Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set is full of of useful tools
Average Customer Rating:
4.767 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(300 Reviews) 300
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (300 reviews)
5 stars
247
4 stars
45
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
280 of 287(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent Socket and Spanner set,
March 18, 2015
By wysri9
from Banchory, Banchory, Aberdeenshire AB31, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A comprehensive set which covers most of the basic requirements. Quality is good with a good finish and weigghty feel to all the tools. Overall a very good value set. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (BALNAGASK RD)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
March 17, 2015
By SteveS1969
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, value, range, replacement scheme
Cons: none
" I have purchased these lifetime tools before from Halfords before and was very happy with them. I purchased this set and can't believe how great the quality is these day as well as the extreme variety of tools within the set. This has everything I needed plus a few more that are nice to have tools too. The lifetime replacement of these tools makes the set extremely cheap when compared to its rival tool sets.
If in doubt, don't hesitate, these are top class tools. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Advanced Pro socket set 170,
March 16, 2015
By johnandrew54
from York, York, York, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quality, finish
Cons: latches flimsy
" I'm a Licensed Aircraft Engineer and needed a set of metric sockets for my car (Aircraft are all A/F), I'm very pleased with the quality of this toolkit, and in future will seriously consider purchasing advanced pro gear for work. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? YORK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great set,
March 08, 2015
By T4NN3R19
from Aberdeenshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this set as I have just started my apprenticeship, they are first class. A good portable set. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? INVERURIE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great kit for anyone,
March 06, 2015
By Bestie156
from Bolton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good kit, strong case, good value for money
Cons: doesn't come with an 11mm spanner
" This tool kit is a great buy for anyone from professional's in the motor trade to people who may only use the product every now and again to do small jobs on their own vehicle. I would definitely recommend people to buy this tool kit. My only complaint is that it doesn't come with 11mm and 18mm spanners. Apart from that it is a very good kit and i would recommend buying it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
March 03, 2015
By Skippy3384
from Aulesbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lifetime guarantee. quality. range.
" I purchased this at the offer price (50%) after looking out for a set for some time.
At this price, I feel this kit is excellent. The sum of its components FAR exceeds the cost, and with the lifetime guarantee, it's a great product.
All components are well made and show no wear after even after testing jobs.
The range of tools is very good. It would be nice to see some slightly larger Allen key fittings and possibly a couple of the more commonly used spline keys, but these could easily be added for a small outlay.
I have to agree that the case could hold the components more positively, however, leaving the packaging foam inside seems to stop the sockets from moving around. The case is certainly solid enough to prevent loss of any components which is my only real concern.
Very pleased, and would highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tool Kit Life Saver,
March 01, 2015
By Benjo303
from Stourbridge, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This 170 piece tool set from Halfords enabled me to carry out work on my car, as it had all the necessary items. I was impressed with the quality of the tools, and the finish. I was able to get into awkward places to remove and replace parts with ease. Super job Halfords, very pleased. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? KIDDERMINSTER
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
halfords advanced 170 rachet set,
March 01, 2015
By bcfc15
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great quality piece of kit. Good value for money even when item is not on offer. Would recommend to anyone "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
Which Store did you visit? SHELDON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality,
February 25, 2015
By 1200Banditrider
from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this set at sale prices, great piece of kit, wish I bought one sooner. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? PORTSMOUTH
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tool set,
February 23, 2015
By Collivac
from Wales UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brilliant
" Excellent quality and value with a great range of accessories "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value.,
February 21, 2015
By Anonymous
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: build quality
Cons: tools prone to falling out of the case
" I expect this tool kit will pay for itself many times over. All the tools are excellent quality and the life time guarantee is faultless.
My only gripe as mentioned below, is that many of the tools don't hold tight in the carry case so are prone to falling out all over the place. A simple baffle between the two halves of the case would solve this.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? WORKSOP
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Socket set,
February 21, 2015
By JuggsA
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This set seems really well made and with a lot of different size sockets. All come with a lifetime guarantee,so peace of mind. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? COVENTRY (ORCHARD RTL PK)
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
120 pc Socket Set,
February 20, 2015
By Winstad
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Handy set in great case. Lots of kit. Great value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? BLACKBURN
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lifetime warranty,
February 20, 2015
By Mahank
from Cheshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Best value for money with lifetime warranty and Mac handy carry case "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CREWE
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Almost all in one!,
February 20, 2015
By JP92
from Uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: full of the right kit
Cons: could do with full range of spanners
" This is a fantastic product. I've previously had halfords sets which have been great. But I've now had two of these larger sets because they are a must for any DIY or pro mechanic. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? EVESHAM
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice tool Set,
February 19, 2015
By dan123456789
from wimborne
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, lifetime gaurantee
" I bought this to keep in the Van, very nice tool set. Good sturdy box, tray inserts availbale also if you want to store in your tool chest. Lifetime gaurantee, I bought this on offer, wouldn't pay full price.
Definitely recommend at the reduced price.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
February 13, 2015
By jack5555
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the quality
Cons: sockets fall out of there slots
" Being a mechanic tools dont last long especially rachets and sockets. However these seem to be holding up well. Good price would buy again. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
used & abused for 6mths, looks new!,
February 05, 2015
By Taffy50
from Lancing
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality, choice of sizes, insert drawers available for toolchests, still looks good after 6 months.
Cons: keeping the receipt, overpriced in the first place
" Having purchased this as part of a special offer with toolchests, I'm very impressed with the quality of the tools & the variety of sizes of not only the sockets but everything! I've not been disappointed yet by not having the correct size.
I have used it constantly on my car & motorhome. Well worth the money.
Only two complaints, overpriced in the first place & secondly why do you need your receipt? It's stamped everywhere with halfords advanced, so staff know it has a lifetime guarantee for free replacement. That will be far off in the future looking at my set today. Really looks like new after 6 mths use.
I also bought the special drawer inserts for my toolchests.
Out of the 3 sets available, this is the best choice.
Also if you buy today extra 10% off between 12-2!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WORTHING
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best tools I've ever had,
February 04, 2015
By VgV622
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The best quality. Fully recomended. Life warranty. What else you need? "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Advanced Professional 170 Piece,
February 02, 2015
By Davey745
from Enfield, Greater London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good quality and excellent value. 'Lifetime' warranty is reassuring but this depends on whether Halfords themselves go on trading into the future (what with the vulnerability of our economy).
The case has stronger hinges than those currently pictured (similar to the 200- piece case but with 2 hinges instead of 3), which is a pleasant surprise. Can fault the price of £103 (54% + a further 10%) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>