Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Battery Chargers or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger

Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger for 12V automotive lead acid deep cycle leisure batteries
Average Customer Rating:
4.504 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (121 reviews)
5 stars
80
4 stars
33
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
5
111 of 117(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 104 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Review 1 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent charger,
December 19, 2014
By oldbutnotpastit
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this item on click and collect because it was half price online and I needed one in a hurry. It is a fast charger that drops to a trickle charge when the battery is fully charged "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job!,
December 18, 2014
By V6Wagoneer
from Newark-on-Trent, Newark, Nottinghamshire NG24, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, lightweight, small footprint, tidy when packed away.
Cons: thin leads
" This is a good example of getting what you pay for, I purchased this in a half price sale and for what I paid I am happy with it.
I have no doubt that if I had paid the full price I would have been a little disappointed with the build quality, having said that it does what it's supposed to do.
If you want a straight forward no frills charger, this works well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very useful and very efficient collection.,
December 17, 2014
By Alja
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I am looking after my daughters car and decided it would be easier for peace of mind to have a trickle charger. This is perfect and is also a charger. The price is also very competitive. The assistant could not have been more helpful in Gosport branch. Very satisfied. "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So straight forward to use .,
December 16, 2014
By Eikymo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have a leisure battery for my horses electric fence, and this is an invaluable piece of equipment for me. Easy to use. "
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does What it Says It Does,
December 14, 2014
By MikeSH
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
" Picked this up on a Web offer at a good price.
It is advisable to read the instructions - but recharged a flat battery in an afternoon and all is well again.
Does what it says on the tin (well box). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value does as it says,
December 14, 2014
By Raggi
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this online half the shelf price good value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use,
December 11, 2014
By Andy11111111
from Leominster, Leominster, Herefordshire HR6, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: storage pockets for leads, simple to use
" There is nothing difficult about this battery charger, it's very easy to use and does the job quickly and simply. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Half price special offer for today only...,
December 08, 2014
By Bullnose1925
from Cove, Farnborough, Hampshire GU14, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Looked at the Halfords internet site early morning and saw the price of this battery charger It said that Halfords site was half price! When at the store I asked for the price and I was told £39 but the very nice assistant said speak to the manager and see what he says... Well, he said yes... They would honour the Internet site. A great surprise to me being an OAP a fantastic saving Thanks Halfords, All I now hope the charger does what it says on the Box! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice piece of kit and well worth what I paid for the item,
December 02, 2014
By Davemaj
from Swindon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Member of staff was great, if it was not for him I would have bought the wrong charger from the store next door at a cheaper price. I did not know that leisure batteries need a higher spec charger, so its well worth checking if the charger is compatible before purchasing'
My only negative remark is that I wish there was a meter on the front to show at what stage the charging was at.
Very good product and would recommend to anyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Service!,
November 26, 2014
By Viper334
from High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ordering was simple, product was ready for collection as promised, was served immediately.
Overall a perfect experience. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE (LONDON RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems good value ..... early days yet.,
November 09, 2014
By porthcawl
from Mid Glamorgan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well packaged with clear simple instructiions.
Cons: connection leads could be a little longer and the
" I needed this type of battery charger to maintain the battery on a Mini Cooper kept in storage during winter months. Seems to be the perfect piece of equipment for the job.
The Halfords store staff were very helpful also.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Versatile and simple,
November 01, 2014
By Scott1812
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this to charge heavy duty leasure battery and found it worked perfecty to trickle charge my motorcycle and normal car batteries. The charge is a little slow if your impatient like me but over all its value for money, built well, easy to store and does what it claims to do. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good if battery not 100% flat,
October 29, 2014
By SomeoneInBrentford
from Brentford, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fully automatic, cable tidies, small and light, cheaper than a new battery :-)
Cons: cables are not very long, wont charge totally flat batteries
" So long as there is *some* charge left, you just plug it in and it works.
It won't charge totally flat batteries. It has a polarity checker to make sure you don't plug it in back to front. If there is no charge at all, then this safety feature prevents you charging.
A quick jump start from the AA got a small charge in my battery, and then it worked just fine. It is not a very fast charger, and may you need may hours, particularly for large batteries.
It has cable tidies both ends which are a nice touch. That sais, the cables are not very long, so you may need an extension cable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHISWICK
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did exactly what expected,
September 25, 2014
By unclewilco
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: automatically switch charging and mainte, leds to tell you status
Cons: length of power cable
" Our campervan leisure battery was lacking a proper charge after a week long trip - bought this to give it a boost.
Work well and the LEDS were a good guide to what was happening.
Good build quality and it did not get hot in use even after long use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ABERYSTWYTH
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
September 19, 2014
By Alister1874
from Aberdeenshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Sourced item online, reviews etc very helpful in making my decision. Reserved item online and collected from nearest store. The item is easy to use and worked well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Automatic means little or no control,
August 26, 2014
By SaysSimon
from Stafford
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" This charger seems neat and it will show a warning light if you put the terminals on the wrong way round. However if they are the right way round the charging light comes on (even when not connected to the mains) so it has a dual meaning.
I found this charger took only a few minutes to show a fully charged/maitnenance mode on a battery that had not enough oomph to turn over the ride on mower. However it had not topped up the charge enough to turn over the engine. Leave it a couple of days and the charge was complete and the mower started easily. So not much use for a quick top up because the automatic management decides to switch to a trickle charge too early. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LICHFIELD
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Charger does the job,
August 11, 2014
By Bungy1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product does exactly what it says in the product description. We were after a good all-round charger for our diesel vehicles plus a range of leisure batteries. This charger is an easy to use, versatile and well made product that suits are needs offering good value for monet. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (FENTON)
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a charger that chargers leisure batteries,
August 11, 2014
By ynnig
from derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the size..not big and heavy.
Cons: cable is quite short.
" needed a new charger for my leisure battery,it was quick to charge and not over priced. charger is small and compact. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if it lasts as long as old one i'll be happy,
August 08, 2014
By sf53
from LONDON, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" much easier to use than previous version re. the cables - so far so good.
last one lasted 8 years - used a fair amount too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (WINDMILL RD)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good bit of kit,
August 02, 2014
By pablo93
from barnsley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" done everything it's says it do's for a good price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>