Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player

Keep in touch with the digital world with the Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 of 28(86%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Review 1 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brill all round the best,
January 13, 2014
By yesman1
from england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fitted in lovely
"work straight out the box fitted in to Subaru o3 plate didn't need any fitting kit does every thing I need"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good spec - poor build and reliability,
January 01, 2014
By Boyee
from UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lots of spec, facia removal
Cons: unreliable frequently cuts out, no mirrolink support
"Had this just under a year, within a month had to have a replacement due to it cutting out constantly. Over the next year it has been unreliable and cutting out intermittently with it progressively becoming more common. Safe to say it is going back. It's a shame as it does have good specs (ignore the mirrorlink - NO support!) and it is nice using a touch screen.
I have been into my car stereos for years, stick with Pioneer and Alpine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good for use with phones,
December 19, 2013
By Krol
from Banbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really happy with this stereo. Fitted myself in a 2004 Nissan X trail. Only gripe would be it dropped £17 just after I bought it hence the value for money score."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sony,
December 14, 2013
By Anonymous
from sheffield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: plays dvd, great sound, looks nice, custom colour, does everything exept wash dishes
Cons: slow touch responce, lack of phone saport
"I bought this for my mx5 cos not much room flr phone means can stick fone in clove box and dont have to worrie about it.
The head unit is great does what i need it to wish it had wider phone saport i have galaxy s4 with drive link to make it work and its abit slow responce but other than that great head unit amps perfect and if you have 1000 different things there is rcas to everything even sub. Great unit highly recomended!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
-6points
1out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the mirror link no good,
December 11, 2013
By bobbedi
from england
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The mirror link features no good and does not stream videos from phone via bluetooth or mirror link does nog support all feature's"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant,
December 08, 2013
By AMack10
from Royston
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality and functions
"I brought this unit as a replacement for my parrot unit and have found it to be excellent. The quality is brilliant, I love the features and would definitely recommend it.
Hands free is crystal clear as is the display and functions.
Very happy with it
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LETCHWORTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great System,
November 27, 2013
By Vic1975
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good functionality
"Excellent and easy to use product. Sound quality and picture quality was good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (PERRY BARR)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not worth money,
November 25, 2013
By Boby699rsb
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Hard to fit, not fully compatible with iphone.do not buy this!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-13points
0out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Doesnt quite live up to expectation,
October 20, 2013
By rjwrjw10
from scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: sound quality, appearance
Cons: resistive touch screen, poor usb function, mirrorlink device list
"This is a good head unit. The sound quality is good, its relatively easy to use, and looks great. There are a few things that let it down though. The MirrorLink function is useless since the range of supported phones is so limited. I should have checked this more thoroughly before i bought it. This seems to use out using any of the navigation function too which is very disappointing. Other things I'm not happy with is its inability to read USB device. I refuses to recognise a GSII or the other usb stick I've tried pushing into it. I've not tried connecting an ipod yet, hopefully that will work better. The Bluetooth function is good and it plays music off your phone that way well, however it wont let you navigate through the music stored on your phone via bluetooth which again is disappointing. Finally the touch screen - its resistive rather than capacitive - so no multi touch, and not as responsive as you'd get from a new smart phone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every Professionals Essential,
September 26, 2013
By gman1617
from liverpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: connectivity, mirror link, blue tooth interface
Cons: touch screen responsiveness during mirror link
"Bought this after looking around for a while for a double din radio. On comparison with pioneer and kenwood products on paper. This seemed to have all things you would need and then some. I was sceptical about wheather it would live up to its own hype.
How wrong I was to ever doubt this song product!
It functionality is amazing the inter face for bluetooth calls allows you to search your phone book. Call past numbers voice command your phone. Etc totally encompasses what blue tooth should be about.
The connectivity is everything you need
Aux
Ipod
Usb. Two usb ports allow you to connect your usb with music and your phone to charge.
The mirror link allows you to have a full working gps navigation system on the screen which really is impressive.
