Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set

The Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set is made from quality chrome vanadium steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
57 of 57(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set,
January 28, 2015
By Ryzo78
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great piece of kit, good quality ratchets. And for the price I can't complain... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all round socket set.,
January 26, 2015
By Marcosdumplings
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have had a Halfords socket set for years and needed a wider range of sizes, i saw a sale on and bought the 90 piece set. I got a good price and am very happy with the selection and quality. Would recommend for home DIY garage. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DORCHESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT!,
January 16, 2015
By robbyg13
from Calne, Calne, Wiltshire SN11, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: decent weight
" Brilliant product, great value and quality. Very good items to get the job done. Not lightweight and cheap compared to others "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cracking tool kit,
January 14, 2015
By 999andy
from Hull, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What's not to love it's a quality tool kit with a lifetime guarantee and it was half price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great purchase,
January 12, 2015
By Gaz1856
from Widnes, Halton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great socket set and at very good price in half price sale. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value,
January 09, 2015
By Njt1
from North Ayrshire KA12, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lifetime guarantee, excellent quality
Cons: can't find one yet
" Used these in anger the 2nd day after I bought them, the case is of sound quality compared to other sets I have had. The tools themselves feel as though they are of excellent quality, I have used a more famous brand that is far more expensive and I see no difference. With the Halfords Pro range you also get a lifetime guarantee, what more do you want as long as you keep your proof of purchase, never again will I have to buy the same tools. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product and great value,
January 08, 2015
By Tinkertodd
from Telford, Telford and Wrekin, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excelent value for money life time gaurantee, free delivery what more can you ask for, great quality "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
January 07, 2015
By 819hev
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent quality item for the price. Nothing bad to say about it really "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
socket set,
January 05, 2015
By dac21
from Redcar, Redcar and Cleveland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" everything at hand in a strong case, good quality tools that are easy to handle "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? MIDDLESBROUGH (CLEVELAND RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent socket set,
January 02, 2015
By skyline96
from torquay
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" great tool kit, I got this one for my brother and I have the 150 piece one myself and both are spot on! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent quality set of tools,
December 30, 2014
By PeterDT
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A very good selection of tool sizes. I found the spinner handle also being a 1/4 inch extension bar being particularly useful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? RUSTINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product.,
December 27, 2014
By Greesemonkey12
from Huntingdon, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My dad brought me this set as a present for Christmas. Great set for a novice mechanic and I would definitely recommend buying it. I have found you can never go wrong with the halfords advanced professional range. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good item,
December 26, 2014
By nannahobbit
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" i purchased this as a gift for my son for christmas, and both my husband and son said it was a good set. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (CORNWALL STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great socket set,
December 25, 2014
By Anonymous
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Brought this as a prez. It is Very good quality would recommend "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Counts,
December 23, 2014
By Atrueguy
from Pontefract
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: chilli
Cons: con carne
" This is a great set. Love the Halfords Professional range and would highly recommend to anyone, and all my sets are well used. This one was a gift. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xmas present,
December 21, 2014
By Miaow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This item is a xmas present it has been requested. I was thrilled it was half price. It has not been opened yet if course because Santa would be furious and we don't want to invoke his wrath. So I cant comment on the quality. We would love the vouchers though to be able to buy stuff to fix his sleigh it breaks down and air fresheners because sweaty reindeers are minging. The click and collect service was really convenient. And I heard about you storing bikes until xmas from my friend...brilliant idea. HAPPY CHRISTMAS ALL "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? WOLVERHAMPTON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect set for the boot!,
December 12, 2014
By Variomatic
from Isle of Anglesey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: overall quality, decent case, good range of sockets and drives
Cons: lack of allen bits, small selection of extensions
" Got this set a coupe of weeks ago because I needed to replace the pump seals and a couple of glow plugs on my wife's 525 diesel and didn't have any torx bits or deep sockets.
Buying a set of bits ad socket rail would have come to nearly £40, so I decided to get this and leave it in the boot once I'd done.
The set is pretty comprehensive, with the only notable omission being allen bits. Personally I would have liked to see those in place of the screwdriver bits because I'm not a great fan of interchangeable screwdrivers. It's also a little short on options for extension bars, which can be a problem trying to reach deeply hidden bolts.
To be fair, I guess it's not designed as a full workshop tool set and what it does it does well.
The quality of the ratchets (1/4, 3/8 nd 1/2 inch) seems fine, with a nice positive socket lock (with quick release button) and reasonably fine ratchet mechanisms. The sockets themselves are also well finished and fit accurately.
I haven't had to really lean on any of them so far, but they give a reassuring impression that they'd be willing to take some abuse if called on. Time will tell......
The case itself is sturdy, with proper pinned hinges and clasps, so shouldn't be falling apart in a couple of years because a piece of flexi plastic has given way. It holds mkost of the tools securely but does seem to need its foam insert to prevent a couple of bits falling out as you open it - a minor point but worth being aware of if you don't want to lose bits by the roadside!
Overall the set seem to be great value for money at the offer price and would still be reasonable (though not quite so outstanding thanks to the lack of allen bits and few extensions) at the RRP. We drive older cars (from a 1971 Daf onwards) and usually carry full tools when going any distance (often do 300+ mile trips in them). This set on its own would keep me fairly confident that i could get out of any trouble that's likely to be a roadside fix. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EXCELLENT VALUE A SOCKET SET FOR LIFE,
November 24, 2014
By poppins14
from Wigan, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lifetime guarantee
Cons: no 11mm spanners
" Excellent socket set and for half the price plus guaranteed for life,only gripe is no 11mm spanner or long reach 11mm but other than that this is great for yourself or makes a super gift. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does a job,
November 17, 2014
By POPS1912
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good quality and comprehensive set, only really lacking an extension bar for the 1/2" drive. The ratchet occasionally jams but usually responds to a sharp tap against something solid. I think this is ideal for the keen DIY mechanic but doubt it would really cut it for a professional using it day in day out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent quality tools let down by the case,
October 17, 2014
By UGardener
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, price
Cons: sockets loose in the case
" The sockets, wrenches and spanners are all very good quality and a good price. My only complaint is the case that holds all the tools does not hold some of the sockets securely and they fall out and rattle around inside the case. It's only a particular 3 that ever escape but it's frustrating nonetheless. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>