Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set

The Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set is great for any task.
Average Customer Rating:
4.788 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(364 Reviews) 364
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (364 reviews)
5 stars
312
4 stars
40
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
6
350 of 359(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 53 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A decent socket set for the price....,
April 04, 2014
By Gez95
from Uk
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: halfords staff, spanner quality
Cons: quality of some tools
"Pros-
Impact sockets are sturdy however there are only 4 in the set
Spanners are really good (would be as good as snap on if they were a bit more comfortable. But they are just as strong and definitely well worth having!)
Ratchets seem strong but I'm not really that comfortable putting a lot of weight on them from reading previous reviews.
The staff are excellent. I took a handful of broken tools instore and all of them were replaced hassle free.
Cons-
Socket screwdriver/Allen/torx bits are of a really poor quality. I had 6 of them break the first week I used them.
Most sockets are 12 point and not non slip therefor nuts and bolts are easily rounded off.
Ratchet spanners don't have a directional lever so you have to physically remove the spanner to change ratcheting direction. They also lack a slight crank on the spanner end therefor you end up with bruised knuckles and sore fingertips when there is limited access
The spanners and the 1/4 and 3/8 deep sockets don't appear to be full sets. Many sizes appear to be missing.
The casing design is quite poor and is prone to falling apart. Particularly the thin foam insert used to separate the two sides of the toolbox.
The tools seem to rust very quickly. Even after daily use in the motor trade they still tend to rust.
The set contains many tools that I (and probably a lot of people) won't use. These include all the imperial sized sockets (used on older cars) which aren't of much use anyway as they are 12 point and will most likely round every bolt off a classic car.
The screwdriver bits seem pointless; just buy a set of screwdrivers! Also, Allen head bolts are quite scarce nowadays however I'm glad there is a set included. It seems to me that these tools were included in the set just to increase the size of the set for advertising purposes.
Summary-
This set contains most of the tools a novice/enthusiast would need and at its sale price is a great value set. The lifetime warranty is also an additional bonus. However I don't recommend this set if like me, you make your living with tools.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? RHYL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product, Price and Quality,
March 25, 2014
By Hyperpro888
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: high quality, good price & lifetime gurantee
"After having previous tools fail on me, i decided to shop around for the best tool kits. Came across this one at Halfords and when it came i was very impressed with the tool quality and the content within the kit, not only this but it comes with a lifetime guarantee so i don't have to worry about them failing! Smashing piece of kit and would really recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent as I got when offer was on,
January 28, 2014
By danny56o
from kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As title states got this when on offer as a Christmas present. And couldn't be more pleased went for this as was recommended by various people who I know stating how good it was."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All the way excellent,
January 23, 2014
By Bash50
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent
"Great tools and excellent quality never let you down"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great socket set,
January 11, 2014
By cjb77
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really pleased with the set and great value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? HARROGATE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rubbish,
January 09, 2014
By shawie
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"ratchets have died already sockets dont stay in there place when close the box so everytime open it have too sit there putting all back in there place"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? LLANDUDNO
-7points
4out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
150 piece socket set,
January 09, 2014
By buddymush
from hull u.k.
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: designed to be used
"having previously purchased other socket sets at nearly double the price & half the quality & half hte size of this extremely good quality
extremely good price
would definetly recommend
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value,
January 08, 2014
By Dangermounse
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality and price
Cons: foam protector could be thicker
"Saw this on offer. Fantastic value, quality set with life-time guarantee. Have friend who is a mechanic, he advised me to purchase as it is such a good set for home use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NORTHAMPTON (WEEDON RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great all round socket set,
January 08, 2014
By CDG13
from Burnley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made quality tools
"I always buy halfords pro now , top quality tools at affordable prices, with a lifetime warranty for reassurance ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Functional Kit,
January 07, 2014
By Anony666
from Stroud
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brought to replace an old set. Good variety of sizes and drive types."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STROUD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ecellent range of sockets,
January 07, 2014
By paxo41
from teesside
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This set has an excellent range of sockets at a very good quality. The online price was a steal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOCKTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT SET,
January 07, 2014
By Grannymaz
from KENT
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got this for my husband as an early birthday present.It not for a few weeks yet, but this set was too good to pass up.my husband is delighted, he says the Sockets and Ratchets are good quality and excellent value. The fact that they have a lifetime guarantee is brilliant too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great tool kit,
January 07, 2014
By BlackMGB
from Letchworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A well made tool kit and has a strong case so i keep it behind the seat in my van . i use it for work"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? LETCHWORTH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality toolkit,
January 07, 2014
By Bladgb
from Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this on recommendation from forum members on mb club uk as they said the tools were good quality. The offer price was a great saving so I took the plunge - what they said was true, the tools are well made and there is a good selection for the home/amateur car hobbyist."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good all-round quality socket set,
January 07, 2014
By Jonah48
from Aylesford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the price
Cons: if kept in the case the catches will fail
"I went and ordered this online using the click & collect just before Christmas as the price differed slightly (in my favour) to that of the in-store offer. The tools are sturdy and of good quality with the added bonus that in the event of them ever failing they come with a lifetime guarantee. This in turn makes it a great purchase that i can't quite fault yet!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a great deal,
January 06, 2014
By Vincent1
from Farnborough
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best deal of 2013 best tools all round would recommend to all my friends"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
150 piece socket & ratchet spanner set,
January 06, 2014
By Redben200
from Chester ,uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: life time guarantee
"This is an excellent piece of kit for any diyer or profesional mechanic with all the tools in one place to do any job."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (SOUTH)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its Time to throw out all those old sockets Boys !!!,
January 06, 2014
By BigAl2413
from Durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the range versatility and superb quality
"Last year I put my Honda Blackbird in for an Annual Service to a Dealer.......The bill was nearly £400, being charged over £60 an hour for labour. I looked in my aging toolbox at the aging spanners & sockets.............and thought....if ever there was a time to upgrade, do my own servicing, and save hundreds of pounds NOW IS THE TIME. I looked around at numerous alternatives, and pound for pound this was by far the best deal in town. The range, quality and versatility is excellent, and with a LIFETIME GUARANTEE, you simply can't go wrong. Even my wife (alias..the fun adjuster), could see the financial sense in getting new tools. Its only January but the
bike gets serviced next week . Wise up boys, the answer is on the screen in front of you
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All anyone could want!,
January 06, 2014
By Cdw27
from Cannock
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well crafted tools
"What a fantastic piece of equipment a such a fantastic price any professional or enthusiast can't go wrong with this tool kit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CANNOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 150 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good socket set,
January 06, 2014
By R1junkie
from Stoke
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"These are a good set tools. Got these in the sale so they were even more of a bargain, also with a lifetime guarantee. No complaints here."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STOKE-ON-TRENT (HANLEY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
12345...19next>>