Only down sides
In mirror link the touch screen isn't very responsive
You have to hold the screen for longer. It's easier to use the phone to input destinations.
You can only listen to Blue tooth music through the phone when in mirror link. Not a downside if you have good music on your phone.
All this is only available though if you have an androidphone.
All in all this product will not disappoint you! By far one of the most useful and best products ive bought in a long time."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product,
July 23, 2013
By LittleRog
from Leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this after having problems with a different unit and it is superb. Works out of the box. Bluetooth streaming, excellent hands free, nice display. Very impressed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply perfect,
July 22, 2013
By Golfgeeza
from Bradford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, looks great, sounds ace
Cons: aux ports should be on the front
"Spot on double din sits nicely in the golf mk4 would recommend to anybody.
Easily to set up, use and enough quality to transform the inside of your ride !!
Sound qualitys ace as well if ur in doubt then don't be this is what you need.
Took me awhile to decide but I'm glad I choose this carnt go wrong / price it's a steal"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product for Price,
July 13, 2013
By Dave85
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this to use with my Galaxy S3 works really well since firmware update available from sonys site"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its on perfect for Iphone and sony phones,
May 18, 2013
By agentkhalid
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It has very good features to expect from Sony. The only thing that I could fault it is that it is not completely compatible with alot of android phones including Samsung. It allows the blue tooth facility and the mirror link. The usb link for video and photos wont work on Samsung. Its a shame that I cant use the full facilities."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MITCHAM
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money with great quality sound!,
May 09, 2013
By JasonW25
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this because its seemed to have the top spec for its price range and it was a good choice!
It does everything I need and the hands free function it crystal clear.
All the music and audio setting are relevant and therefore you can adjust the sound to suit your ears.
Overall you can't go wrong and being SONY it has great build quality!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony XAV-601,
March 19, 2013
By ID24
from East Sussex - UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sound quality and looks
Cons: nothing
"Did a lot of research, the Sony was top awards for sound quality and bluetooth link. Was not disappointed, sound range is spectacular and touch screen use on Ipod and phone is top notch.
Had no troubles on install - just make sure you get the right connector.
Looks the nuts and family love the DVD abilities.
Get this unit, great value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent unit looks great, mirror link DOESNT WORK FOR IPHONE,
February 12, 2013
By Dan91
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, looks great, great spec
Cons: not iphone compatible on mirrorlink
"Bought this unit for my astra h and couldn't be happier ! Unit looks superb in the car and linked up with my sub sounds great, great screen quality, bluetooth also sounds good, one downside which i was not advised of is that the mirrorlink function which allows your phone to be mirrored to the headunit does not work with iPhone which is slightly annoying but does work with android !!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb,
February 09, 2013
By wayney608
from Cambridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sound quality, ui, compatibility
Cons: mirror link's rubbish, display can be distracting at night but is easy to
"An awesome head unit. It sounds fantastic, is very intuitive to use and works very well. The mirror link won't work with my gs3, even after an update but I didn't want that anyway."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome product!,
February 08, 2013
By Peteygti
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I'd reccommend this sony highly, both I and my friend have one and they are amazing!
Easy to use and best screen and the effects behind are amazing - and good sound quality,."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony XAV-601BT In-Car Multimedia Player
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impressive Stereo,
February 04, 2013
By Bear90
from Farnborough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lots of features
Cons: cant listen to radio while using mirrorlink
"Great stereo for its cost. Installed really easily and just worked. Mirror Link is a great concept.. but in reality, maybe isn't quite ready yet. my Samsung Galaxy S3 will only connect sometimes and the app I have to use to make it work freezes quite often. would like to be able to listen to the radio while I am also using mirrorlink for navigation purposes.. but I don't think this is possible, unless I just haven't worked out how to do it yet.
As a stereo that is used for radio, cds, usb, dvds and bluetooth handsfree, its perfect. even has the option to attach rear view cameras and a navigation adapter."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
12next>>