Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"

The Boardman Performance MX Race Bike Medium 19 inch is jam packed full of powerful features.
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Review 1 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, so good...,
February 10, 2014
By Col14
from Ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, locking adjustable forks
Cons: white saddle & grips look great but are impractica, slightly heavier than i'd like
" I rode a BMX as a young lad and then a mountain bike, recreationally, as a teenager. Now in my late thirties, I've got this bike in order to train and tackle a sponsored cycle in a few months' time.
Apart from needing a fine-tune I can't really fault this bike. My backside is aching! but I'm not sure to what extent I can blame the saddle, if at all.
I knocked off 1 point for the white saddle & grips, a tad impractical; and it's a wee bit heavy.
The service in the shop was outstanding; thanks Wayne! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
mx race,
December 01, 2013
By heresthunder1999
from county durham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: disc brakes
Cons: no gear indicator window
" bought this bike in the summer hols and I like the bike even if it is a little on the heavy side the thing that I don't like about it is the gears and it has no gear indicator window which I miss I can look down at the big ring but its a pain looking at the small rear ring my brakes rub not as good as my cannondale "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Versatile bike, shame about the build quality from the store!,
October 13, 2013
By BertEddie
from Dudley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: versatility of bike, british cycling discount
Cons: build quality from halfords
" Can't fault the bike. Very versatile and isn't much slower than road bikes with the right tyres on.
The way the bike was built was awful. Both disc brakes rubbed, gears didn't change correctly, tyres weren't pumped up enough, even the brake levers weren't level with each other!
That being said, I now know how to put a bike together after fixing it all. Thank you Google!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its so good my wife wants mine !,
October 12, 2013
By Rocketman007
from Leigh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: power delivery, looks, ride, lockout
Cons: crank selector
" we've recently returned to cycling, aiming at cycle routes for lpeasure, canal paths etc and possibly riding to work. I decided on this bike after reading the reviews - and I have not been disappointed in the slightest.
I ordered online from the Leigh store and collected the following day. I have now had it 3 weeks and covered about 50 miles - mainly canal paths and cycleways as we build up distance ( and bum resistance)!
The bike is fantastic, my wife's old bike is no match anymore and swapping from one to the other really highlights the differences and progress made - its a different class. The power deliver through the gears is sublime and using the lockout for some off road sections really makes a difference to the comfort and handling.
It is so good I am going to buy another under the "cycle to work" scheme and may even go higher up the model range although I will miss the lockout.
The only issue I have is with the main crank upshift from bottom to middle to top - its not smooth - but that should be resolved on the first service hopefully - although Halfords should have set it up correctly in the first place.
Basically though its a great bike, does what I need it to do so far and has been great to ride. So, here I go to buy another this week and keep my wife happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEIGH
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman MX Race,
September 30, 2013
By rob111111
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Only been out a few times on the bike, but it's much faster on the road than the bike it's replaced. The bike looks great and the set up by the Newcastle staff was great. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for Females to.,
September 28, 2013
By SFoz02
from Tyne & Wear, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I spent a good while deciding which Boardman I wanted to buy. Initially, I was going to get the ladies white comp hybrid in the large.
The Halfords store at Gateshead, were really helpful and allowed me to order both bikes in to help with my decision. They gave me great advise. The MX looked fabulous and more my size even thought they were both 19". The ladies large looked really small compared to the men's medium. I am 5'8" and wear 33" to 34" leg trousers. Purchased this bike also with £100 off which was a bonus. I've done a few rides now and found the bike to be great for me. Cycle tracks mainly with a bit of road cycling to. Definately a great bike for females.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all round bike,
September 27, 2013
By GrumpyDom
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: well built, good components, looks good
" I bought this as my main mode of transport for my daily commute which is along road and canal tow path which can be quite rough in places. It's well built with good components and looks great. There's no comparison with my Marin B17 when you throw anything rougher than a tow path at it but copes really well otherwise and on road I can keep up with pretty much anyone.
