Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver

Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver - both Apple iPod/iPhone & Android devices are catered via its front mounted full speed USB input.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Review 1 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic stereo, excellent service!,
May 03, 2013
By CorradoFan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy operation, good looks, sounds amazing, very simple to fit, loads of settings
Cons: fiddle to turn on
"Really good stereo for the price. Loads of settings, looks great and simple to fit. Only negative, the power button is temperamental. Never quite sure how long to press it to turn it on, but that could just be me! Got to rate Halfords Canterbury staff. Really helpful, friendly and knowledgeable :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good sound quality with good features,
April 24, 2013
By Callum156
from Nottingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the blue light makes a change for the cheap red
"Easy to fit good quality good sound quality would by another ken wood radio"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (NUTHALL RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So Far So Good,
April 23, 2013
By MicktheMix
from Bedford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Only had it for a couple of weeks but so far it seems to be as good as the advertising suggested and in terms of value for money, when compared to similar products it is definitely right up there with the good guys!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Stereo,
March 06, 2013
By Ste27
from Kidderminster
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ipod feature, charging phone via usb
Cons: no bluetooth, 2 selections on small buttons
"I've had this stereo for 3 weeks now and overall, it's pretty good. For the price, the features you get aren't too bad and the sound quality is good. Very easy to use.
One thing I feel I should definitely mention is actually fitting the stereo. It's very VERY easy, I did it in less than 5 minutes in the Halfords car park straight after purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kenwood KDC 4054UB,
March 05, 2013
By ron60
from Derbyshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"this unit has everything that i need and so easy to fit"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (QUEENS RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good,
March 02, 2013
By Dazza775
from Isle of Wight
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The CD player is really good it looks nice fitted and the sound is great for the price I paid for it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT IOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best value and best quality,
February 27, 2013
By Josh131294
from Horncastle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"This product has features that you would only expect from a much higher priced product, it connects to my iPod seemlessly and I must say it really looks the part aswell, I would recommend this to anyone. Even the delivery was faster than expected."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kenwood,
February 27, 2013
By Dwalters1982
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: works brilliantly with iphone 5, bright display, easy to use
"Bought this as a replacement for my new MG ZR fitted perfectly and has good sound quality for the price the display is bright and easy to see and the functions are easy to use a must if your looking for a cheap head unit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and service,
February 20, 2013
By jollyp
from oxfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Just bought this unit from my local Oxford branch and how pleased I am! It does what it says, is easy to use( for a non techy!!) sound great and the USB stick has changed how I listen in the car. No more CD storage, or changing them after every play, just non stop music, fab!!
A plug for the Oxford store lads as well, your help and advice was spot on, take a bow boys.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value for Kenwood car radio,
February 20, 2013
By ndadge
from devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: that it will charge my ipod
Cons: no blue tooth
"Easy to fit, great sound and very useful that it will charge my ipod as I use it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stereo,
January 31, 2013
By Boon72
from Wilmslow, Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really impressed with the sound and the features, great features, easy to use with good search function. Bright display"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a difference!,
January 28, 2013
By Tricia27
from Clydebank
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"Really wanted a new radio/cd player that I could use my iphone with. This Kenwood one is excellent. My music sounds so much better and the radio is really clear too with a wide variety of stations I couldn't get on my old one. Really simple to use I managed to figure it out without the manual but will read it for the finer points. Also looks great with a lovely blue light which is not too bright. Great purchase I'm really happy with it. Paid for Halfords to fit it for me, worth every penny. Great quick service."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Features,
January 05, 2013
By pwilki
from Manchester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: illuminated to match my existing console
"Good spec for price and looks attractice when fitted."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic sound quality,
January 05, 2013
By garysgirl
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sound looks and quality of this product
"I bought this stereo as a Christmas present for my partner, he was over the moon with it, he fitted it the next day and was really pleased with the sound quality of this Kenwood stereo. He was surprised at how easy it was to operate the various features and within minutes had linked his android mobile to it and was listening to his favourite tracks from his phone through the stereo, I would recommend this product to everyone, the staff at halfords maidatone were very friendly and helpful, if he wasn't a experienced fitter of car stereos he would have happily had halfords fit it for him. I give this product 10 out of 10 for looks, sound and quality and the halfords team at maidatone 10 out of 10 for great customer service. Thankyou"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great unit for the cost,
January 03, 2013
By nrrg224
from Petersfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Supurb unit, very easy to operate. Love the flexibility - CD,usb and aux/ipod connections. Good radio too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal upgrade,
December 29, 2012
By candifa
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bring an older car upto date by replacing a radio/cassette player with this excellent unit. Allows you to play your CD's, your iphone/ipod music, or just listen to the radio.
