Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner

Alpine CDE-W233R 2-DIN CD receiver connects your iPhone/ IPod or USB mass storage device
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 22(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Review 1 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alpine CDE-W233R,
January 21, 2014
By Kitchen23
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I brought this product thinking it will just be a normal CD player got it home and open it up and was shock how good it really was with the i phone/pod opinion and aux and the bloke who served me I couldn't say a bad word about him instead of trying to sell me everything he just showed me what I need and that was it so all in all 10 out of 10"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? CRAWLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb buy,
November 05, 2013
By Bobbie1
from North yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great looks and sound. This unit is very easy to use and setup. Just what you would expect from Alpine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top quality product with good features for I-phone I-pod etc,
October 05, 2013
By Pocko
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: top quality
"This stereo is a good quality unit with great sound quality it has a front USB port and aux socket and at the rear of the unit it has a line out socket for fitting an amplifier and also a socket for a steering wheel audio control interface"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner,
September 22, 2013
By Vwguysi1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Alpine are the best quality products and always will be I have always had there products and have tried others but nothing compares,even the bottom box standard alpine will blow the sound quality of the Sonys, kenwords etc,This is an excellent
Double din and looks amazing in any dash,highly recommend to any one that likes simple menus and easy functions but premium sounds
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little stereo!,
August 31, 2013
By lownslow17dubber
from Wolverhampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Im really happy with my stereo but im not sure if ive got my connections the right way round my clock & radio presets aint saving anyone help me ?"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product,
July 30, 2013
By mari66
from Chester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: display
"good sound and easy to use, good price in sale, has usb which is good feature"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy,
July 25, 2013
By feemackenzie
from glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The in-car Volvo stopped working so replaced it with this Double DIN unit. Better features though smaller buttons and lost steering wheel function. Impressed with the sound and quality of finish.
Thanks to Halfords Rutherglen who worked for 90 mins to fit this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (RUTHERGLEN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DIDNT FIT,
July 05, 2013
By bob3384
from waltham abbey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I was told by the Halfords website that it would fit my 1999 mk1 ford focus spent 2hrs in traffic to get it only to get home and realise it didn't fit then when I returned the lady seemed to think I was stupid or something. it was a nice looking stereo and I was a bit disappointed that it didn't fit still got a different one now"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain!,
June 23, 2013
By Schlofty
from Malmesbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the bargain price!
Cons: nothing.
"Reserved this unit online and had it fitted by a very helpful chap in store at the chippenham branch.
What can I say? Bargain!!! It had dropped in price by 15 quid so I thought now would be the perfect time to replace the rubbish unit in my 56 impreza wrx.
Very happy with the head unit. Great sound quality, good features and its iPhone compatible.,what more do you need really?
Get this head unit people! You won't be disappointed!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alpine, one of the best makes around,
May 30, 2013
By Ssteveb20
from Brighton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great double din stereo. Buttons are large and well laid out, volume control in the centre. USB/ aux port are useful.
Only downside, lack of remote and you can't remove front facia."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SHOREHAM ON SEA
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alpine = quality,
May 29, 2013
By Tjshill82
from Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: premium looks, competitive price
"I have always had alpine single din head units so naturally when my new car was capable of taking a double din unit I decided to stick with this quality brand. Sound quality is excellent and the unit is very useable. It looks factory fresh in my Volkswagen - one of the reasons I went for this unit is that the illumination matches the instrument panel in the car. USB socket on the front is great for charging my iPhone and listening to music. This is a quality product. The are cheaper units available but this is better!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic unit, sound is amazing and extremely loud, highly recommend.,
May 22, 2013
By Paul012
from Hornchurch, Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent unit and great value for money. Sound quality is excellent especially through my existing speakers and is incredibly loud. Would highly recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything I needed,
April 18, 2013
By Matt30
from Essex, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: simplicity and great design
Cons: no rear usb/aux connectors
"This is a great stereo. I've only had it a short while and have not played too much with it's features and functions, but it is very simply laid out and just has a button for each thing you need while driving. Great sound and build quality which you would expect from Alpine and looks the part too. Very happy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased,
March 11, 2013
By Ty1981
from Camborne, Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"This unit is very easy to use, the controls are setup in a very user friendly way and the volume control being in the middle is extremely easy to reach while your hand is still on the gear knob.
USB and iPOD connectivity was easy to figure out, so far i havnt had the need to get the manual out for anything.
The sound is far superior to the audi symphony unit taken out of my car. Thankfully i bought this unit during a promotion so i got great value for money.
All in all i would recommend this product if you have no need for connecting your phone through bluetooth. If you do need bluetooth and in car connectivty then the next model up W235 is the one for you."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great,
March 05, 2013
By amazingade
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ordered on line good price have it ready when I got there nice radio sounds great love it and it looks nice too"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was great value with a first rate sservice,
February 20, 2013
By Damo651
from aylesbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the easy use volume button
Cons: no rear usb
"Excellent value and easy to use features. Crystal clear sound with easily adjustable bass, mid and treble. I've had Sony and Kenwood head units before but at this price the sound is unbelievable. Another nice touch is the volume button which is in the middle. Most other stereos are on the left side which makes it a bit of a stretch. I ordered mine on line and collected in store, although the in store price was more expensive they matched the web price. Aylesbury store is fantastic."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent double DIN stereo,
February 06, 2013
By gvn1
from Lanarkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality build, great sound
"The stereo is great aesthetically and functionally-wise. It’s great to have both an AUX input and iPod connectivity with my stereo now.
The sound is great and the EQ allows to fine-tune it if desired. The stereo is easy to use and get used to.
I couldn’t install this myself though due to it requiring some wiring for the ignition/power."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top spec at a great price,
February 03, 2013
By steveinbrid
from Bridlington
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For the price this has to be one of the best tuners on the market, looks and sounds great just as you would expect from Alpine....well recommended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great head unit but at a cost,
January 29, 2013
By Ferg80
from Worthing
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: usb interface, retained steering wheel controls, sound quality
Cons: price
"This unit is very good, it's USB interface is excellent and the sound quality is second to none. However all of these features are found for far less cost in single din units. I however wanted a double din to fit my car well and was willing to pay the extra just for the look."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alpine CDE-W233R CD Tuner
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toyota Avensis 2004 T25,
January 27, 2013
By Mariucha
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: mp
"This 2 din unit works perfect in avensis, sound much better than the original radio,good price highly recomended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>