Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box

The Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box is quick and easy to mount to car's roof bars.
Average Customer Rating:
4.397 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
60 of 62(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Review 1 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fold away feature the key,
January 07, 2014
By PRMIRBFACL
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this rather than a fixed box as constrained on storage space. Certainly doesn't disappoint on this front, rolling up to be the size of a golf bag. Takes three 'hand luggage wheely bags' easily with space down the sides. Would recommend."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple to Use,
January 07, 2014
By Andrew5
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Was very easy to put this together. Living in a London terrace means we don't have much storage space sop this fits the bill perfectly. Folds back up and fits back in storage bag easily after use to go into attic.
Haven't tested it in poor weather yet but certainly appears well constructed and up to the job.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? MILE END ROAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule Ranger 280L,
September 27, 2013
By PerforatedBubble
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: packs away when not needed, easy to fit to roof bars, lightwieght
Cons: lock isn't easy to use in its protective shroud
"Good compromise between capacity and ease of storage, not as copious as a rigid box but folds down to a manageable size for storage in the attic or garage. Easy to fit and takes a couple of medium suitcases. Only got it because my daughter was going to University and even an estate car couldn't cope :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great to store,
July 23, 2013
By Widds
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A great way to gain extra car space when you don't have the room at home to store a large item. Once you pack the box if you are mindful it retains its shape fine I made a ply board base for mine which adds strength and keeps it in shape"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good buy,
July 03, 2013
By DW70
from Northampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"my car is a big people carrier and disappointingly I needed steps to mount the box. Impressed with the quality but may need some help to demount when I reach my destination!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Expensive but well made,
June 20, 2013
By OneChildinTow
from Uxbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"For the capacity this roofbox is pricey, but its very well made though the clamps are more fiddly than you might hope. It stored everything clean and dry despite a good downpour and didn't affect fuel consumption massively. The fact it folds up not much larger than a leaf blower or hedge trimmer is a major plus point."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy storable,
June 09, 2013
By Dave49
from Kettering
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The roof box fitted to the top of our trailer giving extra storage space. Was easy to fit and remove, and the most impost thing was that it rolled up into an easy storable item which stored away inside of the trailer when not in use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality product,
June 05, 2013
By Nick293
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for my renault clio for going to France. Don't go till next week. I've set it up and taken it for a test run. Fits really well for smaller cars like clio, corsa size. Plenty of room.
Easy to use/fit and loads of room.
I have a wee concern about its security on overnight stops, but other than that its a top notch product and thoroughly recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EAST KILBRIDE
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great space saver,
June 03, 2013
By fryfamily
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great space saver, lightweight, the storage bag and it fits in easily!
"Already had an old rather large roof box at home which needed replacing, but didn't want to keep tripping over the new one like the old in the garage. It isn't massive but I was surprised how much I manged to get in it on our recent trip. Very easy to fix on and take off when you have arrived at our holiday destination and best off all really light and fits easily into the bag it comes. Very impressed with the quick release clips too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LETCHWORTH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great space saving box,
May 30, 2013
By Snappy78
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the lack of storage space it will take
Cons: how it affects fuel consumption!
"Bought for trip to france, spread kids over 3 rows of seating so less space for luggage. Fitted lots in it and easy to connect up and remove
Nice quality product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule,
May 05, 2013
By matty370
from Manchester 20
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy storage
"I like the way you can fold it away when not in use, unlike trying to store a roof box. Value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to store unlike a roof box,
May 03, 2013
By dave82
from north london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Folds up so takes up 1/4 of the space a roof box would to store away has its own bag seams very strong sold zips perfect only wish did a bigger size as well this is fine but slightly taller would be good folds out in mins and so easy to lock to roof bars"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HENDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good quality item, but not as big as you think,
April 30, 2013
By Anonymous
from Watford, Herts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good item, made from good quality materials, quick and easy to mount on roof bars but not as big as it says. Can only really fit three maybe four medium sized holdalls. Definitely not as big as a medium sized car boot. Not even as big as my Fiesta boot."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really good Idea,..........,
April 07, 2013
By MaddiesNanna
from Oxfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the ability to fit and un-fit so easily
Cons: the initial fitting was a bit fiddly
"although we purchased a fairly large car there are times when it still isnt big enough....ie taking grandchildren on holiday so rather than buy a big cumbersome roofbox this unfolds on the roof, is easily fixed is fairly spacious,and kept everything safe from the elements (we encountered snowstorms on our outward journey and everything was still as we packed it) This roof box was easily dismantled while away,then refitted for the return journey, so we had the best of all situations."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD (BETWEEN TOWNS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thule ranger,
April 04, 2013
By trigg
from england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light weight & waterproof, easy stowage, made of a thick dingy rubber material, no fiddly nuts& bolts
"Wanted extra storage for holiday after downsizing to a smaller carand the ranger ticked all the boxes.takes a couple of minutes to put on with the quick lock system and when not in use rolls up small to stow away.solid sides and base so doesnt sag and compared to a conventional roof box a miniscal space needed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and easy to fit,
March 25, 2013
By cheesepc
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
"Brought this as with a growing family the car had run out of standard space. The roof bars are really easy to fit, even in the freezing rain, the box was just as easy. The fitting mechanism works well and held fast all the way from Sussex to Cornwall. The inside of the box and all the contents stayed dry through rain, sleet and snow. Would recommend to anyone, great product.
If I could afford it I would also get the bags designed to fit inside, makes the best use of the internal space."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Ranger softbox roof box,
February 19, 2013
By Windy70
from Redditch
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very very practical for storage and use, good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use.,
February 18, 2013
By Binster
from Berkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: how compact.
"This has proven to be just what i wanted, both from an ease of use point of view but also storage solution. This for me is to be used for the lighter camping luggage so is ideal. Would definitely recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very handy roof box,
January 21, 2013
By draughtie
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all pros
Cons: no cons
"Easy to install on roof bars and quick compared to my previous one. Also great that when finished with was easy to remove and store in boot of car, not having roof box to decrease my fuel consumption when finished with."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Ranger 280L Softbox Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ideal for creating space,
January 18, 2013
By albinoben
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: handy to store away
Cons: not a great lock
"great for my corsa as i needed the extra storage to go camping. ideal for the odd trip as it folds quite small considering the size of the space u gain"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1234next>>