Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Socket Sets or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set

Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket and Ratchet Spanner Set is full of of useful tools
Average Customer Rating:
4.726 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(201 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (201 reviews)
5 stars
160
4 stars
34
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
188 of 193(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Review 1 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords 170 socket and spanner set,
March 11, 2014
By Anonymous
from Barrhead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this one with spanners on promotion. Great set, very good choice of spanner and sockets, hex and stars as well.
Tried already on a few jobs on my car and this set is excellent.
The only downside is the weight - it is quite heavy.
I am happy with lifetime guarantee in particular just in case.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good and bad,
March 07, 2014
By mcpx
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: quality tools
Cons: poor case
"Firstly, reserved this at my local store a week ago and am still waiting for confirmation its ready. Walked into store and bought direct from shelf.
Secondly, Halfords Advanced tools are good, more than capable of handling whatever an enthusiastic amateur can throw at them and indeed, I know a couple of pros who use some of them, but for the the full asking price, you can do better. Thankfully the major sets are almost always on offer (coincidence?) so are a good buy.
Finally, while the tools themselves are up to the job, the case is another matter. Some of the sockets are a bit tough to get in/out while others are so loose that opening the case is always a lottery and runs the risk of losing some of the smaller bits as they make a desperate bid for freedom. Open the case upside down and you are in a world of pain. I took a sharp knife and a hacksaw to my case to make it fit my roll cab.
In summary, good quality tools, good value if you watch the offers but case could be better. Also watch the guarantee, used to be able to walk into any store and get replacements on applicable tools without a second thought, but a lot of stores are getting more fussy now so keep those receipts safe."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent for the money,
February 13, 2014
By 675tri
from Carlisle
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ratchet spanners, 1/2 drive
Cons: breaker bar to short
"Not as good as facom or snap on but at a quarter of the price it's perfect and should last a good few years"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? DUMFRIES
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tools,
February 04, 2014
By pcarr91
from Swords
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great range of tools
"I bought this tool kit a couple of years ago and it has served every job to date. Lifetime guarantee on spanners etc. you could probably get the same cheaper but not with the after service therefore you can expect to pay a little more for quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWORDS (ROI)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Value,
January 24, 2014
By roggerfrogger
from Durham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent value!, click and collect service., it's a comprehensive tool set., decent storage case.
Cons: faulty ratchet spanners
"Excellent value kit that I bought when on offer, just in case I need it for doing my own car repairs. I'm a big fan of the click and collect service at Halfords, it's great that you can see exactly what is in stock at your local store, and pay the website prices.
Unfortunately the set came with a 12mm ratchet spanner with a dodgy mechanism and a bent 8mm. This was replaced in store, but looses a star for quality.
Everything else feels solid and very well made, however.
Only thing I would recommend is buy a bigger power bar, not sure what use the tiddler in the box will be!"
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? DURHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good,
January 19, 2014
By pm987
from london
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all tools in one box
Cons: heavy :)
"Not fully tested yet but think that quality is good enough."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? KINGSTON UPON THAMES
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product,
January 14, 2014
By Kav72
from South yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fantastic quality professional product with great warranty. Would never be without this tool kit now I have used it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ROTHERHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
outstanding price & quality.,
January 12, 2014
By Steveb222
from Norfolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: my ex wife.
"Bought this after using my father in laws 150pc kit and being impressed. Was surprised when I went into store and found this set only a little bit more than the smaller set with them both being reduced.
The case is solid and doesn't feel flimsy like some of the cheaper brands. The tools are a great fit and feel really good quality. It includes everything ill ever need. I literally cannot fault it and would have been happy even if I'd paid full price.
I dont know how they've managed to cram so many tools into such a portable size kit but they have done it perfectly.
Well recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set,
January 11, 2014
By Seany68
from Gloucester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: compact and pretty comprehensive.
Cons: the driver bit box should count as one item.
"Quality set. I was looking to replace my current socket set which I bought from Halfords 20 years ago which is still working fine. I wanted the professional kit as it has a guarantee and the standard of it is top notch. This kit means I can give a few of my other tool sets to my son now. It was also on offer so the value for money was superb. Well done Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? GLOUCESTER
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Socket Set,
January 11, 2014
By Spenc
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: no cons
"I bought this set when on offer, but after looking at the quality I would say full price was a bargain too. I bought my last Halfords socket set 20 years ago and it is still as good as new, but now I needed a few more sockets. With this new set you get everything, plus a nice box. To top it off I ordered this set on Christmas Day, 2 days latter it arrived, all I can say is excellent service from Halfords!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
money worth,
January 09, 2014
By Bash14
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great buy bought on offer
. Great buy good value would definitely recommend
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
170 socket set,
January 09, 2014
By Erikork
from Orkney
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Top quality and excellent value for money. Super quick delivery and very well wrapped."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? INVERNESS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great set,
January 09, 2014
By Simonw19
from Newmarket UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Its a really great set for my garage. Lot of spanners, sockets and bits give me possibility to fast an easy work. All what I need is on one place and it's very useful. Second think is lifetime warranty, than I am satisfactet about any future trouble."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NEWMARKET
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quality set,whith life time warranty,
January 08, 2014
By horoz20
from london
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"good decent set,recomended to any 0ne,whith life time warranty"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CATFORD
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
170 piece socket set,
January 08, 2014
By Sean76
from Derbyshire England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: has everything you need in for home use
"I got this socket set as a late Christmas present to my self after buying some of the other halfords socket sets.
It is very well laid out and has just about every socket and spanner the home mechanic or d.i.yer will ever need.
Can not fault this set at all
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Socket set,
January 08, 2014
By Mark007
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good range of sockets and spanners and ratchets..."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? GLASGOW (SHETTLESTON)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top quality,
January 08, 2014
By Ifty1974
from Bradford
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good quality
"5 star, for quality & price, cheaper than Snapon & mac, but quality wise similar, with lifetime warranty."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just the job!,
January 07, 2014
By hild38
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"bought this set for my son, not been used yet but looks the part!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
January 07, 2014
By Crusher72
from Leeds, West Yorkshire.
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: portability
Cons: could do with ratchet driver for bits
"Purchased at Christmas when half price and 10% discount offer was on for 24 hours.
Good quality excellent to have handy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords Advanced Professional 170 Piece Socket & Ratchet Spanner Set
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent spec & quality,
January 07, 2014
By james01
from south wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: range of tools in set
Cons: non yet
"I would recommend this set as it has a full range of tools that you would want for most jobs, & I got mine in a sale price so even better again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BARRY DOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12345...11next>>