Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Sat Nav or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav

Fulfill that lifelong dream of travelling round the world with the TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World Sat Nav
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Review 1 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good......With a Big But,
January 23, 2014
By Aliano
from Wirral
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the live services, big clear screen
Cons: the hassle of renewing subscriptions
" I have been using the Go Live 1005 for a year now and have been very pleased with it and it does everything expected of it. The big but comes when trying to renew my subscription to the Live Services. Despite numerous attempts the updated download never got past 3% download before freezing. After two days I am coming to the point of giving up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great, but aword of caution,
January 16, 2014
By Ricky92
from N. London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very quick to drop into car mount.
" The unit itself is great, very clear screen, great features, very quick to respond to changes in route, and/or supply an updated route when the road ahead has a holdup. My main concern is connecting to the web to update maps etc. If you follow the instructions it doesn't work, and customer services only solution to every problem is "use a different web browser". I did eventually get it to work, and the latest maps are very up to date. Another problem is the TomTom specific connecting cable, when I couldn't get it to connect to the laptop, it would have been useful if I could have tried a different cable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DUNSTABLE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tom Tom,
March 23, 2013
By Pervyplod
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: free maps for life
" Only used item locally so far , great easy to follow instructions , hope to start using it World Wide soon . Taking it to Cyprus in September "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Free Map Updates For Life,
March 18, 2013
By Skipper123
from Newcasle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I was very impressed with the product and in particular the after sales support from Halfords. I had a few issues with setting up my new account withTomTom as it did not recognise my Mac. The staff put me in touch with TomTom (now a local call) who resolved my issue. Lisa at TomTom walked me through it and I checked a week latter that my maps were in fact registered. I would recommend buying from Halfords as their after sales service is second to none. Very well done! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WASHINGTON
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good Quality,
February 28, 2013
By AB1973
from Bromley
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A good quality and good looking product- Pricy but has lots of functions - Takes way too long to update and needs to be updated constantly by the looks of it - Takes ages to get Signal for Live Services "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BROMLEY
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but Pricey,
February 06, 2013
By PickyPete
from Hereford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: traffic, screenmount
Cons: updating the software
" Seems good quality so far, but it should be for the money.
Software is a pain, taking hours to update, andits far from simple on the Tom Tom Website.
Traffic update seems good too, but wethr it will be worth paying for after 12 months is dubious.
A decent operating manual would have been nice.
SCreenmount s much better than previous model, but connctor somewhat fiddly.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom 1005,
February 02, 2013
By Matthome
from Portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This unit has all the features that I want from it and useing it in the USA was spot on just like the uk mapping "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom GOLIVE 1005 - fully satisfied,
December 24, 2012
By naturaldriver
from Isle of Wight
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: huge database, easy to use
Cons: battery life only about 2 hours
" I bought it to use in Europe, USA, Australia & South Africa. It does what the spec says faultlessly. The level of detail over such a huge area is amazing, and I can't fault it. Easy to use, and set up. I am not a techie,and even I can use it.
What you get for the money is very good value, in fact you get a lot more than most people will actually need, but if you are a worldwide traveller (in the countries covered abyway) it is just the job. Countires covered with mostly street level detail are UK, ROI, Western Europe (parts of Eastern Europe, W Russia), New Zealand, Australia, Southern Africa (Zimbabwe to SA), USA & Canada, Parts of SE Asia (Malasia & Indonesia).
A very powerful tool for the traveller.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom GO LIVE 1005 World 5" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Extremely pleased,
August 04, 2012
By mtollet
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Tom Tom quite clearly have the marketplace with regards to Sat Nav and this is no exception at all. We bought this simply as it is World Wide mapping and we do travel an awful lot. I have to say that without this on our recent trip to the Scottish highlands we would have been lost. Instructions are clear and it does all the thinking for you. I am so pleased that I bought this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+74points
102out of 130found this review helpful.