Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit

Parrot Minikit+ a portable bluetooth hands-free kit for mobile phones, smartphones & iPhones
Average Customer Rating:
4.121 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
29 of 33(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Review 1 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin,
February 18, 2015
By Dalesman25
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Had to get this to replace a Minikit Neo, which wasn't compatible with my new phone. The only downside is that with the Plus you have to look up at it to push a button to start making a call. Otherwise the voice control for making and receiving calls, linking to your phone's contact list etc works well. Easy to use, looks ok, clips onto the sun visor with an elasticated band so easy to put away when you leave the car. Great features for saving battery when not in use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (ARNOLD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not worth the money,
February 16, 2015
By Janetto2071
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
" I bought this after reading loads of good reviews but in all honesty, it has been a major disappointment. It was very easy to sync with my iPhone but I couldn't get it to sync with my Blackberry, it just wouldn't find it. From the start I was disappointed with the sound quality and had to have it attached to my seat belt to be closer to my head (I even had my hearing tested with our Occ Health nurse at work, but it wasn't me!). Often it failed to activate when I got in the car, so when my phone did ring, I missed calls. The battery life initially seemed good but then again I would only find out it had no charge when my phone rang and the Parrot didn't pick this up (and more missed calls). I was charging it fully every 5 days or so, but I probably only used it once or twice a week, so the stand-by life is poor. Now, it's about 8 months old and it won't charge at all. The red indicator light won't come on and it's dead as a dodo. Not impressed at all. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product,
January 17, 2015
By Birnam
from Perth and Kinross, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: automatic shut down, eas of use and setup
Cons: price
" Very easy to use and good looking handsfree kit. As usual with most handsfree kits the pronunceation is a bit "weird" but after listening to the phonebook voice a couple of times it can be understood.
Great idea as well is the factn it goes into "deep sleep mode" if no one in the vehicle after some time. This extends the battery life between charges.
Good bit of kit if a bit pricy
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
nice bit of kit,
January 09, 2015
By waco45
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I like it very much, long battery life, but the large button comes off in your hand too easily. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says,
January 05, 2015
By markinaboat
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: sound quality, auto connect when in car
" Bought this for my partner. Easy to setup and use and very clear sound for both parties. Recommended. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hands free,
December 27, 2014
By Ja12
from UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Christmas present, very happy so far. Working well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parrot Minikit Handsfree,
December 24, 2014
By gjpiglet
from Hull, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" A brilliant piece of kit. My daughter bought me one for Christmas last year, she has now passed her test so I have bought one for her this Christmas.
Complete safety and so easy
cant understand why more people don't use them instead of getting caught for using their phone whilst driving.
Fantastic value for money too "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for my needs,
December 11, 2014
By Lynnie77
from Fife, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, style, quality of sound, battery life
" I actually bought this to listen to audio books in the car. I sew a lot and listen to audio books as I sew, however they became more adictive and I started listening to them in the car.Tthe contraption I was using to listen to my books in the car envolved cables and I wanted something bluetooth. I have an iPhone 5C and this works perfectly allowing me to listen to my books, sat nav and receive calls. Perfect for my commute back and forth to work "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KIRKCALDY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Parrot Minikit,
November 26, 2014
By Focus31
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good price
Cons: voice recognition could be better
" Good quality product if you do not want to pay for wired in version. Only issue is recognising accent as it often does not pick up word ' accept' for answering calls. Did find the battery doesn't last as long as other reviewers & I take in to house when not in use. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Which Store did you visit? DOWNPATRICK
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
November 24, 2014
By Djhoneypot
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great bit of kit
" Very good and easy to use, works well it does what it says on the tin
I would definitely recommend this
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Parrot,
November 18, 2014
By P16rgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good
Cons: as above
" Very good product . but a couple of weeks in I can't seem to turn it on or off .works when on charge but now doesn't seem to tel me who is calling ,doesn't read my texts and I can't give it voice comands,think I will go into halfords and see if they can help. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
November 11, 2014
By Billmet
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price
" Ordered the parrot for my stepson and he absolutely loves it. It's easy to set up and works well with voice recognition. Great value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product practical,
September 02, 2014
By johnpaul2104
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Well designed practical works well with good features only needs a mains charger especially for initial charge "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hands free kit,
August 30, 2014
By SelwynFloggitt
from Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: discreet
Cons: sad battery
" Inexpensive piece of kit that picks up your voice with ease,top quality sound so you hear the caller clearly,simple to use and very discreet, only downside is battery needs charging often but a voice does let you know well before it goes flat. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SUNDERLAND
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What does it do?,
March 14, 2014
By squid57squid
from YORKSHIRE
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: battery life, voice recognition
Cons: will not read out texts
" I found it very hard when researching hands free to know what each model would do. I had previously had a built in one which did nearly everything
In the Halfords branch the salesman pushed the Jabra cruiser. Which I bought but when I got it home I found it had no voice activated functions at all - how is that hands free??? I took it back and they begrudgingly sold me the Parrot for nearly the same price. The same salesman said the voice recognition was not really that good which is why he recommended Jabra.
