Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack

Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack contain 2 tests approved for use in France
Average Customer Rating:
4.487 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (76 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
2
71 of 74(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Review 1 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Approved breathalyser for legal driving in France,
August 19, 2015
By
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: legal driving requirement in france
Cons: less than 2 years lifespan
" A must have French Police approved breathalyser for legal driving in France.
Shame the best before date is only April 2017 less than 2 years from date of purchase - so that's 20 months!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Happy,
July 06, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this as we were travelling to France, we never had to use it but was a good product that complied with French law, really good value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had no choice,
June 25, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Driving through France in August, it's the law there so had no choice to get one. But this is the one to buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't trust it,
February 02, 2015
By
from Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I bought a pack of these to test before our summer trip, I had 4 pints my wife had 2.5 pints, both of us tested below the French limit and that's lower than the British limit. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alcosense single use NF Breathalyser twin pack,
January 13, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this for my son to use, as he was staying with friends after a night out and needed to drive home later the following day. He said it was easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 05, 2015
By
from lancing
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great idea. I bought them for my daughter who has just turned 18 and also passed her driving test in the last 6 months "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most valuable item I bought my son for Xmas,
January 02, 2015
By
from Greater Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What can I say, every young person should have one of these!!! I bought this as a bit of fun for my youngest son. However, he thought it was brilliant. He tried it out on New Years day after drinking on New Years Even, so he could pick his car up. It worked brilliantly. The instructions are clear and is easy to interpret. Will be buying more of these!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very simple to use product,
December 27, 2014
By
from West Berkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Does exactly what it says on the box! I ordered two of these prior to going on a pre-christmas works do. Collected from store - very good service. Used one of these the following morning to ensure I was safe to drive - simple colour changing crystals indicate whether you still have alcohol in your system.
Much simpler to use and, from what I have read, more reliable than the expensive electronic devices. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hit & Miss,
December 14, 2014
By
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: not reliable
" I tried this today after a pint of kronenburg 1664 (5%) and 4 large glasses of 12% wine this afternoon.
3 hours in total ...... too many units; but it was an xmas party !!
I wasn't driving; but thought it was a good idea to test this product knowing that I was way over the limit. At least double for driving. Probably 16 units of alcohol. (limit being 4 and 1 unit being absorbed per hour)
The crystals went green up to the red line; which told me I was under the UK limit. I will only trust the product to give me a zero result.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps you legal whilst driving in France.,
September 30, 2014
By
from Smethwick, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These were brought for our company car kits for driving in France. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
-3points
7out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
September 25, 2014
By
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great product & value for money. easy to order & collect "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap & Effective,
August 28, 2014
By
from SE UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Have not had to use this product yet but everything you need is in the box, easy to stow in your glovebox, satisfies French motoring requirements. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did the job,
August 28, 2014
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value
" Needed this product for driving through France - Even though didn't use it fell happier knowing we had it if stopped by Police. Why spend more on a product that serves the same purpose. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (WRAGBY RD)
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yet to try it out,
August 25, 2014
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought this product for a recent trip to France, to conform to their law. It wasn't necessary to use the product so are really unable to comment on the actual product.
Halfords Clicik and Collect service is another matter. The service and helpfulness of staff was appalling. Goodness knows how they are still in business. There is nothing good to be said about the experience.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use it your lose it ( your licence! ),
December 31, 2013
By
from Portsmouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: wine voucher
" Bought a couple for testing myself in the morning after a new years party.
Everything looks ok but will know after blowing into them. If below French limit then also below UK limit...but NOT necessarily safe to drive as you can test for tiredness.
One strong criticism is why on earth do they include wine vouchers in the box...I mean its almost as bad as selling alcohol at petrol stations!
May follow up with a review of actually using the thing after a heavy night.
Happy New Year
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
+1point
7out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alcosense is a legal requirement for France,
October 21, 2013
By
from essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have not actually used this product, but bought it because it is a legal requirement to carry with you when driving in France. It is NF approved which is a requirement so, therefore, it does the job required. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suitable for France,
October 20, 2013
By
from Plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: doe what is needed
" I needed a breathalyser for travel through France.
This was easily and quickly available and exactly suited my need.
It is approved by the French authorities. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
-2points
4out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Essential for motoring holidays in France,
October 18, 2013
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: essential, compact
" Kept in glove compartment in case of being stopped by Gendarmerie. Not needed to be used!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed when travelling in France,
September 30, 2013
By
from Braintree,UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Item ordered on Internet for collection at Branch. Was immediately available at Branch. Very happy with all aspects of this purchase "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Insurance for Daughter!!,
September 28, 2013
By
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought so that it can sit in my daughter's glove box, so if she's had a big night out she can check whether she's legal to drive. So far unused, but great peace of mind for me, as a Dad, to know that its there. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>