Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 420L Roof Box

The Halfords 420L Roof Box is full width to give you plenty of extra storage space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.324 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
49
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
1
102 of 108(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Review 1 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
More room in the car!,
July 24, 2016
By
from Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" A boot area full of activity equipment means space is short in the car so a top box was the answer. I already owned the Halfords roof bars which this fitted to OK. OK so they are a bit flimsy and lightweight but every kg of roof box construction weight means less weight capacity for your luggage. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HUNTINGDON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
looks good value for money,
June 29, 2016
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Does not look cheap or flimsy like some that I have looked at "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEAMINGTON SPA
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof box,
June 20, 2016
By
from St Helens, Saint Helens, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Needed extra space when going camping, did the job, got both our cases and more in "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ST. HELENS
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof box,
May 01, 2016
By
from Broadstairs, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very pleased with this item which we bought to go on holiday with. Fitted 2 suitcases in easily with space left surrounding them. Easy to install product too. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? MARGATE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good product at a good price.,
March 21, 2016
By
from preston
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: front safety clip, very easy to fit
" As good a quality as some costing 3 times the prices. All top boxes create drag and noise but this seems to be one of the quietest i've used. Easy to fit and use, although still a 2 man (or 1 man and his wife) job to be safe. Probably the safest way to carry a large extra load. Well pleased with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AINTREE
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords 420L Roof Box,
March 16, 2016
By
from Wisbech, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great product at a great price. Well done Halfords! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WISBECH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
420l roof box,
March 11, 2016
By
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" as always good service and bargain.used click and collect again and can not fault them.thank you. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 420L Roof Box,
March 08, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price, lockable, value for money
Cons: flimsy
" If you want to double your boot space you can't go far wrong by buying the Halfords 420L roof box. It is fairly flimsy however it appears to do the job well enough. As long as you use two hands to close the lid. At £130 it's good value for money when compared to some of the other options available. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HIGH WYCOMBE (LONDON RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Didn't keep it as soon didn't perform,
February 28, 2016
By
from Stourbridge, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: service from halfords
Cons: quality
" We ordered this online and collected it from a local Halfords and can't fault the service form that perspective.
However when we got it home we opened the box with the key and then couldn't get the key out or re-lock it.
We struggled for another half hour and then gave up1
We took it back to the shop and they struggled to get the key out as well. When they did we decided this wasn't for us.
We then went and bought a different roof bad from another company and so far we are happy
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ideal size,
January 26, 2016
By
from Aberdeenshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: space
Cons: colour
" needed more space for luggage and this is ideal size for what we need ,was disappointed it wasn't the silver colour shown on order but a dull grey but that's just me I had it fitted and he men did a great job was well worth paying that bit more for the service they made sure it was secure
I was told roof boxes cause more noise but I have to say no noise
haven't tried out box for suitcases yet but looks amble size
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ARBROATH
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing wrong with this product.,
January 25, 2016
By
from North Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value for money., light and easy to use.
" This is actually the second identical roof box I've bought from Halfords so although a recent purchase, I have owned and used this roof box for several years. Light, solid, simple and great value for money. Ibought one in the store and ordered the other online which was deleivered in less then 24 hours. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor customer service,
January 23, 2016
By
from Dublin, Ireland
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" I got this roof box as it was an offer. No good value for money. The quality of the box is very poor. When I bought it and I asked in the shop - Halfords Blanchardstown - for help to put it on the car nobody from the shop helped me as they said that they have no enough staff. It took me more than half hour to put it on the top of the car. And all in the front of the shop. Poor customer service! Never be back! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
-7points
3out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price,
January 21, 2016
By
from Swansea, Swansea, Swansea, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I haven't tried it on the bars yet but it looks simple from the instructions. Overall its sturdy, large and the locking system seems to work fine. It will hold 2 x large suitcase equivalent with extra space. For the price you can't argue and the general quality is also of a good standard. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SWANSEA
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
January 09, 2016
By
from York, York, York, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good value
Cons: quite tricky to put on
" It does what it's supposed to just fine. Mounting it is a bit fiddly and needs someone with long arms to reach across the roof to tighten the brackets on the far side. I appreciated the help I got from the sales assistant in fitting it. The hole spacing was just sufficient to mount it on our Fiesta Zetec. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SELBY
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy cheap......,
January 04, 2016
By
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Great price.....but
Missing one of the nuts which I discovered as we were about to leave so no time to return to store (ok so I replaced with a standard one but still....).
Was told it would fit my Mondeo. I admit that I should have checked at the store but again, discovered this as about to leae so had to drill extra holes. No instructions supplied which caused problems when the safety mechanism on the lock prevented me removing the key....took a while to work out. Overall, this was clearly a returned product (as it was scratched....not a huge problem but.....)
On the plus side, lovely service at the Chorley branch. The staff were great. Parking easy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof box saves holiday,
January 04, 2016
By
from Banbury
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I bought this in a hurry just before a Christmas family holiday, so I could make enough space in the boot to fit Mum's wheelchair. It did the job nicely: doubled luggage capacity, fairly easy to fit, didn't affect performance too much. The hinges are quite stiff and it's not 100% waterproof, but it was secure and plenty big enough so that did the job for me. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is good value for money-,
January 02, 2016
By
from Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the product
Cons: the lock can be tricky
" It adequately does the job ; gives us more space in the car ; I found the lock tricky at first, but it's easier now. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roofbox,,
December 27, 2015
By
from Dundee, Dundee City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good value for money roof box, sturdy construction. The only problem i had was locking it, but that was probably because i had it full, 2x big rucksacks a suit case as well as other stuff. Slight movement of stuff around sorted the problem. I fitted it to my Mitsubishi shogun, and quickly found i might need to purchase a small step to allow me to load it/ close it easier "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
420 litre Halfords roof box,
December 26, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I am very pleased with the box I bought just prior to Xmas. We travelled on Xmas eve with it fully loaded with Xmas presents in very wet and windy weather. When we arrived at our destination to unload it the contents were secure and dry. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
Which Store did you visit? HAVANT
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great buy,
December 21, 2015
By
from swansea UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great top box, loads of room, good lock and strong lever action opening. Looking forward to filling it when we go glamping. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>