Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier

The Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier accomodates two bikes on the roof of your car
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
16 of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beware with larger bikes,
December 11, 2013
By Daveo83
from Cumbria uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: very secure and one key fits all locks
Cons: instructions are useless
"Very nicely made and great value however one of our bikes is a large full Susser which only just fit on. The instructions are clear as mud the picture on the box was much more use than the written instructions.
Honestly thinking 2.2 tyres are about as wide as it will comfortably hold and certain frame designs probably won't sit in very well"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? WORKINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good,
September 07, 2013
By CCFC87
from Aldershot
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to fit with the T track system, there has been a lot of negativity with regards to unlocking the bikes with the key being on the inside but with the allan key that is provided its easy to flip the lock to the other side. good product for the price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? FARNBOROUGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not purchase this product!!,
August 15, 2013
By Willipedia
from Rugby UK
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: the fact that halfords took it back
Cons: see above
"I purchased these carriers and returned them!!
The channel for resting the bikes in is far to shallow and to short. It is impossible to hold the bike and raise the clamp to the down tube without tilting it to pass the front chain rings, at that point there is a real danger of the bike falling out of the shallow channel.
If the chocks are not attached, there is a danger of the bike rolling of the channel, if the chocks are attached you cannot roll the bike back or forward because the channel is to short. At this point you are holding the bike with one hand as you try to negotiate the down tube in, and then you still have to hold the bike and screw the some what fiddly handle until the clamp tightens enough to let the bike go.
Once fully loaded and all strapped down( with assistance) invariably you will find the front chock has dislodged the end cap of the channel.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier,
August 10, 2013
By Stationroader
from Westcliff, Essex
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the ability to carry two bikes
Cons: fiddly to install
"Once it's fitted, it's fine, although the couplings to the front have very little thread to play with once fixed. I was always worried about it coming loose and depositing the bike on the A12!
The mechanism is quite complex to install first time, but is quite ingenious. The main bonus is having two independent mounts."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHEND
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
More security than Halfords own brand,
July 01, 2013
By DuncanN
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: better security than halfords own brand
Cons: unclear instructions
"I recommend this over the Halfords cycle roof carrier as the Halfords one only locks into a very thin piece of plastic that could be easily broken by hand in seconds. Obviously no bike carrier offers full security but this locks into metal so offers a better deterrent. Also, there are some review on this that say that the locks on one side face into the centre of the roof. This is incorrect as they can be reversed. I suspect the users didn't know this as the instructions are in diagram form only and very unclear, but if you look at the very first instruction that's what it's showing. Thanks to other reviewers who mentioned about the end caps falling off, the do see very loose so I'll be adding some gaffer tape to secure them."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike carrier but watch the wheel clamps when no bike attached,
June 23, 2013
By Captain15chaos
from Banbury
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very secure, good value, easy to fit
Cons: wheel camps fall off when no bike attached, nothing to tell how to convert to opposite hand
"Very easy to assemble and fit on the car, great that one key does both carriers and you get 4 keys i also found you can easily turn around the bars on one carrier to make it opposite hand for lock access, which would be useful if mentioned in instructions!. Easily to lift bike on and secure and believe me with my driving style it is very secure!!
I have owned these now for 6 months and about to buy another pair to carry 4 bikes I am very happy and would fully recommend. Although I always remove the wheel clamps on a empty carrier as I have fell victim and found myself searching the grass verge when I heard it fall off along with the end cap!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? BANBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unsafe for Mountain Bikes,
June 16, 2013
By 2Disappointed2
from Scotland
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: nothing
Cons: it is unsafe
"Do not buy this carrier if you have a full size mountain bike. The tracks are only 4 cm wide so a 5cm tyre gets no supprt from them. They are also 15 cms shorter than my previous carrier and the anchors perch on the very end of the tracks. This is dangerous. Despite my carrier being fitted by Halford's staff, one of the anchors came off the end of the track and the bike slewed over onto the other bike. If it had slewed the other way it could have killed someone."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? ELGIN
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Roof rack,
June 14, 2013
By TheDaddy2013
from Altrincham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: bacon
Cons: rain
"v easy to fit, supports bikes well and at a good price. What else do you want.......Boom"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? SOUTHPORT
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor poor poor,
June 11, 2013
By nur1442
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: nothing really
"Must say, very disappointed with these carriers. I thought that getting two for the same price as one Thule was a no brainer, indeed I was wrong. Although they do do the job, eventually, the hassle that comes with them is not worth the saving. My biggest issue is the fact that even though they come as a pair, there isn't a left and right version which means on one of them you cant see the lock on the upright clamp and you have to try and guess where the keyhole is. Also, you cant remove the keys while they are unlocked which is a real hassle as you have to unlock-open-lock-remove key-attach bike-insert key-unlock-close-lock-remove key. Loads of faffing! The actual rail doesn't really fit MTB's tyres properly and the only way I could get the wheen clamp straps to actually clamp in was to let both the tyres down. Again, faffing. Also two of the wheel clamps are again the wrong way round so you cannot easily see how they insert or release them! And lastly, I think, the plastic stoppers at the end of the rails keep falling out constantly and one has been lost completely."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so easy to put together,
June 10, 2013
By jomumof2
from bradford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Cycle carriers were a replacement for another product purchased from another store, which were very tricky to assemble. Exodus ones were very quick to assemble and easy to use. Brilliants buy!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for money,
June 09, 2013
By Madd0g1970
from Loughborough
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: style and quality
Cons: instructions for fitting on wing bars
"Good quality bike rack. Instructions for wing bars a little complicated but the halfords team showed me the proper way to fit with adapter."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? LOUGHBOROUGH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Bike Rack,
June 03, 2013
By slarson
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Well made, kept bikes very secure, good value for money"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Awful,
June 01, 2013
By dazzla1
from bognor
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: look good
Cons: everything, locks both on the same side, stoppers fall out too easily, wheels not supported, locks don't release keys, the bike support doesn't stand up
"I am very disappointed with the exodus twin pack roof mount cycle carrier. Why? Firstly what you get for the money: I purchased a supposedly inferior set for my previous car for £10 less, including the roof bars, yet did not have the same problems; namely:
1: that the black spacers fell out and were lost (2 of the four: luckily we did not lose the wheel securers as well).
