Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Sat Nav or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe

The extra widescreen Garmin Nuvi 40LM in-car sat nav provides the essential navigation features needed for driving around the UK, ROI & Western Europe & it includes lifetime map updates (worth £74.99)
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
26
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
77 of 80(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Review 1 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
July 30, 2013
By SpeckledCookie
from Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, clear images, clear voice, personaliseable
" Great product, especially when half price!
Couldnt believe i could get a new sat nav with lifetime maps, for the price of updating the maps on my old one.
Bargain.
Got us around France, Germany and Switzerland perfectly! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin is best,
July 20, 2013
By RW88
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have had many sat navs including Tom Tom, Navman etc
but none come near the Garmin for build quality
and ease of use. This was a bargain considering life time maps was included.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
interesting quirks but still useful,
July 18, 2013
By Seakay
from Cardiff
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the choice of voices, it gives general information
Cons: you never know when it's going to recognise a road, you have to double check everything on roundabouts, warnings vary from half a mile to 5 yards
" Having this for guidance while driving is useful, and I appreciate the choice of voices, but there are some odd quirks so that those who prefer their journeys to retain an air of excitement and mystery will not be disappointed!
No mini roundabouts are recognised.
Many corners are thought to be junctions and vice versa.
On major roundabouts it can't tell the difference between service roads, exits and nearby roads and it's advice on lane choice is unreliable where it exists.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Sat Nav good value,
July 17, 2013
By Evz58
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" Easy to use and exceptional value with European maps and life time updates. Highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? GRAVESEND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good easy to use Sat Nav,
July 10, 2013
By Swalian
from swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is the second Nuvi 40 I've bought...This one is for my son and includes lifetime updates which is a bonus.It's particularly easy to use and is improved on earlier Garmins which I have owned,I would recommend this product which is excellent value. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? PORT TALBOT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Nuvi 42LM WE,
May 29, 2013
By Accona
from Northampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very easy to set up and use. Does what it says it will do. Clear and precise and screen good quality.
I have used Garmin products before and will continue to do so. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (RIVERSIDE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use product,
May 19, 2013
By Birdie05
from Rossendale
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: standard size screen adequate
" Never used a sat nav before but found this product easy to install and use. Given good advice about all products available from Josh at the Bury, Lancs store, who guided us to this particular product and was very knowledge able, pleasant and helpful, we made the right choice and got the product at a good price including half price off the travel pack kit. A good choice for beginners at a good price, thanks Josh "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use,
April 28, 2013
By novice224
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Very straight forward
My first sat nav, struggled with the map update, the download kept crashinv
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Clear,
April 27, 2013
By BusyB
from South of England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very clear junctions, choices of icons amuses the children!
Cons: pronunciation, instructions on disc. easy to do without initially
" So much better than my last Sat Nav. Very clear, easy to set up and to follow directions. Only downside is that pronunciation needs a bit of working out to follow at times but get used to it and is quite houmourous "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BOURNEMOUTH
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sat nav,
April 25, 2013
By Legitmik
from NI
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lane guidance
" Would have cost almost as much to update the maps on my old Sat Nav as it was to buy this one with free Lifetime map updates. No brainer really. Excellent product and excellent service from staff. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LONDONDERRY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good features and great updates,
April 23, 2013
By falkirk22
from falkirk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" set up the sat nav quickly at home and updated the maps and software in minutes.
well worth it
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great features and easy to use,
April 22, 2013
By Julie1
from Grangemouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to understand
" Really impressed with my new Garmin. So simple to use and assistant was really helpful in store. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value with the lifetime maps,
April 19, 2013
By Sabs92
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The lifetime maps make this product even better value for money. It is quick and easy to set up and use. Adding your home address to get directions home. Even quicker. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
garmin a go go,
April 19, 2013
By onionmonkey
from wiltshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: bright and easy to use, good price, shows how long destination will take
Cons: voice directions a tad late on motorway driving
" its my first ever sat nav i didnt want to buy a cheap one and i didnt want to buy a overly expensive one so when i saw this on offer i thought i would go for this. i needed a sat nav as i am relocating. The system itself is really good very easy to use a monkey could use it, the only problem is when its time to turn using motorways that is (not in built up areas) i find that the voice directions on roundabout and motorway turnings are a tad late so it will only tell you when your pretty much there which i understand that they do this so you dont turn too early but when approaching a roundabout or motorway driving you need to allocate time to get in the correct lane if you dont your going to go wrong which i have a couple of times but sayng that, me going wrong it has always got me home and alot less stressfull tells you the time its going to take to get to your destination speed and other really good aspects that makes this sat nav the right sat nav for me "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lifetime map updares @ £89-99 = good value.,
April 19, 2013
By RonMcD
from York
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lfetime map updates, ease of transfer of favourites between garmins, lane-guidance
Cons: slow download speed for updates
" Liked the lifetime map updates included and the lane-guidance on major routes. Was very glad to be able to transfer "favourite" destinations from my old Garmin to this one - saved a lot of time. Took quite a long time (1 hour +) to download map update. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? YORK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value satnav,
April 12, 2013
By Tony695
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: life time maps, clear screen, easy instructions
" Cracked the screen on my previous Garmin which worked well the new one has good features and life time maps which is great. Would recommend buying a case as well after previous experience! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
sat nav,
April 11, 2013
By kazjsy66
from Aberdeen
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: big screen
Cons: didn't add total miles just time off arrival
" Very good buy , done its job brilliantly. never got lost , preferred
Guy talking .
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav,
April 09, 2013
By Bill00
from Cambs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" For the money with lifetime map updates this has to be a good buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
April 06, 2013
By Jules72
from Ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got us scotland-wales with no problems. Can't wait to use it in France next month. Very user friendly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Parent
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Nuvi 40LM Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
April 04, 2013
By greyvanman
from Rugby UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I'm really impressed with this Garmin model. Particularly useful are the street names spoken and motorway lane advisor facilities. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>