Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Computers & GPS or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer

Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer is a brilliant gadget that helps you time your training
Average Customer Rating:
4.715 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(221 Reviews) 221
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (221 reviews)
5 stars
168
4 stars
48
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
213 of 217(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 177 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit,
April 30, 2012
By Anonymous
from Norfolk, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, hot swap from bike to bike, garmin connect to draw maps, bright clear screen, lots of info on the display
Cons: only basic guidence diagrams
"The Edge 200 is the entry level of this series of GPS units from Garmin but it still packs a punch. It is easy to fit, with no hook up to the front wheel to measure speed as the on-board GPS takes care of that. Also you get 2 bike mounts making swapping to another bike a breeze!
The best thing is the Garmin Connect connectivity which not only allows you to play back your recorded route, superimposed over Bing satellite maps (just like Google maps), but, even better - you can plan your route on Garmin Connect then download it to the Edge 200 and go off and ride.
If you want a full moving map then buy the Edge 800, as the turn indications on the 200 are basic. But for a high end wireless bike computer or entry level GPS device the Edge 200 is a steal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+112points
117out of 122found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy,
February 28, 2012
By Muzzer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brilliant gadget, simple to use on and off bike, simple to install and download to computer!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+28points
35out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent,
October 14, 2014
By AlanJJJJJJJJT
from Cardiff
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Basic computer but that's what I wanted. Plenty of info available when used with the Garmin Connect site. Battery lasts for ever. I don't have to rely on my inconsistent phone app anymore. Great"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BRIDGEND
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Total Rubbish,
September 24, 2014
By Shifter62
from Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: size
Cons: would not communicate with computer
"Brought this from my local Halfords. If you just want to see your speed and distance etc it's great, but you can do that at a fraction of the price with other bike computers. The main problem was the computer could see the 200 but it could not communicate with it through the Garmin software. Putting a route in was next to impossible even with some 3rd party software. When a route was loaded by riding the route it would not find it next time, just telling me I was 'Off Route'. It was flaky at best. Took it back in the end."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin 209,
September 24, 2014
By Godders75
from Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy set up
Cons: nothing
"Easy set up does everything a simpleton needs. No wires which is a bonus"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value,
September 12, 2014
By Mark4700
from Pontefract, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money, easy to use, easy to install
Cons: fine for me but only available in black
"I found myself in the market for a new cycle computer and having just bought a new road bike and shoes and peddles and clothing and helmet etc. my budget was struggling to hold up. Not to worry, enter the Garmin Edge 200.
This is Garmin's entry level GPS model. I've used it a few times now and it has performed faultlessly. It attaches to the cycle by way of rubber bands, so there there's no risk of damage to your cycle.
It is intuitive to use, in fact I haven't even read the instructions. Just clip it to the bike, press the on button, the start button and start riding. It measures all the basic parameters including current and average speed, distance travelled and calories burned. When you get back plug it in to your computer with the provided USB cable (which also acts as your charging lead when plugged into the included mains adaptor) and you download your route which is mapped out for you to see.
So to sum up, an excellent buy, easy to install and use and excellent value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Budget Garmin Computer,
September 08, 2014
By cyclisimmo
from Scotland, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Basic gps enabled cycling computer. Handy if you have several bikes and wish just to attach to the one you are using at the time. SImplistic menu system, feels a bit basic and the current speed readout is not as instantaneous as your old magnet driven speedo, but a good enough compromise. NOt tried the route functionality with this unit yet, but will do soon"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great starter cycle GPS,
September 05, 2014
By jeffers74
from Gravesend, Kent, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great
"Love this bit of kit it really helps me analyse my stats"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? BLACKFEN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good purchase,
September 05, 2014
By RossMu123
from Kilmarnock
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, functionality, ease of use
"I've only used a handful of times, however so far it has been really useful! It's quick to pick up a GPS signal and helps you to push yourself to go that little bit further!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? KILMARNOCK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great entry-level GPS device,
August 29, 2014
By TheRealSnakehips
from Kingston upon Thames, Greater London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to read display (even without my glasses on)
"This has enough features to encourage you to ride more, but it's not overloaded with features that you have to pay for but never use.
