Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"

Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21inch is speedy and perfect for commuting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 16(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Review 1 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike and value for money!,
March 04, 2014
By Frank0384
from Havant
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Really good for getting around on. It used to take me twenty minutes to ride my Voodoo Bantu to work. I can get there in ten on this bike. I like to ride at 120 psi which can feel a little bit bumpy sometimes but gives me the performance I desire. I have looked at a couple of reviews regarding the unfinished paint work around the disk mount. You can ask your local store to mix you the paint to cover. Not that you need to as it wont rust. They have the paint codes and equipment in-store. They mixed me some up perfect match."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike but poor service from halfords,
January 12, 2014
By John1512
from Chelford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a good spec bike for the money. But the problem is Halfords staff at the store I purchased it from in Macclesfield did not have a clue how to set the gears or the bike up, despite me taking it back twice. My advice is to check that your store has properly qualified people before you buy it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the box,
August 04, 2013
By Jailer
from Peterborough
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great bike nice to ride does every thing it is supposed to."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks the part but more attention to detail required,
July 17, 2013
By lagsal
from Salisbury
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall looks, wheels brakes and tyres
Cons: seat components, gearing
"This is a bike that really looks and feels the part. OK, it’s at the entry level for the Boardman range but it’s still a top-notch choice for a stylish daily commute (assuming you’ve got somewhere safe to leave it) and/or a brisk recreational ride at the weekend. The paint-work oozes quality – it’s just a shame that the carrier mounting points on the frame left of the rear wheel have been left exposed to the elements. Surely they could have been capped or covered. Out on the road, it’s lightweight, it handles well, feels nice and taught on the corners, and offers easy thumb-press gear changes. It does seem odd though, that the 18 gears are derived from 2 cogs on the front with 9 on the back. To me, this puts an unnecessary lateral stress on the chain when operating at the extreme left and right of the range. Personally, I would have been happier getting the 18 gears from with a 3-cog front, 6-cog rear combination. The wheels, brakes and tyres are superb so absolutely no complaints there. The seat components are perhaps a bit flimsy and I would agree with the earlier review about general strength and longevity. The supplied pedals are more than adequate, but I suspect that most would opt to replace them with a hybrid or clipped pair. Overall, having owned the bike for a couple of months, I can sum up by saying that the Boardman Hybrid Race is a decent enough bike that makes the run-of-the-mill brands look inferior – you just have to accept that savings will be made here and there when designing an entry-level product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this product has a understrength seat components.,
July 16, 2013
By PeteMac5
from Northants
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lightweight
Cons: saddle support structure
"i have had my boardman bike for around three months and the bolts holding the seat in position have twice broken during my 12.5 miles commute home from work. This leaves me clinging on to the seat or working overly hard out of the saddle. I only weigh 79 kilos and so far all my riding has been done on the roads.
I have also had the rear wheel replaced as the bearings disintegrated.
This is leaving me frustrated with a bike that i bought thinking i would be getting reliability and performance on my 25 mile round commute.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CORBY
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent all round product,
July 14, 2013
By Philip12
from Swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comfort, easy handle bar gear change
"Happy cycling
Awesome cycling
Lightweight for cycling
Fluant gear change cycling
Off or on road cycling
Reliable cycling
Designed brilliantly for leisure or fitness cycling
Speedy cycling
This item is excellent for all the above reasons and more."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for fast commute,
June 24, 2013
By Bell83
from Inverness, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: weight, look
"The Boardman Performance Hybrid Race has all the quality and performance I was looking for, for my daily commute, and that for a very decent price. Its sturdy and light, and allows me to bike "off-road"; that is, along a well prepared canal tow path. Its very stiff, as it does not have any shock absorbers, but that keeps it light. This does mean that I generally avoid dips in the tarmac.
I had to get used to the gears, but feel that it has a good range, also for hills. The front cog/gear has been refusing to listen sometimes, but I am sure that it can be fixed. Finally, some gear combination front- back (1-9) will make the chain fall off. This was pointed out at Halfords already and is really easy to avoid (and if it falls of its incredibly easy to put back on). The only point is that you're left with a little less nr of gears. Still having a good range though.
All in all, I have enjoyed it from the first day and couldn't be more pleased with my decision.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
June 24, 2013
By geedavies
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Previously I have been using an old mountain bike to commute along cycle paths and small sections of road. This bike has made a huge difference, it glides effortlessly down these paths. I think it is the perfect choice for anyone wanting to take the next step in cycling."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BRILLIANT BIKE,
May 25, 2013
By VITZUK
from MAIDSTONE, KENT
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brilliant bike; fantastic deal
"First purchase of a hybrid bike. This make came highly recommended by a friend and it hasn't disappointed. So easy going up hills on this bike. Very light. I did have one problem with the front gears but this was easily fixed (basically the cables were new so needed stretching). Cant go wrong with a Boardman."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A impressive bike,
April 04, 2013
By Wing40
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I very impressed with the bike
Great value and a really good ride can't wait for weather to improve so I can spend more time out there on it
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike, can't go wrong with it!,
April 01, 2013
By PaulBristol30
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the frame
Cons: handle bars
"This is a great bike and is definately worth the price tag. If your looking for a mid range hybrib you can't go wrong going for this.
Love the frame as coming from a MTB it is so much more light weight, ideal for the comuting I do, and no too heavy but it is sturdy enough.
At the end of the day you get what you pay for and this is a very decent bike, if you want to spend more you can get a better spec, but this more than does the job and I have used on a 25mile bike ride and was fine.
I don't think it would be suitable for sporty races and cross country because of muddy bridal paths/ country lanes, but it is a great road bike and perfect for the city and A roads, paved bike tracks and tow paths.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beginners Ride,
March 30, 2013
By Rus2w
from Blackpool
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For a first time rider in the 21st Century, the memories of my Raleigh Grifter are still fond so I needed something to hook me into excercise. As a 40+ newby to the post Olympic TDF phenomenon I dedcided Hybrid was the way forward and wasnt disappointed with the Boardman!
As an engineer I appreciate all of the mechanical moving parts this bike owns. The gear shifts are simple and responsive as are the brakes. Simple adjustments to the seat height from collection and the bikes riding perfectly.
If you want quality at entry level I fully recommend this bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review on the bike,
March 29, 2013
By Husain1321
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: the seat
"The bike is great has a smooth ride and gear changes. Overall I enjoy riding the bike on a ever day purpose"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike!,
March 22, 2013
By chez35
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the look of the bike
"The bike fantastic !!!.I had a very good ride out , very smooth."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21",
March 12, 2013
By Si876
from Odiham Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: light and look great, easy to ride
Cons: rear disc brake mount left bare metal.
"Bought this from my local Halfords in Basingstoke a few days ago. Excellent service from the Halfords staff setting the bike up for me. The bike is stylish, light and a real enjoyable ride. The frame is smooth with no welding marks. One downside which I am waiting to hear from Boardman Cycles, the drill holds to mount the rear disc brakes is bare metal (Grey / silver colour) which against the dark paint work, looks like its been missed in production and stands out.
Apart from that, a great bike which I am pleased about."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Large 21"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike 2012/2013 - Large 21",
March 07, 2013
By Lukey122
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Quick, light, sturdy and impressive looking. Worth the money, without a doubt!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.