Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver

Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver supplied with a compact, highly sensitive DAB antenna
Average Customer Rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 of 42(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Review 1 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of Features,
May 12, 2012
By BazookaBob
from Leeds, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: options and features, usb stick slot., looks good
Cons: dab reception still patchy at times
"This is my first ever car stereo upgrade and I'm very happy that I chose this one- so many features and options that it will take some time to find them all but there's never an instance when you think, "i wish it could do that". sound quality is improved on factory fitted speakers but I'm sure to get the full benefit, an upgrade would be required which is what I hope to do very soon! Recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the product is grt,
August 04, 2013
By almeister
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this dab stereo is superb product ,fantastic !!! the sound is fantastic and the color changer is a superb feature has well it seems like u have a new stereo everytime u change the color fantastic feature ! the dab stations are grt theres stations ive never heard of but fantastic ..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a difference!!,
July 20, 2013
By Catwoman35
from Amersham, Bucks.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: super value with this sale offer
"I knew that my old car stereo (after thirteen years!!) was not in tip top condition but hadn't realised quite how ropey it was until I bought this Sony DAB model!! The speakers which I had thought were equally naff now sound great and I am a very happy bunny.
It has so many different features that I'm sure I will still be discovering them for many months to come. It was fitted very quickly and efficiently by Matt at the High Wycombe branch so many thanks to him.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this particular model.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased, another cracking Sony radio,
July 14, 2013
By JamestheScot
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: lots of reading if that's a bad thing
"I have always bought Sony radios, and this one didn't fail to please. Simple to fit, even the extra adapters for the steering wheel controls on my 53 plate Astra. Fitted by myself in less than an hour including removing trim to hid the dab Ariel wire. Great sound on fm and digital, looks great in car. Never had a problem with Sony and this radio is no different. Would highly recommend, only problem so many functions to get to grips with (lots to read in manual ) lol!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit,
June 27, 2013
By comudgeon
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good radio easy to install DAB works a treat, Sounds fantastic"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great stereo,
June 24, 2013
By ret1966
from england
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"looks great and sounds ace loving the different colours sony did it again with lots of features"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for the price!,
March 04, 2013
By madboy33
from Enfield, Middlesex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great price and sound
Cons: poor aerial reception
"This is a great DAB CD/RADIO. Only down side is the aerial is not that good. I live in London and when you go on the M25 DAB signal gets lost. I upgraded the aerial and now it's brilliant."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good sound. Good quality. Great value for money,
February 22, 2013
By M4commuter
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good dab quality and sensitivity, value for money, solid sound
Cons: settings menu is slightly fiddly but rarely used, seek buttons can be difficult to use
"This is a great radio with solid DAB and MP3 sound reproduction for the price. There are 18 DAB station presets allowing you to programme in plenty of choice.
If you want to listen to the national stations that are on regional multiplexes and travel between the regions you can programme each region on adjacent preset buttons and switch between them with ease.
Also a tiny Cruzer Fit USB Flash drive is an inexpensive addition for all your MP3s that you can leave in the radio all the time and is totally unobtrusive.
The only criticism I have with the radio is the layout of the control buttons around the knob. The Seek buttons are quite flush and can be difficult to find when your eyes are on the road."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Dab Reception,
February 18, 2013
By Anonymous
from Lowestoft
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: not good on dab, front facia verry fiddly to fit
"I had this fitted by Halfords, with a magnetic ariel fitted ibnside the car, sounded good whilst parked, but driven about, dab siginal on Planet Rock distorts and drops out all the time. Had the ariel changed for a glass mounted one. reciption no better and ariel keeps falling off. I know its either the ariel or the radio because when I tune in my Pure Highway into an FM station, I get no drop out or distortion"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is very high quality,
February 11, 2013
By Digitalfan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: multi colour display
Cons: difficult aerial fix
"Simple upgrade from previous Sony unit. The tuning set up process is explained well in the manual. Added benefit of the DAB FM link which switches to Fm if the DAB signal is weak. DAB still requires some better transmitters."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DAB radio,
February 11, 2013
By Robbler
from GB
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The radio is very good and great value for money. The aerial supplied is poor so you will need a stronger one. Apart from that it really livens up your speakers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dab car sterio,
February 11, 2013
By Lena78
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the sound quality
Cons: losing signal too often
"Good sound quality however keep losing signal while driving which is really annoying. Its a good sterio an it looks good but it took me a while to get used to."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver,
February 10, 2013
By DA60
from Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This in-car stereo is brilliant, it looks great, fits the car well and gives access to all my forms of audio storage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First DAB in car radio,
February 10, 2013
By benmry
from Crawley, West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: supplied aerial, bonus remote in the box, millions of colour options, excellent sound quality, direct ipod control, easy to install
Cons: the menus take a bit of time to get used to.