Actually I found he was wrong, selecting someone to phone from the address book by voice is very easy and works nearly all the time. (I use an HTC Android phone).
Two things are not quite so good,
1. It does not read out incoming texts (or old texts)
2. Occasionally, for no apparent reason it fails to pair with my phone. When this happens I press the on off button twice (to switch it off and on again) and it always then pairs.
ON the plus side I am amazed at the time between charges. It is only a small light item (can't have a big battery in it) and the volume is loud and clear. It goes weeks between charges. Amazing. (I wish my phone did that!)
I would definitely recommend this device but beware - no texts. It is very annoying when you receive a text while driving and you suspect it is urgent but you cannot find out what it is without stopping. The built in one in my old Punto read out the texts and allowed you to call them back. I don't know if any aftermarket ones do this. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? KEIGHLEY
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money!,
June 28, 2013
By Chet11
from Leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: slick design, quality, loud and clear
Cons: caller display
" I bought this handsfree kit for father's day. The reason for choosing this product is one, this is a very well known brand and two value for money. Clear speaker when listening to calls even on the motorway. Easy set up and slick looking quality. Sturdy button and turning circle. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants the best value for money. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Parent
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only needed one!,
June 07, 2013
By xsara
from portsmouth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sound quality, easy setup, easy to update (software), nxt speaker, voice recognition, two phones, sync phone book
Cons: can't think of one
" bought this about 8 months ago & was using it with my then iPhone 4 and it worked great then after Christmas moved to an HTC One X Plus & it still works great with this phone as well ( even though Parrot says they haven't tried it ) I've have done 3 software update to the unit and I can't fault it my phone uses this for phone conversations & the satnav to the phone for the "Smartphone Link" the nuvi 3598 LMT-D and all works just fine battery life is very good as I forget to turn it off when I get home only to find in the morning when I get in the car it makes the connection noise, I do put it on charge about every 2 weeks even if its got half a charge all in all its a simple smart bit of kit and it works great with my setup. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit,
April 22, 2013
By terry407
from Manchester UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very pleased with my recent purchase.
Excellent instructions
Easy to set up.
Dual phone feature is a brilliant idea.
No problems with connecting devices and an all round pleasure to use.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? STOCKPORT
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great piece of kit,
April 16, 2013
By doris1
from wales
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: clarity of sound, easy to set up
Cons: doesnt always connect automatically
" good value for money,once connected to mobile[doesn't always connect immediately] works well. Phonebook is good provided names aren't too similar and will give options of numbers belonging to person being called. Battery life is excellent if magic word switched off.pity full info not in box,had to get it off internet[ lot more you really need to know] "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (SOUTH)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Parrot Minikit+ Portable Bluetooth Handsfree Kit
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value for money,
April 01, 2013
By tinkerbell13
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" easy to sync with your phone and phone book
good quality reception for calls and minmal delay
can set it up yourself and dont need to pay extra to have the device installed
the voice activation can be tempramental and also if trying to call someone using the voice activated phonebook it will call random people but overall for the price and for this being a portable kit that you can use in any car i would say good value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>