Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Stereos or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor

PURE Highway 300Di in-car digital radio adaptor (DAB) works with iPod, iPhone & iPad compliant with full music control of these devices
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Review 1 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Installation ....... a neat job,
November 03, 2012
By Anonymous
from Havant
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It doesn't matter how good is the product which, in this case is very good, but in how it is installed. Today, I had the Highway installed in my BMW by Ryan at the Hilsea (Portsmouth) branch with the end result making it appear as if it was a factory installation.
I found Ryan to be a competent, knowledgeable and cheerful technician able to find solutions whenever a difficulty arose due to the design of the car. Highly recommended."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
terrible product,
September 22, 2012
By Dave117
from Hull East Yorkshire
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased this item in March and i have had no end of trouble. I had to return the day after it had been fitted because the product was faulty and the display panel was replaced 3 months later because it kept freezing for between 3-4 hours. Unfortunatley the new display panel also froze and I have just had the product removed from the car. When the adaptor did work there was never a clear signal and it would break-up every 5-10 seconds. My two children would play a game and see how many times it would break-up during a song and the record was 30 times! We recently went on holiday and had to travel 300 miles on the motorway and the reception was terrible wherever you where. I think the product is very poor quality and I am unsure what to do in the future when the only signal will be digital.
However, I would highly recommend the professionalism of all the staff at Halfords' Clough Road branch in Hull. They were true to their word, friendly, supportive and can fit/unfit a digital radio adaptor without leaving a mark! Well done all of you!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very disappointing,
August 15, 2012
By Andy1111
from Birmingham, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: it works, looks nice
Cons: very disappointing sound quality, lost fm radio
"I bought this from Halfords online (cheaper than in the shop) and had it fitted at work by Hyde Park Corner - Halfords' sub-contractor. They fitted it very neatly. I'll come back to this.
The control unit works very well, controlling DAB and iPhone music functions very easily. Full control over playlists and shuffle options are great.
The display is clear and bright, and the feel of the controls is fine. So far, so good.
Sadly I am really disappointed by this item where sound quality is concerned. The fitters have connected it to my car stereo using a wired FM aerial connection, which naturally means that all the DAB stations and - even worse - all the music on my iPhone play in FM quality. There seems little point haveing digital radio and high bitrate stored music playing at FM quality.
Worse still, as it is connected via the FM aerial, I now have very poor reception on my FM radio.
(The fitters returned when I asked them to but assured me that there was no way to improve the situation)
So, it does works.
It does do what it says it will do.
It looks OK and it's easy to use.
But the sound quality is poor.
I suspect that I'll go back to using audio controls on the iPhone and connecting that via a lead to my auxiliary audio socket. Not as attractive or convenient, but it'll sound better.
If I want my FM back - there are areas where DAB signal is very weak - then I'll have to disconnect the whole unit and it becomes a pointless purchase.
Disappointed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent DAB reception,
July 15, 2012
By Hawkingehughes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent dab reception
"Having tried the Pure Highway and the Cdab7 units that dropped the DAB signal I decided that I would buy the Pure Highway 300Di.
I installed the unit myself having purchased an SOT976 lead for my golf and installed the unit behind the dashboard and fed the usb connection into the dashboard and the aerial up the a pillar so now wires are visible and placed the reciever unit over the airbag off light for ease of use.
Once installed I was very impressed by the signal with previous units between Folkestone and Maidstone DAB would repeatedly drop out however with the 300di I only suffer momentary drop outs whilst in the round hill tunnel.
Along with the dab capabilities I am impressed by the ability to control my ipod/ iphone from the control unit however even leaving a fair bit of space on a memory stick the device was unable to see all tracks on a 4gb memory stick even after updating the firmware."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant sound more stations,
May 23, 2012
By Anonymous
from Leeds England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great sound
Cons: ipod generation 5 non compatible
"After fitting the Pure 300Di, slight problem with Renault Scenic hands free central locking caused by interconnected switched and permanent 12V, Software needed updating to version 1.2, worked as per instructions. iPOD generation 5 does not work with the 300Di as apple changed the interface for generation 5 and will not be updated, but MP3 files on memory sticks work with full info.
