Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"

The Boardman Performance MX Race Bike Large 21inch has a light frame and a 27 speed drivetrain.
Average Customer Rating:
4.609 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 23(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Review 1 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
January 01, 2014
By Anonymous
from Dundonald, Ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the whole bike
Cons: none
"This is a great bike and very easy to get used to.
It has very smooth gear changes.
The front fork suspension is very useful for the bumpy roads but easily switched off for smooth roads too.
The bike is very enjoyable to ride and thoroughly recommended.
This bike oozes class and looks very pleasing on the eye.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Starting to take cycling a little bit more seriously,
December 14, 2013
By BigJBL
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: well built, switchable suspension
Cons: white seat
"As a 30 year old overweight man I thought it was time to
Lose a few pounds and start cycling, I brought a cheap and cheerful mountain bike earlier in the year and got hooked on riding again, after nearly 700 miles the bike had done me well but I desperately wanted to upgrade.
After talking to a few friends I decided to go for a hybrid as a lot of my riding is along cycle paths not road, I also decided that I wanted optional suspension, so the boardman ticked all the boxes,
The bike it's self is great, loads of gears well built strong and durable with smooth gear change, the bike is well worth the money is great for all my needs
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? GRAVESEND
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
El camino - new to cycling - mind and body survived- equipment fails,
November 30, 2013
By Elcamino
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, looks, initial free rolling ability
Cons: wheel frames, gears
"Was very excited to get my bike and head off to spain by myself to undertake the el-camino. I am totally new to cycling so maybe undertaking a cycle rude a similar length to lands end to john o' was a little too much of a challenge ( everyone I spoke to thought I was mad -especially cyclist) but without challenges, life can be rather pointless.
Day 4, after thinking my mind and body would fail me,undertaking between 87-107 km in 37 degree heat, I went to bed finally realising that I may just complete the challenge in the 10 days I had allowed myself.
The next morning I set off at 550am and by 10am I had covered just over 40km. I reached a stage on the plains that was a 1pc decline for 15km. Thinking I could simply free role and coast for the next 15 minutes, I instead found myself pedalling. Looking down I saw the wheel had completely buckled.
To my shock and disappointment the bike I had been Praising for the last few days and thanking god for allowing me decent equipment - failed me. I ended up coming back days early.
When I went into halfords and explained what had happened - the technician said in all his years he had never seen such a thing happen. There was an air of disbelief in the technicians voice but when I arrived and spoke to them and they saw I was a man of honour they agreed to change repair the bike. I had undertaken the journey to raise money for a church in Sierra Leone after all, not simply to torture myself physically or engage the beauty of the Spanish countryside.
So it is nice (bad choice of words maybe) to see another customer review where they also had the same issue. Hopefully board an will see a weakness in the wheel structure. It is worth noting, at no stage did I take the off road trails. So we can't blame my miss use. I even show the technicians pictures to the roads i had taken.
I am returning next year to complete the camino - I yet have to decide if "Chris" will be accompanying me!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
elcellent,
October 18, 2013
By craig13
from worcestershire uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent bike, at even greater price with the extra 10% discount. The staff at the Kidderminster store couldn't have been more helpful. I would thoroughly recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman hybrid,
October 13, 2013
By Dirty2sanchez
from Llanelli
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great product well made and great value for money for an entry level bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great bike for price,
October 03, 2013
By andyb1961
from doncaster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well worth the money
Cons: white handle bar grips
"bought this bike through bike to work scheme. great bike quick and light. only downside is the white handle bar grips should have been black spent more on bikes in past and not got the same quality.great service from the doncaster store, overall well worth the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Almost great,
September 28, 2013
By Gosportmike
from Gosport Hants
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spec for the price
Cons: quality of assembly
"Picked this bike up for the commute to work, nothing major a few miles on roles and Tarmac cycle paths. After a few weeks both weeks buckled and I hadn't cycled on anything but flat road Tarmac. Took the bike back to halfords and they straightened the wheels for me.
After two days the back wheel went again. Got a friend who is an engineer to look at it and take it back to halfords. after accusing me changing the tyre (I hadn't) they admitted it must be the wheel and replaced it like for like. Overall a good bike, light and quick."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
September 26, 2013
By shrewandroo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought for commuting to work and so far has exceeded expectations. Having not ridden a bike since my teenage years, I was very pleasantly surprised with the performance of this bike.....fast, effortless and very stylish to boot. Very happy with purchase!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Race 21" - A Very Good 'Real World' Bike,
September 25, 2013
By SwindonGeoff
from Swindon, WIltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: pretty much all of it
Cons: white grips, pedals
"This is the second bike I've bought this year and I'm very happy with my purchase and the service I received from Halfords in Swindon.
