Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml

Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner is a chemical treatment for diesel engines.
Average Customer Rating:
4.218 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
6
48 of 53(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Review 1 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good,
May 02, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Add this one into car fuel tank after yellow light flashing. After 150 miles drive in motorway at 3000 rpm, yellow light disappeared. Very good product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wynns dpf cleaner,
April 29, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" used this in my zafira tourer 1.6cdti dpf warning xame on after on 350 miles from new, my previous diesel seat altea never had any dpf warning in 3years of ownership. I'm still driving exactly the same routes daily so not sure what to make of it, nonetheless tried wynns after reading internet reviews and have now clocked almost 1000 miles and no warnings so we'll have to wait and see, I have found the dpf cleaner on an auction site cheaper abdalso offering a professional version of the product but using every 3 tanks of fuel is only £3:33 a tank doesn't add much to running costs and seems to be worth it :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works but needs patience,
January 02, 2016
By
from Emsworth, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: took 200 miles to work
" Brought it with caution for my diesel Jag x-type done 73K. Now showing DPF Full see handbook, which means it can be sorted without going to dealer. Red light and glow lamp light also flashing. Bought Wynn. Added to the half tank of diesel nearly full bottle emptied. Nothing happened for 150miles as still Red light, but after a trip to London driving 70 miles the light changed from Red to now Yellow (improvement) and another 10 miles it completely went away. I think Wynn DPF works but one has to give at least 150 miles of run and just using Wynn formula but not doing motorway will not work. Saved me £250 on chemical cleansing the DPF. Do not get the DPF removed as it will make your car fail MOT straightaway. If you do enough motoroway mileage DPF should not be a problem. Problem happens when diesel car is used for mostly city drives "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Problem Solved in 8 minutes!,
January 02, 2016
By
from Leigh, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: does exactly what it says on the bottle
Cons: none observed
" I bought this to regenerate blocked DPF on Astra 2.0 ctdi. A yellow (DPF) warning light was already 'ON'. After applying Wynn's solution and driving on Motorway for about 8 minutes problem was solved. Warning light disappeared. Just add contents of a bottle to 40l of Diesel and watch 'the magic' happen:) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Average,
November 28, 2015
By
from London
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I didn't see any significant improvement. I can't recommend nor criticise the product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HENDON
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Great,
October 29, 2015
By
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works!
Cons: smells like a dead cat
" What this does is lower the temperature in which a DPF regeneration (clean out) occurs, making it easier for your vehicle to clear out the carbon deposits. If like me you mainly travel short city journeys, deposits will build up in the filter and over time can be hard to remove with a blast up the motorway.
Add the full bottle to a tank of fuel and avoid the cost of a forced regeneration or clean at your local garage. This does not work instantly, try to give your vehicle a good 20 minute run on the motorway, keeping your revs at 3000. Do this a couple of times while the additive is in your tank and your car will thank you for it! Should get rid of that DPF light after a few runs at motorway speed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Life saver!!,
October 07, 2015
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As i've only recenly owned a diesel car and was unaware of this problem occuring, i thought i give this product a go.
The yellow spanner on my dash board illuminated, causing my vauxhall astra to go into limp home mode, allowing me only to drive between 5 - 15 mph even though the acceleration pedal was all the way down.
i filled up my tank to make sure it had 40 litres and then pour the content directly into where the diesel fuel goes.
after driving the car around in limp mode for some time, i switched the engine off and then back on, to my surprise, i was able to rev my car, in which i was able to get rid of the particulates that was blocking up the filter.
I highly recommend this product first before you think about replacing the filter which could be costly. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TOTTENHAM
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saved loads of cash,
September 27, 2015
By
from East sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My Ford kuga was four weeks away from its MOT when the dreaded engine management light came on,quik fit and my local Ford garage both agreed on a new particulate filter needed, near a grand worth, I thought I'd nothing to lose by chucking this in, did a run up the local motorway in fourth gear for around 25 minutes and to my releaf the light went out, its now been three weeks since the MOT and no light! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doesn't work!,
September 26, 2015
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Useless, time waste, Rubbish and didn't do one bit for my DPF! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-8points
4out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Give it time,
September 04, 2015
By
from Norfolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: it works, stopped diesel knock, car runs smoother
Cons: the seal on the bottle
" This needed about 270 miles to work, but its great "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is amazing,
August 22, 2015
By
from Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i tried for my insignia 2.0cdti(2010), because was my particular filter full,...after i have done 10 miles on motorway problem is gone, brilliant high recommended, thanks "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner,
July 15, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Was having trouble with my 06 Ford Focus, would almost cut out and the DPF light would flicker on and off at the same time, put some of this in the tank before fuel and took off for a drive, fault has gone and the car is running smooth, will add this every 3 tank fulls for a while as it recommends and see if it gets passed at the MOT stage for normal emissions.
