Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit

Parrot Minikit+ a portable bluetooth hands-free kit for mobile phones, smartphones & iPhones
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
23 of 26(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Review 1 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for my needs,
December 11, 2014
By Lynnie77
from Fife, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, style, quality of sound, battery life
" I actually bought this to listen to audio books in the car. I sew a lot and listen to audio books as I sew, however they became more adictive and I started listening to them in the car.Tthe contraption I was using to listen to my books in the car envolved cables and I wanted something bluetooth. I have an iPhone 5C and this works perfectly allowing me to listen to my books, sat nav and receive calls. Perfect for my commute back and forth to work "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Parrot Minikit,
November 26, 2014
By Focus31
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good price
Cons: voice recognition could be better
" Good quality product if you do not want to pay for wired in version. Only issue is recognising accent as it often does not pick up word ' accept' for answering calls. Did find the battery doesn't last as long as other reviewers & I take in to house when not in use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Which Store did you visit? DOWNPATRICK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
November 24, 2014
By Djhoneypot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great bit of kit
" Very good and easy to use, works well it does what it says on the tin
I would definitely recommend this
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Parrot,
November 18, 2014
By P16rgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good
Cons: as above
" Very good product . but a couple of weeks in I can't seem to turn it on or off .works when on charge but now doesn't seem to tel me who is calling ,doesn't read my texts and I can't give it voice comands,think I will go into halfords and see if they can help. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
November 11, 2014
By Billmet
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price
" Ordered the parrot for my stepson and he absolutely loves it. It's easy to set up and works well with voice recognition. Great value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product practical,
September 02, 2014
By johnpaul2104
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Well designed practical works well with good features only needs a mains charger especially for initial charge "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hands free kit,
August 30, 2014
By SelwynFloggitt
from Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: discreet
Cons: sad battery
" Inexpensive piece of kit that picks up your voice with ease,top quality sound so you hear the caller clearly,simple to use and very discreet, only downside is battery needs charging often but a voice does let you know well before it goes flat. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What does it do?,
March 14, 2014
By squid57squid
from YORKSHIRE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: battery life, voice recognition
Cons: will not read out texts
" I found it very hard when researching hands free to know what each model would do. I had previously had a built in one which did nearly everything
In the Halfords branch the salesman pushed the Jabra cruiser. Which I bought but when I got it home I found it had no voice activated functions at all - how is that hands free??? I took it back and they begrudgingly sold me the Parrot for nearly the same price. The same salesman said the voice recognition was not really that good which is why he recommended Jabra.
Actually I found he was wrong, selecting someone to phone from the address book by voice is very easy and works nearly all the time. (I use an HTC Android phone).
Two things are not quite so good,
1. It does not read out incoming texts (or old texts)
2. Occasionally, for no apparent reason it fails to pair with my phone. When this happens I press the on off button twice (to switch it off and on again) and it always then pairs.
ON the plus side I am amazed at the time between charges. It is only a small light item (can't have a big battery in it) and the volume is loud and clear. It goes weeks between charges. Amazing. (I wish my phone did that!)
I would definitely recommend this device but beware - no texts. It is very annoying when you receive a text while driving and you suspect it is urgent but you cannot find out what it is without stopping. The built in one in my old Punto read out the texts and allowed you to call them back. I don't know if any aftermarket ones do this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money!,
June 28, 2013
By Chet11
from Leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: slick design, quality, loud and clear
Cons: caller display
" I bought this handsfree kit for father's day. The reason for choosing this product is one, this is a very well known brand and two value for money. Clear speaker when listening to calls even on the motorway. Easy set up and slick looking quality. Sturdy button and turning circle. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants the best value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Parent
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only needed one!,
June 07, 2013
By xsara
from portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sound quality, easy setup, easy to update (software), nxt speaker, voice recognition, two phones, sync phone book
Cons: can't think of one
" bought this about 8 months ago & was using it with my then iPhone 4 and it worked great then after Christmas moved to an HTC One X Plus & it still works great with this phone as well ( even though Parrot says they haven't tried it ) I've have done 3 software update to the unit and I can't fault it my phone uses this for phone conversations & the satnav to the phone for the "Smartphone Link" the nuvi 3598 LMT-D and all works just fine battery life is very good as I forget to turn it off when I get home only to find in the morning when I get in the car it makes the connection noise, I do put it on charge about every 2 weeks even if its got half a charge all in all its a simple smart bit of kit and it works great with my setup. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit,
April 22, 2013
By terry407
from Manchester UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very pleased with my recent purchase.
