Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"

The Apollo Ace Boys Bike has a BMX style frame to make your kid the coolest at the skate park.
Average Customer Rating:
4.757 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
68 of 69(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Review 1 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike has great appeal to boys and is cool enough for younger sisters to use afterwards.,
February 19, 2015
By Triathlon1
from Bath, Bath, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: durability, colour scheme, bmx style
Cons: no gears, no mudguards
" There are straight forward brakes and handles on this bike which make it an ideal choice for starters. Simple but sturdy with hard wearing parts and popular colours.
The price is very fair for the age range targeted.
The brake levers were a bit of a stretch for my 5year old but Halfords happily adjusted them to fit in a matter of minutes. One very happy son and therefore a happy mum too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
boys bmx,
February 09, 2015
By lauriesmum
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" my five year old is very pleased with this bike, it was good value and seems to be of good quality. Would reccomend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? EXMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing bike,
January 20, 2015
By Williamsmum
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My son just turned 5 and loved this bike I wanted something fifteen that wasn't character based so this was my ideal bike my son was very happy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Bike from Santa,
January 07, 2015
By johnph
from dundee scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid feel quality build
" Excellent bike perfect for my rough and tough 6 year old "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Ace,
January 06, 2015
By coder
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My son loves this bike i would recommended to anyone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price at the excellent price we paid,
January 05, 2015
By Jkip81
from Crewe, Cheshire East, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, added extras like stunt pegs, exciting colours for me lad, lighter than most bikes for similar age group, good height range for seat
" We purchased a bike for the same price from a different retailer. The build quality of that was dreadful. So a few days before Xmas we opted for this one. Couldn't be happier. Quality build and is very robust with some nice little extras. Add to the perfect bike, the excellent customer service we received, I think I've found a new place to buy my children's bikes from in the future. 5***** "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product has great features,
January 01, 2015
By char25
from newcastle upon tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We bought this nike for our 5 year old, he couldn't be happier, its a great bike for those who enjoy stunts and skate parks, over all a brilliant bike for a brilliant price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Bike,
December 27, 2014
By kandi79
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: stunt pegs
" Bought for my 6 year old son for christmas and it it a really good quality high performance bike he absolutely loes it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice looking bike, but the assembly by Halfords could be better.,
December 15, 2014
By Cs350i
from Surrey
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: looks
Cons: quality control
" Nice looking bike, but quite heavy for its size.
When picking it up the stunt pegs looked bent, took them off and the rear wheel axle looks bent, was told this is normal as its a long axle, load of rubbish, although the bike on show looked the same, so a bit cheap. If I turns out to be a problem it's going back.
Also there was no nut and bolt holding the front reflector to the handlebar.
So to sum up, my son loves it but Halfords assembly lacks quality control, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
December 14, 2014
By Hollie89
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brought this for my 6 year old he loves it! Great for money very sturdy and strong would definitly recommend "
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought at a Christmas present but appears very good.,
December 01, 2014
By Anonymous
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" As my 5 year old son hasn't received his bike yet I can't really comment on performance but what I would like to mention is the absolutely excellent customer service & communications I received from Halfords Inverness. We live in Glasgow but will be having Christmas with my parents on Skye. My mother travelled from Skye to Inverness to pick up the bikes a week after I'd ordered them & nothing was a problem. Staff even phoned me up to tell me I could get some free accessories as I'd spent enough to qualify. All staff on the phone were really friendly and so helpful. It was a stress free and made our Santa shopping seriously easy. Thank you much to all the team in Inverness. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect bike,
November 03, 2014
By Neatz
from Lincoln, Lincoln, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My son loves his new bike, it;s very cool & stylish for him. It's very sturdy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for my 5 year old,
October 21, 2014
By SarahC213
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This has been a perfect gift for my son, for his age range. We have had a great experience purchasing from halfords and will be returning to upgrade others bikes in the household. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The boy likes it.,
October 16, 2014
By Richard7000
from Byfleet, Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the stunt pegs, the sturdiness, the cost - great value
Cons: the saddle adjustment
" Great bike, looks good and is sturdy enough to withstand the kind of treatment it is likely to get from my son.
I found it quite difficult to adjust the saddle, though. Requires two spanners and the rear reflector gets in the way. Fine once I took the reflector off. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo ace,
October 11, 2014
By Damo19
from Kildare, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike for the price. It was well put together and my son is very happy with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NAAS (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16",
October 07, 2014
By MummyAnna
from Congleton, Congleton, Cheshire East CW12, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: colour is a great blue
Cons: decorative handlebar panel
" My 6 year old twin boys really enjoy their first 'big boys' bikes. They particularly like the bars on the back wheels that look cool & allow their friends to ride too. Two problems I've found though are; if the handlebar/front wheel twists round the wrong way it locks the breaks and caused a lot of tears of frustration - until we learnt how to control this. Also the boys small hands have difficulty applying the breaks - the span between is too large. Therefore I wouldn't recommend this bike to very small children even though their height is right for the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CONGLETON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Ace,
October 06, 2014
By scooby71
from Telford, Telford and Wrekin, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent kids 16 inch bike. The brakes are very good on this bike when compared to some of the others out there.
Reserved and collected within 2 hours on a Sunday morning. Staff were very helpful.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super for 5 - 6 year old,
September 30, 2014
By John656
from Winchester, Winchester, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: rideability, strength, easy to set up
Cons: fairly heavy
" Bought this bike for my grandson. He liked it so much I bought another for my granddaughter! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Ace Bike,
September 18, 2014
By Matt3346
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good well made bike, kid loves it. Reserved it on the internet as it was half the price, Halfords then assembled then I went to pick it and adjusted everything to fit my kid.
First bike after stabilisers, so when they fall off the reflector tends to break. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely bike,
September 04, 2014
By Emma0108
from Belfast, Belfast, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this for my five year old. Great fit height wise and easy for him to control "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>