Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Kids Bikes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"

Little boys will go bananas for the Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike with cool Marvin graphics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
105 of 109(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Review 1 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first bike,
July 27, 2015
By Carrie81
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Nice well made, sturdy little bike, lovely eye catching colour and design "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? SWORDS (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wonderful bike,
July 17, 2015
By pam11
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought for our 2 year old grandson, he loves it, great bike for him to grow into "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
.,
July 16, 2015
By Deb29
from Leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very pleased with the bike. Our son has been on it every day since we bought it! Well put together, everything we need for his 1st "grown up" bike. Would recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lovely first bike,
July 10, 2015
By Samuels04
from NR29, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Brought this bike for my sons 3rd birthday. It's his first bike. I have found the bike to be of good quality. I purchased a bell seperately which his loves. All in all very pleased "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
missing parts!!!,
July 08, 2015
By sharni
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" i traveled far for this to get it back home to find missing parts check products proply before selling them "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Little First Bike,
July 02, 2015
By AllyandNat
from Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Solid, good quality bike. Bright and vibrant colours, sturdy, real food quality feel. Our 3 year old son was really pleased. Would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little boys bike,
June 12, 2015
By Naini2
from Llandudno
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdiness, bright paintwork
" I found this bike online and compared to several others. This seemed best value and also most suitable for a first bike. We ordered it one day and collected the next. Our grandson is three and a half and this is just the right size. He went on it four or five times and has now learnt to pedal it. Very happy with this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
50% hit,
June 12, 2015
By Fitzy007
from Wexford, Ireland
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" Bought 2 of these for a Playschool.
Immediately very popular with boys and girls.
Brakes damaged and needed replacing within 10 days of normal use. Pretty disappointed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? WEXFORD (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boys Monky bike,
June 11, 2015
By Anonymous
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this for my grandson. Click and collect. Ready built to use. It has brakes and stabilizers and feels solid. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRIBBS CAUSEWAY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poorly prepared,
June 10, 2015
By Steve64444
from Peterborough
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" This bike was supplied with stiff crank bearings, badly adjusted brakes. The steering was too stiff. A slightly buckled wheel and a twisted tyre.
Some much for the pre-inspection check which was done whilst I waited even though I had been rung and told the bike was ready for collection.
It was made down to a price and then sold, even on offer at least £15 more than it was worth.
I waited in a Click & Collection queue only to be told that the bike click & collection was upstairs.
I doubt I'll ever buy another bike from Halfords. If a child bike is supplied in this condition I hate to think what might happen with a racing bike if supplied in a similar condition. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dismal quality of components and pre-assembly,
May 18, 2015
By weevil
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: low price
Cons: poor quality
" Influenced by the reviews here, I bought one of these, boxed, and assembled it myself.
I expected to spend half an hour of bolting on a few bits. Upon unboxing, I found some minor problems, which I set about fixing. I ended up spending a half a day stripping EVERYTHING off the bike to sort out all the problems (listed below) and ensure that nothing went unchecked. If they're all made like this, then I cannot understand the good reviews.
I pity anyone in the same situation who doesn’t have a fair selection of tools and lubricants and a good grounding in bicycle maintenance.
For the technically-minded, here are the problems I found:
1. Tab of headstock washer located about 30° away from the machined groove in the steerer tube. Groove too shallow. All threads above tab damaged during assembly, making nuts hard to remove.
2. Headstock bearings insufficiently greased.
3. Bottom bracket too tight; notchy.
4. Bottom bracket bearing barely even coated in grease, as though someone had applied a smear to one part of the bearing cup then assembled.
5. After disassembly, cleaning, greasing and reassembly, the bottom bracket proved to be badly ovalised, causing both tight and loose spots on every crank revolution.
6. Chain guard retaining screw loose (almost falling out) and in need of a spacer (not supplied) to keep it clear of the chain.
7. Front cones too tight; notchy.
8. Rear cones too tight; notchy.
9. Headstock too tight; notchy.
10. Front brake fitted askew, i.e. twisted when viewed from above, causing the initial contact points to be the front of one block and the rear of the other.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality,
April 29, 2015
By MsRoba
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this for my 4 years old son and he loved it. The monkey make it funny and cheeky the service was great I'm happy about this purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sturdy first bike,
April 29, 2015
By nannie1
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" we checked several trikes to ensure that what we bought would be the safest for our great grandson. This fits the bill in all aspects, it is sturdy well made and very stable, would certainly recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Which Store did you visit? GREENOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marvins Bike....,
April 28, 2015
By Bluebell07
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Fab little bike, perfect 1st bike for 2year old! It seems of decent quality, excellent value for money. No issues at all. Halfords had it built before suggested collection time. Great service and the most helpful young gentleman answered any questions. Highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? GALASHIELS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike,
February 10, 2015
By Ubaid
from Dewsbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheeky monkey logo
" The bike was absolutely brilliant and my nephew loved it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
apollo childs bike,
February 02, 2015
By jonny65
from Worcester, Worcester, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" this product represents good value for money
and is superb as a first bike for boys and should stand
the rigors of childs misshaps
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
January 26, 2015
By neiljai
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought on behalf of the grandparents for our sons birthday, great quality, sturdy and safe and excellent value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks better then the picture!,
January 13, 2015
By Anonymous
from Clydach, Swansea, Swansea, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good product
" The product looks better then I was expecteed and the qualite is on best standards. My son was verry excited about it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value on sale,
December 29, 2014
By AJA1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Nice little bike and most little boys like monkeys. Came ready put together by shop which was very useful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant little first bike.,
December 28, 2014
By Benji83
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about it.
" Bought this for our 3 year old for his first bike. He didn't get off it all Christmas day. Fantastic value for money and extremely well made. It will last him until he has out grown it. Built in store to very stringent guide love Mrs and safety checked. We bought the accessories pack of helmet, pads, bell and water bottle too which completed the gift. 5*. Would recommend and buy from you again. Thank you. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BOSTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>