Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack

Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack contain 2 tests approved for use in France
Average Customer Rating:
4.507 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2
68 of 71(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer Reviews for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Review 1 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't trust it,
February 02, 2015
By Postie787
from Halifax, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I bought a pack of these to test before our summer trip, I had 4 pints my wife had 2.5 pints, both of us tested below the French limit and that's lower than the British limit. "
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alcosense single use NF Breathalyser twin pack,
January 13, 2015
By Siouxsy
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this for my son to use, as he was staying with friends after a night out and needed to drive home later the following day. He said it was easy to use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 05, 2015
By flossie1331
from lancing
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great idea. I bought them for my daughter who has just turned 18 and also passed her driving test in the last 6 months "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most valuable item I bought my son for Xmas,
January 02, 2015
By Happy1234
from Greater Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What can I say, every young person should have one of these!!! I bought this as a bit of fun for my youngest son. However, he thought it was brilliant. He tried it out on New Years day after drinking on New Years Even, so he could pick his car up. It worked brilliantly. The instructions are clear and is easy to interpret. Will be buying more of these!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? ROCHDALE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very simple to use product,
December 27, 2014
By MartinM63
from West Berkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Does exactly what it says on the box! I ordered two of these prior to going on a pre-christmas works do. Collected from store - very good service. Used one of these the following morning to ensure I was safe to drive - simple colour changing crystals indicate whether you still have alcohol in your system.
Much simpler to use and, from what I have read, more reliable than the expensive electronic devices. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hit & Miss,
December 14, 2014
By ladypops
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons: not reliable
" I tried this today after a pint of kronenburg 1664 (5%) and 4 large glasses of 12% wine this afternoon.
3 hours in total ...... too many units; but it was an xmas party !!
I wasn't driving; but thought it was a good idea to test this product knowing that I was way over the limit. At least double for driving. Probably 16 units of alcohol. (limit being 4 and 1 unit being absorbed per hour)
The crystals went green up to the red line; which told me I was under the UK limit. I will only trust the product to give me a zero result.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? WATERLOOVILLE
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keeps you legal whilst driving in France.,
September 30, 2014
By CBA111
from Smethwick, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" These were brought for our company car kits for driving in France. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
value for money,
September 25, 2014
By kevin888
from West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great product & value for money. easy to order & collect "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap & Effective,
August 28, 2014
By Greenarcher
from SE UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Have not had to use this product yet but everything you need is in the box, easy to stow in your glovebox, satisfies French motoring requirements. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? WOKING
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did the job,
August 28, 2014
By LuvtheSea
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value
" Needed this product for driving through France - Even though didn't use it fell happier knowing we had it if stopped by Police. Why spend more on a product that serves the same purpose. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (WRAGBY RD)
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Yet to try it out,
August 25, 2014
By AnotherUnhappyCustomer2
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Bought this product for a recent trip to France, to conform to their law. It wasn't necessary to use the product so are really unable to comment on the actual product.
Halfords Clicik and Collect service is another matter. The service and helpfulness of staff was appalling. Goodness knows how they are still in business. There is nothing good to be said about the experience.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use it your lose it ( your licence! ),
December 31, 2013
By Mike444
from Portsmouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: wine voucher
" Bought a couple for testing myself in the morning after a new years party.
Everything looks ok but will know after blowing into them. If below French limit then also below UK limit...but NOT necessarily safe to drive as you can test for tiredness.
One strong criticism is why on earth do they include wine vouchers in the box...I mean its almost as bad as selling alcohol at petrol stations!
May follow up with a review of actually using the thing after a heavy night.
Happy New Year
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
alcosense is a legal requirement for France,
October 21, 2013
By troggy1
from essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have not actually used this product, but bought it because it is a legal requirement to carry with you when driving in France. It is NF approved which is a requirement so, therefore, it does the job required. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
-3points
3out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suitable for France,
October 20, 2013
By Penlake
from Plymouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: doe what is needed
" I needed a breathalyser for travel through France.
This was easily and quickly available and exactly suited my need.
It is approved by the French authorities. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Essential for motoring holidays in France,
October 18, 2013
By Drjak
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: essential, compact
" Kept in glove compartment in case of being stopped by Gendarmerie. Not needed to be used!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIGGLESWADE
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed when travelling in France,
September 30, 2013
By Anonymous
from Braintree,UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Item ordered on Internet for collection at Branch. Was immediately available at Branch. Very happy with all aspects of this purchase "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Insurance for Daughter!!,
September 28, 2013
By AylesburyChris
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought so that it can sit in my daughter's glove box, so if she's had a big night out she can check whether she's legal to drive. So far unused, but great peace of mind for me, as a Dad, to know that its there. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price!,
July 12, 2013
By JAR35
from Ipswich,Suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" With French law having changed on 1st July 2013 that you must carry a breathalyser kit,this is a great product to have. Staff instore were friendly & helpful and even checked i had all other items i needed in my driving kit. Great price & service :) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for the morning after,
July 11, 2013
By BewareMorningLevels
from Kent
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap
Cons: all in english only ????
" Never intend to use ths product. Only interested in what it says on the tin to keep the French cops off my back, even now the 11 Euro spot-fine has been "posponed indefinately" according to the AA. I think it would be even better if there was a clear description of the product in French in the oute packaging. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
0points
6out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alcosense Single Use NF Breathalyser Twin Pack
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bon Voyage,
July 08, 2013
By Flick84
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Nice and handy, small and compact little kit. Twin pack so meets new French law that requires 2 breathelisers to be kept in your vehicle. Fairly inexpensive and will avoid any problems abroad. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>