Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium

Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium is simply superb with a light frame.
Average Customer Rating:
4.732 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
37 of 38(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Review 1 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pedals.,
May 19, 2014
By Dannyh1356
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had this bike for 3 days and it seems there is something wrong with the pedals. Don't get me wrong, the rest of the bike is excellent, but on just my first ride the left pedals started to make a reasonably loud clicking noise."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1st road bike.,
May 04, 2014
By vtx1300
from sutton in ashfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"hi,
if your looking for a road bike i am new to cycling and at 51 i have found this bike very light weight to use. and very easy to pedal. the staff at my local branch sutton in ashfield notts. has been very helpful with everything in knowledge about the product and with accessories for all my needs.i am very pleased with the service they provide. i am actually waiting to go back today to see what cleats i need for my shoes that will fit the pedals thats on the bike or even buy some new pedals i know i can get them cheaper elsewhere but i wont get the helpful service from the instore knowledge.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit,
April 28, 2014
By sonyfreak
from Bootle, Merseyside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks price ride quality
Cons: paintwork wear on headset due chaffing from brake, didn't receive owners manual
"Having had a mountain bike for three years and getting a bit fitter I decided it was time for a change. Saw this bike (large frame) on the Halfords website and fell in love with it. Picked it up a few days after ordering it and was even more impressed. Had it for three months now and still in love with it. Really responsive and so much quicker than my old MTB it was quite scary at first, but now I'm used to the difference I wouldn't go back. Build quality is superb, it feels great on the road and the overall ride quality is outstanding. Whilst not being too serious a cyclist I cannot find any fault with my choice of road bike and would definitely recommend the Zelos to anyone thinking of getting into road cycling at a good entry level bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for getting back into cycling,
March 19, 2014
By tinytycoon08
from Gloucester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As a person who hasn't been cycling for around 10+ years, this bike is great. So light and responsive. Got to get used to the gear changes and I think I'll be better. Pedals are OK as I used to have some like that before, however, I will be upgrading to SPD pedals I think.
Got a great deal, so overall it is excellent.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? TEWKESBURY
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW,
March 01, 2014
By helz39
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Upgraded to a road bike after seeing this amazing deal, very light and fast, have been using a hybrid over the last two years, what a difference, the only thing I have changed is the pedals, it took me so long to get my feet in that the following day I changed to cleats. To being a beginner in road cycling this was very easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent road bike,
February 26, 2014
By PamH74
from North East England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First road bike and was a little nervous but love it! It's fast, smooth and a totally different riding experience to hybrid. The gears are a slight downside, could do with more gears for the downhills but nothing major. Seat very comfy and the pedal clips are ok too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First road bike,
February 08, 2014
By hyabusa47
from Blackwood
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Picked this up from local halfords store, great customer service led to this purchase. Took it out yesterday for my first ride on a road bike. Very happy indeed. Comfortable, gear change very smooth, good brakes but will be changing the pedals for cleats as the pedals that come with the bike make getting your foot in tricky. Great colour scheme makes the bike look very nice indeed. Would recommend this to any one new to road cycling"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKWOOD
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent machine...very impresssed!,
February 01, 2014
By Grant7
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: none
"Bought this bike as a means of expanding my fitness regime and getting back into road biking. Work abroad on a cruise ship and take it with me for trainnig ashore during my time off. Gears can be slightly clanky at times and the pedals take a bit of getting used to but I wouldn't consider upgrading them. Added a set of aero bars which makes it look even more professional. Lightweight, fast and looks good too....plenty of positive comments from my colleagues and at the knock down price, you can't go wrong. Looks far more expensive than the actual price!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few adjustments and away!,
January 29, 2014
By Bucklander
from Somerset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just getting backing into road cycling after a gap of 10+ years. I received the Carrera Kelos as a Christmas present and a very welcome present!
I've changed the handbar stem from the 110mm standard to 80mm and the difference in comfort was huge.
The toe clips that came with the bike are OK but the plastic is too flexible, so a swap to SPD pedals is planned.
