Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 420L Roof Box

The Halfords 420L Roof Box is full width to give you plenty of extra storage space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.356 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
34
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
0
68 of 71(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Review 1 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good price and easy to use,
July 04, 2015
By Cat80
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The box is easy to open and close and is bigger inside that it looks for the outside. A little tardis really. Is a bit flimsy but works and does the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plastic fantastic,
June 10, 2015
By Denimd
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Box seems a bit flimsy but once fitted was sturdy and had good internal space. Easy to fit but not for over 75 cm between bars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
extra boot,
June 10, 2015
By jas2412
from northlanarkshire scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: locking system
Cons: front fasting lever
" i bought the 420l expecting to get two 15kg holdalls in it but it holds a 20kg case as well,lids looks flimsly at first but when closed and locked is ok good value for the price,the bonus is it was fitted by expert "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Difficult to open / close, not suitable for C-Max post 2010,
May 16, 2015
By Boggles
from Kent
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: secure once shut, easy to take off, easy to put on, good size, seems sturdy, very good price
Cons: difficult to open, difficult to shut, can not initially fit without tools for cmax, instructions useless, requires drilling, difficult to lock / unlock, you are given tape to cover up pre drilled holes, flimsy key
" This is a budget box, and does exactly what it needs to do, but you should be aware;
The lock is very difficult to unlock and lock.
The box is very difficult to open, you need to use force, and cannot be easily shut.
The instructions are not good and should be thrown before reading to avoid confusion.
Opening and closing a roof box are essential for a roof box, even if the box is a budget box. This should be looked at.
However it is very straight forward to install (once you have done it a couple of times), which redeems it.
The biggest issue for us was that this box was recommended for our car from the Halfords website. We entered our registration number to ensure that we got the correct roof box. This box came up, however is not compatiable without drilling out new holes thus voiding the warranty, but as the next box up costs much more, we decided that it was worth voiding.
It would have been helpful though if pilot holes were drilled, or at least marked on the box. We can't be the only ones who have bought a CMax.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
short commings,
February 18, 2015
By baz48
from England, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My only complaint would be the click locking system; in essence you need two people to fix them; in that the U bolt fixing has to be held in place while the click fixing is fitted. I also feel that the ability to tighten the bolts would be a bonus. Additionally, the fact that it is suggested that these fixing require checking at regular intervals is disturbing "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goes well on Citroen C3,
February 02, 2015
By Paul1nKent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Fitting service was great and box is very useful. It has enabled us to delay the purchase of a bigger car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 420l roof box,
January 06, 2015
By Muwit
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" No frills but does the job just fine. Seems a little flimsy when open but very sturdy when closed. No additional wind noise or impact on speed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good roof box, great value.,
December 19, 2014
By TankOwner
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: space, price, quality
" This is a relatively large roof box at a great price compared to "prestige" brands. It feels a little bit flimsy, but seems robust enough in reality, and I've had no problems with water ingress even driving at motorway speeds in torrential rain. With a set of Halfords roof bars, wind noise is negligible.
It can be fitted by one person using a bit of ingenuity: some wood blocks to hold the U-bolt in place while fitting the nuts. You do need something to stand on (a low garden wall in my case) to reach the far set of nuts, though, and it helps to be tall with long arms! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good size,
September 11, 2014
By lindseyjemma
from Stourbridge, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the size
Cons: the instructions
" This roof box is biggerthan ecpected so its good value for money. The fitting instructions are awful as they is just a small picture which doesnt tell you much. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value box,
September 08, 2014
By Adros88
from Southampton, Southampton, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great value
" Bought this at the last minute before a camping trip. Fitted new bars and the box in 15minutes, really easy. It does feel a bit cheap and flimsy but it performed very well. I'm really pleased with it. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHAMPTON (WINCHESTER RD)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value Roof Box,
September 05, 2014
By markbirdy
from Cardiff, Cardiff, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good price compared to some, ease of fitting, large capacity
Cons: lock can be hard to close when very full
" Purchased this roof box in a hurry on the day we were going away and was very pleased. It was easy to fit even though we had unusual pre-fitted roof bars on our Peugeot 807. It held a surprising amount of stuff and we hardly noticed it was on (very little wind noise). "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? CARDIFF (NEWPORT RD)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great family value- suitable for smaller families,
August 29, 2014
By AndrewMakepeace
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great value for money product bought at short notice due to family trip to Brittany + 1000 miles in total round trip.
