Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box

The Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box will give maximum access with the forward positioning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 13(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Review 1 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Motion 800 Worked for us,
August 24, 2015
By
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The box came well wrapped and was easy to mount on the roof bars, I managed it on my own but it would be simple with 2. The box is spacious, strong, secure, dry (we drove through a torrential storm that lasted 30 minutes - no leaks....) and amazingly didnt really hammer the mpg.
The car interior was transformed back into a normal car making the long distance very pleasant. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? MACCLESFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Motion 800,
August 18, 2015
By
from Warwick
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very pleased as I'd hoped I would be. I was a little worried about damage and did get sold the product with damaged outer packaging. Thankfully the Roof box survived. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great load capacity and quality,
August 18, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" When the top box arrived in its packaging it looked huge and I had thought I had over ordered. Unpacked and on the car it looked fine. Simple to fit and use and I am really pleased with it. Very little wind noise when on the car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin and more,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: style/ space
" Excellent quality product great service by Halfords worth every penny( oops showing my age) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Motion Roof box,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit
" Having purchased this Thule roof box at a good offer price from Halfords, we used it immediately for a family holiday to Wales. The roof box was very easy to fit and it carried a huge amount of gear for a family of 5 plus dog ! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EAST GRINSTEAD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box,
April 29, 2015
By
from Hertfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well built and easy to fit and move
" After lots of online investigation decided to go with this TopBox and for me it was the right choice, as the saying goes "you pay for what you get" and this is great buy for me.......it adds LOADS of space and easy to fit and when empty I can move it around myself.
As an addition I did pay for the fitting services from Halfords and this was money well spent as they assembled and fitted plus gave me additional information / help tips.....cheers guys. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STEVENAGE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great storage,
December 30, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got this roof box in a flash sale online so got it considerably cheaper than anywhere else.
Bit of a mix up on the click and collect service causing delay but resolved quickly in store. Fit service good although it's so easy you don't really need it.
The extra space is great and there is very little wind noise too.
Overall very happy with this product. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great box for ski's, or luggage for a family,
December 18, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks, aerodynamics, halfords service
Cons: price
" This box is looks good and is plenty big enough for 5 or 6 sets on ski's. We have a 2 door hatchback and it doesn't look oversized on the car, We have just driven down to the alps and I was pleasantly surprised that I still got a decent mpg and no additional noise, so the aerodynamics must be pretty good, Does not restrict boot opening. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? GUILDFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof box,
October 01, 2014
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very roomy you can fit in more than you think not bad value "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? BODMIN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another great rrof box from Thule,
September 24, 2014
By
from Cannock, Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: space, easy to install, easy to use
" It only took 48 hours for Halfords to deliver the roof box at my home address. It was safely protected in the big cardboard!
The space of this roof box is impressive. It's almost as if there is no limit. It is easy to install and use. Its double opening (from each side) is great too.
I surely recommend to spend the extra pounds and get yourself the Motion 800. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Cycling
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exellant box,
September 15, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Apart from being very stylish glossy black on my black car it's. Very practical easy to fit and with it opening both sides very easy to load. Also very light so I can fit myself. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Type of Camper: Festival goer
Which Store did you visit? FROME
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Large capacity, easy fit and easy access box,
January 27, 2013
By
from Poole, Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Delivery was very prompt. Box comes in a very flimsy but very large carboard box.
The roofbox is incredibly easy to fit. No tools needed.
Wind noise is noticable but acceptable.
Highy recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job,
August 05, 2012
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very happy owner and glad I went for the larger 800 version (900 was possibly too big even for our Volvo XC90). We were able to put an adult bike and a child's bike in the roof box once we took the seats and front wheel off. Not to mention helmets and an infant bike seat!
For the Volvo XC90 owners, I recommend getting the sports pack (or whatever Volvo call it) which puts the side board/rails on and the two necessary roof rack bars - both necessary additions. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Motion 800 Black Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great roof box!,
June 26, 2012
By
from Hertfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit, looks great, well made, plenty of room for luggage
" I spent a fair amount of time investigating which roof box to buy but in the end opted for this Thule roof box – it was definitely the right decision! I used it for the first time last week on our holiday and found it very easy to install using the ‘One Click’ system. The dual-sided opening is really useful for loading items and it can consume plenty of luggage - more than I expected! Best of all - I hardly noticed it was there once on the road with minimal wind noise on the motorways. Overall a great product! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.