Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set

The Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set is made from quality chrome vanadium steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 of 41(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect set for the boot!,
December 12, 2014
By Variomatic
from Isle of Anglesey, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: overall quality, decent case, good range of sockets and drives
Cons: lack of allen bits, small selection of extensions
" Got this set a coupe of weeks ago because I needed to replace the pump seals and a couple of glow plugs on my wife's 525 diesel and didn't have any torx bits or deep sockets.
Buying a set of bits ad socket rail would have come to nearly £40, so I decided to get this and leave it in the boot once I'd done.
The set is pretty comprehensive, with the only notable omission being allen bits. Personally I would have liked to see those in place of the screwdriver bits because I'm not a great fan of interchangeable screwdrivers. It's also a little short on options for extension bars, which can be a problem trying to reach deeply hidden bolts.
To be fair, I guess it's not designed as a full workshop tool set and what it does it does well.
The quality of the ratchets (1/4, 3/8 nd 1/2 inch) seems fine, with a nice positive socket lock (with quick release button) and reasonably fine ratchet mechanisms. The sockets themselves are also well finished and fit accurately.
I haven't had to really lean on any of them so far, but they give a reassuring impression that they'd be willing to take some abuse if called on. Time will tell......
The case itself is sturdy, with proper pinned hinges and clasps, so shouldn't be falling apart in a couple of years because a piece of flexi plastic has given way. It holds mkost of the tools securely but does seem to need its foam insert to prevent a couple of bits falling out as you open it - a minor point but worth being aware of if you don't want to lose bits by the roadside!
Overall the set seem to be great value for money at the offer price and would still be reasonable (though not quite so outstanding thanks to the lack of allen bits and few extensions) at the RRP. We drive older cars (from a 1971 Daf onwards) and usually carry full tools when going any distance (often do 300+ mile trips in them). This set on its own would keep me fairly confident that i could get out of any trouble that's likely to be a roadside fix. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BANGOR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EXCELLENT VALUE A SOCKET SET FOR LIFE,
November 24, 2014
By poppins14
from Wigan, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lifetime guarantee
Cons: no 11mm spanners
" Excellent socket set and for half the price plus guaranteed for life,only gripe is no 11mm spanner or long reach 11mm but other than that this is great for yourself or makes a super gift. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does a job,
November 17, 2014
By POPS1912
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good quality and comprehensive set, only really lacking an extension bar for the 1/2" drive. The ratchet occasionally jams but usually responds to a sharp tap against something solid. I think this is ideal for the keen DIY mechanic but doubt it would really cut it for a professional using it day in day out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent quality tools let down by the case,
October 17, 2014
By UGardener
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, price
Cons: sockets loose in the case
" The sockets, wrenches and spanners are all very good quality and a good price. My only complaint is the case that holds all the tools does not hold some of the sockets securely and they fall out and rattle around inside the case. It's only a particular 3 that ever escape but it's frustrating nonetheless. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Google value,
August 09, 2014
By Malagalen
from Spain/uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have a few of these socket sets ,which I have used on a professional basis and found them to be good quality , the case is very handy as you can keep them together so you generally have most of the tools you need in one place,great for throwing in the boot if attending breakdowns etc. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? UXBRIDGE
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great strong product,
August 09, 2014
By Luke1991
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, good value
Cons: no 1/2" extension bar
" Very very good product great value for money, other than missing a 1/2" extension bar which most jobs I don't need use for fantastic value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the price.,
April 27, 2014
By Bladez89
from Hull
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the warrantee build quality
Cons: the lack of a 1/2" extension.
" Bought these last week, with being an apprentice mechanic I can't justify buying snap on or blue point tools, however. With the quality and lifetime guarantee on the halfords advanced range why would I ever need too. Excellent bit of kit and with my trade card worth every penny.
Like others have said could use a 1/2" extension but I'll pick one of these up when I need one.
Well done halfords for the supply of a quality tool set at a quality price
I'd also just like to add that the Hull store I went too had sold out but sourced me another set and had it put to one side at another local store, very helpful. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now I know how it works!,
April 06, 2014
By Malmac
from Argyll
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything i need at a reasonable price
" In the past I bought the cheapest socket sets I could find! I've still got some bits of them which are nearly 40 years old but none are complete any more.
