Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver

Carry loads of up to 50kg on your journey with the Thule Pacific 780 Roof Box Silver.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Review 1 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Pacific 780,
January 31, 2014
By BusterReindeer
from Dublin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very well made, opens both sides, quick fit really is quick!
" Bought on sale at Halfords. Price was far and away the best I could find.
Collected the box and had it fitted - on my own - in 3 minutes flat. Could not possibly be easier to fit I think. Being able to open the box from either side makes fitting a doddle. Despite reading quite a few reviews about the Quick Fit clamps sitting high above the roof box base, I really don't think they sit that high at all.
Fitted on my Nissan Qashqai and looks neat and tidy.
Great Roof Box at a great price... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? NEWRY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver,
January 25, 2014
By Goosesmokish
from Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great capacity
Minimal wind noise on the motorway
Easy fitting and the fast grip mount system is a 1 person job
Dual side opening is a fantastic idea.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Last Minute Roof Box,
January 06, 2014
By Edmund7770
from Norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: price but it is worth it
" Had to get a replacement roof box for skiing trip at the last minute, reserve and collect worked like a dream at the Norwich store. Excellent product quick to fit and carried all our gear there and back including our skis whilst skiing around Chatel our resort. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to fit,
January 06, 2014
By nick2000
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very quick and easy to fit, looks good, low noise
" Good capacity and low noise on my estate car. However, it is the Fast Grip mount system that is well worth the extra money you pay for a Thule roof box. I fitted it in well under 10 minutes in fairly windy conditions. Once you have the grips inserted into the box, it can be fitted or removed even quicker than that with no need to adjust your car's roof crossbars. I understand that the cheaper makes are much more time-consuming to fit. If you want to take it off when not in use (for better fuel-efficiency etc), then this is excellent. I can see this getting a lot of use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does the job well !,
January 06, 2014
By Steve101L
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" It's eat to put together. I got a surprisingly lot of stuff in it. I'm also glad it's 3/4 width do I can put something alongside it. Clearly if that is it a consideration for you then a full width box may be even better. It feels solid "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? BURGESS HILL
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value with voucher code and in sale,
January 05, 2014
By Moo22
from Chip
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy access both sides
" This product fits our needs giving the extra space for trips with easy access from both sides. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent addition to the car,
January 03, 2014
By Jim73
from Reigate, Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: weight, ease of fitting, locking system
" Fits perfectly in moments with the Fast Grip system, it's as simple as the name suggests, even on aero bars. The dual side opening feature is a major benefit too. No wind noise or whistling at speed either. Can't fault it, very pleased. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? REDHILL
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Pasfic 780 420 roof box,
December 24, 2013
By none666
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent just what my son in law wanted as he has my granddaughter to cart around as well as being a professional music teacher and band leader so has a lot of equipment to carry. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Other hobbies: Fishing
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fitted onto a BMW 3 Series Coupe,
July 06, 2013
By Imonsa
from Cambridge UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of product
Cons: a little expensive.
" All the quality you would expect from a brand leader such as Thule.
Both the bars and the roof box were very easy to fit and feel extremely solid on the roof.
Well worth the extra money for what I can only describe as the Rolls Royce of roof boxes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great roof box,
June 27, 2013
By crudeFool
from Sunderland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" When I picked this up from the store, I was a bit anxious about fitting this myself, but it really couldn't be easier. The screw on clamps are really simple - it's literally a one man job getting the box on / off.
Also, being 3/4 width allows me to put bikes on the roof.
The quality of the box is great. Easy to lock / unlock and closes really well.
Wind noise is a lot less than anticipated.
Overall - really pleased with my purchase. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product,
June 17, 2013
By Simon100
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: capacity, ease of fit
" Size is good allowing me to fit an adult bike along side, without compromising on space too much. Really easy to fit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHELMSFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Pacific 780 420 Litre Roof Box Silver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thules roofbox 780,
January 11, 2013
By pagecj
from Chandlers Ford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: design, quality, price
" This is an excellent product. I have aero bars and found the fitting very easy, although a step ladder helps. There was no noticeable wind resistance and the product was very sturdy.
The Halfords reserve and collect service was great and they helped me fit it into the car and removed the excessive cardboard packaging. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.