2: that one of the locks is virtually inaccessible becuase it faces the inside of the roof: why on Earth do they not have a left and a right set is beyond me: unfortunately if you look closely at the photo, it is clear that this is the case.
3: the locking grip frot he bike's frame doesn't stand on its own: this is ridiculous and means you have to hold the bike and move the grip at the same time
4: the runners are too small for standard moutain bike tyres: they don't slot into a grove like cheaper models: instead the wheels sit on top of the runner and are prone to slipping. This,again causes issues when trying to place bikes onto the carriers.
5: The lock doesn't release until it is locked.
All in all, I would not recommend these."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHICHESTER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good, but maybe not for 29'ers,
May 22, 2013
By BornAgainMAMIL
from Malton, North Yorkshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: good locks all four keys match, light and solid cosntruction
Cons: key retained while lock is open, a bit short for 29'ers, end caps fall off (had to glue them in)
"They came mostly assembled but I had to dismantle one to make it opposite handed in order to be able to use it. Locks are good but a little annoying as they retain the key when they are in the open position so your car keys end up scratching your roof. The brackets for square roof bars fall out of the mounting plate (I added a tie wrap to prevent this), the lever mechanism is otherwise easy to use so removal and refitting to your roof rack is straight forward. My 2013 Rockhopper 29'er only just fits, the wheel straps are only just on the channel (15mm each end) which added to the setup time as I had to test fit and re-adjust several times, all this involves lifting your bike (with nice sharp pedals and sprockets) above your head and the nice paint work of your car, I recommend getting a friend to help with this initial setup. When mounted, the bike seems a little wobbly, although friends who have other brands say theirs were the same, due to my own paranoia, I also take the extra precaution of looping a tie down ratchet strap over the top tube of the bike and around the roof rack."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? YORK
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus twin pack roof cycle carrier,
May 19, 2013
By IMHO
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: alloy look, easy fit
Cons: bit tricky to lift bike onto high rack
"Good price for these twin carriers.
Reasonably easy to assemble and fit but directions were a bit vague.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Which Store did you visit? CROYDON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Value,
March 04, 2013
By Plod32
from watford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality build
"Perfect for carrying my two bikes away this easter, well made and sturdy"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? WATFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Practical,
February 25, 2013
By Mx5claret
from North Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of fitting to roof bars
Cons: assembly instructions could be easier to follow
"Assembly straight forward once I mastered the pictures only instructions!! My bike is quite heavy but seems secure when fitted. I found that securing the front wheel with a strap to stop it swinging made fitting the bike to the carrier much easier. Removing the carrier from the bars takes seconds and is cleverly designed"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bike rack,
January 14, 2013
By stoosh
from scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very good product easy to install and quick to get on the car."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exodus twin pack,
January 12, 2013
By Bren97
from Somerset
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to install
Cons: locking bar not quite long enough for my bike., the locking catch on the bar doesn't look like it
"Held my bikes very securely for trip to Alps. Not sure how secure the locking device would be to a determined thief so I added a cycle lock. Noted the previous comments about the end caps coming off mine haven't yet but they aren't very secure. Not sure how long the locking catch on the bar will last."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Exodus Twin Pack Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty Good Value,
June 04, 2012
By Davie1888
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy build, decent price, fully adjustable
Cons: watch the end pieces, could do with being a bit longer to suit big bikes
"These were a doddle to assemble, believe me as I opened the box two weeks earlier but abandoned fitting due to my three yeard old running around me and when I went back to it I couldn't find the instructions but managed to cobble them together regardless.
Fitment wise they suited my wifes bike better than mine, she's running a pretty small womens bike whereas i'm running a 20" frame MTB and i tihnk i'm right on the limits of what these bars can carry, they require some adjustment to get the best fit to suit each bikes frame geometry which i would advise you do off the car with the bike upside down, set it up to suit and then fit to the roof bars but mins and measure your roof bar centres before tightening everything up.
Only thing i would advise is not to leave the wheel clips on the bars when driving if you've not got a bike on them I found with heavy breaking etc they move around on the bars and may end up knocking off the plastic end pieces which you would merrily see bouncing down the road in front of you.
All in pretty good value though and the frame clamp seems to hold the bike pretty securely and with both the bars and the frame clamp locking it should prevent most scrotes trying to steal them, but lets face it if they really want it they'll get it no matter what you do!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.