.
I saw this set on Halfords website. The price was good, the reviews were great so I bought a set in the January sale. This will last me forever, I thought.
But the sockets would not fit the ratchets! Disappointed! I took the set back to the store. A kind gentleman tried them and they worked. He then asked me if I had pushed the centre button to release the lock before fitting a socket. I think my blank look told him everything. I feel such a idiot. My cheap sets never had anything like this.
So I now have a rather good set which should do everything I will ever need.
My sincere thanks to the staff in Halfords store in Dumbarton for their help, but mainly for waiting until I had left the store before falling on the floor laughing. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DUMBARTON
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all-around socket set,
March 01, 2014
By Anonymous
from Peterborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: secure box (4 clips), easy to carry around and store
" I was bought this from my girlfriend for christmas, and it has been great. It has near enough all the socket sizes I have needed.
It was even better value as it was on 50% off when she purchased it! But, the price would have still been good value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bit of kit.,
February 01, 2014
By Lions316
from Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I purchased this socket set a couple of years ago as a gift for my dad. Having found the need to borrow it on more than one occasion I was impressed enough to get a set for myself. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quality set at a reasonable price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professional 90 Piece Socket Set,
January 13, 2014
By brew86
from southampton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this socket set is top quality and fantastic value for money
i am not in the trade but im a keen and experienced diy mechanic and i highly rate Halfords Advanced range among leading brands and comes with the same lifetime guarantee as the other brands but at a fraction of the price "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY GOOD QUALITY PRODUCT,
January 03, 2014
By swarfy
from angus--scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" An excellent socket set and even bettervalue for the money as i bought it in the sale. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
90 Piece socket set,
December 30, 2013
By TIPPEE
from HEATHFIELD EAST SUSSEX
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great selection of sizes
" Bought as a Xmas present
Recipient delighted.
Quality & price excellent.
Thank you Halfords.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? UCKFIELD
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
November 21, 2013
By Mike144
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The product is a great buy for the DIY enthusiast, as it contains a good range of tools. The quality and finish of these tools are first class. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Get you out of trouble set,
November 03, 2013
By Timespassing
from Berkshire
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Middle of the road set, middle of the road price. Not a lot of choice between various sets. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic socket set,
October 25, 2013
By Steviec100
from Essex, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great quality, price, robust case
Cons: lack of 15mm socket
" I have had this set for a couple of years now and it has been faultless.
The set has been out in the rain, the ratchet used as a hammer and pry bar (not recommeded and it voids the guarentee, but lets be honest, we have all done it!), have even used a bit of pipe on the ratchet to give me some move leverage. It really is a high quality set.
The only gripe I have with this set is the lack of a 15mm spanner.
I would recommend this set to anyone and even my mobile mechanic uses this set and preferes it to his more expensive Snap On tools.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HARLOW
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality and value,
September 06, 2013
By Anonymous
from Lincoln, uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good solid feel., lifetime warranty!, sturdy case
" Got this on offer 2 years ago, and has never been a problem. Every parts still solid and working great, despite the amount of use and abuse some of it has had! I've got lots of halfords advanced pro tools and they are all brilliant, well worth the money as an alternative to snap-on/mac tools! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not to be missed when on offer,
August 01, 2013
By Ed80
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Thankfully it seems to be on offer quite often, so there normally isn't too much of a rush purchase feel about it.
Great quality set, with pretty much everything I could think of needing for basic (owing to my capabilities) work on my car and more advanced work on my Road Bikes. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? NEWARK
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Motorcycle Enthusiast,
July 28, 2013
By Scrince
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality of tools, variety of sockets provided
Cons: no 1/2" extension bar
" This kit contains everything I needed to carry out a variety of maintenance tasks on my bike from the delicate removal of fairing panels to the harder jobs such as oil and filter change and chain adjustments. I'm sure it's future possibilities are limitless for me and at this price contains pretty much all I'll ever need to keep my bike running sweet. Great price and highly recommended. My only criticism is that there isn't a 1/2 extension bar but these can be picked up relatively cheaply anyway. Great buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHORLEY
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 90 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value,
July 20, 2013
By Range
from Kidderminster
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent has all the tools in the kit that I think I will ever need
Already done two jobs that I would not have been able to do with the tools I already had "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>