Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 420L Roof Box

The Halfords 420L Roof Box is full width to give you plenty of extra storage space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
29
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
58 of 60(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 81 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Review 1 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great family value- suitable for smaller families,
August 29, 2014
By AndrewMakepeace
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great value for money product bought at short notice due to family trip to Brittany + 1000 miles in total round trip.
Placed mostly clothes & 2 large bags of groceries.
No discernible loss of power - handling remained reasonable during the trip.
Left it on- unpacked during the two week period - no problems as a result.
Only challenge was the wind during highway driving on France with no wind cover - felt slight swaying.
I overall recommended - but wished I had bought the slightly larger version
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords 420L Roof Box,
August 29, 2014
By woody7841
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the locking feature
"The box arrives well packaged to prevent any damage.
On opening the package you will find all the parts you need to attach the roof box to your vehicles roof bars. The parts are all of good quality.
The instructions are easy to follow however it would have been helpful if they state the size of the spanner/socket needed.
The roof box itself is a good size and again made of good quality plastic, there is ample room. The locking of this box has a key that can not be removed if the box is open which is a great feature.
Overall a very good quality roof box and great value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good size and good price,
August 24, 2014
By Andy49
from Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good space, price, size
"Used it recently on a camping trip to the lakes. The kids love the extra storage, and more room in the back of the car.
I recommend this product."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bigger than my boot!,
August 20, 2014
By LittleBoot
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this almost at the last minute for a UK holiday this year. 3 people and a cage of animals in a Citroen C2 leaves less than half the (already very small) boot space left. This box did the job nicely, swallowing up all the bags. The box seems very slightly flimsy when open, but when closed is sturdy, locks well and driving at normal motorway speeds was no problem. Wish I had bought one last year!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top box 420ltr,
August 09, 2014
By howey150
from Darlington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good box gave us lots of extra space and easy to pack.
5 people camping is a lot of gear in a mondeo
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof box,
August 06, 2014
By Gunnerplumber
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdiness, easy fitting, easy n strong locking mechanism, low noise
Cons: none did as we expected
"We brought this product before going away on holiday to torquay. The extra space it gave us was perfect, with us being a family of six in a zafira it was surprising how much extra room it allowed us and noise was minimal at 70mph, very sturdy n solid when closed easy to lock n open very easy to fit just requures a two person lift due to size being awkward to handle alone, would definitely recommend it if extra space is what is required, we drove from scunthorpe north lincs to Torquay n back with no problems"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 06, 2014
By Sodaedwin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Bought this roof box for extra space as our car is not big enough for a family of 4 going away on week holiday. The extra space was almost as big as a small car boot space. We managed to fit all the extra bags, toys and scooters with not problem. The only tricky part was locking it, which takes a little bit of getting used to. One has to make sure they align all the locking points properly before it locks and sometimes it takes 2 people to achieve this.
Overall 5 stars from me on space and value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 420L Roof Box,
August 06, 2014
By Shirehorse62
from Ormskirk, Ormskirk, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cost
Cons: flimsy
"Excellent value roof box. Box is on the flimsy side but once locked is sound. After fitting the first time you can put on the car in 10 mins."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? ORMSKIRK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use,
August 01, 2014
By glennp11
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a very easy to fit, full width roofbox. The new style fasteners are so much easier to use. Push it onto the 'U' bolt, twist & lock. Done!! Loads of space inside. Can be difficult to reach right into far side if you are not very tall. Felt very solid on motorway at 70mph."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
July 06, 2014
By supachris28
from Nottingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does the trick nicely.
Good features:
- toolless fitting, just uses thumbscrews to attach (stops you over tightening and breaking it)
- locking hinges, keep the lid up
- front lock, extra clip to stop it popping open at speed
- extra stickers, instructions didn't mention these but I used them to block up the unused fitting holes from the outside to stop water getting in
Mine came with 2 keys, some reviewers say they've only got 1."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords roof box,
January 01, 2014
By Diamondsuzie
from Gosport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent, provided much needed space over the Christmas holidays and felt everything was secure and safe."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Rate Top Box,
December 29, 2013
By Pat530
from Isle of Wight
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: locking system
Cons: nothing
"I bought the Halfords 420L Roof Box to replace my old Halfords Roof Box which I had for 15years of trouble free us.
This new one seems to me to be as good if not better than the old one, so I am looking forward to another 15years use.
I can recommend it to anyone wanting a good quality easy to fit Roof Box.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? ISLE OF WIGHT
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
September 14, 2013
By Regan80
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: quality
"This is a large box which is easy to fit. It is quite flimsy and is difficult to open otherwise great value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ok, but be prepared to buy a 2nd key.,
September 04, 2013
By sevensprings
from newbury
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: only 1 key
"got it on sale. you get what you pay for.
it is cheap on the hinges and you only get one key.
have to pay to get a 2nd one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
420L Roof Box,
August 09, 2013
By Humbert
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does exactly what it says on the tin - good value and easy to fit solo."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 420 Roof box,
August 05, 2013
By Ben25
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We were very happy with this product. It took loads of our lighter camping things in it and survived a huge rain storm and many miles of driving without getting anything wet. It was pretty straight forward to put on the car. It did need a second person to hold the bolt part from underneath while someone else leaned into the box to screw it on. We had no difficulty opening and closing the box and reaching in to get stuff out. The opening is limited so we just put the lighter things in. No problems at all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful For Family Holiday,
August 05, 2013
By Mick2013
from Bromley
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the additional space
Cons: the unpainted finish
"This roof box does the job satisfactorily, and provided a second 'boot' for our recent family holiday. Its possible to fit this box single-handedly if you're of average fitness and have a decent amount of patience. The box didn't cause any noise or drag whilst travelling at typical speeds on the motorway. My only criticism is that the product is let down by its unpainted finish, making it appear unnecessarily cheap and plastic looking."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
product is great,
August 04, 2013
By derka
from peterlee co/durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cip at front, locks in multi places with one key turn
"i bought this roof box as a last minute thing as I was going to france and was let down with a one I was lending, its was a good investment as I got everthing I wanted in with 5 people travelling ,its strong and robust and even has a clip to stop the wind from lifting
the front ,its light enough for one person to lift and fit recommended to anyone
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
average,
August 04, 2013
By seahag
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"have borrowed a thule top box before and was good quality this one ok but seems a bit flimsy on the hinges like they say you get what you pay for but it does the job for the price. got it at sale price which is about what it is worth if had payed full price think it would have gone back. check it out before you buy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product and service,
July 28, 2013
By Vene
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product and value for money as purchased in the sale."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>