Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger

Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger for 12V automotive lead acid deep cycle leisure batteries
Average Customer Rating:
4.485 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (101 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
31
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
94 of 99(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Review 1 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Description is economical with the truth!,
May 04, 2014
By ninetynine
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quality pretty good
Cons: misleading description
"Bought this because I have a sealed 12 volt battery and the description implies 8 amps charging option. Only after I received it did I discover that the charge rate for sealed batteries was limited to some 2.5 amps! Ages to charge my flat battery!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
camper,
February 15, 2014
By tvbunny
from bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a little old camper used infrequently this charger is great for keeping camper leisure battery charged"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sealed or not sealed?,
January 26, 2014
By Dave79wh
from Harrogate, Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I checked the manual of my Merc CLS, and looked at the battery. Nowhere did it say it was sealed. When I used the charger on the normal setting the charging light kept going off. I looked through the feedback and saw somebody had had the same problem. the charger worked fine on sealed setting. It took ages, but I do have a 3.2 litre diesel, so it's a big battery."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple to use,
January 07, 2014
By FJW1
from Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
Cons: no progress meter
"Very straightforward to use although it would be nice to have some sort of indicator to show progress when charging. It did take longer than expected to fully charge the battery and I wasn't sure if it was actually working until the light suddenly went green!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (CONNSWATER)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't fault it,
January 04, 2014
By MikeyW99
from Hove, East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use, tidy to store away
"Had to purchase this in desperation at Christmas after a short in my radio caused the battery to go flat.
Very simple to use and the battery was fully charged in just under four hours. After which, the charger auto switches to a trickle charge to maintain the battery.
Cable tidy is a good feature too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HOVE
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the box,
January 01, 2014
By stevefish
from Addlestone
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: overly complicated
"Simple to use - even for a techophobe like me. Battery still charging but so far it's doing what it says on the instructions!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple to use,
December 31, 2013
By mojo50
from Coalville
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very good value is easy to use could not get better"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does "what it says on the can",
December 31, 2013
By Wibbly99
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got this at a knock down price via Halfords Web site (12:30am) and was able to pick up the following morning (8:45am) in-store.
Just as well, as I needed to start my car that eve. Left it charging all day and car was fine in the eve and since. No drama."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is very good value,
December 30, 2013
By tarrie
from fife
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The charger is easy to use and recharged a completely flat battery overnight with indication provided when charged."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords quality,
December 30, 2013
By kev14
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second charger from Halford's. The 1st one lasted for over twenty years. Great value for money. I've also purchased many other items over the years."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must for every garage,
December 23, 2013
By Benzene
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cable stowage, charges sealed batteries
"Excellent value for money. I'm able to maintain my bike battery through the winter whilst not in use and should the need arise, I can use it on my car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent build quallity,
December 11, 2013
By Joe1953
from Leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect for charging the large battery on my minibus. It was fully charged in three hours."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Affordable functional lightweight charger,
November 29, 2013
By Auselan
from Oxford, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: battery cables could be just a little longer
"Bought this to deal with a dead battery as a diagnostic tool. Although the battery was in fact dead, the device has simple instructions which are reproduced on the item itself so it doesn't matter if the manual is lost.
The cabling and build quality seem fine, and it is nicely lightweight.
One gripe: if the charging cables were just 10cm longer, then they could reach from the battery and I could STILL ignore the instructions and leave the battery in the car and plugged in (it is my choice if I risk frying my car / house electrical circuits!)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
November 25, 2013
By James1212
from Aberdeen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Used to charge old motorbike battery and also new battery purchased at same time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could do more,
November 22, 2013
By ILikeTurtles
from Leamington
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value easy to use
Cons: no voltage indicator
"I've seen similar ones with an in built voltage indicator, it seems like this wouldn't have been difficult to include. The leaflet talks about the halfords own brand voltage indicator, which makes me think the aim is to sell these... Other than that it's pretty good"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger,
November 21, 2013
By tim56
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Looking for a charger to keep the battery of my classic car charged during the winter months whilst its off the road. initially the battey was quite low on charge but an overnight charge got it back up and running just fine. Like the feature that you can leave the battery on charge for protracted periods of a week or so - as it means I can leave the battery on charge without fear of overcharging.
Good product - easy to use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ecellent Charger,
October 24, 2013
By arty12
from Wiltshire UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
"The battery charger is easy to use with simple indication of functions. Useful storage of leads in the unit makes it compact and handy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Poor product description,
October 24, 2013
By Thor40
from Chandlers Ford
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"We bought this to charge our AGM battery, but only deep inside the manual does it say that it is not suitable for charging AGM batteries.
This should have been stated somewhere else too, don't you think?
Otherwise it appears to be a good product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EASTLEIGH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
automatic battery charger,
October 13, 2013
By steve200sx
from cirencester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good product feels quality and liked the maintenance mode this was better than the trickle charge I had on"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CIRENCESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger,
October 10, 2013
By Bruce63
from Bath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good solid kit which performed its task quickly and efficiently. Just the sort of equipment you need in your garage for those rare occasions when you need them. Good price too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BATH
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>