Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box

The Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box is quick and easy to mount to your car's roof.
Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 of 16(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Review 1 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks good, performs well,
June 10, 2015
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: looks dimensions price
" The box is sturdy, looks good - particularly in silver when mounted on silver car - and is easy to fit and remove (particularly after helpful demonstration by Halfords staff). It holds even more than we thought - three small suitcases, a hold-all and several smaller items - as good as a large 2nd boot. Having looked at roof boxes fitted to other vehicles, I'm convinced that I made the right choice. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? MELTON MOWBRAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect,
April 29, 2015
By Brennie69
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very easy to fit you can fit it on your own but best with two people. Great capacity low road noise and looks good "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Could do better,
April 29, 2015
By Glen5
from Newbury, West Berkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cost
Cons: awkward to fit
" Not quick and easy to mount on roof.
Replacement for long and narrow roof box that I could mount myself. Nearly had to climb in to attach to roof bars. Box has never closed first time. Only redeeming feature was cost.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof box bundle.,
April 29, 2015
By Alijo
from Derbyshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My husband and I decided to purchase the roof box bundle from halfords on the basis of the reviews. We have not been disappointed with the roof box. The team at halfords fitted the bars and box for us, fitting included in the bundle, they were polite and helpful. Overall, if you need extra space in your car, then a roof box is the way forward. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for its size,
April 29, 2015
By Dav09
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" The Exodus 470L is a perfect size and looks stylish on the vehicle easy to fit in a few minutes and as great features I would recommend this product to anyone. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (MAYPOLE)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The locking mechanism keeps jamming,
April 29, 2015
By Anonymous
from York, York, York, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: the extra storage space., it looks good on the roof.
Cons: the locking mechanism can be a nightmare., tricky to reach the bar clips on the hinge side.
" We bought this box to carry all the extra kit we needed to take on our family seaside holiday at Easter. Halfords fitted it for free and it seemed fine at first but now I have nothing but trouble trying to get it to lock. Whether the box is loaded or empty something in the mechanism doesn't seem to be aligning properly and takes many attempts at opening and closing (and bashing and shaking) to get it aligned before the key will turn to the lock position.
This got extremely frustrating, especially when it started raining.
I haven't got round to returning to Halfords yet to see if they can do anything to fix it.
I'm sorry to say I can't recommend this product because of the dodgy lock and my infuriating experiences with it on holiday.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy, does what should....!,
April 29, 2015
By DanMcW
from Leicestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: shape, loading capacity, ease of fitting and removing, won't lock unless closed properly
Cons: need to load carefully to be able to close it
" I bought this along with a roof bar set for a family holiday over Easter. An online offer made it very reasonable and included free fitting on both items when collected in store. Firstly, the store in Coalville Leicestershire were fantastic, very helpful and knowledgable, so 10 out of 10 for the fitting service. Highly recommended, even if you pay for it, particularly for the roof bars. The roof box is a great shape and fantastic size, exactly what we needed. The plastic feel a bit flimsy but they all do, so don't let that put you off. Fitted to a Mazda CX 7 and hardly heard any wind noise or noticed it was there. Why pay for the expensive well known brand when this is so good? "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? COALVILLE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plenty of space inside. Looks good,
April 29, 2015
By Sjm16
from Lincolnshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the size, colour, ease of use
Cons: the lock
" This roof box was the right size for our family of 5. Leaving plenty of room in the boot for our large dog. The only complaint is with the lock. Its really fiddly but hopefully will get easier with mote use. Fitting service was excellent. They explained to me in easy terms how to do it again myself. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SKEGNESS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus 470L Roof Box,
January 19, 2015
By Anon88
from Staines-upon-Thames, Surrey, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: click & collect
" Very pleased with purchase
Good size box and relatively easy to fit with 2 people
Perfect for camping holidays
Good value
Decent quality box
Click & collect very handy
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? STAINES
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fitted to 55 Astra,
November 10, 2014
By AstraMan21
from Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: good service, poorly designed product
" The "Feet" supplied with this product are poorly designed. The cover curves upwards about 2 inches for no apparent reason (the roof of the car is flat) and there is a large gap between the Feet cover and the roof. This leaves the fittings underneath exposed and looking ugly.
My advise - if you have an Astra buy an alternative brand.
The guys at Halford were helpful but had a poorly designed product to work with. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exodus 470L Roof \Box. Great for storage and features,
September 05, 2014
By janette56
from Watford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Service from the Manager and staff was brilliant, Item itself is great, fitted all my luggage in it and it was safe.
Would recommend to friends and family.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a box, it's big, it does what it says on the tin.,
February 09, 2014
By AMRN
from Worcester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great box, very light and easy to handle, and loads of storage space. Just one comment... the label in the shop said it would take one person to fit it - no chance. The quick lock fittings are inside and connect to a bracket that you have to push up through holes from underneath... the two on the opening side of the box are easy - the two on the far side are impossible single handed, and even difficult with two people. Once it's fitted to the roof bars, best to leave it attached and to remove the bars and box together. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good quality item at a good price.,
September 19, 2013
By martymoondog
from redcar
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Was very pleased with the quality of the roof box compared to other stores i'd visited, and it looks good to, would highly recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice box!,
September 12, 2013
By Robbbbb
from MIlton Keynes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" What can i say, it's a big box that sits on your car, job done!
Seems well built and fitting was nice and easy.
The only downside and it's very minor is that the fixings that attach it to the roof bars take up a chunk of room in the box, would be better if they could be underneath so the floor remains flat, other than that, very happy and hope it gives us many years service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLETCHLEY
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent service,
June 25, 2013
By Cuills
from Bishopbriggs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" We ordered this online and had it fitted at our local Halfords by John. He was courteous, helpful, efficient and when we had to go back the next day (because we were worried we'd broken the lock - actually it was simply a case of the roof box lid being stuff!!), he was cheerful and reassuring - and didn't call us idiots! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BISHOPBRIGGS
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box,
May 05, 2013
By yasminadam1
from Isle of Man
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great looking, light weight, big 470l
Cons: flimsy feel, locks could be improved
" The Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box is a great all rounder really, it definitively has the looks of a more expensive unit and the fact you can get it silver really does makes it look the part.
Really is big inside, but looking very streamlined from outside unlike some that look like you got a big brick stuck on the roof and plenty of room for everybody stuff without having to cram it in like on some of the smaller units.
light in weight when empty, so taking it off to store and hang up somewhere should not be to much of an issue, only small gripes are feels a tad flimsy as someone else stated and the locks could have been better i think.
Overall great value for money well done Halfords!! :o)
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus 470L Gloss Silver Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Looking,
June 11, 2012
By funnella
from Devon, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: quick and easy to fix to roofbars
Cons: feels a bit flimsy
" I like the fact that the box is gloss, instead of the usual matt silver (matches my car better!) the fixings on it are really easy to use once you have it placed where you want it, it just locks in. The box itself is HUGE! The only down side is that the plastic feels a bit flimsy, but as this is the first roofbox I have ever used then I presume they must all be like this to keep the weight down.
Tip: when you have it in place on the roof bars lift both the bars and the box off together for storage, as sometimes it is a long stretch to clamp the furtherest clamps down (the ones nearest the hinge) when it's on the car, much easier to tighten the roof bars every time! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
+40points
46out of 52found this review helpful.