Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"

Little boys will go bananas for the Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike with cool Marvin graphics.
Average Customer Rating:
4.764 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
57
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
72 of 72(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Review 1 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great bike (when set up correctly),
September 15, 2014
By Nickmassive
from Hinckley, Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: appearance and style
Cons: quality of the factory level assembly
"I bought this bike for my son as a 3rd birthday present. Collected it boxed as I had to store it for 2 weeks prior to the big day.
When I opened the box I found the factory assembled headset, crank and wheel bearings were all far too tight. The bike needed to be stripped and rebuilt before I felt happy letting my son ride it.
Now that it is built correctly I can say that it is a great bike and my son loves it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the money,
September 06, 2014
By Pahs38
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought for our son's 3rd Birthday and he loves it! It's a great little bike and Halford's service was fabulous. We ordered it at 8pm on a Friday and it was built and ready to collect by 3pm the Saturday at our local store."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
apollo Marvin the monkey,
September 06, 2014
By calum85
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My little boy loves his new bike. Great price and product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performed as advertised - Well pleased,
September 02, 2014
By PappyP1
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: pneumatic tyres, 12" wheels, brakes easy to adjust, saddle and handlebars easily adjusted, solidly built, no sharp edges
"A good sturdy, robust first bike. More than capable of taking the knocks it's bound to get with a learning child.
Grandchild is absolutely delighted with it; and was out and about with it in no time at all.
Pneumatic tyres make all the difference and the fully enclosed chain is a good safety feature.
5 stars all round!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap, heavy, basic: economy range,
August 28, 2014
By Ayeright
from Fife
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cheap, solid, uncomplicated, bright coloured and fun
Cons: heavy, a bell is not provided (extra £5!)
"Does what you need it to do but it is heavy. It's basic and of decent build quality. I built it myself and would recommend a socket set and two people if you are not overly familiar with assembling bikes. My son is very pleased with his bike however I do feel that the weight could be an issue. I have looked at lighter bikes but you are also looking at double the price.
Bright colours and not too gimmicky, which the offering in Halfords tends to be in my opinion.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little starter bike,
August 27, 2014
By SiDa
from Dumfries
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: dimensions, tyres, weight
Cons: paint quality, brakes
"Lovely little bike - very solid and my 3 year old loves it. He is already off stabilisers so needed a new solid bike to build his confidence further and this bike was ideal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value,
August 19, 2014
By sharon01234567
from Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this for my Grandson and what a bargain this was my grandsons first bike he was on it all weekend and loved it.It tired him out fantastic value to see him have so much fun ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but heavy,
July 31, 2014
By Gattu
from London, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: general make
Cons: weight
"It is a good first timer's bike, but it is quite heavy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son loves this bike,
July 29, 2014
By ginger1980
from Weston-Super-Mare, , North Somerset BS23, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I brought this bike for my sons 5th birthday when he saw it he absolutely loved it he rides it every day and it is the perfect size for him as he is a tiny boy I'm glad I made this purchase"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WESTON SUPER MARE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic little starter bike!!,
January 07, 2014
By Loubie23
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Reserved online and collected in store! Our son loves it and its a great first bike!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Go bananas,
January 06, 2014
By Stuartcp
from Tring, uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: build quality, easy to use brakes, adjustable seat height so future proof, accessories available too
"Fab well built bike, heavy enough and sturdy enough so have confidence it will stand the test of my 3 year old bashing, dropping and most definitely crashing !
Easy to use brakes, and very smooth for him to ride especially as a first bike !
I would recommend to anybody with a youngster and as a first bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovely little bike!,
January 03, 2014
By Prash123
from Sileby, Loughborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the colour
"My little boy who's only 2years and 8 months really loved his Christmas gift and rode it at once! After reading some comments online about the fact that a young child might find it hard to peddle these bikes, I was very happy to see him ride it all around the house without any trouble at all. Glad that we got it at half price!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Briliant gift!,
December 26, 2013
By MumofD
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was a brilliant gift for my son. He hasn't started using it properly yet but he already loves it! He is only 2y5m old and is still learning.
Good value for money!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Bike,
December 22, 2013
By BikeMadLad
from Warrington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike is great, vibrant and just right for our little fella. Personal detailing to the bike was a must. Having Marvin the Monkeys head with our little boys name on the bike was a great touch! we even matched up the bike with a Marvin the Monkey Helmet, Marvin gloves and Marvin bike bell, just brilliant!! :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apollo Marvin the Monkey boys bike 12",
December 21, 2013
By Anonymous
from Kingston Upon Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After trawling the numerous sites looking for a suitable bike for my 3yr old for Christmas, I came across this cracking deal at Halfords, not to mention being half price, but also if I click and collected, would be built and safety tested. The Staff at Halfords Clough road Hull were very helpful and even more so as I had the said 3yr old in tow lol, Would recommend this bike to anyone and would recommend the staff at clough road, very helpful, bike well built and safety tested which took a weight off my mind."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
December 15, 2013
By Adrian1962
from Croydon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bike so happy that you put it together for free. Great price my son is going to be so happy this christmas."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON (PURLEY WAY)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christmas present,
December 13, 2013
By Moira99
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this lovely little bike for my 3 year old Grandson,
Reserved on line and then picked up ready made at my local
Halfords in Worcester, very impressed lovely sturdy well made
1st bike very fairly priced! Sure he will get lots of fun and years out of it,
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For my 3 yr old boy,
December 11, 2013
By HarrysBigBike
from London, Bond Street
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This bike is probably the best value 12" bike when it comes to price v. product. It may not be able to compete on the playing field Isla Bikes, Specialized and Early Rider in terms of quality, but i felt that those manufacturers have well over engineered their product. If money is no object then go for it, but my boy loves this bike and rides nearly every day. Its in every sense of the word a kids bike. i have put front and rear lights to enhance safety at low light and stimulate interest as he sees me on my bike with lights."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? No
Which Store did you visit? KILBURN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little bike,
December 07, 2013
By Laura1234567
from Norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brought for my son for Christmas just before he is 3 it's great quality and he will love it and will last for a good couple of years. Bargain at the price I paid in the sale with then extra discount"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apollo Marvin the Monkey Boys Bike - 12"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Marvin Monkey=happy little monkey,
December 05, 2013
By Bobsmama
from Edinburgh
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: colour, character, sturdy
Cons: heavy
"Great quality and seems very sturdy. Quite heavy but this means hard wearing.
I'm sure this will be a big hit with my son. Bright, colourful character
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Is this the child's first bike? Yes
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>