Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set

The Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set is great for any task.
Average Customer Rating:
4.787 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(381 Reviews) 381
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (381 reviews)
5 stars
325
4 stars
44
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
6
366 of 375(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent set for DIY and Pro.,
November 23, 2014
By PistonPete
from Swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: feel, quality, flexibility, metric and af sizes, ratchet ring spanners
"having owned Halfords Professional spanners in the past I thought I'd treat myself to a complete set. I wasn't disappointed by this set. Brilliant quality, as good as anything I've owned, even from the travelling van people. A socket or spanner or ratchet ring for any job. No 11mm, but that's probably because 7/16ths does that job, and it's in the set. I changed a clutch on a Ford Puma just using this set and a set of snips and screwdrivers. If you need a decent socket/spanner set for most jobs, this'll do it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SWINDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No brainier!,
November 18, 2014
By Gaz81
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I looked at various possibilities - some of which were far less expensive! With socket sets, you can't really compromise so with a 50% reduction and having a lifetime warranty it was really a no brainer! I definately made the right choice."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURY ST. EDMUNDS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BEST SOCKET SET I'VE HAD.,
November 17, 2014
By Bonus22
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the quality, the various different tools, the price
"I had this socket set until someone broke into my car and stole it. I had to get another one, as being a semi-skilled mechanic and D.I.Y. mechanic. I even managed to put a replacement gearbox into a vw golf with it. The breaker bar wasn't in my last one, so an added bonus. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this set. So if you looking for one and can afford to buy this set. Look no more as this is the one for you. As good as snap on. I've had both and I went out and bought this one. As its great value for the money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazeballs!!,
November 14, 2014
By Whoopsjess
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the life time guarantee
"I purchased the pro tool kit for a friend on his 30th birthday. He absolutely loves it. It's such a fab but and we know that when he works on his motorbike or anything else he will be using high quality tools. They're all in a nice safe and secure box too which isn't flimsy or cheap feeling (like many others you can buy are!) and it's something he will use daily. Thanks halfords for making something really great!"
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Kit,
November 08, 2014
By m1ck0
from uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: feel
Cons: case clasps
"a great investment for any pro or enthusiast. All set out in a sturdy carry case, it gives confidence to the user with its well manufactured machined components. Well made!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WIDNES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great set for most tasks,
October 17, 2014
By Janbo
from Sandiacre, Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really love this socket set! My partner got it for me as a little present and I must say I'm really impressed with the quality. Good for anything from some diy to car repairs, it's well worth the money and with the lifetime guarantee you really can't go wrong :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good,
October 04, 2014
By ollie16
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good quality and value
Cons: some sockets loose when on the ratchets
"This socket set has everything you need, its good quality and a great price, and lifetime guarantee so its a good deal! Highly recommended to everyone!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? YEOVIL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
September 23, 2014
By slawek107
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Spanner is excellent finished. Material is very very professional."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great tool set for the money.,
September 20, 2014
By Bennybe
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This tool set is the best tool set I have bought.It was great value for the money I paid for it and has the feel of a quality professional tool set.I am impressed with the life time guarantee you get with it and know I will never have to replace it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great socket set for the price - look and feel like Snap-on,
September 20, 2014
By Glitch5
from Rotherham, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After using snap-on for many years which I keep in a big roller toolbox I wanted a more versatile mobile set.
I saw these at halfords and have to say the spanners are very snap-on like in both feel and design. It's a great set for the price and would recommend it to anyone.
Especially with the lifetime guarantee that comes with it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant starter set,
September 20, 2014
By Groot
from Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, range of tool, price
Cons: the size it's huge
"This tool set gives you pretty much everything you need to start off building up a decent tool set. My dad brought one of these 18 years ago and he still has his, hope this one lasts as long"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ASHFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value for money,
August 28, 2014
By Eosepg33
from Chichester, Chichester, West Sussex, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This was a good kit if your in to doing a little bit of work on the car or bike then these are certainly worth the value the kit comes with nearly every thing you need or just look at the others this is my second one as I tend to leave a socket lying around or lend it to some one but I would recommend one of these kits any day"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality,
August 11, 2014
By mercucio1
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Product is good quality and has most of the small parts that you need for home use. I decided to buy this because of the lifetime warranty"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set,
August 11, 2014
By BorrisNorris1
from Far North Of the Border
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: is unlikely to run off with a younger richer man.