The bike is nicely balanced and responsive, the gears are fine, brakes OK and it's all bolted together just great.
I would recommend this bike to anyone going back to road bikes after a break."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Road bike,
January 07, 2014
By bluenose73
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The bike I purchased I was really pleased with both value for money and product wise I've been looking to get a new bike for a while so can't wait to start using this soon"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simply Wonderful,
January 05, 2014
By AZAWILL
from Cardiff, Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Carrera Zelos is a dream to ride. The best bike I have owned hands down. It's so light I can pick the bike up with one hand. I can reach 25mph with no effort. So fast. It's incredibly agile too. Happy riding!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (GABALFA)
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Zelos,
December 16, 2013
By Mutley68
from Plymouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, features, price
Cons: peddles will need upgrade
"After reasearching a sensible entry level road bike, found that the Zelos answered all my requirements and has not disappointed - especially given the price. Yes there are lighter, higher spec bikes out there, but I have enough KGs to lose on me before I worry about having a lighter wheel, pedal, etc so the 11kg that this weighs is extremely light for me (novice). Yes I will invest in some new peddles and shoes but only once I am used to the bike. So far, week one, 73 miles covered including a 22 mile hill extravaganza and absolutely no complaints. Gears are responsive with excellent "fine tune" feature, steering is reassuring and ride comfortable (even given the Devon roads!). Would thoroughly recommend this bike to any novice cyclist looking to get out on the road, especially if you can get it at sale price! When collected, was competently assembled at Plymton Superstore - and engineer talked through assembly giving servicing tips - all very helpful. Thanks Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Zelos Limited Edition Road Bike Summer 2013 Medium,
December 15, 2013
By CSmiffy
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this bike a few weeks back and so far i am very impressed. Build quality is really good and excellent value for money. The staff at Halfords have been really good through out keeping me informed of the progress of my order and ensuring i was happy when i took it away. My son was so impressed he also ordered one there and then."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like a kid at Christmas,
December 12, 2013
By Birdynumnums
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this bike with a degree of trepidation.I've returned to cycling after 15 yrs or so,the bikes I had were 80's style racers it comes in 2 frame sizes,at around 6 feet tall I was advised to go for the 56 cm(large) one .i found it slightly too long for me but when I moved the saddle forward it fit me nicely.I bought it in the box and did the rest of the assembly at home without too much hastle.The gears were well set up and needed no adjustment.I'm delighted with the performance of this bike for the money.It's so much faster than anything I've had before but I'm not worried about hurtling around because I trust the brakes.Overall I think it's a quantum leap from where I was before.Id be scared to get on a top of the range bike after seeing the speed that this entry level one can achieve!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Zelos,
December 08, 2013
By Steviet68
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product....great value....store was very helpful and fitted all extra with no hassle"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first road bike,
November 23, 2013
By emma68
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent value for money, bought for my 14yr old son as first road bike , ideal for someone just starting out , halfords service was fab too ....I needed the bike next day as I had been let down by others ....very pleased all round."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 1
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
November 22, 2013
By Harry2013
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks good rides good price good
Cons: none
"I bought this for my husband he absolutely loves it
Really smart and neat looking looks more
Expensive than what it is really nice to ride
Brilliant for beginners thankyou halfords
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zelos,
November 22, 2013
By Tag5700
from Solihull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike , just what I needed to get me back into cycling
Halfords made it up so I could ride it home and what a great price
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? SHELDON
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike!,
November 13, 2013
By vamp75
from cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fast, light, looks great, great value
Cons: pedals
"Bought this bike to get back into cycling and am very impressed with it. Fast machine for its price. Added bonus of tire upgrade to cst czars for free! Happy! Only pedals let it down which I've upgraded."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carrera Zelos Limited Edition 2013 Medium
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carrera Zelos Limited Edition,
November 03, 2013
By AnyaK
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very light
"Excellent bike at great value. Very easy to order on line and collect in store. Thoroughly recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>