I ride to work during the week and for pleasure with my wife at the weekends. I'm 6'4" tall so getting a bike which fits perfectly, feels good, rides well and looks good underneath me is not an easy task but the 21" MX race delivers on all counts. I disagree with other riders who moan that the MX is heavy because, although it might be heavier than other bikes on paper, it certainly doesn't feel heavy in the real world - it feels, (and is), light, strong, nimble and fast.
For my purposes, the MX race it is much better suited and a much better ride than my mountain bike - If you're reading this review and trying to decide between a MTB or Hybrid, think carefully about where and how you'll be spending most time on your bike and then get the bike which best fits your intended use. I bought the wrong bike last time but corrected that by buying the Boardman :)
My daily commute is: 2 miles on mostly downhill cycle paths and a bit of canal towpath, 3 miles of gentle uphill gradient on an old railway track and then another 2 miles downhill on roads. The Boardman eats it up easily and quickly and, with a choice of 27 gears, I'm never stuck for the right gear at the right time. Gear selection is fast, accurate and *usually* reliable - the only slight issue I have is that changing from the second to third front ring takes slightly longer than from 1st to 2nd and can be clunky if you don't expect or plan for it - mind you, it's a huge step up from the 2nd to 3rd rings, so I plan for it and, by making the change up as gentle as possible, it's not a problem.
The low end gears are low enough that you can climb pretty much anything and the high end gears are quite fast. I find myself cruising comfortably at 23 mph and even at 29mph I'm still able to 'keep up with' the pedals if I want to put some more effort in. For comparison, I am utterly flat-out at 12mph. The MX needs less effort to travel almost twice is twice as fast as my MTB.
The roads are usually very quiet when I finish work, (about 05.00) so I'll often indulge myself, lock the front forks, and do the return journey on roads all the way.
I took some time to get the seat and control levers in exactly the right place for me. The seat is far more comfortable than it looks and the seat post is plenty long enough for tall riders who, (like me), like to be able to fully extend your legs on the down push.
The brakes are superb and I'm happy with the tyres on all the surfaces I ride on. I like my tyres quite hard, (about 65psi), which can leave the front feeling a little 'skittish' when cornering on loose stuff but lessens rolling resistance (really noticed this on my MTB) on the roads. I've always believed that a harder tyre is also more resistant to punctures.
Stuff I didn't like, so I changed it:
The pressed steel pedals are alright, but aren't brilliant or particularly nice looking. I nabbed my chunky aluminium Wellgo's from my MTB. They work and look just fine on the MX.
The white grips. They look a bit pants and were a poor design choice imho. I put the white grips on my wife's (white) MTB and put her black Bike Hut grips on the MX where they look fine.
Stuff I've added: (I've uploaded a piccie.)
I added a pair of white Crud Race guards to the MX - they work really well, look good and aren't expensive.
I modified a rear light mounting to carry two vertically mounted 5 LED lights.
Added two dirt cheap 270 lumen Cree lights to the front which give sufficient light to ride on pitch black paths with confidence.
This bike is a high quality piece of very well engineered use-it-everyday piece of kit at an affordable real-world price.
I'm delighted with mine :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+37points
39out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman purchase,
September 22, 2013
By Bernie2
from Derby
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really pleased with this purchase but I am not happy with the quality of the handover from Halfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Boardman Performance MX Bike,
September 13, 2013
By Teacherboy23
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great spec bike for the money and rides really well. I love it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike & Service,
September 04, 2013
By Andyd80
from Stanmore, Middlesex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: extremely agile, very fast, great brakes, excellent build quality, comfortable on long rides
Cons: pedals are not the best changeafter purchase
"I got this bike through the Cycle2Work scheme and I couldn't be happier with my choice.
After a couple of weeks of looking at bikes and reading numerous reviews I settled on the Boardman MX Race.
I have had bikes of all types in the past and can say without hesitation this is by far my favourite. I feels extremely solid and is remarkably agile for a bike of this size.
After a few minor adjustments to the saddle & break levers I now have the perfect machine (for me anyway). The pedals could have been of a better / higher quality but this is a minor niggle as I will be changing them to SPD's as soon as they arrive.
