Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Roof Boxes or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Halfords 420L Roof Box

The Halfords 420L Roof Box is full width to give you plenty of extra storage space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
25
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
49 of 51(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 81 Answers
Customer Reviews for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Review 1 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money,
July 06, 2014
By supachris28
from Nottingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does the trick nicely.
Good features:
- toolless fitting, just uses thumbscrews to attach (stops you over tightening and breaking it)
- locking hinges, keep the lid up
- front lock, extra clip to stop it popping open at speed
- extra stickers, instructions didn't mention these but I used them to block up the unused fitting holes from the outside to stop water getting in
Mine came with 2 keys, some reviewers say they've only got 1."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords roof box,
January 01, 2014
By Diamondsuzie
from Gosport
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent, provided much needed space over the Christmas holidays and felt everything was secure and safe."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Camper: Enthusiast - once or twice a year
Which Store did you visit? GOSPORT
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Rate Top Box,
December 29, 2013
By Pat530
from Isle of Wight
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: locking system
Cons: nothing
"I bought the Halfords 420L Roof Box to replace my old Halfords Roof Box which I had for 15years of trouble free us.
This new one seems to me to be as good if not better than the old one, so I am looking forward to another 15years use.
I can recommend it to anyone wanting a good quality easy to fit Roof Box.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Other hobbies: Boating
Which Store did you visit? ISLE OF WIGHT
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money,
September 14, 2013
By Regan80
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price
Cons: quality
"This is a large box which is easy to fit. It is quite flimsy and is difficult to open otherwise great value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 3
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ok, but be prepared to buy a 2nd key.,
September 04, 2013
By sevensprings
from newbury
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: only 1 key
"got it on sale. you get what you pay for.
it is cheap on the hinges and you only get one key.
have to pay to get a 2nd one.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWBURY
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
420L Roof Box,
August 09, 2013
By Humbert
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does exactly what it says on the tin - good value and easy to fit solo."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (HORWICH)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 420 Roof box,
August 05, 2013
By Ben25
from Bristol
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We were very happy with this product. It took loads of our lighter camping things in it and survived a huge rain storm and many miles of driving without getting anything wet. It was pretty straight forward to put on the car. It did need a second person to hold the bolt part from underneath while someone else leaned into the box to screw it on. We had no difficulty opening and closing the box and reaching in to get stuff out. The opening is limited so we just put the lighter things in. No problems at all."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (BATH RD)
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Useful For Family Holiday,
August 05, 2013
By Mick2013
from Bromley
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the additional space
Cons: the unpainted finish
"This roof box does the job satisfactorily, and provided a second 'boot' for our recent family holiday. Its possible to fit this box single-handedly if you're of average fitness and have a decent amount of patience. The box didn't cause any noise or drag whilst travelling at typical speeds on the motorway. My only criticism is that the product is let down by its unpainted finish, making it appear unnecessarily cheap and plastic looking."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
product is great,
August 04, 2013
By derka
from peterlee co/durham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: cip at front, locks in multi places with one key turn
"i bought this roof box as a last minute thing as I was going to france and was let down with a one I was lending, its was a good investment as I got everthing I wanted in with 5 people travelling ,its strong and robust and even has a clip to stop the wind from lifting
the front ,its light enough for one person to lift and fit recommended to anyone
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? HARTLEPOOL
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
average,
August 04, 2013
By seahag
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"have borrowed a thule top box before and was good quality this one ok but seems a bit flimsy on the hinges like they say you get what you pay for but it does the job for the price. got it at sale price which is about what it is worth if had payed full price think it would have gone back. check it out before you buy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product and service,
July 28, 2013
By Vene
from Shropshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Excellent product and value for money as purchased in the sale."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? HEREFORD
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Value & Great Product,
July 24, 2013
By atmagee123
from Northern Ireland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: lots of space, easy to install
"We decided to purchase this Roof Box based on the value it was being offered at. I looked around and priced some premium models however I could not really see a great difference in quality to justify the extra spend.
With the 420L we have plenty of room for all our bag's and cases and then some, even throwing the pram up there to save space in the car. Build quality is strong, yet there is flexibility when opened but not so much that you would feel it could easily break. Hinges and locks are great, we have had boxes in the past where the hinges gave way quickly and we had to prop the lid open but so far so good. I also like that this box comes with straps allowing you to secure whatever you are carrying to prevent any movement. Installing is very simple, not impossible on your own but easier with two people.
Over all this is a great purchase, I had doubts to begin with given the price but have not been led down. Would highly recommend."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LISBURN
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great extra space,
July 23, 2013
By Deminotaur
from Chester
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Attaches easily to roof bars. Universal so fits both our cars. I bought thru quidco and got a great deal. Gives masses of extra space so no need for a full car on camping holidays. Not the most robust roof box but for the price I can't complain it's a really good edition to our camping kit!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (SOUTH)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
July 23, 2013
By PaulJG
from Sale
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Does what it says on the tin!
The quality isn't amazing; however, considering how often it will get used, it's good value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ALTRINCHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent good value product,
July 22, 2013
By Stoz21
from Nottingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought product from halfords chilwell Nottingham. The staff were very helpful and ensured I got the best value product. I would highly recommend product. Went on family camping trip and the box provided plenty of additional storage. The box remained secure throughout trip including motorway travel. No complaints."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHILWELL - NOTTINGHAM
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend altho a bit flmsy,
July 21, 2013
By Lurgangirl
from N.Ireland
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Not as much room as i expected fitted in 2 medium suitcases and a holdall and had to move them about to get the lid clsed and secured. Also box felt a bit flimsy but all in all it served its purpose and we got on holidays wit everything we needed. Would recommend it on the price alone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
July 21, 2013
By nickc43
from leicester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: side opening
"Easy to fit on to car, great price aswell, side opening makes it easier to load,"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (PUTNEY RD)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Halfords 420L Roof Box,
July 20, 2013
By jrobinson3
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Excellent product - functional - easy to fit - does what is says on the tin!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product has a fitting size limit,
July 17, 2013
By Stuart467
from Fife
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Box itself was fine, however what was not mentioned on the web site was that the maximum distance (front to back) that the fittings will accommodate is 75cm.
Unfortunately that means it would not fit my Zafira.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Halfords 420L Roof Box
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
halfords 420L roof box,
July 17, 2013
By markmc44
from hersham, surrey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The product was exactly as is looked online, they fitted it at the store which was quick as well. very impressed with the roof box so far."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BYFLEET
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>