Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set is full of of useful tools
Average Customer Rating:
4.738 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(240 Reviews) 240
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (240 reviews)
5 stars
194
4 stars
38
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
224 of 230(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
super duper tools,
December 18, 2014
By stuart64
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
" started using them straight away,strong reliable and as for quality,far better and a lot cheaper than those snap on tools .and up to par with any of there tools. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
170 piece socket set,
December 14, 2014
By corbo9000
from Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" a well equipped set with most of what you need for everyday jobs. and the lifetime guarantee gives you piece of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CAMBORNE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dependable and indispensable,
December 13, 2014
By Squeeky22
from Casvegas
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, value, handy storage case
" Just about everything you'll ever need for general repairs.
For the amount of kit in these sets you won't find a better deal regards the quality.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set,
December 11, 2014
By Johno247
from Aylesbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the whole set
" Excellent! I am an avid home mechanic and this tool kit has all the ratchets and spanners need to change things like brake pads, brake discs and even drive shafts. I cannot recommend this enough. The lifetime guarantee is the icing on the cake. Go and but yourself a set today... especially as Halfords have 50% off the RRP at the moment! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic,
December 09, 2014
By Spannerman46
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Purchased this set with the optional drawer tray that is sold separately. Everything fits a treat, and its got a lifetime guarantee! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bit of kit,
December 06, 2014
By MrkieA
from B/ham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is a great bit of kit, ideal for the home mechanic and pros alike. A Very comprehensive set and Good value too "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SUTTON COLDFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product with peace of mind!,
November 15, 2014
By col13
from scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Being a student I require good value for money and getting this with 50% off I felt it is a real bargain. All the sockets I require in a strong case. I will definitely tell others about this while the offer is on! "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything you need,
November 04, 2014
By Bran2014
from Stafford, Stafford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got this on the half price deal, fantastic value for money, I thought about getting the 200 piece but this has everything I would need to do most jobs on my car. Really good quality and piece of mind knowing they will replace anything that fails. "
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 - 15 years,
November 03, 2014
By adr223
from Carrickfergus BT38, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: i wish you did foam trays to store the sockets in
" I bought this sets predecessor 14-15 years ago as a apprentice mechanic, and have used it ever since. I have no complaints about the quality of the tools. In fact have recommended them to a few people. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
socket set,
October 24, 2014
By Roberto7
from Blackford, Auchterarder, Perth and Kinross PH4, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: as quality product
" This is a quality set from Halfords.It is very well made and robust.I would recommend to all.
Covering all the sizes 1/4 3/8 & 1/2.with 170pce.
A1.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? PERTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for vehicle mechanics,
October 13, 2014
By bodgitnscarper
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the layout of all the sockets, the no quibble guarentee
" I purchased this set because I was sick of hunting around for the correct socket/extension/ratchet in my tool box. I use it regularly to repair my families cars and it is a great quality set and easy to locate the socket you need quickly. Another nice feature is the spanners with the ratchet ends for speedy tightening and un-tightening nuts. The hex head bits are good because you can use the ratchet for speed as well. All in all a great buy because if you bought all the sets separately it would cost a lot more for this quality and of course there is a no quibble lifetime guarantee to replace broken bits which you don't get with tools at this price normally. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set,
September 25, 2014
By smallchange
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this set together with the cabinet trays, while on offer, to go in my Halfords Industrial 6 draw Cab, same high standard as all the other Pro Range looks good and has performed well so far, I would have gone for the larger set but they don't do the trays to fit "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? BLACKWOOD
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Starter kit,
September 22, 2014
By prestob
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cons: no metric 6 spanner
" Having finally moved out of home there came the time that every young man reaches... he needed to buy his own tools. No longer could he borrow his father's but needed a set of sockets and spanners that he could call upon.
This was that set, an emotional purchase but one made safe in the knowledge that this was a excellent set of tools to cover most eventualities on my motorbike. Couldn't be happier! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a good starter set,
September 21, 2014
By Andras
from Gravesend, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: 3 types of ratchet handles, includes rare types of ratchets/ bits, really good valur for the money
Cons: ratchet heads loose in the container, the breaker bar is almost useless
" I was looking for a set for my car brake disc diy replacement, ajd also for general tasks around the household. After checking sround on the internet, i decided to go for this set because of the 3 type of ratchet included and also some quite rare socket heads like the torx 55 and 60. I found the deep sockets really useful when I was working with the kids bikes.
I have only two negative things to mention:
Some of the sockets are not fitted thightly into the case and if u didn't fit the separator thing properly the loose sockets starts to fall and there is a huge chaos in the box.
The breaker bar has a short handle, It doesn't really works with the stucked screws/bolts.
The overall impression is positive, if you can find a 10-20% voucher online it is the best value for the money set you can buy nowdays. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? GRAVESEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good choice,
September 20, 2014
By KDaniel
from Banbury, Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This is an excellent product.
The warranty and the quality are perfect.
I use it a month ago, and it is still in perfect condition. Helpful in every way. Does not take up much space in the trunk and not too difficult if you have to take it somewhere.
I recommend it to everyone.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Professional,
September 19, 2014
By wilddog1st
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I have a set now for 10years, no breakage, used on cars and motorcycles. Work a treat, though the receipt is lost, the set still deliver on the job required......I have used snap on tools and for the Halfords price you get something equal to quality...... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BALHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So good I bought 2,
September 15, 2014
By Dazdot
from Derby, Derby, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lifetime guarantee, amazing value, good quality case
" The price is unbeatable, there is a lifetime guarantee, the case is spot on, what are you waiting for! So good we bought 2 of them. Hurry up though, they are flying off the shelves. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? DERBY (WYVERN)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stunning quality tool kit,
September 14, 2014
By Anonymous
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the amount of items included, the feel of the tools, the precision fit
Cons: the tool box hinges
" after seeing this kit online I purchased one and I am very very hapy with it
the ratchets are crisp and the tools are really well made and precise
awesome kit
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BURY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Socket Set,
September 12, 2014
By BAZZA78
from East Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Excellent value quality tool kit up there with Britool and snap on ranges case is heavy duty aswell !! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HASTINGS (QUEENS RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top quality diy set,
September 10, 2014
By stum6
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: life time guarantee, heavy duty case
" great quality , great selection of tools and bits to get all jobs done "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? STIRLING
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>