Easy to set up and use. Comes with mounts for two bikes.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? NEW MALDEN
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little computer,
August 25, 2014
By Splongo
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fed up with buying cheap bike computers that go wrong eventually. I decided to buy this Garmin. Ok twice the price that I have spent up to now but what a difference. Fits great on the bike. Reads well and good battery life. You can upload all the data to Garmin to keep a nice record of your trips. If you only need the basics for cycling and a map of your route at the end, then this little gadget is ideal. This has taken over from my Garmin Dakota."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice kit.. its very simple to use and needs no setring up,
August 25, 2014
By Durabruce
from Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: no setting up, good battery life
Cons: garmins connect web site
"I've had the Edge 200 for a couple of weeks and used it only with my mountain bike so far, I compared it witwithdrawnh the halfords bike computer already fitted and worked fine, the results like mileage and speed were identical. A good start but where the 200 shines is its ability to guestimate calories burned and elevation of rides.. I did not realise but my local keep fit circuit had a 1000 foot mean total climb..!! Also any rides can be stored as routes to race against, the display will show you overlaid in a simple line track with your saved route shadow..nice..
The only gripe I have is the cumbersome computer interface, Garmin Connect it looks nice but struggles to see your device, sometimes..!, and most annoying will not download routs created on the mapping softwear to the 200 in contradiction to all of the YouTube videos etc..turns out its not a compatible device. At this point it was almost going back however I did find another site on the web that did. Phew..very strange that a third party (GPSies) does a better interface than the actual manifacture. Top marks Garmin nice kit but awful support..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Edge 200,
August 24, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nice piece of kit that also has GPS navigation which is handy. Although it is breadcrumb style rather than mapping, but a nice unexpected feature."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use,
August 22, 2014
By Mcnryan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Surprised at how simple this is to use. Extremely accurate and battery life is also very good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BALLYMENA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use.,
August 21, 2014
By Anonymous
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: intuitive to use, easy to fit to bike
"It was really easy to set up & to start using. Easy to fit to my bike too. Comes with two fitting kits so you can move it between your bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gadget,
August 21, 2014
By Frosty4
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to put on and off the bike
"When I come home from my bike ride I can study my route and compare it to all my other rides.It's great because I can plan my next ride based on previous times and terrains.I can store them all on the laptop as well .it was easy to set up ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MERTHYR TYDFIL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple GPS,
August 21, 2014
By KeithRSL
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing at all
"I wanted a straight forward GPS and Garmin is the go to brand. The Edge 200 is perfect, easy to set up and use with all the information I need for recreational cycling. Uploads to Garmin Connect even using my ChromeBook so nothing not to love."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Edge 200 GPS,
August 19, 2014
By Trekrider2013
from Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for RideLondon 2014 and it was brilliant. Kept the signal around the whole ride, despite the torrential rain and performed brilliant. Would highly recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little computer,
August 04, 2014
By Roberts61
from Wigan, Wigan, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use.
"This is a very good first gps for cyclists. It gives clear readings. Able to create or download routes onto it easily. Simple to set up & easy to transfer between bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent GPS device at basic cost!,
June 23, 2014
By borntoride
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything simple to use!
Cons: none
"I found Garmin Edge 200 brilliant for those who only wants a basic GPS device at a basic price. If you have access to Garmin Connect, it makes a perfect partnership with Edge 200. It can record your rides, time your progress at preset regular intervals, guide you through your new routes by way of imported gpx files created from Garmin Connect or other mapping tool website, or gpx files sent from your friends. Edge 200 is also your virtual competitor whereby you race against your previous time on your previous route saved as course. Although it does not show the normal clock time immediately, you can always press and hold the bottom left button to get the clock then press the top right button to return to your cycle progress display. I give my top 5 stars for such a simple yet brilliant GPS device and for its best value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>