Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"

The Apollo Ace Boys Bike has a BMX style frame to make your kid the coolest at the skate park.
Average Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (59 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
58 of 59(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Review 1 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect bike,
November 03, 2014
By Neatz
from Lincoln, Lincoln, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My son loves his new bike, it;s very cool & stylish for him. It's very sturdy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for my 5 year old,
October 21, 2014
By SarahC213
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This has been a perfect gift for my son, for his age range. We have had a great experience purchasing from halfords and will be returning to upgrade others bikes in the household."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The boy likes it.,
October 16, 2014
By Richard7000
from Byfleet, Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the stunt pegs, the sturdiness, the cost - great value
Cons: the saddle adjustment
"Great bike, looks good and is sturdy enough to withstand the kind of treatment it is likely to get from my son.
I found it quite difficult to adjust the saddle, though. Requires two spanners and the rear reflector gets in the way. Fine once I took the reflector off."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo ace,
October 11, 2014
By Damo19
from Kildare, Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike for the price. It was well put together and my son is very happy with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NAAS (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16",
October 07, 2014
By MummyAnna
from Congleton, Congleton, Cheshire East CW12, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: colour is a great blue
Cons: decorative handlebar panel
"My 6 year old twin boys really enjoy their first 'big boys' bikes. They particularly like the bars on the back wheels that look cool & allow their friends to ride too. Two problems I've found though are; if the handlebar/front wheel twists round the wrong way it locks the breaks and caused a lot of tears of frustration - until we learnt how to control this. Also the boys small hands have difficulty applying the breaks - the span between is too large. Therefore I wouldn't recommend this bike to very small children even though their height is right for the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CONGLETON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Ace,
October 06, 2014
By scooby71
from Telford, Telford and Wrekin, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent kids 16 inch bike. The brakes are very good on this bike when compared to some of the others out there.
Reserved and collected within 2 hours on a Sunday morning. Staff were very helpful.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super for 5 - 6 year old,
September 30, 2014
By John656
from Winchester, Winchester, Hampshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: rideability, strength, easy to set up
Cons: fairly heavy
"Bought this bike for my grandson. He liked it so much I bought another for my granddaughter!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WINCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Ace Bike,
September 18, 2014
By Matt3346
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good well made bike, kid loves it. Reserved it on the internet as it was half the price, Halfords then assembled then I went to pick it and adjusted everything to fit my kid.
First bike after stabilisers, so when they fall off the reflector tends to break."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (BEXHILL)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely bike,
September 04, 2014
By Emma0108
from Belfast, Belfast, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for my five year old. Great fit height wise and easy for him to control"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
'Really cool' - T, aged 5,
September 03, 2014
By Taz82
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this bike for my son's 5th birthday, he absolutely loves it! He was so excited and is always asking to go out on his new bike!
Great price and great service from halfords store. Fab, well built bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? READING (SOUTH)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike,
September 01, 2014
By Shir29
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: bike
"Hi, i bought this bike online great bike my boy loves it and wants to ride everday on it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
August 28, 2014
By Foxsa
from Nottingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We bought this bike for our sons 5th birthday and he loved it. As with other bikes in this price range it is a little in the heavy side but that was expected.
Excellent service from Halfords as the bike was built (and stabilisers ordered attached) in under 2 hours!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very strong.,
August 25, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good value bike.
Well built.
Easy to put together yourself.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fab proper boys bike,
August 24, 2014
By dawnyf
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought for my 5 year old son. Sturdy but not to heavy. He hasn't rode without stabilizers but got going very quick. A good first bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WEST QUAY RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Boys loved it,
June 15, 2014
By SallyB10
from uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It was just the right bike for my 5yr old twins. But because it was their first bike i recommend getting the stabiliser as well. Another good thing was that elder brother who is 7 could also ride it. The colours were just perfect for the boys. We are very pleased.
The bike was well assembled and the service received from the staff at halford in perry barr was excellent. Taxi fare was also paid for by the company. Yap.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (PERRY BARR)
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big boy's bike for not so big boys!,
January 13, 2014
By Bam1
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: the that it will last a couple of years hopefully., the bike is sturdy looks robust enough to last, great value as bought in the sale
Cons: the reflector broke when he fell off on day 2.
"Bought this bike as a surprise for our grandson on his 5th birthday and was worried that it would not 'fit' as we ordered it just based on his height after talking to staff. No need to worry as it was perfect! Happy grandparents, parents and most of all happy little boy. So happy he actually kissed the bike when he saw it :o)
James at White City Manchester was brilliant, patient and made sure the bike and helmet were the correct fit and fitted stabilisers too.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First bmx,
January 05, 2014
By Butterfly123
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the overall style
"This was perfect for my 5 year old with plenty of room for growth. He loves his big brothers BMX so the style of this bike is great for a little 'grown up' looking bike. The colours are nice and bright, it is comfy and easy to ride and the tyres have plenty of grip in the wet. He is delighted with his new bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DIDCOT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome,
January 03, 2014
By Gazmondo
from Tiverton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fantastic purchase definite value for money
Good sturdy bike for a young lad"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? TIVERTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for a 6 year old.,
December 28, 2013
By Toonboy69
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great starter BMX for my sons 6th Birthday. Solid bike and hopeful it will last him well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Ace Boys Bike - 16"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great robust kids bike,
December 17, 2013
By christmasdaybirthday
from west midlands
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very good looking bike. seemingly designed to take the abuse that young kids throw at it. would recommend this product to all parents looking for a first proper bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>