Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Halfords 420L Roof Box

The Halfords 420L Roof Box is full width to give you plenty of extra storage space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (84 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
40
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
0
78 of 81(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Review 1 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does What it Says,
August 28, 2015
By
from Wiltshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size
" Ryan of Halfords in Trowbridge fitted the Roof Box as soon as I arrived. The fitter was pleasant and informative. Fitting took about 20 mins. I decided to remove the box complete with the roof bars, this saved a lot of time both removing and refitting for the next trip.The roof box works well, very small amount of wind noise. The locking mechanism worked well. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lots of room and easy to install,
August 18, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good value for money. Also very good service from Halfords as I booked another smaller box online for collection, when I got to the store for some reason they did not have it so got this one instead at the lower price. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? ST. ALBANS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made packing much easier!!,
August 18, 2015
By
from Northampton, Northampton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Having 2 small boys and going away for a week near the beaches of The Gower, we needed a lot of stuff. This made it so much easier, would definitely recommend. Be careful when ordering online though, as there were some "feet" that we should have been advised to order for fitting, that didn't show up on the website. Luckily this was noticed by the chap at Halfords so he got some in just in time for us. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WELLINGBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ugly, but does the job,
August 18, 2015
By
from Oxford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this product as my family + 2 dogs meant we have very little room in the car for luggage. It was the least expensive option for the space and already had Halfords roof bars.
The box is not the most attractive on the market and I would recommend peeling off the cheap Halfords sticker.
Overall though it did the job and nothing got wet even on 4 hour trip through heavy rain. Satisfied.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good little box,
August 17, 2015
By
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Hugh space but awkward shape as most of them are, good quality plastic but locks are a bit stiff. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stood up to the test!,
August 08, 2015
By
from Solihull
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This was a last minute purchase because we were taking extra family members. The price was right but would it stand daily use for two weeks on the beach? It sailed through the test.
I set it up easily and quickly got the hang of locking it. My first load for the journey down was modest in order to get any impact on my driving. The rest of the time it was fully filled, enough body boarding, sandcastling, and beach games for six people. It performed very well with no lock or closing issues at all. Coming back it remained packed as if for the beach and never interfered with driving performance.
It passed the test with flying colours.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SHIRLEY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bargain roof box,
August 04, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Roof racks and roof box are a new concept to me, but my family and I benefit from it so much on our camping trip. I did not feel much difference driving my car on motorways when roof box was fully loaded. Despite on the lower scale of princing, the product fulfilled its intended purpose: carry extra things.
Have to get used to opening and closing the box, but you get the hang of it after a few times opening & closing it. Good value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? BRACKNELL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
August 03, 2015
By
from Aberdeen, Aberdeen City, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Bought this in an an emergency, having not received a superior product purchased online in time for our holiday. Was pleased with how well it served the purpose. Too early to comment on durability etc, but no obvious problems at the moment. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Good product, lousy service,
July 25, 2015
By
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" The product is fine, given the price. It is a bit flimsy but works OK and is easy to install.
The service from Halfords was rubbish though. Used click and collect, was told the item was ready in the store but it wasn't when I went to collect. So had to order it and wait a week, and go back to collect. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 420L Roof Box,
July 23, 2015
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spring loaded arms keeps the box open hands free
Cons: two person fitting due to tricky mounting brackets
" This roof box is pretty good. I don;t have any frame of reference as it's my first though!
I would recommend this to people with a 5 door hatchback and a toddler/new born. All the extra stuff you have to take on holiday with you is covered with this roof box.
I found I could comfortably fit a second boot full of stuff in the roof box.
I know it says 420ltr...my boot is 360ltrs but due to the shape of the roof box (narrow nose and sloping sides I would estimate the real world space at closer to 350ltrs. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the box,
July 22, 2015
By
from Fethiye, Fethiye/Muğla, Turkey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to fit and remove, contents are top box are secure, water proof, fits none halfords bars
" Fitted by Halfords to non Halfords bars with no issues. Definitely strong enough for the job its designed to do. Cavernous, Waterproof. Some additional wind noise but that intrusive or unexpected. No effect on handling. In all an easy way to increase carrying capacity. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CANTERBURY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good price and easy to use,
July 04, 2015
By
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" The box is easy to open and close and is bigger inside that it looks for the outside. A little tardis really. Is a bit flimsy but works and does the job. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Novice
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (YORK RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Plastic fantastic,
June 10, 2015
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Box seems a bit flimsy but once fitted was sturdy and had good internal space. Easy to fit but not for over 75 cm between bars. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? NUNEATON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
extra boot,
June 10, 2015
By
from northlanarkshire scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: locking system
Cons: front fasting lever
" i bought the 420l expecting to get two 15kg holdalls in it but it holds a 20kg case as well,lids looks flimsly at first but when closed and locked is ok good value for the price,the bonus is it was fitted by expert "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Expert
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? LIVINGSTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Difficult to open / close, not suitable for C-Max post 2010,
May 16, 2015
By
from Kent
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: secure once shut, easy to take off, easy to put on, good size, seems sturdy, very good price
Cons: difficult to open, difficult to shut, can not initially fit without tools for cmax, instructions useless, requires drilling, difficult to lock / unlock, you are given tape to cover up pre drilled holes, flimsy key
" This is a budget box, and does exactly what it needs to do, but you should be aware;
The lock is very difficult to unlock and lock.
The box is very difficult to open, you need to use force, and cannot be easily shut.
The instructions are not good and should be thrown before reading to avoid confusion.
Opening and closing a roof box are essential for a roof box, even if the box is a budget box. This should be looked at.
However it is very straight forward to install (once you have done it a couple of times), which redeems it.
The biggest issue for us was that this box was recommended for our car from the Halfords website. We entered our registration number to ensure that we got the correct roof box. This box came up, however is not compatiable without drilling out new holes thus voiding the warranty, but as the next box up costs much more, we decided that it was worth voiding.
It would have been helpful though if pilot holes were drilled, or at least marked on the box. We can't be the only ones who have bought a CMax.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to Car Maintenance: Enthusiast
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
short commings,
February 18, 2015
By
from England, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" My only complaint would be the click locking system; in essence you need two people to fix them; in that the U bolt fixing has to be held in place while the click fixing is fitted. I also feel that the ability to tighten the bolts would be a bonus. Additionally, the fact that it is suggested that these fixing require checking at regular intervals is disturbing "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Goes well on Citroen C3,
February 02, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Fitting service was great and box is very useful. It has enabled us to delay the purchase of a bigger car. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 420l roof box,
January 06, 2015
By
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" No frills but does the job just fine. Seems a little flimsy when open but very sturdy when closed. No additional wind noise or impact on speed. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good roof box, great value.,
December 19, 2014
By
from Cambridge, Cambridge, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: space, price, quality
" This is a relatively large roof box at a great price compared to "prestige" brands. It feels a little bit flimsy, but seems robust enough in reality, and I've had no problems with water ingress even driving at motorway speeds in torrential rain. With a set of Halfords roof bars, wind noise is negligible.
It can be fitted by one person using a bit of ingenuity: some wood blocks to hold the U-bolt in place while fitting the nuts. You do need something to stand on (a low garden wall in my case) to reach the far set of nuts, though, and it helps to be tall with long arms! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good size,
September 11, 2014
By
from Stourbridge, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the size
Cons: the instructions
" This roof box is biggerthan ecpected so its good value for money. The fitting instructions are awful as they is just a small picture which doesnt tell you much. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: First time camper (not in a festival)
Which Store did you visit? MERRY HILL
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>