Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike

The Apollo Verge Mountain Bike is a front suspension mountain bike designed for both on and off road use, with a lightweight aluminium frame and 18 speed Shimano gearing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0
32 of 35(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
April 02, 2013
By poppet30
from blackpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was more than happy with my purchase,a gift for my Dad. He says it's easy to ride and light as a feather,which was an important factor..thrilled to bits"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo verge Alloy Mountain bike,
March 29, 2013
By carol49
from Cheadle, Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value mountain bike for the use of a mountain bike enthusiast. He loves it! The alloy frame is very strong and light and should last for years!
Thank you for such an excellent product at a good price!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall great bike and excellent value for money,
March 28, 2013
By Moobat
from Blackpool, Lancashire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: tyres, weight
Cons: seat
"Great value for money. The bike weight and balance is great, so easy to handle. Smooth ride. Bike tyres are very solid, very impressed with them.
The only negative is the seat, it has very little padding and is very uncomfortable; maybe get a better seat or add a padded cover.
Overall great bike and excellent value for money
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A2B,
March 26, 2013
By adie76
from Bradford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought bike to get me to football and is perfect for this . good quality bike for the price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GUISELEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for,
March 26, 2013
By bobbin72
from belfast
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: cheaply made
"As I tend to get my bikes stolen on average every 2 years I have stopped spending money on bikes and have settled for these cheap ones.
It's fine for everyday commuting on roads and is quite light weight with it's alloy frame.
However you just know that there is no quality here as the gears are unreliable and the brakes don't work very well in the wet plus the whole thing has developed creaks and groans after a couple of weeks.
"
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike for agreat price,
March 25, 2013
By lolly47
from essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought this bike last week ,it rides well and is very light. Brakes are excellent, would recommend this bike to anyone ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good budget bike,
March 21, 2013
By Safaricyclist
from West Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: frame build and design, a good package for a budget buyer
Cons: potentially weak rims
"I wanted a budget to use on local trips and in areas where bike thefts are becoming too common. My ratings are based on the assumption that it would not compare directly with something at least three times more expensive. However I am genuinely impressed with the overall package. The frame in particular is stylish and well made. I suspect the rims are not that strong - but still sufficient for urban use. There was an issue with the gift gear on the freewheel, but this was replaced very efficiently by my local store. Service from the store staff was excellent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bike,
March 18, 2013
By Mark1983
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Castle Bromwich didnt set the bike up properly got it done properly at the castle vale store. The gears were done and the brake and the handle bars were loose as well as a buckled wheel"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for my needs,
March 18, 2013
By Alz1305
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: styling, ease of use, price, build quality
"This is a lightweight, sturdy, easy to ride mountain bike.
I haven't ridden a bike for ten years and bought this one for excercise. It is perfect for the job and fantastic value at the price.
I would reccommend this as a first bike or a replacement for an older model."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUNBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good overall bike for money BUT gears awful!,
March 17, 2013
By j1977
from North East
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: lightweight, front suspension
Cons: gears
"Good bike at the special offer price I paid but the gears aren't so good. I have already taken bike back to shop once and again the gears are unreliable. Not sure if a fault on bike I have bought or normal on these bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific Bargain,
March 15, 2013
By JontyMulch
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Supplied and fitted up already to go. Great deal online with this bike backed up by great service in store> Grab yourself a bargain!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
March 04, 2013
By Hbean
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, quality
Cons: saddle a little firm
"I bought this for my husband to ride to work daily got it at sale price excellent value for money suspension very good in our pot holed area gears chain ect are stick free tyres very reliable and looks good if anything the saddle is a tad uncomfortable at first also a 6 week service was included for any tweaks after those first few weeks by far the best purchase of a bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Okay for the discounted price.,
March 02, 2013
By DrCommuter
from London, England
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: price, durability
Cons: quality of components
"The bike seems as if it will hold up. I am still working out the bugs...new cable stretch and stuff. The customer service at the store I picked up the bike was excellent. However, I am glad I didn't pay the full price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALPERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb bike,
March 01, 2013
By Burrows20
from Grimsby, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"This is an ace bike, does everything. Off road it's very good and on road it's just as good.
Great bike especially for the price. It's very smooth to ride
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike worth the money!,
February 24, 2013
By Sarah3210
from Weston super mare
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My son is very happy with his new bike, great value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super bike and super service,
February 19, 2013
By gray78
from Northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ordered to of the bikes for me and my brother.Ordered 8pm online the night before and bikes fully assembled and ready for 1pm next day. Helpful staff in store and the bikes well worth the money.Will continue to be a customer of Halfords due to the super level customer service and great range of products."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
apollo verge bike,
February 18, 2013
By stevewhu
from chessington
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: geer problem
"in genaral a verry good bike for the amount it cost, however one of the geers jumps. i took it back to halfords where they fixed the problem but the next day it happened again so i have had to make do without it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product was well worth the buy,
February 14, 2013
By Robbie34
from Ilkeston, Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the bike as a whole
Cons: not a big fan of the gripshift gears
"Its been a pleasure to have this product ive only had it a couple of weeks now but its proving its worth for the everyday commute to work and back."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent in every way.,
February 11, 2013
By trfatboy
from Northamptonshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: excellent service, fantastic price, great bike
"A great bike at a fantastic price and superb customer service into the bargain. Ordered in the evening and ready to ride home the next afternoon. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Verge Alloy Mountain Bike
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
February 11, 2013
By chelsea3
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"fantastic value for money - attractive lightweight bike
I brought this for my tall 16 year old son and he loves it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12next>>