Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Maintenance Charger

Halfords Maintenance Charger is great for infrequently used vehicles like classic cars and caravans.
Average Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
32 of 33(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Review 1 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what expected!,
June 10, 2015
By MrSimon
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I use this charger for my golf buggy battery. It's a slow charge but works perfectly fine. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Throw your money away, it would be just as effective at charging batteries.,
June 07, 2015
By Garyuk001
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Pound for pound this is singularly the biggest waste of money I've ever expended. Having garaged a car over winter and installed the charger as per the manufacturers instructions, the fully charged battery lost all charge over a few months.
I then did what I should of at the outset and purchased a CTEK battery charger. This fully charged and maintained the same battery without issue.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great littel charger,
April 29, 2015
By oldbikerboy
from Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great little charger needed to charge my motorcycle battery as soon as possibly it did . Quickly clean and fast. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well chuffed,
April 04, 2015
By Gullucks
from Inverness, Highland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spare leads for permanent fixing to battery
Cons: doesn't feel as substantial as it looks
" wasnt sure if this would charge my tractor mower battery but it worked a treat. Hooked it up overnight - job done. Only a third of the price of a new battery. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has done the job so far.,
March 06, 2015
By KM100
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The equipment was easy to set up as long as some form of connection to mains electricity is available. It has been in use for over a week and has maintained a working battery from flat with very little running of the car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Conditioner for classic vehicle,
February 11, 2015
By Bodders52
from Leicester, Leicester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: much smaller than a charger.
" Time will tell but this seems a great bit of kit that can be left permanently attached leaving my old motorcycle ready for use without having to put the conventional charger on the night before. I run an old Villiers engined autocycle adapted to "total loss" battery ignition.
Paul from Leicester.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything it says,
February 04, 2015
By BrianSc
from Bedford, Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: nothing
" I use my Mini Cooper S only occasionally and have long suffered flat batteries particularly in cold weather. Why did I wait so long to buy this simple but robust trickle charger. Car starts first time eveytime now and the permanent fixing link is brilliant "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little charger,
February 01, 2015
By Greenothegreenmachine
from Cambridgeshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really simple and effective - charges slowly but is presumably much safer than some of the other products on the market.
The only warning I would give is when trying to get the car as close as possible to the house, try not to drive into the front window like I did. Luckily this double glazing is tougher than you think... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This charger was just what I needed,
January 31, 2015
By Hairyairedale
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Efficiently charged bike which had been left dormant for 3 months and is now back on the road. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HITCHIN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal for Leisure Battery,
January 30, 2015
By Viledalad
from Aberdare, Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff CF44, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does the job.
" I bought this maintenance charger to trickle charge the leisure battery on our motorhome throughout the winter lay-up. It worked a treat. I would reccomend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ABERDARE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maintenance charger,
January 20, 2015
By Jonhdee10
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great buy did what it should do without cooking the battery "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says,
January 19, 2015
By TH39
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I've used this charger on a car that stands for long periods unused in the garage, and which used to slowly lose battery charge.
Seems to be working great so far (2-3 weeks)..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
premature failure/broken,
January 18, 2015
By 3carowner
from Dorset, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" was ok but only lasted just over a year, looks like something inside it melted the plastic.
I will attempt to return it but im sure my receipt went ages ago.
will update then.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product,
January 11, 2015
By MJJJ1959
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Product does what it is supposed to do. Build quality seems good. Useful for my car which only gets used at weekends. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (STRAITON)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exactly What I Required,
December 24, 2014
By Worthing8
from Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to use, good value
Cons: wiring a little flimsy
" I frequently go for trips abroad and leave my car idle for extended periods. This has caused a problem in the past as the car alarm has drained the battery, and on one occasion the battery didn't recover.
This maintenance charger delivers a small charge to keep the battery 'topped up', and I consider it safe to leave for long periods. It does exactly what I require, and is very good value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
December 20, 2014
By Jeffj
from Burnham on Sea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Inexpensive fix for little used classic car. Took 5 minutes to install. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product great price,
December 02, 2014
By helloitsme97531
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was nervous about buying this as it was half the price of comparable charges in the local motorbike shop. It has done exactly what it said on the box. Very happy to recommend this to anyone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a very useful product,
November 21, 2014
By bangorian
from Wrexham, Wrexham, Wrexham, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" this product is easy to use and very handy for a car that doesn't come out of the garage very often. a really good buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal for keeping batteries topped up.,
November 18, 2014
By Wrangler1861
from Barrhead, East Renfrewshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the compact size.
" I have found this particular charger of great use as I use it to keep my 4x4 batteries fully charged which is a godsend this time of year as the vehicle has twin batteries and use a lot of power to start on cold mornings.I am also using it to keep my caravan batteries topped up over the winter to avoid any degradation in them.A great purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Maintenance Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Half ores maintenance charger- a great buy,
September 17, 2014
By Oulton
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fit for purpose
" Highly recommended a trickle charger for my classic car. Cheaper than rivals but equally as good. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LEIGH
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>