Placed mostly clothes & 2 large bags of groceries.
No discernible loss of power - handling remained reasonable during the trip.
Left it on- unpacked during the two week period - no problems as a result.
Only challenge was the wind during highway driving on France with no wind cover - felt slight swaying.
I overall recommended - but wished I had bought the slightly larger version
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Halfords 420L Roof Box,
August 29, 2014
By woody7841
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the locking feature
" The box arrives well packaged to prevent any damage.
On opening the package you will find all the parts you need to attach the roof box to your vehicles roof bars. The parts are all of good quality.
The instructions are easy to follow however it would have been helpful if they state the size of the spanner/socket needed.
The roof box itself is a good size and again made of good quality plastic, there is ample room. The locking of this box has a key that can not be removed if the box is open which is a great feature.
Overall a very good quality roof box and great value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? HULL (CLOUGH RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good size and good price,
August 24, 2014
By Andy49
from Barnsley, South Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good space, price, size
" Used it recently on a camping trip to the lakes. The kids love the extra storage, and more room in the back of the car.
I recommend this product. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Expert - three times a year
Which Store did you visit? BARNSLEY (HARBOROUGH HILL)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bigger than my boot!,
August 20, 2014
By LittleBoot
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this almost at the last minute for a UK holiday this year. 3 people and a cage of animals in a Citroen C2 leaves less than half the (already very small) boot space left. This box did the job nicely, swallowing up all the bags. The box seems very slightly flimsy when open, but when closed is sturdy, locks well and driving at normal motorway speeds was no problem. Wish I had bought one last year! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top box 420ltr,
August 09, 2014
By howey150
from Darlington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good box gave us lots of extra space and easy to pack.
5 people camping is a lot of gear in a mondeo
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Camping
Which Store did you visit? DARLINGTON
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roof box,
August 06, 2014
By Gunnerplumber
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: sturdiness, easy fitting, easy n strong locking mechanism, low noise
Cons: none did as we expected
" We brought this product before going away on holiday to torquay. The extra space it gave us was perfect, with us being a family of six in a zafira it was surprising how much extra room it allowed us and noise was minimal at 70mph, very sturdy n solid when closed easy to lock n open very easy to fit just requures a two person lift due to size being awkward to handle alone, would definitely recommend it if extra space is what is required, we drove from scunthorpe north lincs to Torquay n back with no problems "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
August 06, 2014
By Sodaedwin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this roof box for extra space as our car is not big enough for a family of 4 going away on week holiday. The extra space was almost as big as a small car boot space. We managed to fit all the extra bags, toys and scooters with not problem. The only tricky part was locking it, which takes a little bit of getting used to. One has to make sure they align all the locking points properly before it locks and sometimes it takes 2 people to achieve this.
Overall 5 stars from me on space and value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 420L Roof Box,
August 06, 2014
By Shirehorse62
from Ormskirk, Ormskirk, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: cost
Cons: flimsy
" Excellent value roof box. Box is on the flimsy side but once locked is sound. After fitting the first time you can put on the car in 10 mins. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Cycling
Which Store did you visit? ORMSKIRK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to Use,
August 01, 2014
By glennp11
from Preston, Preston, Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This is a very easy to fit, full width roofbox. The new style fasteners are so much easier to use. Push it onto the 'U' bolt, twist & lock. Done!! Loads of space inside. Can be difficult to reach right into far side if you are not very tall. Felt very solid on motorway at 70mph. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
Which Store did you visit? PRESTON
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>