Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box

The Thule Motion 800 Roof Box Silver Glossy offers both practicality as well as good looks.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 of 24(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Review 1 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule roof box,
August 05, 2014
By Vcribb
from Banstead
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: huge amount of storage space, confidence that product would do the job
Cons: expensive
"Great service from the team at Epsom. Installed & safety tested with minimal fuss. Box looks good on Freelander 2 with loads of room. Used it for a 2 week camping trip with family of 4 + dog. Would recommend the Thule bag set as it made packing easier & fitted neatly along with 4 sleeping bags & pillows."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
box of boxes!,
August 01, 2014
By bigsiclops
from Leicester, Leicester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy acess
Cons: flimsy when on ground and cannot be storred on end
"Expensive but easy to use and fit. Halfords were about the cheapest and I could order on line and pick up at leisure light to lift but surprisingly strong. Access from either zide through clever hinges is handy when travelling to Europe as you can stand kerbside.
it's a roof box expensive but large and easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product,
December 23, 2013
By thefaulks
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this for family Christmas trip. Had to drive 250 miles in torrential rain and winds, it kept everything dry. Bags of space inside, easy to fit and you don't particularly notice it is there."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A brilliant piece of kit,
November 19, 2013
By Chris1978
from Ashburton, Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything about it
"I spent a long time researching which Thule box to get for my Passat estate and settled on the Motion 800 because of it's 75kg payload and ability to put a single bike carrier next to it on the roof bars. It almost doubles the amount of luggage space we have in the car and I don't know how we'd manage without it.
Build quality is good. When it's empty you'll probably think it's a bit flimsy, but load it up and it's fine. Besides, it would need to be made of aluminium or carbon fibre to be truly rigid, and just imagine the cost...
Once I knew the internal dimensions of the box I spent a bit more time finding some holdalls that would fit perfectly as I didn't fancy buying the Thule Go Packs. I bought 4 Highlander Cargo 100 Camo holdalls and they fit just like they were made for it. And a lot cheaper than the Thule Go. You'll still have a small amount of space free in the nose for a couple of small bags or sleeping backs.
Overall it's a great piece of kit and means that the boot of your car won't be crammed to the rafters.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (LONGBRIDGE RD)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great item,
September 20, 2013
By Dangerden
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: dual opening
"Very very pleased with Thule motion 800. I would recommend, plenty of room for bags and skis"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow so useful,
August 02, 2013
By Boosdad
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: power grip/ locks, double sided opening
"From its size to the double sided openings and the grabbing locks which take seconds to set. this is a great box. Really pleased spent the extra to get it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok But ...,
July 25, 2013
By FionaEW
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Excellent easy to fit
Main niggles are:
1. that the width is not as wide as it could be for a larger car - this was the biggest model available for dual opening roof box. It could be a lot larger. With a people mover the roof can easily accommodate a larger box.
2. The impression was given by the Halfords team that you could open the box on both sides at the same time, which allows 2 people to work together to get things well placed, rather than closing down on one side and then going round and opening from the other side to adjust.
The speed of fitting was VERY GOOD and will reduce the potential for bad language.
"
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to fit,
July 24, 2013
By forheavenssake
from UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the easy to attach fittings
Cons: the price.
"The box performs well and can be attached to the roof bars by one person, making the fitting very straight forward."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule Motion 800,
July 22, 2013
By SkylineGTSt
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick to fix onto roof bars, great amount of space
Cons: the price it is overpriced for a plastic box
"This is my first experience of roof boxes did a lot of research online before deciding this was the one for us, I do like the the quick fixing of the box onto the roof bars, I do like the amount of space inside and I received a first class service from the staff at sears retail park Halfords he helped me on the car with the box and also took the packaging away"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product!,
July 21, 2013
By Wheatley30
from Aberdeen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: solid finish
"Great product, exceptional quality and perfect for my family holidays and packing up a car with two children plus two dogs and luggage!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thule roof box,
June 29, 2013
By cjp123
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: doesn't cause much wind noise
Cons: lock fiddly
"V pleased with the roof box, fits on bars securely, lock a bit fiddly but might just need to get used to its operation. Staff in store v helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cavernous, also describes the price.,
June 28, 2013
By Anonymous
from Southampton, Hampshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: huge, opening both sides, solidly built, easy to attach, multi point locking
Cons: price
"This is a very well made top box, and is HUGE! We just kept adding stuff and it seemed to swallow it up. A great feature was the ability to open from either side.
