Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe

The Garmin Nuvi 50LM in-car sat nav with essential navigation features for driving around the UK, ROI & Western Europe, with lifetime map updates
Average Customer Rating:
4.544 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
24
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
95 of 102(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Review 1 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin 50LM,
August 16, 2013
By james27
from East Ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use & does what it says on the tin.
Cons: none yet.
"Bought this today & all i can say is i am over the moon with this sat nav.
I have had the Nuvi 1240 for about 2 years & it was cheaper to buy this rather than update maps.
Over all i am very pleased with this new sat sat nav & the big screen is brilliant,highly recommend this.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LANARK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin 50 LM gets you there with ease,
July 16, 2013
By Snoopy54
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clear screen
"Easy to set up and easy to use the Garmin 50LM provides clear maps and instructions. The divided screen at motorway junctions made it clear which route to take"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worked wonders,
July 15, 2013
By Clark237
from Northamptonshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Garmin Sat Nav worked wonders and was very good on the roads from Calais to Maastricht and put us in the right lanes at the multiple junctions we passed through. We was very plaesed with this product and would recommend it anyone who wants one. It was very easy to use and understand"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
another garmin,
July 11, 2013
By Anonymous
from Stroud, Uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Cheap unit, has a power cable and screen sucker. Bought to replace yet another that was stolen from my car; this one has lifetime updates which was the main reason for selection, along with lane guidance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent buy,
July 09, 2013
By Ruthie65
from Carlisle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to use.
Clear large screen
Updated maps without difficulty and I'm not a computer genius!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant product,
July 08, 2013
By mack1000
from inverness, scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brilliant value for money, great features, very user friendly. Just back from France and the trip was effortless thanks to this Garmin."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use,
July 05, 2013
By Pippa99
from GB
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does what it says on the tin. Easy to use and quick to find locations."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SHOREHAM ON SEA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal and Accurate,
July 03, 2013
By Anonymous
from york United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: big screen, lifetime updates, simple to use
"I reserved this on line and then collected it in store.
I recently used it to travel within the UK and I found it very easy to use and arrived at my different destinations without any problems.
Fixed speed cameras are shown on this and also it helps indicate which lane to be in when turning off a motorway.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? YORK
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
July 02, 2013
By Opener18
from Peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: updates
"Very clear screen. The split screen on motorways is really helpful. The free updates means always keeping up with the latest roads. Had 3 Garmins and this is easily the best."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Free European maps update make this sat nav a really good deal.,
July 02, 2013
By abottsway
from north shields
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: like very much
"I bought this sat nav for my husband's car as the one we previously had needed updating at quite a cost. It's easy to use and a neat size. He was very impressed the first time he used it. He recommended it to someone at work. An excellent price as well compared to other stores same model."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best purchase ever!,
June 29, 2013
By JRC5560
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After getting lost on 2 previous occasions and threatening to buy a sat nav, it became a need rather than a want after getting so lost travelling from Lincolnshire to the Wirrell. I have never been so lost in my life. I have MS and including two stops it took me (I am embarrassed to say) 8 hours!
I travel alone and it is impossible to read a map or written instructions when driving. The Sat Nav is brilliant and has transformed my journies into a pleasant experience instead of a nightmare and sleepless nights of stress.
The Garmin is easy to use, very clear screen and clear instructions both to use and whilst driving. Don't hesitate in thinking about buying one, you will not be disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up Garmin Sat Nav,
June 28, 2013
By Elledi2008
from Wellingborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: free map set up
"This Sat Nav is very simple to set up and use , just follow the on screen instructions. It made our trip to Oxford very easy, even when mum decided she needed the loo, the Sat Nav put us back on course."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hmmm!,
June 28, 2013
By Lennie566
from Bournemouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A little unhappy that the price has been reduced so soon and that I was not offered a carrying case, apart from that the sat nav seems to work OK so far."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nuvi 50LM,
June 27, 2013
By Johnst
from Cumbria
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having never used a Satnav myself I was a bit sceptical about the need for one since I was used to finding my own way to locations as part of my job . However since retirement many changes have taken place particularly within towns and I have found the Nuvi excellent for getting me to my final destination.It is simple to use and the displays are excellent"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
June 24, 2013
By Amar222893
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to use and has a big screen. Recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does what it say's on the box,
June 13, 2013
By tk61
from cleethorpes
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"the features on this model are clear and moving to other features is fairly straight forward.
if a non-tech like me can sort it, with set-up help from Halfords, you all can
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? GRIMSBY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
simple to operate,
June 13, 2013
By CB007
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have never previously used or owned a sat nav. The sat nav i purchased is very simple to operate, it's menu system being user friendly and uses simple language. The voice navigations are understandable and the display is clear to follow whilst driving. I'm comfortable with the weight and size, no need for a bigger screen. On the down side, the recalculating of routes is not very quick but i can still appreciate the time it takes to recalculate. Driving through the city was a bit of a nightmare with the so many 'no entry' roads and therefore the sat nav having to recalculate routes several times within a short period, as mentioned, this process is not too quick. The battery only last a little over 2hours, but hey, just plug in the car charger. I would recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? TOTTENHAM
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing for the price,
June 13, 2013
By Aden25
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lane guidance, nice and bright
Cons: battery, night mode
"This is a great sat nav system, especially for the price as it covers all of Europe and has unlimited updates.
I am impressed that it guided me into the back entrance parking lot of the train station which I never knew was there.
It has not made any mistakes so far, it picks up signal quickly, its easy to just glance over and see the speed limit and distance left to go, as well as the lane guidance software.
The only thing I don't like and this really just is nit picking is the night mode. I prefer the Tom Tom night mode, battery life is just 2 hours but I just plug it in to the cars plug.
All-in-all a great first time sat nav, good price, easy to use.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to use an accurate,
June 12, 2013
By chippyandthegingers
from Barnsley, Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We have always had a tom tom before but researched this and bought one. We are very pleased. It is easy to use and has a clear screen. Altogether a good quality product for a reasonable price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Nuvi 50LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin nuvi 50 lm,
June 10, 2013
By Serky
from Gosport
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product easy to use. I always go for garmin because of there easy use. Also nice sized screen"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.