"I was a bit wary of buying a DAB radio for the car but have always been impressed by Sony's offerings. I spotted this one when looking for a 'normal' stereo that could control an ipod. The aerial supplied by Sony is very discreet and easy to fix, the lead is thin enough to tuck behind the screen pillar and there was enough wire to reach the radio. In the box was a remote control which I wasn't expecting so a bonus there! The illumination can be changed to any colour to match the car dash lights. Sound quality on DAB is excellent. There is an option to use the car rear speakers just for bass which improves the sound quality if like me you don't have an amp. I bought this online and collected at store - bargain!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All you need in In Car Entertainment,
February 10, 2013
By Mozzer85
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I brought this as a replacement for my standard stereo in my Seat Leon. Primarily for the DAB and the I-pod features. It has all you need in a car stereo.
Comes with a DAB aeirel too which most other DAB stereos don't.
The fine tune sound options and colour choice options will make it fit nicely into any car.
What are you waiting for......... Go buy one! Now!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great performance and features,
February 09, 2013
By brig123
from Newcastle upon Tyne Tyne and Wear
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great sound, lots of features, customisable to my tastes
Cons: non
"i have upgraded from the previous Sony DAB unit and this Sony CDX-DAB700U makes it look and feel quite dated. To say I am very pleased would be an understatement. The advances make this a real pleasure to use and listen to and the front inputs are easy to access and use.
Well done Sony.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy,
February 08, 2013
By Anonymous
from Glasgow Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: dab quality
Cons: no bluetooth for phone
"Very good quality, dab works great,great that can match the lights to the interior lights"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great features and lovely quality,
February 07, 2013
By Drallek
from Oxon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks beautiful
Cons: installation instructions are poor
"I would not hesitate to recommend this product to others. The high quality and set of functions are perfect and that from a perfectionist! The unit really does look beautiful and fits perfectly with my Land Rover Defender.
I just wish digital audio broadcast coverage could keep up.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
January 10, 2013
By AMR26
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I really know very little about car stereo systems so I relied heavily on the personal reviews posted here. They are much more informative than anything I could add, but I can say that they were all pretty spot on. The radio was a gift for my husband who is thrilled with it. He's very picky about these things and I was worried that it wouldn't fit his expectations, but it has and more. I would highly recommend this product to anyone. Oh, and the instore fit was fantastic too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony CDX-DAB700U DAB/USB/AUX/CD Receiver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Features, exactly as described by Halfords,
December 31, 2012
By Dave66
from Bradford, West Yorks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting and quality of sound
Cons: cost of addition equipement
"The Sony CDX-DAB700U was easy to install into my Renault Scenic. I already owned the dashboard fascia unit but needed to purchased an additional 'Multi Stalk' adapter cable to retain control of the unit using the steering wheel radio control stalk.
I am new to digital (DAB) radio, so selecting and saving the digital channels that suited my listening preferences took time, but was easy to carry out. The sound quality of the DAB channels is fantastic and the consistency of the signal whilst on the move is great. This is no doubt helped considerably by the separate DAB aerial provided with the Sony CDX-DAB700U.
The USB and Aux inputs make this unit very flexible indeed, allowing just about any format of audio content to be played.
I can recommend the Sony CDX-DAB700U as a very capable, easy to install replacement for the standard radio/CD player fitted to typical family cars.
When contemplating the upgrade to a unit such as the Sony CDX-DAB700U do keep in mind that the fascia unit and adapter cables can add 10 to 25% to the cost of the unit (depending on the car/model"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>