Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Kids Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"

Little boys will go bananas for the Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike with cool Marvin graphics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.707 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
5 stars
75
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
98 of 99(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Review 1 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dismal quality of components and pre-assembly,
May 18, 2015
By weevil
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: low price
Cons: poor quality
" Influenced by the reviews here, I bought one of these, boxed, and assembled it myself.
I expected to spend half an hour of bolting on a few bits. Upon unboxing, I found some minor problems, which I set about fixing. I ended up spending a half a day stripping EVERYTHING off the bike to sort out all the problems (listed below) and ensure that nothing went unchecked. If they're all made like this, then I cannot understand the good reviews.
I pity anyone in the same situation who doesn’t have a fair selection of tools and lubricants and a good grounding in bicycle maintenance.
For the technically-minded, here are the problems I found:
1. Tab of headstock washer located about 30° away from the machined groove in the steerer tube. Groove too shallow. All threads above tab damaged during assembly, making nuts hard to remove.
2. Headstock bearings insufficiently greased.
3. Bottom bracket too tight; notchy.
4. Bottom bracket bearing barely even coated in grease, as though someone had applied a smear to one part of the bearing cup then assembled.
5. After disassembly, cleaning, greasing and reassembly, the bottom bracket proved to be badly ovalised, causing both tight and loose spots on every crank revolution.
6. Chain guard retaining screw loose (almost falling out) and in need of a spacer (not supplied) to keep it clear of the chain.
7. Front cones too tight; notchy.
8. Rear cones too tight; notchy.
9. Headstock too tight; notchy.
10. Front brake fitted askew, i.e. twisted when viewed from above, causing the initial contact points to be the front of one block and the rear of the other.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality,
April 29, 2015
By MsRoba
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this for my 4 years old son and he loved it. The monkey make it funny and cheeky the service was great I'm happy about this purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sturdy first bike,
April 29, 2015
By nannie1
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" we checked several trikes to ensure that what we bought would be the safest for our great grandson. This fits the bill in all aspects, it is sturdy well made and very stable, would certainly recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marvins Bike....,
April 28, 2015
By Bluebell07
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fab little bike, perfect 1st bike for 2year old! It seems of decent quality, excellent value for money. No issues at all. Halfords had it built before suggested collection time. Great service and the most helpful young gentleman answered any questions. Highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? GALASHIELS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
February 10, 2015
By Ubaid
from Dewsbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheeky monkey logo
" The bike was absolutely brilliant and my nephew loved it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
apollo childs bike,
February 02, 2015
By jonny65
from Worcester, Worcester, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" this product represents good value for money
and is superb as a first bike for boys and should stand
the rigors of childs misshaps
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
January 26, 2015
By neiljai
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought on behalf of the grandparents for our sons birthday, great quality, sturdy and safe and excellent value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks better then the picture!,
January 13, 2015
By Anonymous
from Clydach, Swansea, Swansea, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good product
" The product looks better then I was expecteed and the qualite is on best standards. My son was verry excited about it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value on sale,
December 29, 2014
By AJA1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Nice little bike and most little boys like monkeys. Came ready put together by shop which was very useful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant little first bike.,
December 28, 2014
By Benji83
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about it.
" Bought this for our 3 year old for his first bike. He didn't get off it all Christmas day. Fantastic value for money and extremely well made. It will last him until he has out grown it. Built in store to very stringent guide love Mrs and safety checked. We bought the accessories pack of helmet, pads, bell and water bottle too which completed the gift. 5*. Would recommend and buy from you again. Thank you. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
December 26, 2014
By SSAA
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Attractive bike with matching helmet and water bottle which my son loves. Works well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apollo marvin the monkey boys bike 12",
December 18, 2014
By dpritch
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality, the price
" It's a great quality bike, perfect for a childs first bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Greaproduct at an amazing price,
December 12, 2014
By Maria86
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bike for the little ones, really pleased with the features and I would recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? TOTTENHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo marvin the monkey boys bike,
December 02, 2014
By Samejane1
from North Shields
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My son turned 3 in August and I highly recommend this bike. It's an ideal size and my little boy loves it. Great buy "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect bike,
November 18, 2014
By Joey1005
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I recently bought this for my son who will be turning 3 in December. It is a great wee bike and perfect for his age and stage. As a keen cyclist (I have a mountain bike, a hybrid and a road bike) I was looking for a robust bike which will last for a number of years and I believe that this will. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheeky bike, cheeky price!,
November 17, 2014
By Richi29
from Maidstone, Maidstone, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: overall quality, price, in store service
" Bought this for my son for Christmas. Seems good value for money. Can't complain at the service at all and the product seems of a good build quality too. I would reccomend this to anyone with a child who's going for their first bike! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money,
November 13, 2014
By Beassknocker
from Bath, Bath, Bath and North East Somerset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great service, great bike for the money, happy grandchild! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BATH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bike & great value for money,
November 03, 2014
By Robnbek
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
" I purchased this item for my 4year olds birthday, had it personalised also. He absolutely loves it!!! It's sturdy and safe for him to use to his hearts content. By far the best bike I've ever bought for one of my children and I would highly recommend this bike to anyone, I had it put togeather at Halfords too which saved a lot of time and I could pick it up at my convenience. A brilliant purchase all round "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Xmas Present,
November 03, 2014
By Leeprobs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a well made bike at a bargain price for my 2 year old. It's a Christmas present bought early and will grow into. The service at my Dartford store was excellent and was in a sale at half price. I cannot fault this bike whatsoever. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect first bike for very yung riders,
November 03, 2014
By MyKidsLoveToRide123
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My son love his New Marvin bike. The small wheels and frame are perfect for him to get to grips with riding a bike for the first time. Because the stabilisers are part of the bike (are removable should they be ready) the bike is stable and moves only a little to give them there first taste of balance. Although the bike is not the lightest in its range, my son has no problem getting it moving from standing still. In addition, Halfold's assembled the bike, this was a god send as little bike are hard to assemble. all in all we are extremely happy with the purchase as is our son. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>