Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"

Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19inch is versatile and perfect for leisure riding.
Average Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Review 1 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike for a newbie!,
June 11, 2014
By Bigfella846
from Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, comfortable
"Bought this after a lot of looking around and it does not disappoint. For me getting back into cycling after more years off than I care to remember it is perfect. Comfortable, easy to ride and looks great. Topped off by excellent service from the Dorchester store ( in particular Colin) made this a fantastic buy!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike and value for money!,
February 28, 2014
By Frank0384
from Havant
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Really good for getting around on. It used to take me twenty minutes to ride my Voodoo Bantu to work. I can get there in ten on this bike. I like to ride at 120 psi which can feel a little bit bumpy sometimes but gives me the performance I desire. I have looked at a couple of reviews regarding the unfinished paint work around the disk mount. You can ask your local store to mix you the paint to cover. Not that you need to as it wont rust. They have the paint codes and equipment in-store. They mixed me some up perfect match."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Staff,
January 01, 2014
By Diane68
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The staff were amazing , the product was damaged and they went out of their way to replace and rebuild the new bike within 24 hours ! Excellent staff"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great bike with an even better price,
November 12, 2013
By Ryan501
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the lightness, speed, value
Cons: handle bar ends, saddle
"Being an absolute beginner when it comes to bikes, I wanted something cheap to get me to university and back. After many weeks of researching I decided to pop into my local Halfords to take the plunge. The staff were extremely friendly and patient with me, and took their time to explain each bikes' components, especially Steve. After about an hour I left with the Boardman which was slightly over budget for me, but looking back I'm glad I took the risk. The riding on it is very smooth and fast, even on the gritty broken streets of London. Within 3 weeks of purchasing this bike I've become addicted to it and have already cycled over 100 miles, much more than I had initially planned too. I now find myself wanting to wake up for the 08:30 lecture starts, just so I can cycle in.
The only drawbacks I can think of for this bike were the fact that the handle bar ends on one side disappeared almost instantly. The saddle, although decent, could probably do with a bit of an upgrade,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? OLD KENT ROAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic lightweight hybrid,
August 21, 2013
By Adsy03
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lighweight, colour, brand
Cons: unable to put bar ends on
"This is a fantastic hybrid bike, after many weeks of research and visiting various branches. I finally decided to go for it, its light, great colour and excellent finish. There is not much of a difference between this bike and the comp apart from the disc brakes which I felt spongy that the v type brakes are better .Great customer service received from Kenny in the Braehead branch :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb combination of 2 bikes,
August 07, 2013
By calmond
from Bempton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality finish, wide range of gears, lightweight but sturdy, nice brand
Cons: bottom bracket had to be changed under warranty., exposed brackets for rear disc brake fitment
"After weeks and weeks of research I settled on this bike, it was on view in Halfords and just stood out from the rest, I liked the idea of a road bike but also a mountain bike, this bike is a combination of the two leaning more towards road bike but without the fear of potholes !, like a lot of people the budget goes up as you research ,but I have to say this bike is a bargain and well worth the money with the quality of components used and the finish of the frame bars etc. The ride is very crisp,steering sharp and brakes fantastic.
This bike has a very wide range of gears and almost covers both road bike and MTB ratios this can result in a little gear noise as the chain starts to cross over even when it is set up perfectly. A good ride for a novice with the range of gears which are slick and smooth ,you can shift up 1,2 or even 3 gears from the shifter ! Tip, protect where the cables rub on the frame with some old screen protector I spotted this in time.
Quality bike ,review done after 250miles"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? SCARBOROUGH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excelent bike,
August 04, 2013
By gisella
from edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excelent bike , very light and easy to drive , i use it every day for cycle to work and realy so happy with my new bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
August 01, 2013
By JulesH747
from Stockton uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Would highly recommend this hybrid bike!
Staff at Halfords were fantastic."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value bike,
June 24, 2013
By Peacky
from Huddersfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears and handling
"I purchased the Boardman bike in advance of a long distance charity bike ride and it did everything that I thought it would do. There were a couple of issues on delivery but the lads in store fixed them quickly and without any fuss. I would certainly recommend this bike to anyone. My last bike was a mountain bike with road tyres fitted and I could not belive how much quicker this bike was. Top Bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good bike and worth the money,
June 21, 2013
By Mattgas07
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The bike has everything that i was looking for, make's my ride to work a lot easier, knocking a few minutes off my journey time!! Defiantly worth considering if you've got a good budget and want a great bike!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Value,
June 18, 2013
By likethewind
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"Great product for the price. If you are not bothered about the pricier whizzy bits on the dearer models this is the bike for you."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? BARROW IN FURNESS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for into to commuting,
June 15, 2013
By Mairi2013
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the light frame
"I'm just starting to cycle to work and this bike and has completely boost my confidence.
It's light, easy to move in traffic.
Although the bike is unisex - the seat could be a bit more comfy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great features and smooth ride,
May 30, 2013
By milligand
from Bexleyheath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is by far the best bike that I have purchased. A friend had a Boardman bike so I already knew about the quality but this new model takes some beating."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a proper bike,
May 24, 2013
By mkgrail
from milton keynes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i was worried about spending a lot & went & tried nearly all the bike shops in mk before deciding on this model i have now put approx 200mls on it practicing for the London to Brighton a pleasure to ride after my old bike the staff were very helpful"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for money,
May 13, 2013
By wheels0fire
from Stevenage, Herts
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brilliant product
"Good information provided. Allowed me to select this as my preferred option.
Bike has exceeded expectations"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great frame, good wheels.,
April 02, 2013
By Jodre11
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: frame, wheels
Cons: assembly
"The rigid frame is pretty light and the bike is a pleasure to ride.
The assembly was late and the headset was loose.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid,
March 25, 2013
By sdggsd
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gears are very smooth, very light
Cons: could do with disc brakes (at higher £ of course)
"Well put together, feels very solid and it's nice to ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cycle is one the best i have used so far,
March 24, 2013
By Manish
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: smooth drive, very fast on the road, great gears
"I have been using a mountain bike to commute to work and i have noted a huge difference in use this new road bike. It rides effortlessly and is very smooth. They have used the best components available and it is very decently priced. I have now been using the bike for around two weeks and i just love it. Cant find any defects with it so far. Would certainly recommend this product. I would have given it 5 star had this bike been provided with disk brakes - the only thing i feel missing."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Hybrid bike at a great price,
February 11, 2013
By Racyboy
from Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have a good mountain bike but wanted a bike that was more responsive and versatile for road riding as well as country tracks. This bike fits these needs perfectly and is going to get a lot of use particularly when tracks dry out.
With Boardman you get a great frame no horrible welds showing, quality parts and the back up from Halfords.
Many complain about not getting specialised service from Halfords compared with a bike shop, I disagree my branch was excellent both in purchase, setup and still have my free service to come. Great bike I love it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boardman Performance Hybrid Race Bike - Medium 19"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job!,
February 11, 2013
By Adders100
from S Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Upgraded from a standard Mountain bike to this and what a difference. Well made, light weight, perfect for the level of performance I am after."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.