Add to that easy installation (grippers rather than U bars) and the security of have 6 locking points to make sure it doesn't fly open down the M3 makes this a great product.
Halfords have a very competitive price, we compared to three other sellers."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (HEDGE END)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the extra money,
June 23, 2013
By Dave999888
from Malvern
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I did a fair bit of comparison in stores and on-line, and this model seemed one of the best for my purposes - which included as little hassle as practically possible when using it, and using it over many years. I reserved it on-line for pick-up in the Malvern store, and was pleasantly surprised at how helpful and knowledgeable Martin (the store manager) was. Perfect product when used on first holiday, and I liked the key locking system which gives a degree of confidence that it won't ping open. Roof boxes always seem expensive for what they are, but when compared to the competition this product seemed worth the extra money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MALVERN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule Motion 800,
June 05, 2013
By Redruss
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had it set-up at Halfords. Once it has been fitted, it is really easy to mount and dismount. It is light. One person can carry it with comfort but it helps to have a second pair of hands to lift the box onto the roof.
It seems to be more expensive than other brands but I don't know how these would compare to the Thule."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thule Topbox,
June 02, 2013
By Robthebuilder
from Little Easton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: fastening system, weight, simplicity
Cons: price
"Product is excellent, fastening system is simple and secure.
Stores plenty of stuff and is strong.
A little expensive for what is in effect a plastic box
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BRAINTREE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simplicity and quality,
April 27, 2013
By Junglie846
from Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I needed a roof box at short notice and was advised by the team at Frome to take a look at this one. The quality is very good, and importantly, fitting is incredibly simple. Two of us placed it on the roof bars and once lined up right to left using the windscreen and sat nav aerial, a little more forward and aft to ensure it didn't foul the boot as it opened; all it took was to turn four wheels inside the box to close the jaws on the roof bars. The click of the torque limiter built in gives you reassurance that it is fixed as tight as it needs to be. Amazingly mpg on my A6 barely changed! I did remove it by myself but I am 6'3" and had no other option, but I wouldn't recommend it just in case, it's a little cumbersome for one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FROME
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Purchase!,
March 31, 2013
By Mark65
from Basingstoke
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent fittings
"I have been delighted with this choice of roof box. It is relatively light for its size so it was easy for me to pop it on to the roof rails on my own. The securing mechanism is a easy to operate and does an excellent job of locking the box to the roof rails. The load space is enormous so you can place a number of soft bags into this space leaving room for bulkier items in the boot. It is a great product which is well worth the investment."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BASINGSTOKE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit!,
March 21, 2013
By vinnytj
from Bury St Edmunds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased the Thule Wing roofbars and the Motion 8oo box for my Mazda 5 Sport. Fitting was a doddle and I was easily able to carry this out on my own. Looks great on my silver car, very sturdy, and I can fit the deck chairs, body boards, wet suits etc, etc for the whole family in there!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best all round for quality / price.,
March 05, 2013
By GeeTeeAitch
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything!
"Great item; well worth the premium over similar offerings. Easy to mount / dismount; great dual-side access; excellent security (key can't be removed until box is locked); good capacity; minimal effect on mpg. Highly recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TWICKENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thule Motion 800 460 Litre Silver Glossy Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product, and even better customer service,
February 23, 2013
By bjg11
from London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a good product, but the real value was in the excellent and friendly customer service I got from all of the Halford's staff who helped me at Hendon branch - from the first encounter with the girls at the tills to the manager and the fitting staff. It was a pleasure to do business with such professionals."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>