Excellent instructions
Easy to set up.
Dual phone feature is a brilliant idea.
No problems with connecting devices and an all round pleasure to use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great piece of kit,
April 16, 2013
By doris1
from wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: clarity of sound, easy to set up
Cons: doesnt always connect automatically
" good value for money,once connected to mobile[doesn't always connect immediately] works well. Phonebook is good provided names aren't too similar and will give options of numbers belonging to person being called. Battery life is excellent if magic word switched off.pity full info not in box,had to get it off internet[ lot more you really need to know] "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (SOUTH)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value for money,
April 01, 2013
By tinkerbell13
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" easy to sync with your phone and phone book
good quality reception for calls and minmal delay
can set it up yourself and dont need to pay extra to have the device installed
the voice activation can be tempramental and also if trying to call someone using the voice activated phonebook it will call random people but overall for the price and for this being a portable kit that you can use in any car i would say good value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good quality,
March 21, 2013
By smudge72
from barnstaple
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy connectivty
Cons: stays connected when staying close to vehicle
" Bought as a replacement for an incar kit previously installed in my van. As I was swapping around in company vehicles. Very easy installation. Connects to phone very easily but that is where the only problem I can find is. When you leave the vehicle but stay within10 mtrs as I do when parking outside my office when a call comes in it keeps taking the call and you have to disconnect from bluetooth and remember turn back on other wise great good clear sound quality usb charging. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BARNSTAPLE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent quality,
February 16, 2013
By GKKH
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" For a small compact item it's very affective with a great sound quality even when driving on the motorway.
The voice activation is very clear and recognises the commands straight away.
Highly recommended for anyone on the go who doesn't have a built in hands free kit in the car.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Parrot mini,
January 11, 2013
By Dl626
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" I bought a parrot mini as a present for my partner and we were both really happy with the product. It works exceptionally well in a noisy van and had made my partners working day much easier. It picks up sound perfectly and once charged lasts for a substantial amount of time.
This is Definately a product I would recommend and the value is exceptional.
Thank you "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant device,
January 02, 2013
By Deeko41
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: accept and decline call by voice
" It was a brilliant buy. It was very easy to pair with iPhone 4 it even goes into a deep sleep standby and it connects automatically when the phone is close brilliant buy it even stores contacts and it works thru voice recon "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice bit of kit,
December 17, 2012
By Mone
from hampshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size, update software via mac os, voice control, phone sat nav sound from parrot
Cons: price, mini usb
" bought this to replace a jabra, bloke in halfords tried to stop me from buying this god knows why, but its a nice bit of kit. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minikit+,
December 06, 2012
By Anonymous
from Bolton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small and neat, elastic strap included for attachment to sun visor
Cons: phonebook names not very clear when read out
" Bought as a christmas present . I have fully charged it and connected it up to a phone and copied the phonebook across which was easy. Go on the internet on Parrots website as the manual in the box doesn't go into any detail. Tried in the car while driving and the phone call was crystal clear both in the car and at home. I have read on reviews if you use the unit using voice commands then the battery dies out quickly so will have to try that.The battery says it will last 6 months in deep sleep mode can't comment on this as I have wrapped it up now for Christmas. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Friend
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor Battery Life,
November 15, 2012
By dean49ers
from Kent
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Very disappointed with this purchase. I've only had this four days and already have had to recharge the unit twice, and this is without making or receiving any calls!! I will be returning this for a refund. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>