The only thing I have changed so far is to fit a pair of Shimano SPD M424 Pedals although the white handlebar grips are already starting to look a bit grotty so will need changing soon.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bike,
September 03, 2013
By Ste729
from Stratford upon avon, cv37
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Purchased this bike after debating for a while between this and a hybrid team. Very happy with the bike as most my riding is on road but with some use on canal paths/ greenways. So far it has handled everything I have thrown at it with ease! It looks great, the brakes are great, the gear changes are lightning quick and its a really comfortable bike to ride. Would recommend it to anybody, especially the service from the strarford upon avon store and parry who set my bike up so well the same day without delay. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
unhappy customer,
August 12, 2013
By none101
from portsmouth
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: looks great
Cons: clunky gear changes
" bit disappointed with the bike overall, looks great but gear changes are slack, slips out of gear, dont know if this is down to the bikes itself or the putting together of the bike, either way not overly happy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all rounder,
August 09, 2013
By retsgehs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I'm quite new to bikes, but this seems a nice all rounder. Thin tyres for the roads but chunky enough to go off road. Also suspension that locks out is a bonus - just in case I use it for more than cycling to work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman mx,
August 08, 2013
By Benno070478
from Newark Nottinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Another quality boardman product. The hybrid type machine has real quality with the medium size tyres which work well for not only road speed but also offload performance. This light weight frame is a dream to handle and with its superb disc brakes the stopping power is massive "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike for the road and light cycle tracks,
August 02, 2013
By DingleDes
from Hitchin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: style, speed, comfort, quality
" Superbly built, smooth and very fast. This bike is excellent on the roads for those who like the more upright position. Off road it's fine on light cycle tracks, but when it gets rougher this bike struggles, if you intent to use offroad a lot maybe look at an mtb. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice bike - very flexible,
July 29, 2013
By ThomasBBBB
from Weymouth, Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: well built, looks great
Cons: it's heavy
" Nice bike - very flexible. The build quality is very good which adds up to it looking very smart. The best thing about this bike is that it can still deliver on road performance whilst being able to handle some light offroad use. But then again this is also it's downside in that you can't get huge speeds like a road bike and can't take it proper offroad. The weight of the bike (14kg) is also a downfall. But I knew all this before I bought it and it suits what I need it to do. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WEYMOUTH
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Bike,
July 27, 2013
By Gregg1990Legend
from Northampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: c boardman as a brand, weight
Cons: the seat takes time to break in to get comfortable
" This is the first bike i have ever purchased and i was torn between a number of different makes and models etc. But when i tested this the feel, handling and stability was of such a high quality.
The change between gears is near enough instant and during this you can pick up quiet a bit of speed.
I have only used the front suspension a few times but already you can tell it has the qualities of a MXB. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Performance MX Race Bike,
June 25, 2013
By Albert154
from Ayrshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: haven't seen another one around, excellent build quality
Cons: don't like the white grips
" Bought this bike to cycle to work and for leisure activities.
Have done around 600 miles in the last 2 months and I just love it.
Build quality is excellent, and although fairly heavy with the front suspension, you can still get up quiet a speed - max 38mph and averaging just under 15 on a hilly ride to work.
Bought this rather than a road bike becuase I prefer the riding position and tend to do country roads where surface is not always smooth.
Changed the grips for ergonomic ones and also added shimano clipless pedals.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!!!,
June 11, 2013
By SparkyRish
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lockout forks, eye catching, 28 inch wheels, kevlar tires
Cons: white grips love the look but will get grubby
" I was all set for buying a road bike, the problem was that any ride I'd ever been on involved either a tow path, bridle path or some form of cut through,
The MX is perfect with the lockout forks, bigger wheels and Kevlar reinforced tyres letting you switch between riding styles freely. I got mine with the spend £600 save £60 offer bringing it right in my price bracket.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great looking bike, a head turner,
June 04, 2013
By Sumpter
from Portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: matt finish, boardman signature, 700 wheels, sram gearing, great price
Cons: white seat, white handle grips
" Bought is bike 2 weeks ago when 10% offer was on. very impressed with the design,SRAM components and wheels.
Still early days, but if you want an in between bike for road and canal routes this is the one.
Gives an extremely smooth ride, and the 19" frame is idea for my height of 5.10"
Use the bike for commuting daily doing 5 miles
Neil at Weston super mere and Andrew at Havant (where I picked the bike up from) where excellent with my requirements and could not do enough to assist.
Looking forward to putting it to he full test on this years London to Brighton bike ride at night "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome bike!,
June 04, 2013
By Clarkey2013
from Suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This bike is exactly what I was looking for a suggest it to anyone else "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great half way house,
February 07, 2013
By Westdshucbasduhcasdh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the look and large wheels, light weight for a less than 500, the frame with no cheap welds, the front shocks great on cobbles
Cons: the white grips dirty after 1 ride, white seat but is comfortable
" Still early days, but this bike has been working out well.
I use it for weekends down country lanes and have knocked it down a few bridleways also. It's slower than a racer, not as tough as a MB, but if you only want one bike that does a bit of both, it's perfect.
Also, looks alsome. Very happy with bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman Performance MX Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast and effortless,
January 31, 2013
By Benessx
from Chelmsford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought the bike from Chelmsford store where the service was excellent. Bike is very fast on roads with good tires being the main reason.was reaching a constant speed of 20mph on even roads quite comfortabley.
Also looks great!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>