Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"

The Raleigh Park Avenue Hybrid Bike is a fast, lightweight and economical urban 700c bike built to take the strain on commutes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
14
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Review 1 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The future commutor,
January 08, 2013
By Flanbo
from Bolton, Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the cost of the bike, the solid frame work, being light weight
"Since buying my bike it has transformed my living for the better being healthier,enjoyment, relaxing and saving on my transport fee, Which in today's world of watching the pennies means the different of survival and enjoyment so on the count you have the best of both health and savings."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Helpful customer service,
January 07, 2013
By Anonymous
from Worcestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I reserved my bike online but couldn't pick it up for a few days. The customer service person I spoke to on the phone was very helpful and contacted the store, he then rang me back to let me know it had been arranged that they would keep the bike for another 2 days – when I was able to pick it up.
Great bike by the way!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Raleigh for Dad,
January 04, 2013
By richard72
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this bike for Dad (72) as he wanted to get out and about more. Bike well suited for him."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what my husband needed,
December 31, 2012
By susiec
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having never had a new cycle in his life and cycling daily, my husband needed a reliable, tough, comfortable cycle. This ticks all the boxes so far!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: More than 3
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent buy,
December 16, 2012
By jimbo3
from ne scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: needs higher gear/s
"good bike good deal . when going good possibly needs higher gear/s"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid but quick.,
December 07, 2012
By Lindsay001
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very happy with my purchase. Goes well, and at the price to be recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent ride,
December 04, 2012
By bikelover22
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: stability, nice appearance, light
Cons: abit noisy on the chain
"As this is my first bike, I can't complain, it's perfect. no issues. Reasonable price, worth every penny."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Bike,
November 25, 2012
By Idiotboy
from Bournemouth
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"A good well built bike.Its fairly light but also comes with rack and mud guards.The gear change is not that smooth but this is a minor gripe.Over all a lot of bike for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
outstanding value,
November 17, 2012
By David923
from Malvern
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very solid carrier
Cons: gears quite notchy but time yet to bed in
"A fine everyday bike at an an outstanding price surprisingly lightweight and easy to keep up good progress"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good solid bike,
November 04, 2012
By Metty01
from York
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"For the price paid, this is a good reliable bike. Lightweight and comfortable to get me to work and back each day."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent bike for the money,
October 29, 2012
By SirPorkScratchings
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Seriously discounted and seems to be a lot of bike for the money. Used a couple of times now, gears a little clunky, saddle not the most comfortable I've encountered, and not as light as some. However, you couldn't expect any more for the proce. I'd recommend it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value, recommended purchase of this bike.,
October 27, 2012
By John52
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: value for money, good spec
"Haven't purchased a bike for years, need one for local commute into town, gym general use etc since sold second car. For day to day use this really is a bike that offers good value with excellent specs for the price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quality, especially for the price,
October 26, 2012
By hubertus
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lightweight frame
Cons: pedals
"Good finish, smart appearance, comfortable saddle, easy change gears, excellent brakes, lightweight frame and fitted carry rack.
The pedals look a bit cheap, but the other components are great."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20",
October 22, 2012
By ikbgfiwarkjn
from Southampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I purchased this bike on sale as a means of cyclcing the 2 miles to and from work. The bike works fine, but the gears are a bit of a pain. They work fine, but when you get to the extremes of the back gears you have to adjust the front changer or the chain rubs. In addition if you are too heavy handed changing into the top front cog, you can push the chain past the main cog which can be an interesting moment when on a busy road."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value,
October 15, 2012
By LanceStronglyArmed
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: feels good quality, pannier rack and bell
Cons: grip shift gears
"A great town bike. Really appreciate the pannier rack and bell already attached, and the bike feels very sturdy. Was worried it might be a little heavy, but despite looking bigger than my last hybrid, it is actually lighter and a lot faster. Not the quickest gear shift but that doesn't matter to me.
For the price this is an excellent bike.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike I would recommend,
October 10, 2012
By jackie27
from Prestwick
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: i like the design and is light weight and good at
"The only problem I had after I purchased the bike was the chain but once they adjusted it it is now working great. The brakes are very good in having to make an emergency stop so I recommend this bike as raleigh is one of the best."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value bike for work,
October 06, 2012
By shaunykgjgifjtughty
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"great bike for the price well worth the buy havent bought a raliegh since 1984 ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20",
September 03, 2012
By mcsboyf1
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: build quality, speed, rides well, value for money, good brakes
Cons: slight clunky and delayed gear change
"Purchased this bike 2 weeks ago and have used it every day.
I am very happy with my purchase.A good solid bike that is quite light yet feels sturdy and gives you confidence at speed.
Ideal for my daily cycle to work and back. Only slight negative is that the gear change can be a bit "clunky",(but this might need adjusting at the 6 week check) but no other niggles so far.
Good value for money and I ordered online and picked up my assembled bike on the day that Halfords said it would be ready."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 3
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Attractive price,
August 14, 2012
By Anonymous
from Tunbridge Wells
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: inexpensive
"After the Olympics, I made a decision to get fit so I decided to buy a bike. I decided to get a hybrid so this one caught my eye as it was a good price with a pannier, lights and mudguards included.
It has a comfortable seat, easy to operate gears and rides very well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+23points
31out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Raleigh Park Avenue Mens Hybrid Bike - 20"
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Skip this bike,
August 08, 2012
By micropaleo
from Southampton, England
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: solidly built, good mudguards, built in rack, very light
Cons: uncomfortable saddle, akward handlebar orientation, terrible gear shifting system
"I only had this bike for 30 hours before returning it. I had an Apollo Highway before someone stole it. Great bike. I put 1200 miles on it in 6 months with no problems (I only use the bike for my commute to work, but it is a long commute). After it was stolen, I was going to buy the same bike again but was talked into switching to this bike at the last minute. The big selling point for me was the fact that it had a rack and was slightly cheaper. I figured that most hybrid bikes on the lower end should be mostly the same, so it wouldn't be a big deal. Boy was I wrong.
On the plus side, the bike was lighter than I expected, was solidly constructed and had fast tires. The mudguards were also of very high quality. However, the bad far outweighed the good. The seat was incredibly uncomfortable. The shifting mechanism was not reliable, as you had to move halfway past the gear you wanted to get the chain into the correct gear. At first I thought this was an issue with a poorly adjusted gear shift, but then I noticed it happened shifting up or down. Gear shifting should be smooth, and correct the first time. The handlebars were at a weird angle for gripping them, something I should have noticed right away. I had to twist my wrists awkwardly to grip the bars. There were several other minor issues such as poor grip on the handles and a very loose chain that slapped the frame when you were either not peddling or going to fast for the gear you were in. Those problems could be fixed with new grips and tightening the chain though.
Basically, as I thought of all of the things I would have to replace and fix to make this bike work for me I figured it wasn't worth it when I could pay just a little more, get the Apollo Highway and get a comfortable saddle, natural grips, and a far superior gear shifting system."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+38points
52out of 66found this review helpful.