Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set

The Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set is ideal for jobs at home or on the car.
Average Customer Rating:
4.742 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(155 Reviews) 155
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (155 reviews)
5 stars
117
4 stars
36
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
150 of 153(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Socket Set,
May 25, 2014
By kj64
from Oldbury, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very pleased with Socket Set 120 piece mid range set good quality finish to product and lifetime guarantee excellent addition good sturdy case."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OLDBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
January 05, 2014
By Ian1308
from Eastbourne East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This socket set is excellent and has every piece that will be needed by the every DIY enthusiast. The box locks can be difficult to open sometimes, however, this means that the contents cannot spill out by it opening inadvertently, this is a great plus."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWHAVEN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lifetime warranty, brilliant,
December 23, 2013
By Jackmc
from N.Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Ordered online, reserved and pick-up.
Londonderry store great service , so helpful
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LONDONDERRY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product for the money,
December 12, 2013
By bigwill13
from leicestershire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the box keeps every thing tidy and in its place.
Cons: could do withe some larger sockets in this set.
"I ordered my kit online and it was ready to pick up straight away. I received great customer service and the product its self is fantastic for the money. However I did have a small problem with one of the ratchets but due to the life time warranty this was exchanged instantly. I am very happy over all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MARKET HARBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durable sockets with great wrenches,
October 11, 2013
By Trade31
from Enfield,London
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: durability, value
Cons: case could be designed better to hold spanners
"The wrenches and sockets cover most of my needed tools as a DIY mechanic. They are very durable and come in a handy case. The case could have been designed better to hold the tools but is built well enough to last years. I would recommend purchasing a breaker bar to complete this excellent bit of kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality Socket Set,
September 30, 2013
By AKid
from BRISTOL UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality and range of tools in set
Cons: wish i bought the bigger set!
"bought this in the sale, wasn't too sure what to expect quality wise.
but after buying i would DEFINITELY RECOMMEND this product.
quality and performance is superb. really impressed with it.
loads of pieces all very useful, perfect set for starting
ratchet spanner extremely strong!!
for instance i was trying to undo the crank bolt on the front of my engine, with engine in situ.
ended up putting the spanner on the bolt, then using the Jack to lift the spanner, until the front of the car was off the ground, all weight entirely on spanner! left like that for two days until weight of car loosened bolt.
spanner still perfect.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Halfords value,
September 23, 2013
By westward27
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I last bought a Lifetime guarantee socket set from Halfords about 28 years ago and it is still working perfectly. This one has a lot of new sockets and the quality so far looks and feels good. The only minor issue would be that I could have liked a couple more spanners."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Socket Set,
September 20, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The set is very good quality but the hinges of the case could do with improving."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent box of sockets and screw driver bits,
August 13, 2013
By JAMES2O
from Ruabon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality, design
Cons: no t25 torx
"I was recommended Halfords Pro by a top mechanic friend of mine who works for a well known manufacturer. He uses Halfords Pro, which are apparently equally as good as Snap On for the money as do many of his colleagues and friends. He mentioned that he hadn't known anything from the Halfords Pro range ever breaking whether it being used for it's designed purpose or other. I wasn't disappointed with these sockets, excellent build quality, lifetime guarantee, what more would you want? The only annoying thing was that there wasn't a T25 Torx bit would you believe, which is one of the items I need, that aside I would definitely recommend this set. For someone who researches in depth and generally likes to buy top quality, I'm happy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OSWESTRY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
120 Piece Socket Set,
August 13, 2013
By Toobox
from Coventry
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Comprehensive piece of kit, well built and in a useful storage case. Very versatile and will be a valuable addition to my garage."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tools - fab price,
August 13, 2013
By benji6
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this set to live in our camper (with a handful of other tools) and it's great. We have a couple of other Halfords sets and they're fantastic value for money - and most importantly good tools too :)
Shame our local Halfords has closed though :("
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FELIXSTOWE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good set,
August 12, 2013
By lowbug
from Somerset
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good all round set
"Good set of tools medium racket has a fault and jams. The case hinges are terrible and both let down what is a fantastic kit. Still recommend :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? WELLS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Tools, Good Price,
August 12, 2013
By TStaff
from Reading
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality
"Good set of tools that look like they're going to last - and all at a good price. I was impressed. Do not lose the foam insert, though!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? READING (OXFORD RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These are getting less useful,
August 10, 2013
By TheBoy2
from Deepest Northamptonshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: compact size, quality of what is included, compact case
Cons: not as useful as previous version, case does not feel robust, too many spanner sizes omitted from this newer ver
"I replaced my fire damaged older style one with this newer one, only to be disappointed. It seems Halfords have tried to cut costs by removing some of the more useful items and replaced them with less useful, cheaper items to keep it 120pc.
The upside of this cost cutting is that the case is more compact, yet definately not as robust as the previous versions.
If you have had a previous Halfords Professional/Advanced large socket set, I think you will be disappointed.
However, as a new buyer who hasn't had a large Halfords Pro/Adv socket set, you will likely be happy. The items that have been provided are of very high quality, although the rachets aren't the best. Its reasonably comprehensive, but check it has all the spanner sizes you need, as there are many sizes missing. The metric sockets include the full set of sizes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLETCHLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great socket set,
August 09, 2013
By TheBaron
from Wirral
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Exceeding pleased with this set, with spanners included its versatile too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Tool Kit,
August 09, 2013
By Gunner1983
from Bedford, Bedfordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality tools, good range of tools
"I purchased this set whilst it was on offer and it's excellent value for money. The tools are of high quality, covers a multitude of jobs and comes nicely in a heavy duty carry case."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tool kit,
August 08, 2013
By ranger90
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am really made up with this tool kit I feel I have all the tools in one box brilliant"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what a bargain,
August 08, 2013
By acetag
from derby england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
"saw it , ordered to collect , picked it up unbelievable quality and lifetime guarantee . Will pay for itself on one job done on vehicle."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WEST)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value 120 piece socket set,
August 07, 2013
By Mark7
from Bucks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: hard case, lifetime warranty, price, quality
Cons: none
"This is a great value socket set.
It has all you would need for basic car maintaince and servicing .
I have a classic car and will be using this set a lot over the coming years renovating it , it was bought with this in mind .
Lifetime warranty is a bonus
Would reccomened it to friends :-)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? MILTON KEYNES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 120 Piece Socket Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great toolset,
August 07, 2013
By mc0uk
from Manchester UK.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought one of these socket sets when they were on special offer, but to be honest the quality is so good that I would of paid full price for it if I needed it sooner.
I have owned a Halfords Socket Set since leaving school, it is now 22 years old and still works perfectly so had no hesitation upgrading to this.
The benefit of a lifetime guarantee also gives peace of mind that you are buying a quality product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>