You are able to reach your desired speed in super fast time, this is a god send when commuting on London's stop / start roads.
With the flick of a switch you are able to take this bike of the beaten track due to its lockable front suspension forks (I don't mean a full on downhill course or extremely rough terrain), but you have the confidence to maybe take a more scenic route occasionally. Bridle paths, canal towpaths and a leisurely ride in the woods will be no problems at all.
The service I received was excellent and very professional.
I know from reading reviews that this can be a little hit and miss but each time I have been to each of my 3 local Halfords stores I have always left happy and with exactly what I went in for.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Top Brand, but for a great lower price,
August 26, 2013
By JonCro
from Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Never thought I would ride such a well known brand, but I am and it's good fun, lightweight and quick"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Steven 1964,
August 06, 2013
By Steven1964
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is excellent value it performs well on the road and light off road would recommend this bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike!!!,
July 04, 2013
By kevjames86
from Trowbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really good bike I use mostly canals and this bike is quick and agile over the bumps but can perform like a road bike when on the roads by flickling the suspension to locked.
Really well designed and structured.
Halfords were also excellent on the product and also went out of there way to get this bike in from another branch for me. 1st Class Customer Service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BATH
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good all rounder,
July 03, 2013
By brbelly
from gateshead
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"just got this bike. a good all rounder spoilt by the halfords setup. after setting it up at home much improvement made on the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Race,
June 21, 2013
By Trevw
from North Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: speed
Cons: addictiveness of bike
"We purchased two of these bikes and it is easy to ride on the flat and can take rough paths. A good choice for a solid hybrid. Always wanting to go out on them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great engineering Highly recommended,
May 16, 2013
By spiemc
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the sram 27 gears, quick locking forks, good tyres
Cons: the technicans didn't do a good check, should have had better pedals, should come with tyre liners as standard
"I would recommend this bike. Love the selection range of gears. Quick locking front forks so you can ride without the bounce on the commute to work. It's also great on the canal pathway.
I'm not the biggest fan of the way the technician put the bike together but after a few home adjustments it was a wonder piece of engineering.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EALING
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MTB-ish with hybrid wheels,
April 22, 2013
By happyhiker123
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: suspension, speed without effort, can i can pretend its a mountain bike
Cons: frame too big for me, conflicting advice, gear change
"I hate cycling, have for 15 yrs since I bought an oversized MTB. But the kids are getting older and the wife wanted me to do canal paths, so I decided to get a better bike, cycle2work meant I could afford the Boardman. I'm not really going to do much road riding, and as a lot of hybrids are really road bikes with straight handle bars, I thought the more mountain bike like MX Race was for me. Well got it last week, been riding 3 times and I love it. Canal paths and Bridlepaths are brillaint, Bridle paths ! Who Knew? The suspension makes rocks less bumpy and the bike goes really fast with less effort, making it much more fun to ride. Service at Halfords was good, but I got conflicting advice(hybrid won't do more than a canal path to Yeah it'll do a red trail no problem) The gears are not smooth but I think thats a set up issue not a bike issue, and I think Halfords sized me wrong. Check the MX race specific guide not the generic hybrid. I'm 6ft 1, but inside leg is 34'' so I shoudl have got a medium, but I was 'persuaded' the large was better. As it is the bike is great but I have no crotch room, should I hit anything, I'll be singing soprano!
I reckon the MX Race will be fine on a Blue Trail, but not sure it ( or me) could handle a Red. But for bridle paths and High Peak Trail etc, and even if I get a bit more adventerous I think its perfect. In fact its so good, I might actually cycle 2 work on it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jack of All trades,
April 14, 2013
By AComuter
from West Midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth comfortable go anywhere bike, excelent brakes
Cons: bike on large size to haul on of train to comute, price gone up £100 since launcjh so not such good
"Been commuting on bike for 3 months. (Bike bought via cycle to work scheme)
Bike ticks all the boxes’ for me as ride includes a bit of everything, canal tow path, cycle path, off road and street riding to station.
It’s really a bike that you can use for all types of riding. But this is also it’s down side as it’s a’ Jack of all trades’ machine and master of none.
I’m also sure every owner will have the same complaint about handle bar grips. There good quality but white is totally the wrong colour, they became dirty and discoloured after 1st ride. However White saddle has been no problem to keep clean so far and very comfortable it is to.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>