Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer

Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer is a brilliant gadget that helps you time your training
Average Customer Rating:
4.736 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(212 Reviews) 212
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (212 reviews)
5 stars
163
4 stars
45
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
205 of 208(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 172 Answers
Customer Reviews for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit,
April 30, 2012
By Anonymous
from Norfolk, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, hot swap from bike to bike, garmin connect to draw maps, bright clear screen, lots of info on the display
Cons: only basic guidence diagrams
"The Edge 200 is the entry level of this series of GPS units from Garmin but it still packs a punch. It is easy to fit, with no hook up to the front wheel to measure speed as the on-board GPS takes care of that. Also you get 2 bike mounts making swapping to another bike a breeze!
The best thing is the Garmin Connect connectivity which not only allows you to play back your recorded route, superimposed over Bing satellite maps (just like Google maps), but, even better - you can plan your route on Garmin Connect then download it to the Edge 200 and go off and ride.
If you want a full moving map then buy the Edge 800, as the turn indications on the 200 are basic. But for a high end wireless bike computer or entry level GPS device the Edge 200 is a steal."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+106points
111out of 116found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy,
February 28, 2012
By Muzzer
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Brilliant gadget, simple to use on and off bike, simple to install and download to computer!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
+26points
33out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice kit.. its very simple to use and needs no setring up,
August 25, 2014
By Durabruce
from Wiltshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: no setting up, good battery life
Cons: garmins connect web site
"I've had the Edge 200 for a couple of weeks and used it only with my mountain bike so far, I compared it witwithdrawnh the halfords bike computer already fitted and worked fine, the results like mileage and speed were identical. A good start but where the 200 shines is its ability to guestimate calories burned and elevation of rides.. I did not realise but my local keep fit circuit had a 1000 foot mean total climb..!! Also any rides can be stored as routes to race against, the display will show you overlaid in a simple line track with your saved route shadow..nice..
The only gripe I have is the cumbersome computer interface, Garmin Connect it looks nice but struggles to see your device, sometimes..!, and most annoying will not download routs created on the mapping softwear to the 200 in contradiction to all of the YouTube videos etc..turns out its not a compatible device. At this point it was almost going back however I did find another site on the web that did. Phew..very strange that a third party (GPSies) does a better interface than the actual manifacture. Top marks Garmin nice kit but awful support..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Edge 200,
August 24, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nice piece of kit that also has GPS navigation which is handy. Although it is breadcrumb style rather than mapping, but a nice unexpected feature."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use,
August 22, 2014
By Mcnryan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Surprised at how simple this is to use. Extremely accurate and battery life is also very good."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BALLYMENA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use.,
August 21, 2014
By Anonymous
from Hampshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: intuitive to use, easy to fit to bike
"It was really easy to set up & to start using. Easy to fit to my bike too. Comes with two fitting kits so you can move it between your bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gadget,
August 21, 2014
By Frosty4
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to put on and off the bike
"When I come home from my bike ride I can study my route and compare it to all my other rides.It's great because I can plan my next ride based on previous times and terrains.I can store them all on the laptop as well .it was easy to set up ."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? MERTHYR TYDFIL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple GPS,
August 21, 2014
By KeithRSL
from West Sussex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing at all
"I wanted a straight forward GPS and Garmin is the go to brand. The Edge 200 is perfect, easy to set up and use with all the information I need for recreational cycling. Uploads to Garmin Connect even using my ChromeBook so nothing not to love."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Which Store did you visit? HORSHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Edge 200 GPS,
August 19, 2014
By Trekrider2013
from Royal Leamington Spa, Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this for RideLondon 2014 and it was brilliant. Kept the signal around the whole ride, despite the torrential rain and performed brilliant. Would highly recommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little computer,
August 04, 2014
By Roberts61
from Wigan, Wigan, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: very easy to use.
"This is a very good first gps for cyclists. It gives clear readings. Able to create or download routes onto it easily. Simple to set up & easy to transfer between bikes."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent GPS device at basic cost!,
June 23, 2014
By borntoride
from Coventry, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything simple to use!
