Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"

Little boys will go bananas for the Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike with cool Marvin graphics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.756 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
78 of 78(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Review 1 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wheel Nuts,
October 19, 2014
By DIF1973
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Can someone let me know what size wheel nuts this uses as we have lost them after we put a parent handle on (now reverting back to two wheels)
also where can I get them from
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy,
October 14, 2014
By maso
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this bike for my son and he loves it. It is really good quality for the price. I bought it online on the Monday evening and I was able to collect it on the Tuesday from 2pm. Halford staff called me first thing in the morning to ask me what time I'd like the bike to be ready. They built it and I just had to pick it up. Very good service. I would recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great first Bike,
October 11, 2014
By srafique
from Hedge End, Southampton, Hampshire SO30, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Lovely bike - Personalised it so its thats little bit more nicer. Good price and looks nice!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first bike,
October 01, 2014
By kate77
from Northern Ireland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this little bike and even better so does my son."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LONDONDERRY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike, great quality, great price!,
September 30, 2014
By Sophie90
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price, excellent quality, good size, fantastic delivery service
"What a fantastic bike! Bought for my 2 year old son and it's the perfect size for him. Paid a great price for a great quality bike. I used Halfords delivery service which was much faster than expected!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
appolo marvin the monkey bike,
September 25, 2014
By tash2307
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brought this bike for my sons 4th birthday ..fantastic bike very sturdy and comfortable
Comes with matching helmet and bike
Very good price and easy to put together
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great bike (when set up correctly),
September 15, 2014
By Nickmassive
from Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: appearance and style
Cons: quality of the factory level assembly
"I bought this bike for my son as a 3rd birthday present. Collected it boxed as I had to store it for 2 weeks prior to the big day.
When I opened the box I found the factory assembled headset, crank and wheel bearings were all far too tight. The bike needed to be stripped and rebuilt before I felt happy letting my son ride it.
Now that it is built correctly I can say that it is a great bike and my son loves it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the money,
September 06, 2014
By Pahs38
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought for our son's 3rd Birthday and he loves it! It's a great little bike and Halford's service was fabulous. We ordered it at 8pm on a Friday and it was built and ready to collect by 3pm the Saturday at our local store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apollo Marvin the monkey,
September 06, 2014
By calum85
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My little boy loves his new bike. Great price and product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performed as advertised - Well pleased,
September 02, 2014
By PappyP1
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: pneumatic tyres, 12" wheels, brakes easy to adjust, saddle and handlebars easily adjusted, solidly built, no sharp edges
"A good sturdy, robust first bike. More than capable of taking the knocks it's bound to get with a learning child.
Grandchild is absolutely delighted with it; and was out and about with it in no time at all.
Pneumatic tyres make all the difference and the fully enclosed chain is a good safety feature.
5 stars all round!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap, heavy, basic: economy range,
August 28, 2014
By Ayeright
from Fife
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap, solid, uncomplicated, bright coloured and fun
Cons: heavy, a bell is not provided (extra £5!)
"Does what you need it to do but it is heavy. It's basic and of decent build quality. I built it myself and would recommend a socket set and two people if you are not overly familiar with assembling bikes. My son is very pleased with his bike however I do feel that the weight could be an issue. I have looked at lighter bikes but you are also looking at double the price.
Bright colours and not too gimmicky, which the offering in Halfords tends to be in my opinion.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little starter bike,
August 27, 2014
By SiDa
from Dumfries
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: dimensions, tyres, weight
Cons: paint quality, brakes
"Lovely little bike - very solid and my 3 year old loves it. He is already off stabilisers so needed a new solid bike to build his confidence further and this bike was ideal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value,
August 19, 2014
By sharon01234567
from Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this for my Grandson and what a bargain this was my grandsons first bike he was on it all weekend and loved it.It tired him out fantastic value to see him have so much fun ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but heavy,
July 31, 2014
By Gattu
from London, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: general make
Cons: weight
"It is a good first timer's bike, but it is quite heavy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son loves this bike,
July 29, 2014
By ginger1980
from Weston-Super-Mare, , North Somerset BS23, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I brought this bike for my sons 5th birthday when he saw it he absolutely loved it he rides it every day and it is the perfect size for him as he is a tiny boy I'm glad I made this purchase"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic little starter bike!!,
January 07, 2014
By Loubie23
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Reserved online and collected in store! Our son loves it and its a great first bike!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Go bananas,
January 06, 2014
By Stuartcp
from Tring, uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: build quality, easy to use brakes, adjustable seat height so future proof, accessories available too
"Fab well built bike, heavy enough and sturdy enough so have confidence it will stand the test of my 3 year old bashing, dropping and most definitely crashing !
Easy to use brakes, and very smooth for him to ride especially as a first bike !
I would recommend to anybody with a youngster and as a first bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely little bike!,
January 03, 2014
By Prash123
from Sileby, Loughborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the colour
"My little boy who's only 2years and 8 months really loved his Christmas gift and rode it at once! After reading some comments online about the fact that a young child might find it hard to peddle these bikes, I was very happy to see him ride it all around the house without any trouble at all. Glad that we got it at half price!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Briliant gift!,
December 26, 2013
By MumofD
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was a brilliant gift for my son. He hasn't started using it properly yet but he already loves it! He is only 2y5m old and is still learning.
Good value for money!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
December 22, 2013
By BikeMadLad
from Warrington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike is great, vibrant and just right for our little fella. Personal detailing to the bike was a must. Having Marvin the Monkeys head with our little boys name on the bike was a great touch! we even matched up the bike with a Marvin the Monkey Helmet, Marvin gloves and Marvin bike bell, just brilliant!! :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>