Well laid out controls, subtle lighting that will not distract the driver.
All at a great price. Halfords will fit it too. Excellent package."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant entry level head unit,
December 28, 2012
By not260
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: works and charges iphone 5, 24 bit dac, 2.5v pre out, simple intuitive facia
Cons: no aerial adapter for cars with female plugs, kenwood loom adds length to cables, only 1 pre out, rear aux would be nice
"I don’t normally buy entry level car stereo equipment, however I bought this head unit for my Renault Clio 172 which is primarily my track day car. I must stress I bought this on offer which is why I refer to it as entry level at the normal/RRP it would not represent as good value for money.
The install into the clio was simple as expected aftermarket head units are plug and play with cars fitted with iso plugs form the factory. Instalation took about 5 minutes the only complaints I have about the installation are that for some reason kenwood no longer supply the male aerial adapters for the radio, these are available and inexpensive in store anyway. Also Kenwood have stuck with their own loom iso to kenwood plug rather than just have the iso direct at the back of the unit. This means you end up with a pile of extra cables behind the head unit. It’s not bad in cars where you have a bit space but on some cars it can be awkward tucking them all out the way so that you can get the head unit to locate.
The actual unit itself is very well specced, the facia is intuitive and basic. The blue lighting doesn’t really suit my dash lights it would look really good in aVW or similar with the blue/red interior lighting. I knew the colors would clash a bit but I was buying this based on the spec rather than cosmetics anyway. Other colours are available from kenwood but the offer was on the Blue. The unit would benefit from a flip front because the scrolling text for song title/artist etc can be a bit hard to read, it is a nice touch though. Navigating the artist/songs from the headunit is a little awkward but there are 2 modes, which allow you to use the iphone/ipod to navigate. The app for android sounds like it has good functionality.
The main reason for me changing head units was so that I could connect my iphone, ipod usb etc. The unit controls and charges my iphone 5 so there are no compatibility issues. Infact it does a better job of working with iphones than another stereo I own that cost about 4.5 times as much. I think long term I might invest in a micro usb that would allow me to close over the little usb flap because I don’t really like the wires sticking out the front, I would have preferred the usb and mic inputs to have been at the rear of the unit so I could have wired what I needed to the glovebox.
Sound quality from the cd is absolutely spot on, 24 bit dac with 8 times oversample used to be the standard for very expensive stereos.
Sound quality from MP3 is limited by the compression used so is pretty much the same as it would be on any stereo. That said the standard amp and eq are very good the neutral settings sound spot on.
There’s only 1 line out but it is 2.5v so you will get a good signal, if you want to use multi amps either buy a more expensive head unit or get amps that can daisy chain.
So the only issues I have with it are small niggles which probably wont matter to 99% of people, it’s absolutely perfect for my needs. I did have my eye on a model up from this one that had Bluetooth as well but in the end couldn’t justify the difference in cost. I have Bluetooth in my other cars and rarely use it anyway."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kenwood KDC-4054UB CD/USB-Receiver
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value Kenwood,
May 25, 2012
By Locheil
from Maidenhead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was a half price internet promotion compared with the shop price. Reserved on the web and collected at me local Halfords the next day. Usual Kenwood quality and just what I needed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Friend
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.