If the car continues to be trouble free I would say this is an excellent product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Skeptical but worked for me,
June 27, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: much cheaper than replacing dpf
Cons: hard to get in my tank
" Suspected this might just be very expensive diesel but thought what have I got to loose vs expensive dpf unit replacement?
Was getting the well documented orange Engine Management Light on and P2002 "Diesel Particulate Filter Efficiency Below Threshold Bank 1" on my 09 manual Ford Kuga. Garage continually reset EML, I drove hard and EML still came back on and stayed on. E.g. Garage reset EML and I drove 2 hours up motorway in 1 gear lower to get constant 3K rpm and super heat dpf unit / force a regen. Light stayed off. Started next day and within 5 mins EML came back on as normal. Immediately stopped for Esso diesel, putting in this product first, and did same 2 hour journey @ 3K rpm back down motorway. EML still on. Drove 2 short journeys with EML on and then bingo, to my surprise, EML goes out of its own accord and stays out when I next start having used half a tank with this product. Never had EML go out before without a garage reset and engine won’t trigger a regen with the EML on.
Instructions are poor and Wynn's website video shows a lady simply poring it in the tank just before filling up. Didn't work for my car since there is a locking flange and then a non-return flap that prevents the cleaner going down the filler pipe and into the tank. However, I discovered that the cap (not neck) on the bottle is the same size as a diesel pump nozzle so opens locking flange. Cut hole in cap to turn cap into mini funnel, pushed non-return flap down and was then able to pour cleaner in to tank before topping up with diesel. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dpf cleaner,
May 17, 2015
By
from Great Malvern, Malvern, Worcestershire WR14, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brought this for my seat leon 2.0 tdi today...my dof light was on added the cleaner and drove for 5miles at 2500 revs in 4th gear and the light went off...job done.thanks "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MALVERN
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bunged EGR... Not any more!,
May 05, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Beefore using this, my T180 Toyota engine would crawl up steep hills at 15mph in 1st.
However once 40ltrs of Shell Diesel added after adding Wynn's Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner (Cleaner first then diesel to mix it best), it's again like a greyhound after the rabbit!
Now will go up the same steep hills in 3rd, pulling just 1000 rpm and 15mph and accelerate to 60mph with ease up hill! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works!,
March 08, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" After reading all the reviews about whether DPF cleaning solutions work I must admit I was skeptical, but my DPF light came on and I thought, why not give it a try!? I followed the instructions of how to clean the DPF yourself, take it on a stretch of road so that you can keep the revs at 2-2.5rpm for 15 mins or so. Luckily my car only needed 5 mins at 2.5rpm and the light went out! Let's hope it stays that way from now on!!! At only £9.99 I'd say it's a bargain, could the car have regenerated itself without the solution? I don't know but it's worth a go! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dpf cleaner,
February 23, 2015
By
from walsall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Top product done the job
Dpf sign on dash and I put this stuff in and cappaw job done
It went off in 5 miles of driving in 4th gear 2.5 thousand rpm
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WALSALL
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product *****,
February 10, 2015
By
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: saved me ££££'s on a new dpf filter
Cons: would be expensive to use ever 3 tank fulls
" I currently have a Mercedes R Class 3.0 Diesel,after owning the car for six months it started to produce large amount of smoke on hard acceleration and on a couple of occasions the car went in to limp. My first thoughts were that the turbo had gone but my mechanic recommend this product. I put the DPF cleaner in before a 300 mile round trip and filled the tank 3/4 full. I have noticed a distinct difference in the MPG and a large reduction on the smoke levels and I am now able to accelerate at higher speeds. I will up date my post when I used the DPF cleaner again after I have filled the tank up 3 more times. Great product so far - highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (PENARTH RD)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Wynn's PFC,
October 29, 2014
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I purchased this product as I was giving my Mercedes CLS 320, a full service and changing every filter/fluids on the car.
I poured this after the service was complete, and left it to work in the background.
A few days later I noticed black smoke coming from my exhausts, and assumed this was normal and the dirt was coming out.
However after a week of driving it, and doing a journey of nearly 500 miles, there is still black smoke coming from the exhausts, although not as much!!
I don't know if this product is supposed to work like this as it does not mention anything on the packaging..
My car ran perfect before this and still does, except for the black smoke.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHATHAM
+1point
11out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wynns Diesel Particulate Filter Cleaner 325ml
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
waste of money,
October 17, 2014
By
from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Tried this item,total waste of time and money,had to have DPF removed "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (KILNER WAY)
-10points
6out of 22found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>