Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set is full of of useful tools
Average Customer Rating:
4.719 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(217 Reviews) 217
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (217 reviews)
5 stars
173
4 stars
36
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
203 of 209(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality,
August 31, 2014
By Underpaid
from West Sussex
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality tools
Cons: lack of extensionscarry case flimsy
"Good value when on offer,tools good quality and a bonus to have ratchet spanners.
Carry case a bit weak if carried around a lot but mine sits in top of my toolbox so not an issue for me. Could do with more extension bars.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 31, 2014
By Slinecars
from Keighley, Keighley, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The best tool kit you can buy for the price. A* item."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality at a reasonable price,
August 30, 2014
By chip2478
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have previously purchased a small set from the professional range so when I've seen the above set reduced by 50% I knew that I had to buy it. Too good to be missed!
The quality of the actual set is really good, haven't used it yet but I'm sure that it will do the job really well.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good set,
August 28, 2014
By aquadog90
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price
"Great set, has got everything you would need to more advanced jobs on a car"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (WHITE CITY)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of kit,
August 28, 2014
By GypsyChris
from England, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well worth the money. Definitely recommend. I know several people who already have this item and came highly recommended. Used several times and can certainly tell that it's quality gear."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hard wearing and robust,
August 28, 2014
By Peters88
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size useablitly
Cons: long 10mm socket not in 1/4 drive
"I regularly use my socket set as I am always on the move working on different projects. I find this set is just the right size to leave in my boot for any eventuality."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
August 28, 2014
By mk21091
from Sunderland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought as a birthday present great quality. Got a good deal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great set,
August 27, 2014
By Beth72
from Telford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this as a gift for my husband and he informs me it is very good quality, a great mixture of sizes and a great case that it comes in. The good thing is it comes with a life time guarantee, would recommend to buy especially when on offer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? TELFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
170 piece advanced professional set,
August 23, 2014
By Scarp
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a realy good set for getting to awkward nuts and bolts as it has the facility of setting the sockets at an angle which helps prevent rounding off nuts."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MAIDSTONE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased!!,
August 21, 2014
By Anonymous
from Dudley
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great for beginners
"Great product and great value! Very pleased with this set and would recommend it to anyone! :)"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Problems Here,
August 06, 2014
By RossC1980
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"cant really attest to the longevity of the products included as only used 3 things so far to remove rear foot pegs from motorbike but everything looks good quality and at half price with lifetime guarantee its a steal. hopefully whatever else happens I have the socket and spanner situation covered."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall brilliant but lacking 18mm bits!,
August 02, 2014
By tog86
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ratchet spanners make life easy, lifetime guarantee
Cons: needs more 18mm pieces!
"brilliant set, high quality and it all comes with a lifetime guarantee.. as long as I dont loose the receipt!
only quibble is theres only one 18mm piece in the set basically.. I would prefer a 18mm ratchet piece and ratchet spanner instead of say the 19mm..
also would be nice if you sold single bits so I could get these bits..
would still recommend though at sale price (does anyone ever actually fork out for it at full price?)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? MALVERN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolute bargain 50% off,
August 01, 2014
By Aidanmanc
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was searching for my first tool box to buy because im only 17, i literally had to look twice, £125, 50% off is a great offer and i was so amazed that it would be that cheap, this has everything i need, three drive wrenches, multiple sockets and bits, spark plug sockets and something that i really wanted and needed, ratchet spanners, plus a life time warranty, great quality product at a great bargain! I am really happy with this purchase! recommend to anyone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sold build quality,
July 08, 2014
By alanf1
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Has every thing you need for any mechanic job and as a fitter on my plant works well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tools good case fit only for bin,
May 27, 2014
By jeff56748
from worthing
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"What a shame halfords skimmed so much on the case tools all seem good except for the Allen keys.
The case is very poorly made and dose not even managed to keep the sockets in place"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really nice socket set,
April 28, 2014
By Ducati46
from Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: top quality socket set, everything you need, tool trays for your tool chest, bundle deals are great value
Cons: hex keys in the set are ok
"Excellent piece of kit which will last me a very long time! Nearly went with the 200 piece set but the 170 has some nice accessories so that it fits into my tool chest a treat! If your after a comprehensive socket set then I highly recommend this!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? CHRISTCHURCH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords 170 socket and spanner set,
March 11, 2014
By Anonymous
from Barrhead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this one with spanners on promotion. Great set, very good choice of spanner and sockets, hex and stars as well.
Tried already on a few jobs on my car and this set is excellent.
The only downside is the weight - it is quite heavy.
I am happy with lifetime guarantee in particular just in case.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good and bad,
March 07, 2014
By mcpx
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quality tools
Cons: poor case
"Firstly, reserved this at my local store a week ago and am still waiting for confirmation its ready. Walked into store and bought direct from shelf.
Secondly, Halfords Advanced tools are good, more than capable of handling whatever an enthusiastic amateur can throw at them and indeed, I know a couple of pros who use some of them, but for the the full asking price, you can do better. Thankfully the major sets are almost always on offer (coincidence?) so are a good buy.
Finally, while the tools themselves are up to the job, the case is another matter. Some of the sockets are a bit tough to get in/out while others are so loose that opening the case is always a lottery and runs the risk of losing some of the smaller bits as they make a desperate bid for freedom. Open the case upside down and you are in a world of pain. I took a sharp knife and a hacksaw to my case to make it fit my roll cab.
In summary, good quality tools, good value if you watch the offers but case could be better. Also watch the guarantee, used to be able to walk into any store and get replacements on applicable tools without a second thought, but a lot of stores are getting more fussy now so keep those receipts safe."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the money,
February 13, 2014
By 675tri
from Carlisle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ratchet spanners, 1/2 drive
Cons: breaker bar to short
"Not as good as facom or snap on but at a quarter of the price it's perfect and should last a good few years"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tools,
February 04, 2014
By pcarr91
from Swords
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great range of tools
"I bought this tool kit a couple of years ago and it has served every job to date. Lifetime guarantee on spanners etc. you could probably get the same cheaper but not with the after service therefore you can expect to pay a little more for quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWORDS (ROI)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>