Cons: won't fit through my letterbox.
"This is the second one I have bought in the last five years and the two biggest improvements in the newer one is the inclusion of the breaker bar and the quality in the construction of the case.
The breaker bar bar will help you avoid using the ratchet sockets for undoing those really tight nuts and subsequently discovering Halfords 'forever' warranty doesn't cover moving parts/mechanisms.
I have, however, absolutely no idea what the breaker bar replaced to remain at a a 150-piece set, nonetheless this set still contains pretty much everything I need to work on my car and would only envisage having to rely on on stubby spanners and larger spanners for the very occasional job.
The case construction includes proper hinges and the front clasps are semi-proteceted by two plastic tabs on the side of the case which, in my case, took ten minutes to work out they were there, as I couldn't get the case open.
I R DED FIK!!!
Overall, an improvement on the last one and unless you're a complete tool yourself should suffice for most jobs.
VERDICT: It'll do..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
halfords professional 150 piece socket,
August 10, 2014
By kennyip2000
from Stockton-on-Tees, Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very high quality material. Mixture of various tools required to work on numerous parts on the car and even DIY at home."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first class product,
August 08, 2014
By mickyd124
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
"all the tools have the lifetime garantee and u can feel the quality of the tools as soon as you pick any1 of the tools up out of the box"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good set for the home garage mechanic,
August 05, 2014
By Techdad
from Belfast
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As an engineer I know what professional quality sockets sets are, unfortunately I also know hire price! I was looking for a set which would cover all the jobs I expect to do on my cars and this has them all. There is a great selection, pretty much a tool for every job. The down sides are that the case is difficult to put the tools back into and the tools are of reasonable quality at best. On balance it is a good set for the money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A decent socket set for the price....,
April 04, 2014
By Gez95
from Uk
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: halfords staff, spanner quality
Cons: quality of some tools
"Pros-
Impact sockets are sturdy however there are only 4 in the set
Spanners are really good (would be as good as snap on if they were a bit more comfortable. But they are just as strong and definitely well worth having!)
Ratchets seem strong but I'm not really that comfortable putting a lot of weight on them from reading previous reviews.
The staff are excellent. I took a handful of broken tools instore and all of them were replaced hassle free.
Cons-
Socket screwdriver/Allen/torx bits are of a really poor quality. I had 6 of them break the first week I used them.
Most sockets are 12 point and not non slip therefor nuts and bolts are easily rounded off.
Ratchet spanners don't have a directional lever so you have to physically remove the spanner to change ratcheting direction. They also lack a slight crank on the spanner end therefor you end up with bruised knuckles and sore fingertips when there is limited access
The spanners and the 1/4 and 3/8 deep sockets don't appear to be full sets. Many sizes appear to be missing.
The casing design is quite poor and is prone to falling apart. Particularly the thin foam insert used to separate the two sides of the toolbox.
The tools seem to rust very quickly. Even after daily use in the motor trade they still tend to rust.
The set contains many tools that I (and probably a lot of people) won't use. These include all the imperial sized sockets (used on older cars) which aren't of much use anyway as they are 12 point and will most likely round every bolt off a classic car.
The screwdriver bits seem pointless; just buy a set of screwdrivers! Also, Allen head bolts are quite scarce nowadays however I'm glad there is a set included. It seems to me that these tools were included in the set just to increase the size of the set for advertising purposes.
Summary-
This set contains most of the tools a novice/enthusiast would need and at its sale price is a great value set. The lifetime warranty is also an additional bonus. However I don't recommend this set if like me, you make your living with tools.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
+33points
34out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product, Price and Quality,
March 25, 2014
By Hyperpro888
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality, good price & lifetime gurantee
"After having previous tools fail on me, i decided to shop around for the best tool kits. Came across this one at Halfords and when it came i was very impressed with the tool quality and the content within the kit, not only this but it comes with a lifetime guarantee so i don't have to worry about them failing! Smashing piece of kit and would really recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent as I got when offer was on,
January 28, 2014
By danny56o
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As title states got this when on offer as a Christmas present. And couldn't be more pleased went for this as was recommended by various people who I know stating how good it was."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>