Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml

Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner is a chemical treatment for diesel engines.
Average Customer Rating:
4.054 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
5
33 of 36(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Review 1 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wynn's PFC,
October 29, 2014
By Merc320
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I purchased this product as I was giving my Mercedes CLS 320, a full service and changing every filter/fluids on the car.
I poured this after the service was complete, and left it to work in the background.
A few days later I noticed black smoke coming from my exhausts, and assumed this was normal and the dirt was coming out.
However after a week of driving it, and doing a journey of nearly 500 miles, there is still black smoke coming from the exhausts, although not as much!!
I don't know if this product is supposed to work like this as it does not mention anything on the packaging..
My car ran perfect before this and still does, except for the black smoke.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
waste of money,
October 17, 2014
By kesback
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Tried this item,total waste of time and money,had to have DPF removed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too little too late!,
October 07, 2014
By Benneh
from Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This is ideal when you're DPF light is on, however it unfortunatly was too late for me.
When you're DPF is clogged more heavily this unfortunately will not to the job as it's not pwoerful enough."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wynns Diesal Particulate Filter Cleaner,
September 17, 2014
By Jim103
from Princes Risborough, Buckinghamshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It did what it said on the can...engine now running a lot better"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average,
September 02, 2014
By Yawn
from Dunfermline
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought and use it on the recomdenation of a friend. I have no mechanical knowledge so don't know how effective it was therefore have rated it as average."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml,
August 12, 2014
By lexluth
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"had an issue with my filter on and this really seemed to sort it out"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (NEWPORT RD)
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So Far So Good!,
July 14, 2014
By Snowyyyy
from Nottingham, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I use my car mostly on city driving cycles going to work stop/starting traffic light hitting speed max around 40mph so soot will build up in my filter. Iv started useing Wynn's DPF clean and it seams to be helping my goal now is to keep using this every 1000+miles... The bottle says add every 3rd tank filling or 3000km =1864miles so touchwood my warning light stays off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great product!,
June 09, 2014
By n14veed
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great for what it does
Cons: expensive
"Had a loss of power in my BMW 520d. Used this stuff twice with V Power and boom, after a couple of motorway runs the power is back!
Highly Recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works for me!,
May 29, 2014
By Caversham203
from Exmouth, Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had a DPF warning light come on yesterday on my 58 plate Jaguar XF. Tried the recommended regeneration twice, once in sports mode at high revs and it did not work.
Then tried this stuff, went back to the motorway and within a few miles at high revs, the light went out. Hopefully, it will last a few months as my MOT is due shortly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good,
May 02, 2014
By Caravaners3031
from Tamworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have a 2006 Sukuki Grand vitara 1.9 Diesel, always getting the dpf light come on, sometimes even limp mode. had filter all professionally cleaned out, problem re-occured, consider re-map until i found out it could be an MOT fail, a collegue told me about this product and i thought what have i got to lose. for nearly 2 months i have seen a massive improvment witht the dpf light, due to put another lot of this stuff in very shortly (going to do this once a month when i fill my tank)"
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last resort.,
April 27, 2014
By thedon12345
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it does what it says
"I bought this as a last resort as the DPF had put my car in limp mode, the ash accumulation fault would not clear with my DTC reader, added the solution to my fuel tank, drove home, then I was able to reset DTC fault, almost a week no further issue.
I shall add It periodically in future.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not sure if it works,
April 13, 2014
By jd53
from littlehampton
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Had dpf fault on my c5 hdi138.Tried this product as per instructions on tin, drove to work all week but ,did not solve the fault..Found out the egt sensor was faulty.I may use this product again if need be.It was worth trying."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wynns diesel particulate cleaner,
April 06, 2014
By Anonymous
from Wakefield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had lots of problems with soot build up on turbo vanes on my Audi 2.0tdi cabriolet. Although I never had any performance issues a loud groaning sound would start when decelerating. All the garages I took my car to failed to find the problem so as a last gasp attempt before changing the turbo I tried this product. I poured it in the car after leaving Halfords and floored the car for about half a mile and within this time noise had gone. Fingers crossed it stays this way."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
no good,
March 15, 2014
By mel62
from newcastle
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"this is no good do not get it as the maker will love to get your cash for sumthing that they now will not work"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
-45points
4out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good temporary solution,
January 30, 2014
By Mikey11111
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As my addative system was faulty, this was a great temporary solution to unblocking my DPF."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked for me,
January 10, 2014
By MarkO64
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use & works!
"The engine management light came on in my 2010 Ford Focus 1.6 tdci. Forums seemed to suggest problem with DPF so as car was running fine other than warning light I decided to try this.
Put into fuel tank and topped up with diesel to 3 quarters full and went for run on motorway for 20 minutes or so. Light stayed on so I thought it hadn't worked but light went off next day whilst driving normally in town.
Excellent product and will use again.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
reasonable,
December 22, 2013
By aritreps
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It does the job for 2 tanks full of fuel.
I would use it more frequently if it was cheaper
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems to work,
December 11, 2013
By SUE17
from Haverhill, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for my husbands car after reading reviews. His check light went off within an hour or so, so fingers crossed!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HAVERHILL
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the product has great features,
November 29, 2013
By mckoy
from cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Happy with the purchase...did a good job...car pulled again like it should...brilliant stuff..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Perhaps it was too late!,
November 21, 2013
By Chewy66
from Bristol, GB
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: didn't work for my car
"I went on line to see what could be done about the DPF warning light and limp mode that my Audi A6 2.0 went into.
In the past a blast up the motorway had sorted it however the cost of doing that versus the economy of a diesel seemed a bit ironic.
I saw this item and the mostly positive reviews so I limped int Halfords bought the bottle and added to the fuel.
I expected...I had hoped it would clear the system as other reviewers had said, but "nada", "nothing", "zilch"! So to the pros the A6 went had the offending part dealt with and now is as good as new.
I had hoped this would be a cheap alternative but I think perhaps it was a little too late. Maybe, just maybe had I added it sooner I would have given it five stars, and full marks, I hope so. If you have a diesel and therefore DPF problems it's worth trying."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
-5points
6out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>