When the 300Di switches on and does auto search for stations, immediately found 53 stations in centre of Leeds, Sound quality superb with much improved stereo separation and much clearer broadcast than FM, occasionally loses signal between High buildings and under bridges, but overall fantastic improvement to Factory fit Blaupunk radio
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pure highway 3oo,
May 20, 2012
By shorty12345
from uttoxeter england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: excellent, product
"i found product excellent and well worth the money especially when i updated software i suppose it will improve when more transmitters are built but overall product is excellent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than the Sony/Kenwood/JVC DAB units.,
April 22, 2012
By Anonymous
from Cardiff, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: discreet ipod integration
Cons: needs choice of display colours to match car dash
"Have had DAB in the car since 2004 so have had them all, for 6Music mainly actually. This is probably the best on the market. The Japanese brand integrated DIN size DAB radios all have awful ergonomics - all flashing lights and tiny buttons - Better stick with your factory head unit and get one of these.
Installed it myself in a 2009 Volvo V70. Made for custom installation - none of the trailing wires nonsense like the old Highway so don't attempt to install one unless you have a good understanding of car electronics and a set of torx screwdrivers to take the centre console out.
No reception black-spots found, sounds excellent through the Aux input of the Standard Volvo (Alpine made) hi-fi and the iPod and USB integration is excellent. Worth leaving a full 160Gb iPod hidden in the glovebox permanently for it.
I might move the controller, as I'm fussy, low into the centre console (it's on double sided tape) as the only thing jarring with me is the green backlight when the dashboard lighting is white - they should have used LEDs that you can colour customise IMHO. Only niggle apart from cheesy Smooth Radio sticker in the box! There's plenty of bland commercial stuff on FM - got mine for BBC 6Music and 4Extra only.
Amplified external glass aerial easy to fit and works well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Aerial Problems not in release notes .,
March 02, 2012
By Audionut
from Essex, England .
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: very good iphone connection, internal aerial works well in a city, good quality sound through my alpine .
Cons: reception out of towns if you have internal aerial, price
"Very expensive compared to a complete dab/cd fitted audio unit . Still I bought it as impressed with the Pure radios I have at home . It also showed it fitted with an outside dab aerial which is very difficult to find . When Halfords went to fit it they found that they could not fit aerial as I have a convertible . Had to bring it back a second time and Pure had given them an internal aerial which I was trying to avoid . I have since exchanged e-mails with Pure and it appears that they cannot earth aerial on convertibles and cars with non-metallic roofs . Very dissatisfied with the fact they did not disclose this when I bought it nor is there anything in their owner's manual . A bad mistake by such a big company ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really Happy, But...,
February 20, 2012
By MrNovice
from Stoke
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This took a while to install trying to figure out what was actually required. In the end I only used the included aerial aux out to my car aux in, power connector and remote cable and it works a treat.
Updated software as only came with 1.1 and Pure website has 1.2 available.
I fitted the unit under the glove box and used additional cables for the power as the supplied lead was too short, few clips and cable are cheap and I had more space to play with.
DAB radio is great using included Aerial much better than my original Highway model. The sound from my iPhone is excellent using the iPod features.
But.... The features are great but for the price Bluetooth hands free would have been nice."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it,
January 26, 2012
By Gatoula
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my Pure Highway. I can listen to digital radio in the car (at last!) and use my itunes/satnav etc too. Huge thanks to the Halfords team at Team Valley retail park especially Steve who did a great job installing it at very short notice. Would definitely recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's Great,
January 08, 2012
By tantobie
from Gateshead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Absolutely superb piece of technology, and the external aerial means no drop of signal so far. Simple controls and a professional installation make for a very happy owner!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best add-on DAB unit,
December 22, 2011
By Aders
from Bolton England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, no unsightly wiring
Cons: a little difficult to remove from the holder
"This is similar to the original Highway but is more convenient to use.The device simply clicks into a dash-mounted holder without needing to plug and unplug three leads.Tuning is automatic and up to 30 presets can be easily programmed.
An excellent product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PURE Highway 300Di In-Car Digital Radio Adaptor
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but flawed,
December 19, 2011
By Paulius55
from Rushden
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good sound discreet
Cons: poor aerial
"When I finally received this and it was fitted to my Mk4 Mondeo, I was disappointed in the signal strength and number of stations available. However, I realised that I could make the unit use the existing FM aerial instead of the supplied through-the-glass and the difference was huge, full signal and plenty of stations. It is a shame that this was not discovered before the supplied aerial was fitted, although I did feed this back to the fitter. Now working the sound is very good, but I marked it down for value as I have paid for a redundant aerial and also had to pay for another lead for my car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.