Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe

The extra widescreen Garmin Nuvi 50 in-car sat nav provides the essential navigation features needed for driving around the UK, ROI & Western Europe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.543 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
33 of 34(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Review 1 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent and cheap,
July 09, 2013
By Neil181818
from Chislehurs
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I had bought two Tom Toms which both promsed a lot and failed to work. So I decided to buy this which has more limited features but what it has got is very good indeed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Which Store did you visit? BROMLEY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value easy to use,
July 05, 2013
By Rich1967
from Gloucester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The free updates was the attraction for me, good deal as to upgrade maps on my TomTom would have cost nearly the same. Very easy to setup & use, nice wide screen to view."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finding my way,
June 15, 2013
By Bill234
from Hertford, Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was of the old school who liked using maps. I toured France recently and finding my hotel each night got quite stressful sometimes because they were hidden away and very difficult to trace. This was using a combination of maps, internet downloads of pictures of roads and hotels and it was time consuming and the maps were pricey.
My daughter is hopeless with maps buts she has a Garmin SatNav which, on a recent trip with her, impressed me so much that I immediately reserved one at my local Halfords. My recent trip to Scotland was a dream. No Maps or downloads. I found my way easily through Glasgow's back streets and into the countryside.
Sometimes I didn't follow the route indicated and it put me back on track, but once it took me off road towards an unfordable river!!
On five lane motorways, with close, multiple exits, choosing the right exit lane was sometimes difficult. I was tending to ignore the road signs and follow the display. I must not forget to read the road signs!!!
Altogether an excellent buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HERTFORD
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin sat nav,
April 02, 2013
By Wills44
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: super value
"Excellent product has helped me tremendously already finding different places I need to go thanks and great value"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Substandard unit,
March 29, 2013
By Clotty
from Cardiff
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I think this Sat Nav is useless, you cannot program in way points or plan routes in advance. I tries to take you off the motorway along an A road which would be quicker if you could drive it at 60 MPH but with buses and tractors its no good.
All you can do is ignore the unit and go the way you know is the best route, might as well have a map and the wife!!
I am disappointed with this unit as my previous one was much better but got stolen.
Also paid the extra cash for the map updates for life, whata waste, the software crashes on my Win 7 pc every time it loads, also the map updates are huge and take ages to download.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (GABALFA)
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Nuvi 50,
March 28, 2013
By 378Dave
from Bristol England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Reserved this product at Halfords via the Web and collected it and paid for it at local store. The 5" screen is very easy to read even in strong sunlight and I liked the simplicity of just touching the screen to reveal any information. In the depths of rural France it found me the nearest campsite when my wife, more than me, was resigned to sleeping in a layby.
Best price too - Excellent value!
David C.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? YATE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lots of features for the price paid.,
March 20, 2013
By Redrob
from Lancashire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having used other manufactures of Sat Nav devices in both a personal and professional capacity I was not sure about whether a 'Garmin' was the right choice for me when I was looking to purchase a product that I could use both in the UK and in Europe over the coming Summer.
I did spend many hours looking at the features of various products and the reviews left by other buyers and it seemed an easy choice to purchase the Garmin Nuvi 50.
I have not yet used abroad but fingers crossed if it is as clear as my so far Journeys in the North of England then all should be well.
In particular motorway driving and relevant detail of upcoming junctions and their lay out is really easy to follow.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europ,
March 06, 2013
By JJ11
from WInchester UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the layout
Cons: the voice at times
"Simple and easy to set up and use. Good value with the European maps. Maps an odd colour but very clear and simple to see where you are. Voice does some very odd pronunciation of street names but all turning and lane instructions given clearly and in good time. Good product"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The right tyre,
March 02, 2013
By henric
from Roydon
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good service, great overview in shop
Cons: the b o
"i was impressed with trying to find the right tyre because it was a foreign size. they found it and 3 days later I had it at home. Thank you Halfords"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good cheap n cheerful sat nav,
February 27, 2013
By Helen888
from Hertford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: lane guidance
Cons: binging alarm going through speed cameras, can't view time til destination and distance a sam
"Great cheap and cheerful sat nav ... Doesn't do anything fancy but does what it does well - although the incessant "bing" when you go through a speed camera is annoying ... I'd like the option to see the warning without "bing bing bing" every time you go 1mph over the limit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
February 26, 2013
By Northfleet
from Northfleet
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Provides a good spec for a reasonable price, easy to use and set up"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
January 15, 2013
By Zazaza
from England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The product was easy to set up, easy to use, clear instructions, good voice commands, would recommend to family and friends."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great simple product,
January 15, 2013
By Stavros500
from NE England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"First Sat Nav I've ever bought, but found it very simple to use - it worked straight from the box just switch on and go. Found putting favourite addresses in a breeze and the places of interest useful even showing the nearest small takeaway. Not sure I would use some of the routes it gives, a bit of local knowledge still helps out here."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Needed a new one!,
January 12, 2013
By Knopflerisbest
from Bognor Regis, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lane indication, life updates
"Having a problem getting updates at the moment but this does seem to be a good Sat Nav for what I need. Like the lane indication."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav -,
January 11, 2013
By Holsdad
from Stourbridge
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple & straightforward to use
"Bought for my daughter as a present.
She's found it easy to use, easy to follow instructions and straightforward.
Good size screen.
Solid construction.
Would buy another one when my other daughter needs one!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product just as good as factory fitted,
January 08, 2013
By graemeb
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the junction feature on motorways
Cons: warning bleeping on speed restrictions
"Very impressed having always had built in sat navs this, once it is updated, finds all the locations particualy on industrial estates which are notoriously difficult to navigate. Directions are clear and easy to understand, a good purchase and excellent value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleased with this sat nav,
January 03, 2013
By pipcp
from preston lancs England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value easy to read
"Easy to set up.I really enjoy using this sat nav.You can charge it from a usb lead on a computer.It also charges quickly in the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav-UK,ROI & Western Europe,
December 20, 2012
By Sheila12
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: garmin sat nav
Cons: tom tom sat nav
"This product is extremely easy to operate. It has an excellent widescreen and a very good and easy to use device for fixing it to the windscreen.I particularly liked its use of colours and its clear visual instructions regarding lane choice.I am very pleased with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use,
December 19, 2012
By Leepa
from Bracknell
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: clear and easy to use
Cons: mopunt on window can be fiddly
"Very quick and easy to use sat nav with a very clear screen. Even I can read it without my glasses!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Nuvi 50 Sat Nav - UK, ROI & Western Europe
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality service,
December 17, 2012
By SMBonMom
from Southend-on-Sea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We were looking for a present for my daughter for Christmas, and we asked the assistant his advice.
He was extremely helpful and made our visit easy and quick as well as enabling us to choose an economical bundle.
Well pleased"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>