Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set is full of of useful tools
Average Customer Rating:
4.766 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(333 Reviews) 333
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (333 reviews)
5 stars
274
4 stars
49
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
3
311 of 318(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality socket set,
August 27, 2015
By
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this set when it was on offer for a bargain price and I can't fault it at all. The quality is excellent and the lifetime guarantee is an added bonus! I would recommend to anyone "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Socket Set,
August 27, 2015
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Not used most of it yet, but what I have used & looked at seem good "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD (BETWEEN TOWNS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK but want better for this money,
August 26, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" The tools are excellent but I cannot say the same for the plastic case, some of the tools are not held in very well at all and are prone to fall out if you lift the case wrong. "
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff,
August 26, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Is what it is but with the added advantage of a lifetime guarantee. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
August 24, 2015
By
from Larkhall, Larkhall, South Lanarkshire ML9, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: has a good mix
Cons: the wife say's it was heavy to carry
" This set was on sale
Plus a 15% online discount
When I used click & collect
I looked at other sets from other sellers
But overall this set was the best package
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool kit,
August 24, 2015
By
from Ruislip, Greater London HA4, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: connectivity between parts, quality of parts, lifetime guarantee, portability
" Bought this for our son for his birthday for DIY maintenance on his car. His said it is brilliant and has everything he needs. We were delighted with the 50% price reduction and the lifetime parts replacement guarantee. Highly recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Which Store did you visit? RUISLIP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product oozes quality,
August 23, 2015
By
from ml3
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: all the sizes you could want
" I bought this set as it was a great deal and I was attracted by the lifetime guarantee. Have only used it a couple of times so far but everything that I needed was in the set and cleary identifyable. If you get it on a deal go for it. You wont find better for the price! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super, Smashing, Great,
August 22, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a fantastic kit and worth every penny. I have been meaning to get one and when I finally did it was on offer and that made it ever super value for money. Each item is well engineered and feels professional not a market cheapie, definitely worth every penny. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Set,
August 22, 2015
By
from Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really good for the money and has all the tools a DIY mechanic would want. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent customer service and superb set,
August 21, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Ordered online when on special offer. When I went to collect the following day, I was advised that the 170 set was out of stock, so they had automatically upgraded me to the 200 set free of charge. Excellent customer service. Set is heavy duty, very robust and each part fits securely in its own unique place. Would recommend especially with the lifetime guarantee. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HALIFAX
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Quality kit, Great Online Deals,
August 21, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, quality
" Spot on for most amateur needs, probably be fine for professional use also as product title suggests. Very happy and would highly recommend for the price point "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great all-round socket set,
August 21, 2015
By
from Dorset, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the range of sizes and comapct size
Cons: no 18mm socket/spanner
" I've used Halfords professional tools for years. I bought a complete set as I do a lot of mobile work and hated putting numerous separate sets in the car all the time. The quality is great and there's a tool for most situations. The only small drawback is that there's no 18mm socket or spanner which, on many European vehicles, is an important one! So buy an 18mm socket and spanner too. Also, without the foam liner, all the small sockets at the front fall in, which is mildly annoying! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hinge and catch issues fixed.,
August 19, 2015
By
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: take a beating, replacement ratchet gear if needed is cheap/easy, really take a beating. 4lb lumphammer type beating, new case design hinges, new case design catches, new case design bit sections, ratchet spanners not the usual plain cranked ones
Cons: the missus can also operate the catches
" Bought these as my previous set started getting lost after I threw them in a toolbag because the catches and hinges on the old cases died after about 6 months of use.
The new cases have pin hinges rather than the flexi-plastic that they had previously.
The catches are also a much improved design over the last ones, which barely ever stayed attached to the case.
The bit sections are also a little better set up - with a half hearted socket rail type slot centre. If you forget the foam, it's not quite as much of a mess inside when you open it next, though not as good as a proper socket rail, it's far better than it was.
As for the rest, it's Halford Advanced Pro stuff. Beautiful to look at, comfortable to use, and an equal match to the over priced snap-on stuff - used them side by side with a snap-on fan, swapped his ratchet for one of the Halfords ADV Pro ones, too. Took him 3 months to even notice - which tells you how closely they match snap-on. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good all round product,
August 04, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good size/excellent
" since purchase it has been invaluable. Spanners sockets drives etc all used to repair vehicle. A good product at a good price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHEFFIELD (CRYSTAL PEAKS)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Èasily stored and if necessary transported.,
July 25, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lifetime guarantee.
Cons: having to keep my receipt for my lifetime
" Great quality and a exceptional price for what you receive. Snap one up when they come on offer again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? ILKESTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great range of sizes and selection of tools,
July 04, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent value for money and lifetime guarantee as long as I keep receipt !
Staff were very helpful on advise aswell
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Right Tool for the right job,
June 19, 2015
By
from Ramsgate, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" A great selection of sockets and spanners the only thing is the case they come is not great the sockets fall out if you leave the foam packing out. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a comprehensive socket set,
June 14, 2015
By
from yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A great starter set for budding Automotive technicians "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? WAKEFIELD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better carry case with metal clips,
June 14, 2015
By
from Casvegas
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent quality, metal clips on case, range of tools in kit
" Cases used to be a nightmare with plastic fastening lugs breaking all the time but now metal at the front so a lot better.
Tools speak for themselves, top quality if used correctly, people who winge saying stuff breaks are obviously putting excessive force on them. Everything in this kit for the home mechanic.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit,
June 13, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good tool kit good quality and a lifetime guarantee "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
Which Store did you visit? GALWAY (ROI)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>