Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycling Parts Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech

Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech gives your 7 or 8-speed drivetrains beautifully smooth gear shifting.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Review 1 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good,
October 02, 2014
By trrt333
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This product has great features and matched well the changes I wanted "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Slick shifting at a great price,
October 01, 2014
By PeteTheVan
from Sittingbourne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: crisp shifting
" When my rear derailleur bust after about 3,000 miles I was looking for a replacement, and a similar review on this website suggested I paid a little extra to get better quality. So I found this to be a better replacement for my original Tourney RD TX-35.
I was delighted when I found this RD on offer at a ridiculously low price, but I probably lost the saving on fuel going to a further away Halfords than my local one!
No more chain- clicking and mis-shifts with this one and it does exactly what it says on the tin.
Even at the full price, this is an excellent shifter. However, a word to the wise - you can't just replace an RD with another, so make sure you get one that matches your original in terms of speed and capacity! "
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, great product!,
October 01, 2014
By Bodgit
from South Lakes
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: full fitting instructions given.
" I needed a seven speed rear derailleur for my wife's road bike. This was a great replacement and was easy to fit and set up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? KENDAL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real bargain from clearance sale list,
September 16, 2014
By Rick4
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" As it says "beautifully smooth gear shifting". Great appearance as well with clean lines - hasn't got odd bits sticking out making it look messy and vulnerable - unlike others.
Had some 'issues' with the first one I picked up, however, the staff at Barry Dock went out of their way to put that right and obtained a replacement for the following day. Full marks for service. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BARRY DOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good replacement part,
September 08, 2014
By Skull86
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this as a replacement for my original part which came with my trek 7.2 FX bike (2009) model. Only difference is that the original was black, not silver, not that it matters. Part works well, glad I got it from halfords when the sale was on! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement rear derailleur,
September 03, 2014
By Anonymous
from Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I needed a replacement rear derailleur for a road bike project and this mech fits the bike and the bill nicely. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
smooth shifting,
September 01, 2014
By Keo53
from County Durham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: works well, great price
" Saw this and thought it might be a bit cheap. I now know I got a good deal and it works really well. Smooth precise changing. Recommend it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech,
August 27, 2014
By Mbart
from Stockport, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: smooth shifting, quiet, sturdy, good price
Cons: none
" This rear mech was easy to install and with a few adjustments has been running well since. The shifting is smooth and precise and for a derailleur in this price range seems the best value. I suggest this is the better option than the Acera range at this level. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smooth as butter,
August 23, 2014
By Ben38
from Belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price was right
Cons: fiddly to install
" Took almost 45 minutes getting it on with one of the teeth bolts was really awkward to get back on when installing. Overall, smooth gear changes, you barely know it was there. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano rear mech,
August 07, 2014
By Spud5
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good build quality, easy to install, looks great, good gear changing, fast and easy to order, great service
" Orderd this aliveo rear mech to replace a old faulty one on a gt avalanche it was easy to replace and set up it worked properly strait away and good gear changing it was easy to order and at s good price in the sale category "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jus the business,
January 03, 2014
By Dipsman250
from Birmingham uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: shimano deraileur
" Got the deraileur from halfords and it works great! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (CASTLE BROMWICH)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimanother does the job again,
December 15, 2013
By JOHNNIED62
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the ease of shifting
" Smooth shifting makes a big difference and this derailleur does it perfectly. Well worth the investment. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shimano Alivio M410 Rear,
October 22, 2013
By Marco666
from Wdnes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: full alloy body
" Great Value, full alloy body, so its a much smother hardier 6/7 speed Shimano derailleur, received online confirmation via –mail, fit in under 10 mins, by removing a single rear derailleur cog and sliding round chain, and re-allen keying fixing, worked out around 1/3 cheaper by ordering online,
Mark "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value rear mech,
May 05, 2013
By andyh40
from huntingdon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a good quality rear mech that is well made and is easy to fit for any level of user. I had it fitted & working perfectly in no time at all. Especially pleased with the special online price so I got it reserved in store for when I arrived to collect. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech,
December 09, 2012
By Jimtheejoiner
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good solid gear movement, easy to set up with minor adjustment required. Good upgrade from the tourney range would recomend this before going to the more expensive mechs. Wouldn't use for serious off roading more a hybrid gear. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
replacement item,
October 23, 2011
By fastmovers
from Pontypridd
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: robust
Cons: care needed for final set up up
" Have replaced previous rear shifter due to damage easy to fit but care needed in final set up to prevent gears jumping etc "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality,
April 21, 2011
By Anonymous
from Manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good price for a great quality item.
Recommended!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's still lots of 8-speed out there,
August 20, 2010
By LardFast
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: precise, good value
Cons: none so far
" Store had no notification to reserve this product, and despite the web site indicating two in stock, none were available at collection. Helpful staff identified item sold at nearby'ish store. This rear mech has surpassed my expectations, so far, after several off road treks, very precise and reliable. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Shimano Alivio M410 Rear Mech
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Surprised,
July 11, 2010
By Tiacole
from Kettering
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I had read a couple of reviews which were'nt very complimentary, however I was stuck and needed one. This is an excellent derailleurs, which shifts very smoothly on both the up and down. Due to the size of the cogs, it has hit the ground a couple of times, but is still shifting well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.