Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Carriers & Bike Racks or
Choose a Category

Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier

The Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier transports bikes with a wheel diameter from 20 inches.
Average Customer Rating:
3.25 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Review 1 for Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this item,
April 16, 2014
By O2kanobe
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: quality
Cons: rubbish
"Bought this yesterday and returned today along with bars and fastenings, the rails which the wheels of your bike sit on are too short by about two I inches, this in turn dislodges the shoes which the wheel is supposed to sit, the bar which secures the cycle to the carrier is to short making this product dangerous, do not buy this , save your money and buy a Thule carrier, it may be a little more expensive but will be a safer option."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CORBY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
avoid - looking to replace,
December 01, 2013
By rob0806
from Devon UK
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Cannot recommend this product. Am worried every time I have the bike on the roof - the clamp is quite wobbly (laterally) and consequently the bike moves around a bit.
There are three clasps which 'secure' the carrier to the roof bars - one locks and feels completely secure. The other two do not lock and work slightly loose - consequently I keep having to tighten them before every journey. While I don't think they would ever fail completely, I'd be far happier if they all locked shut.
The end caps, as almost everyone has said, fall off; mine are now 'secured' with gaffer tape - I really should have taken it back for a refund.
On the plus side, the bike hasn't actually fallen off... it's not terrible, but I worry every time I use it, and would rather have paid more for a sturdier model."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As good as the equally priced Thule,
August 29, 2013
By Wildy1
from Saddleworth
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I now have an exodus and a thule cycle carrier on my roof. Although the thule does seem slightly better quality I cannot complain one bit about the exodus. Used several times without any problems or any of the deficiencies mentioned on earlier reviews.
I always check before leaving the store that all components are in the box, the staff have always been happy to help.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? OLDHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CAUTION,
August 10, 2013
By Taylorp74
from Coatbridge, Lanarkshire
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: thule, exodus price, thule quality
Cons: exodus, thule price, exodus quality
"Please be careful before buying this or you may be disappointed. I've now had to return 2 to the store, the first one had been opened and bits were missing, the second one I "thought" was complete until I more or less finished fitting it. Te image on the box does not reflect the product accurately as there is no black end caps on the base rail. These were also approx 5cm too small in length for my diamondback mountain bike. The wheel straps are made of cheap plastic and I wonder if that's maybe why the first box had been opened and 1 of these was missing. Sorry but I would rather pay more for the Thule 591 and I did so and don't regret the extra expenditure as they are FAR superior."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Which Store did you visit? AIRDRIE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good,
August 07, 2013
By PM999
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cons: having to leave keys in to tighten locks
"Loads better than maessing about with a boot mounted bike rack."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good but missing some finishing touches,
February 14, 2013
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've not had mine long but I am very impressed.
I changed from halfords high rise rear bike rack to find someting that was easier to fit with my oversized frame Carrera Kraken.
Pro's:
When used with the Exodus areo bars it is very easy to fit.
It comes with brackets that fit any square roof bars but also T adapters for the bolts that simply slide in to bars that accept them. If you can get bars that accept T bolts then I'd recommend getting them. Along with shaped ( areo ) bars to prevent noise whilst driving.
Short bolts for T bars and long bracket bolts are included. Make sure you use the right ones or clamps wont close correctly. The bolts actually fit into a square bit if plastic making them T shaped that you can slide in.
I also have a 16" Cars 2 universal bike for my girl that has a chuncky frame. Halfords didn't sell me the bike or see it but advised that it wouldn't fit a typical 16" wheel bike due to a small frame but it fits perfectly. So very lucky I got a chuncky frame childs bike.
I'm now going to get the twin pack carrier.
Exodus are actually made by Thurle too so is good quality.
Cons:
The only niggle really is the end caps as other people have mentioned.
They really should have some clip of some sort to stop them from poping out. Think I'll put some insulating tape around the inside that slots in to make it harder to come out.
When taking the wheel ties off, they come off with them.
One other thing...
I can imagine being a little annoyed if I had square bars that didn't accept T bolts and end up with loose brakets when taken off. Keep it simple if you can and get bars that accept the T botls.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value product,
October 20, 2012
By InvernessColin
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this in May 12 from Inverness store. One of the wheel straps had snapped. This was replaced without question. I recently lost one of the plastic end stops (as per other review - they are very loose). Again reported this to staff in Inverness and within a few days I received a full set from manufacturer. Excellent service - very happy!!! However, I may need to come up with something to stop this happening again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Exodus Roof Mount Cycle Carrier
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mostly good, few Niggles,
September 24, 2012
By Wezard
from Bristol, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: security of bike attachment, aluminium won't rust, lockable
Cons: loose end caps and straps, overhead clamp adjustment every time, keys fixed in locks while adjusting clamps, easily lost roof bar brackets
"This carrier holds bikes very firmly and copes with the kids 24" MTBs and our full size ones. Unfortunately there are a few minor niggles that make using them a bit less easy than it could. These do not detract from the basic functionality.
Fitting bikes is a bit of a faff as you have to loosen the clamps off to fit the bikes and then tighten them when they are in (6-turns appears to be about right). This is a stretch overhead and you can't easily remove the keys while the locks are unlocked to make this easier.
The endcaps are liable to come loose and if they do then you will lose the straps as well. I recommend you use some black tape to stick the end caps on if you will leave these on the car.
If you take the carriers off then some of the roof bar brackets are liable to get lost as they are not fixed to the rack. Also the long bolts supplied are a bit long to use easily with Halfords roof bars and the short ones are too short to get proper thread engagement."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.