes SL, left for 3 days or more would not start due to battery drain. Did not think this would work but gave it a try. FANTASTIC, starts everytime now and you can leave in connected all the time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well,
February 01, 2014
By AlanMGB
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: low cost
Cons: nothing
"I own two classic MGB, as they are not used all the time and are both fitted with Trackers i found that on odd occasions the battery would be flat. I have looked at expensive chargers but found this one in my local Halfords store.
It comes with two types of connections one fitted with clips the other fitted with eyes which you can fit to your car and leave on. I have removed the clips and wired both into the cars, the small charger plugs into the wall and I simply swap the cars over every week or so. This works very well and I now have no problems starting due to low batteries.
It is a cheap simple to use charger that works for me!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery charger / maintainer,
December 18, 2013
By Bomber123
from Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very simple and easy to use, lightweight and compact, good quality, great price!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lovely small product and ideal .,
June 07, 2013
By Audionut
from Essex, England .
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very neat and small device
Cons: as review small crocodile clips .
"I have for a long time struggled with batteries in my Saab convertible bought new 1996 and still loving it . Anyway I don't use my car that often and sometimes battery is nearly dead . I think the hood motors etc. take it out of the battery . Have been thinking about trickle charger for a while . I changed to a new Bosch battery from Halfords and use the trickle charger with that . Every time I go into garage to check the trickle charger is on green and battery fully charged . A small and neat device and my only criticism is that manufacturers always seem to put tiny crocodile clips on battery items . I have jump leads and had to buy heavy duty to get wide jaw clips and would be happy to pay extra for wider and thicker crocodile clips on any battery related accessory . That said clips do just open enough to put on battery posts ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking little charger,
April 15, 2013
By JimTheJeep
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap, doeas what is say's on the tin
Cons: nothing negative
"I run two vintage vehicles, both 12v and 6v and these are ideal for keeping the batteries in good condition."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SUDBURY
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
April 10, 2013
By Wagless56
from Wirral, Merseyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, size
"After the charging unit packed up on my old caravan, wanted to replace with original but was so expensive. Having seen this on the web site thought I would give it a try.
Turned out to be a brilliant replacement at a quarter of the price. Have been away in the van for 6 days and nights and this kept my battery fully charged even though we use all 12 volt lights and use the fridge on 12 volt as well. So all in all would highly recommend this product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
charger review,
February 16, 2013
By p1doc
from ellon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"easy to use and works well does not overheat when left overnight"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
+31points
44out of 57found this review helpful.