Cons: none
"I found Garmin Edge 200 brilliant for those who only wants a basic GPS device at a basic price. If you have access to Garmin Connect, it makes a perfect partnership with Edge 200. It can record your rides, time your progress at preset regular intervals, guide you through your new routes by way of imported gpx files created from Garmin Connect or other mapping tool website, or gpx files sent from your friends. Edge 200 is also your virtual competitor whereby you race against your previous time on your previous route saved as course. Although it does not show the normal clock time immediately, you can always press and hold the bottom left button to get the clock then press the top right button to return to your cycle progress display. I give my top 5 stars for such a simple yet brilliant GPS device and for its best value for money."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good gps computer,
June 07, 2014
By bluesboy71
from Ayrshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price and quality
Cons: nothing much
"I bought this for my training that I'm doing for a charity cycle I don't have too charge it every time i use it unlike when I was using gps apps on my phone you can also store your age and weight on it and it will tell you how many calories you have burned although saying that I think for a true reading you would need a heart rate monitor for that the mapping is basic but does the job unless you're a serious cyclist and want all the mod cons this gps system should do fine"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of equipment,
May 25, 2014
By Evolution86
from Lytham, Lytham Saint Annes, Lancashire FY8, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cheap, easy to setup
"I have been looking to buy a GPS unit for a while. I really wanted one for both running & riding but couldn't quite find one that matched my requirements so purchased the Edge 200.
Excellent product. Easy to use and attach to my bike. Doesnt come with maps but you can create courses online which gives a basic sat nav approach and load these onto the device which works well.
Put it in my pocket when i went out for a run and it worked just as well for running too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? BLACKPOOL
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Edge 200,
March 17, 2014
By GLcyclist
from Doncaster
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Very pleased with this basic GPS cycle computer.
No sender or set-up on the bike, it's very simple to install.
The gripe I have is being conned into buying the charger & USB cable kit, the unit is listed as a special buy wit the cable kit at a reduced price when bought together; but, the computer comes with the same charger and USB cable as standard, don't waste your money unless you really do need a spare set of cables and charge unit.
The cables will be going back to where they came from for a refund today.
Great GPS computer though..
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? DONCASTER
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent compact gadget.,
January 30, 2014
By paci
from kinawley fermanagh N IRELAND
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to set up, very accurate information, links to computer, quick charging, switchable between bikes, good valuegot
Cons: easily stolen
"Recently purchased the Garmin Edge 200 GPS cycle computer from Halfords store Omagh. I found it real easy to get it set up, and it gives you extremely accurate information, also its very lightweight and compact, I highly recommend it to fellow cyclists. No wires or sencers it just slots onto bike mount and is ready for use. EASY. Patrick from Fermanagh."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? OMAGH
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent GPS,
January 06, 2014
By nick6870
from Cumbria
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you don't wish to spend a fortune, this GPS is excellent value for money, very easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? PENRITH
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple yet excellent,
January 05, 2014
By ME1911
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ready to use instantly, very accurate
Cons: no heart monitor
"I have spent money on cycle computers before attached to the front wheel and not been impressed. This is a remarkable product. Ready to go straight from the box. No set up required. Very accurate and not fancy. Great value."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
December 31, 2013
By Dan98
from Leicestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I always use strava on my phone for rides but its kept in a jersey pocket, I wanted a product that I could see in front of me that showed distance travelled and my average speed. and would record my routes. My phone has lost its signal a few times too so I feel cheated when data is lost! The garmin edge 200 does everything I need its a simple set up and simple to use so ticks all the boxes for me. You can upload the data to either Strava or Garmin connect or both!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? HINCKLEY
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Xmas surprise ever!,
December 30, 2013
By Nicky26
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Husband had no idea this was coming - and he loves it! Many happy road miles to come in 2014.
Thanks halfords
Nicky
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 200 GPS - Enabled Cycle Computer
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent GPS Computer,
December 30, 2013
By alexwaaaaaa
from Leeds
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, use as navigation, good battery life
"The Garmin Edge 200 is an excellent GPS computer, it is very simple to use and does not require any wires as it uses GPS. It displays enough information for my needs. Using the "courses" function allows the rider to follow a route which you can download or plan yourself using the Garmin Connect site or Ride with GPS. Battery life is great and gives plenty of warning when it is neary drained.
I would highly recommend this device to any cyclist
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (KIRKSTALL)
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>