Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI

The widescreen Garmin Nuvi 40 in-car sat nav provides the essential navigation features needed for driving around the UK and Ireland.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
28
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
67 of 68(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Review 1 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good features,
July 22, 2013
By kt1994
from tyrone
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"this sat nav is small compact and easy to use no problems"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? OMAGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit,good features,
July 20, 2013
By Steve571
from Wiltshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the simplicity of use
"Dose excactley what it says on the box,excellent battery life with4+ hours gets me to where I want to go with life to spare,I would also reccomend the travel pack to go with it but get the larger size ( the system fits better in the case)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant,
July 17, 2013
By mopring
from newport wales uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clear intructions well before you reach any turnof
"really pleased with it. love the add on's that's available..has even given me shorter routes to those i thought i knew..would definately recommend Garmin over tomtom any day..great value for money.."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NEWPORT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sat nav,
July 16, 2013
By Graeme46
from Fife
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This product does what it says on the tin. Has good features for a budget sat nav."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DUNFERMLINE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A clear simple screen and style,
July 12, 2013
By Kenbeee
from Stevenage
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the screen size
"I brought one for my daughter, we didn't have a great deal to spend and looking at reviews this one seemed to be what we wanted. We didn't need Europe so settled for the uk and roi.
It has a good screen size, the image is clear and the split screen for lanes is very helpful.
If you want a reasonably priced sat nav, this is a good one to get. In fact I bought myself one after seeing how it worked when driving with my daughter."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value,
July 11, 2013
By Maria12m
from Torfaen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a very good buy and excellent value for the money. It is simple to use and I would thoroughly recommend this product if you only want a sat nav for the UK"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CWMBRAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is easy to use,
July 11, 2013
By BigDav01225
from Bath
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This sat nav has good features and is easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for first time sat nav owners,
July 06, 2013
By northernlass466
from gloucestersdhire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"as previous reviews have said this sat nav is easy to use put in your address and where your off to and off you go yes as easy as that.... very pleased with sat nav"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI,
July 06, 2013
By chriss789
from leicester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"yes very good product at the right price
easy to use
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product had all the features I wanted,
July 02, 2013
By Patrick61
from Basingstoke, Hampshire.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Garmin sat nav has all that I required at a very competitive price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Friend
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great product,
June 19, 2013
By sheepysaurus
from harrogate
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the maps
Cons: difficult to register
"Brilliant product will buy again. But having problems registering online."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good display and easy input,
June 11, 2013
By Pete001
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: display and extra features
"I un-packed it, put it in the car and it was ready to go. Destinations are easy to input on the touch screen. Both the on screen and/or audio navigation instructions are clear and easy to follow. I like all the extra features, particularly drivers view at jubnctions and current speed limit. It is also useful that the vehicle type/size can be changed for when I use it in my van."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to understand,
May 16, 2013
By beefcake
from salford manchester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Recently had a garmin on order but changed it for another model which was no problem. The model I bought is so easy to understand and makes driving a lot easier. The girl at Halfords at White City Old Trafford called Jordan I think was very helpful and took her time with me making my change of purchase."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Please with Product,
May 09, 2013
By Linecaster
from Buckinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a good piece of kit. Easy to use. No problems so far."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BLETCHLEY
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I wanted,
May 01, 2013
By christine59
from Bridgend South Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to use, value to money, sat navs 'voice' very pleasant
"Noticed in the Sunday Mirror that Quentin Wilson recommended this satnav so I got one. Very easy to use, also had accessories for it in store which were half price. Very pleased as it gets me where I want to go with no worries. I would certainly recommend this product. A Very Satisfied Customer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent - easily used product.,
April 30, 2013
By Gazza1958
from Aberdeen
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clear easily read screen
"For not being technically minded, the product is easy to use and to set up and install. The screen is clear and big enough to read easily."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garmin nuvi 40 sat nav,
April 25, 2013
By bailey79
from rowley regis
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"the widescreen garmin is an ideal choice to fit on to your car window , it gives you a better view when driving and has a clear volume so you cannot go wrong when driving"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, quality product.,
April 23, 2013
By Ollie53
from Blyth, Northumberland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, build quality, simplicity
"Basic sat nav with everything you need to get from a to b with no fuss. Provides all essential info such as speed limits, mobile safety camera zones, fixed cameras, journey timing and distance info all in a quality, easy to use product, excellent value for money!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? NORTH SHIELDS
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
April 20, 2013
By Blonde1
from Essex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: james' voice is super
"Really simple to set up and use. Great for long or short trips"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DAGENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Nuvi 40 Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great product,
April 16, 2013
By Ross83
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"Very happy with this. Would recommend this to anyone looking for a reasonably priced sat nav. Really easy to use and set up."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>