Halfords Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"

The Raleigh Grande Hybrid Bike is a straightforward urban bike to get you out and about in style and is designed for comfort and convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Review 1 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Middle of the road,
January 17, 2013
By Jasshep
from Colchester Essex uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this bike to replace a 22 year old Raleigh and I am very pleased with it. It is lighter and higher geared, suitable for road riding but still suitable for off road. I have only done 50 or so miles so far but it is a pleasure to ride. I could have paid 5 times or more but for the money this bike is unpretension but great value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid,
January 03, 2013
By LondonNick
from London
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have had problem after problem with thia bike. you can only use about a quater of the geara without horrible grinding noises, they jump and skip whenever you change how much force you are applying, like standing up to peddle - which would make you nearly fall off. It slows down as soon as you stop peddling and mine has now locked up on the back wheel. Avoid the annoyance of this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value winter workhorse,
September 25, 2012
By Grande1
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: basic but good quality
"Purchased to use for winter rides and the work commute, it represents very good value for its price point with a spec far above other similar priced hybrids(ie shinmano revoshifters that will actually work). 48 tooth front chainring was a big plus as you can generate decent speed so its useful as a winter trainer if your on a tight budget. Halfords staff were good and got the bike sorted to collect within 2 hours from purchase. All in its a nice looking, simple, well built for its price bike very pleased."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 3
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike, excelent value,
September 20, 2012
By BigEcky
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality build, comfy ride
Cons: gears need adjusting
"After weeks of looking online for a bike to get me out and about this one caught my eye.
With not being on a bike in over 15 years and being over weight I didn't want to rush out and buy a bike that I would regret buying and just bury it in the cupboard.
I am extremely happy with the bike. I only get out a few times a week however I feel like I could ride this bike every day.
It is a very comfy bike to ride. It looks and feels like a very solid build. The brakes do the job however they did need to be adjusted before my first outing. The gears work ok but will require a but of adjusting also at some point.
The bike runs great on road and can achieve high speeds with little effort. The bike also performs well on off road trails.
Over all a great value for money bike which I feel I should have paid more for. I would defiantly recommend this bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A bargin,
September 18, 2012
By Maloneinlondon
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: bargin bike for comuting on a budget
"The bike is sold and looks more expensive then the cost my only problem is with the gear shift its not verysmooth and can drop out of gear a bit witch is an anoyance but for the price it's still a bargin
Would have given5 stars ifit wasn't for the gear shift.
Had a problem with the back wheel but that was down to the person who put it together at Halfords Putney I took it to the Wandsworth branch they sorted it on the spot now the wheel is fine
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant value for money,
September 11, 2012
By beemerboy
from Hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price, well built, fast, looks good as well!
Cons: difficult gear change
"After a 30 year odd absence from the cycling scene decided to get a bike and get fit. Lurked around the Halfords website looking at some of the higher priced hybrids, but when this one came up on special offer (how do they make bikes this cheap?) decided to take the plunge, and am so glad I did, this bike is fantastic value for money! Generally the quality I think is very good for a bike at this price point, everything is well made and works well. My only issue is with the gears, they're not the smoothest gear change but think they just need adjusting.
If you're in the market for a commuter bike or just dipping your toe into the bike scene then this bike is perfect, good quality at a sensible price. It does have it's drawbacks for me, but now I know exactly what I want from my next bike, but hopefully that won't be for a couple of years yet!
Only given 4 stars because of the gear change issue, would have been 5 stars without this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good commuter, not great for long road trips!,
September 07, 2012
By Jamie123123123
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: build quality, good transmission, nice colour scheme
Cons: not for long distance
"Not a bad all rounder, I would say that if your looking to use it for more long distance orientated cycling I would go for a Road bike (which is what I use mine for) I swapped the shifters and saddle for better shifting and more comfort and looking to get new tyres soon! ! Its pretty nippy i manage to keep up with a mate whos on a Roadie! I'd say this would be perfect for commuting and people on budget! Build quality etc all really good!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb quality and value,
August 30, 2012
By MattFromSussex
from East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: superb value, great gears and brakes, smart looking
"I've had the bike for a couple of months now and can't say enough good things about it.
Most of my riding so far has been towing my little ones (1&3) in a trailer for which the gears and brakes are great and enable me to get up and down some of the big hills along the East Sussex coast.
When I do manage to get out without the trailer I can get a cracking pace up and the bike feels good and solid underneath me.
For the price, the overall quality is quite astounding.
My advice, snap one up while you can!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reservations,
August 24, 2012
By setembrini
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Its a nice enough bike but your reaction will depend a great deal on the bikes you have had before remember it is a budget bike. My main gripe its the weight its alitlle on the heavy side owing to the steel frame. A slight gripe is the way the gears seem to act as a brake, if you free wheel on most bikes there is no discernable loss of speed but alas not on this bike"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good Purchase,
August 09, 2012
By ValueGeek
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality gears, amazing price, quality wheels, builty like a expensive one!
"All though myself i did not purchase this bike however it was for me and we got in just in time before they rised the price by 10 pounds! so good on us! anyways onto the bike i have only had it 2 days and i am very impressed the quality of the frame and the brakes are amazing! the tyres are good quality to and also the rims to! ...the seat is comfy and the gears perform well! if your looking for a good quality Hybrid Bike choose this one i beg you!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike!,
August 07, 2012
By goingwild
from Edinburgh, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just got the bike earlier today and have took it for a blast round town. I am very impressed with the bike, it is quick, the gears change smoothly, handling is great.
Very happy with it, extremely great value. Would recommend this bike to others for sure. Perfectly suited to commuting and leisurely cycles.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is great!,
August 02, 2012
By jheez
from london, england
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very quick, good handling, looks great, great value
Cons: hard to control at high speeds.
"i searched for a long time for a bike that would be road suitable, without a ridiculous price. This bike is really fast and useful for me when travelling to and from school. i find it at times ever so slightly difficult to control, however this only occurs at high speed. service received at halfords was great. ordered it instore and then picked it up the next day built. muck better than any apollo bikes!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Raleigh Grande Mens Hybrid Bike -20"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD VALUE FUN BIKE,
July 20, 2012
By BREWSER
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great value, fun bike
Cons: one small set up fault
"Terrific buy. Never had a hybrid before, into moutain biking. Broke one of my bikes so decided to try a hybrid. I have only had bike for a week so far and ridden a mere 65 miles so early days. It has performed well so far, it is easy to get some good speed on roads and handles well on tracks so long as you remember it's not a mountain bike, so dont push it. I swapped saddle for narrower one, personal preference, also raised height of bars and put on bar ends, also preference. Rear wheel was not central to frame when picked up from shop but easily fixed, had to adjust brakes after the 65 miles but this is normal bedding in so no prob. Halfords were really good, local store did not have in stock so they reserved with next nearest store for me, and it was ready 2.5 hours later. If I remember I will give further review after a few hundred miles PS in the spec online it said 20 gears although obviously cant be, the basic description is correct at 18 gears."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
+105points
116out of 127found this review helpful.