Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set

The Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set is made from quality chrome vanadium steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 of 35(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the price.,
April 27, 2014
By Bladez89
from Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the warrantee build quality
Cons: the lack of a 1/2" extension.
"Bought these last week, with being an apprentice mechanic I can't justify buying snap on or blue point tools, however. With the quality and lifetime guarantee on the halfords advanced range why would I ever need too. Excellent bit of kit and with my trade card worth every penny.
Like others have said could use a 1/2" extension but I'll pick one of these up when I need one.
Well done halfords for the supply of a quality tool set at a quality price
I'd also just like to add that the Hull store I went too had sold out but sourced me another set and had it put to one side at another local store, very helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I know how it works!,
April 06, 2014
By Malmac
from Argyll
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything i need at a reasonable price
"In the past I bought the cheapest socket sets I could find! I've still got some bits of them which are nearly 40 years old but none are complete any more.
.
I saw this set on Halfords website. The price was good, the reviews were great so I bought a set in the January sale. This will last me forever, I thought.
But the sockets would not fit the ratchets! Disappointed! I took the set back to the store. A kind gentleman tried them and they worked. He then asked me if I had pushed the centre button to release the lock before fitting a socket. I think my blank look told him everything. I feel such a idiot. My cheap sets never had anything like this.
So I now have a rather good set which should do everything I will ever need.
My sincere thanks to the staff in Halfords store in Dumbarton for their help, but mainly for waiting until I had left the store before falling on the floor laughing."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUMBARTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all-around socket set,
March 01, 2014
By Anonymous
from Peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: secure box (4 clips), easy to carry around and store
"I was bought this from my girlfriend for christmas, and it has been great. It has near enough all the socket sizes I have needed.
It was even better value as it was on 50% off when she purchased it! But, the price would have still been good value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit.,
February 01, 2014
By Lions316
from Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this socket set a couple of years ago as a gift for my dad. Having found the need to borrow it on more than one occasion I was impressed enough to get a set for myself. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quality set at a reasonable price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professional 90 Piece Socket Set,
January 13, 2014
By brew86
from southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this socket set is top quality and fantastic value for money
i am not in the trade but im a keen and experienced diy mechanic and i highly rate Halfords Advanced range among leading brands and comes with the same lifetime guarantee as the other brands but at a fraction of the price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY GOOD QUALITY PRODUCT,
January 03, 2014
By swarfy
from angus--scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"An excellent socket set and even bettervalue for the money as i bought it in the sale."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
90 Piece socket set,
December 30, 2013
By TIPPEE
from HEATHFIELD EAST SUSSEX
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great selection of sizes
"Bought as a Xmas present
Recipient delighted.
Quality & price excellent.
Thank you Halfords.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
November 21, 2013
By Mike144
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The product is a great buy for the DIY enthusiast, as it contains a good range of tools. The quality and finish of these tools are first class."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Get you out of trouble set,
November 03, 2013
By Timespassing
from Berkshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Middle of the road set, middle of the road price. Not a lot of choice between various sets."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
-10points
0out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic socket set,
October 25, 2013
By Steviec100
from Essex, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great quality, price, robust case
Cons: lack of 15mm socket
"I have had this set for a couple of years now and it has been faultless.
The set has been out in the rain, the ratchet used as a hammer and pry bar (not recommeded and it voids the guarentee, but lets be honest, we have all done it!), have even used a bit of pipe on the ratchet to give me some move leverage. It really is a high quality set.
The only gripe I have with this set is the lack of a 15mm spanner.
I would recommend this set to anyone and even my mobile mechanic uses this set and preferes it to his more expensive Snap On tools.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality and value,
September 06, 2013
By Anonymous
from Lincoln, uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good solid feel., lifetime warranty!, sturdy case
"Got this on offer 2 years ago, and has never been a problem. Every parts still solid and working great, despite the amount of use and abuse some of it has had! I've got lots of halfords advanced pro tools and they are all brilliant, well worth the money as an alternative to snap-on/mac tools!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not to be missed when on offer,
August 01, 2013
By Ed80
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Thankfully it seems to be on offer quite often, so there normally isn't too much of a rush purchase feel about it.
Great quality set, with pretty much everything I could think of needing for basic (owing to my capabilities) work on my car and more advanced work on my Road Bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Motorcycle Enthusiast,
July 28, 2013
By Scrince
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of tools, variety of sockets provided
Cons: no 1/2" extension bar
"This kit contains everything I needed to carry out a variety of maintenance tasks on my bike from the delicate removal of fairing panels to the harder jobs such as oil and filter change and chain adjustments. I'm sure it's future possibilities are limitless for me and at this price contains pretty much all I'll ever need to keep my bike running sweet. Great price and highly recommended. My only criticism is that there isn't a 1/2 extension bar but these can be picked up relatively cheaply anyway. Great buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
July 20, 2013
By Range
from Kidderminster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent has all the tools in the kit that I think I will ever need
Already done two jobs that I would not have been able to do with the tools I already had"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall good value,
July 15, 2013
By Tom92r
from Chesterfield
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this set to use for doing bits on my motorbike, so far so good, got it half price so quite happy with it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Oustanding bargain for a quality socket set,
July 14, 2013
By RunningRiot
from Telford, Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Halfords is one of those websites where it pays to drop in now and again just to see if there are any special deals and offers - this socket set is a great quality item that with care will last a lifetime, and a good investment for my son as part of his first tool kit. To be able to buy this at less than half price, and secure it immediately using the 'reserve at store' function is brilliant! There was a time when you'd see an offer like this in the paper or on the telly and rush down to the store to see if there were still some in stock. Not anymore, you click to reserve and pay and pick-up when convenient to you. The collection was simple and straightforward with the item put away already at the desk. All round a simple, pleasurable and great value experience, thank you!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was good value,
July 14, 2013
By Mikek750
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would recommend this product as I think it is good value for money and appears to be of sufficient quality to meet my needs"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent,
July 09, 2013
By GARETHW250
from CORNWALL
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"really pleased great value for money. WOULD RECOMMEND"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ST. AUSTELL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money,
July 09, 2013
By Nickeljn
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, lifetime guarantee
Cons: lack of 1/2" extension bar
"This is a really good set the only downpoint i can find is the lack of an extesion bar for the 1/2" drive but overall very good and sturdy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item great price,
June 24, 2013
By Misschow
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just what I was looking for great , half price . Great value ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? YATE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>