Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger

Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger for 12V automotive lead acid deep cycle leisure batteries
Average Customer Rating:
4.508 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(195 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (195 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
56
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
176 of 185(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 104 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Review 1 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
August 19, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I'm delighted with this, simple to use and charges quickly. It even brought a dead battery back to life although it was so far gone that it died again after a week of not being used, but no fault of the charger. Now that I have a new battery I will use this as a trickle charger to keep it topped up. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Jury's still out on this charger...,
August 18, 2015
By
from Welwyn, Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought this on the advice of a Halfords staff member who checked my car battery and said it was good and just needing charging. I connected the charger and thought all was well until I went back to it after five minutes when I noticed the "fully charged" indicator was on and the charger had switched to maintenance mode. I tried to start the car but the battery was still flat so I bump started the car and took it to my service dealer who confirmed the battery needed replacing. I have thus ended up buying a battery charger and a new battery. Only time will tell if the charger was faulty or whether the spent battery caused it to show full charge, hence 3 stars rather than the minimum one star!!!! "
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Beware,
August 03, 2015
By
from gb
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: appearance.
Cons: inaccurate spec .
" The product review is misleading, so I now have to waste time returning the product.
If you have a standard battery the charge rate is 8v/3.7v.
However if you have a sealed battery (as most are) the charge
rate is only 3.7v.
Not what I wanted at all! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did the job,
July 22, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, simple to pack away, sturdy
Cons: the one switch i have to make a choice on
" Don't know much about batteries but this saved an old diesel battery from dead to working in just one night, easy to use simple to pack away neatly as the space for wires and plug is ample enough to not be a bother after use. I would highly recommend this charger. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I needed, easy to use!,
July 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A perfect product for charging my leisure battery. I ordered on line, it arrived really quickly and does exactly what it says it does! Easy to use. Portable. Was pleased with the price although could maybe be a bit lower. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (NEWGATE STREET)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product, cheap, but not cheerful,
June 16, 2015
By
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: tidy integral wire storage, small lightweight and compact, great value for money
" Good product, does exactly what it says on the tin. Nice storage holes in either end/side to store the wires in. Can be used indoors to charge a vehicle battery that is either in or out of the vehicle or can be charged up indoors and then taken out side to jump start a vehicle. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOKE NEWINGTON
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for my caravan leisure battery,
June 12, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small and compact with cable storage
" Bought this to keep my leisure caravan. batteries topped up.
I have a 110ah battery which takes about 12hrs to fully charge and an 85ah which is fully charged in about 6hrs.
Had the charger for 6 months and have had no issues.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great service, great product,
April 29, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought via the reserve and collect approach, picked up from Brentwood and impressed with the efficiency of the staff. Many thanks. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product compact,
April 29, 2015
By
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After my trusty old charger gave up I was horrified just how expensive and flimsy the new ones were. I spent weeks looking around for a replacement I ended up purchasing this charger. Delighted lightweight compact and does what it says on the box. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? STAMFORD
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good charger but ignore the green light,
April 22, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is an excellent charger but when the green light comes on to say it has charged it's not actually fully charged, although enough to start the car and be on your way.
After leaving it on a second time for over 12 hours the battery was properly charged.
My only issue was the disgusting customer service at the Bishop Auckland store. I was left waiting for 20 minutes because the only cashier on at the time was chatting with a couple looking at a car stereo. Several other customers were queuing up and we all stated how easy it would have been to just walk out with the entire store contents because nobody was around.
I would be very reluctant to go into this store again, the staff seem to be unhelpful and unmotivated. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BISHOP AUCKLAND
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Over-rated,
April 19, 2015
By
from West Midlands
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: the way the cables are stored
Cons: does not do the job properly, stops charging to soon
" Tried this charger twice now (re-flattened the battery for the second test) both times is showed a full charge, but when on secondary inspection using a hydrometer the battery was still not fully charged, maybe charged enough to start the car when then the cars alternator would/should complete the job, but did not fully charge the battery as it says it should be doing.
The only advantage is that yes, it does have a initial fast charge so no waiting around for hours as with my old charger (which does do the job eventually).
The only advantage I can see for this product is to be able to leave it connected for long periods of time in 'Maintenance Mode' although the instructions tell you 'NOT to leave for long periods' such as when going on holiday, so again conflicting instructions.
The charger is being returned as 'not fit for purpose' "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (PERRY BARR)
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Flexible use charger,
March 20, 2015
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, multi use
Cons: leads are quite short
" Bought this to charge my caravan leisure battery which it did very well, but pleased to see I can use it for the car as well. Good price for a flexible piece of kit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Battery Charger Purchase Experience,
March 17, 2015
By
from Basildon, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Niffty little gadet. Light and easy to use. Our caravan battery loves it! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It did not work,
March 08, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Shame product did not work. Was really hoping this would work as instructions are so simple "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value Product,
February 24, 2015
By
from Leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This battery charger is ideal in that it can be left on to maintain
maximum battery performance. It also has switch to alter between standard lead acid or sealed batteries. I use this on the starter motor battery on my boat.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Automatic Battery Charger,
February 23, 2015
By
from Aberdeenshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very ease to use as does as it says. A good purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product & great service,
February 22, 2015
By
from Tadcaster, Tadcaster, North Yorkshire LS24, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy process, excellent product
" Website really easy to use.
Product exactly as described, well built quality item and works perfectly.
Customer service excellent in store.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Charger,
February 21, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Worked very well but it did take almost 48 hours to fully charge a leisure battery for my caravan.However,I was very relieved
to see the green light come on.Most satisfactory.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent,
February 20, 2015
By
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good
" does exactly what it says,charged my battery in about one hour,got me back on the road again "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Fully Automatic Battery Charger
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good choice,
February 19, 2015
By
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: speedy charge rate
" Was a little apprehensive of buying a cheapish battery charger but this was certainly a good buy. For the money it's probably the best charger I have had "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>