Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Sat Nav Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI

Exclusive to Halfords - It's a match made in petrolhead heaven. Packed to the brim with TomTom's congestion crushing HD Traffic & the voice of Jeremy Clarkson himself.
Average Customer Rating:
4.513 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
38 of 39(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Review 1 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
top gear,
March 23, 2013
By madla74
from belfast
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: live services
"top gear sat nav, is very good value for money, you get live services which is great and clarkson giving directions which is amuzing"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BELFAST (LESLEY RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has great features and great price,
February 24, 2013
By andy1952
from Lincoln uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: voice control
Cons: usb conection some time satnav dose not work
"Fantastic item easy to set up. bluetooth also easy to set up and use down loads all contacts so easy to call anybody you know and you can also use voice control navigating and calling."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
February 21, 2013
By KrytonUK
from Erskine
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, live service works great.
"Very happy with this TomTom. Very responsive and easy to use, the Live service works great and has saved me time. Would easily recommend this."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product looks really good.,
November 30, 2012
By Anonymous
from North Wales
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The sat nav was a birthday/xmas present for my son who is really pleased with it. It has some really good features and the graphics are really clear, as are the instructions. All in all a very good product that does exactly what its supposed to and my son is well pleased with it. Many thanks, Clare -x-"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product. Tomtom customer service Great,
November 13, 2012
By Magzleisure
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: spoken road names
Cons: slow to reroute
"I bought this as i work in London and needed something that would update frequently and with up to date traffic info.
I found it relatively easy to use and the images are good and clear. However it takes a long time to find routes and reroute if I miss a junction! Also I have had trouble getting the map updates as it was an ex display model. Tomtom support team are being very helpful and I hope to get it sorted soon.
Overall it's a good product and I haven't got lost yet.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great upgrade from my one xl,
November 03, 2012
By wrxcris
from somerset
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good upgrade from my old one XL
lots of great new options now i can bluetooth to my IPhone able to make calls.
use mainly for the live services that are great for the up to the minute traffic info
ALSO A GREAT TIME TO BUY WITH THE LIFETIME MAPS OFFER
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TomTom NO Go Live 820 Top Gear Edition.,
October 27, 2012
By Daavvee
from Liverpool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: not much
"Brought this as a replacement for TT 1 go live which died,
TT 820 go live was/is complete rubbish, had it for three days
worked First day, Second day no live services, Third day no gps or live services, after speaking with TT customer services ( Who are very good once you get though ) for an hour and tried everything to get it to work but no go,
I took it back to halfords ( Who are very good ) and replaced it with TomTom 825 go live which is Brilliant Faultless so far an Excellent bit of kit. So to sum up DON'T
GO NEAR THE 820 else you will be stuck were you are for ever.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom,
October 19, 2012
By Wizmerlin
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
"Fantastic item although Jezzas jokes wear thin very quickly, still worth it for the opportunity to shout at him, to shut up.
Seriously though, cost 3 times the amount of my first sat nav but well worth the price. I love the way it changes the route I take constantly when the roads are busy, where I used to take 75-90 mins to get home from work, I now do the journey in 60 mins. Would seriously recommend paying that little extra
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great system,
September 06, 2012
By Zedayan
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The unit is very very good quality has all the features I have wanted from a GPS. I liked being able to buy it from the website and then just pick it up in store, avoiding people trying to sell me extra things."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tom tom lead the way.,
May 20, 2012
By john19
from Lichfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the best one yet.
"this is my 3rd tom tom in about 10 years, the other two have been passed on to family and still work as new."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My First Sat Nav,
May 19, 2012
By jepton
from Orpington, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I spent many months looking for a SatNav which did not have any horror reviews (1 or 2 stars). This was the first one I found wot only 4 and 5 star ratings so I bought it. I had great and helpful service from Halfords.
I was not too happy with the initial instructions to upload new maps and software. Some instructions refered to older (HOME) software whilst this device required a newer (My TOMTOM) version.
Halfway through the upgrade the device lost connection with the PC and generated lots of error messages. I was not sure how to recover it and at one stage I thought I had lost everything. This was not a good experience.
Its possible to upload 3rd party Point of Interest files. This process seems very flaky and some of my settings and my Home location gets reset when I do this.
In operation the SatNav does exactly what I would expect. Its a pleasure to use. The Live Services are particularly good advising you of problems and actually showing the problem locations on the map.
The ability to show the whole map of the route and zoom in and out and navigate around it is particularly good, especially when you can show points of interest on the map and then select them for more details.
The Google search is brilliant showing you a list of what you have searched for in order of distance for a defined location.
I would certainly recommend this product.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tomtom 820 live top gear editition uk &roi,
May 07, 2012
By access
from Hartlepool
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"the best TomTom ive owned out of the last four Jermy Clarksons ads a lot of humour.
well worth the extra money.The TomTom is fast toload up and the live services are also quick to load.
The only problem when purchased was having to upload the data,this would be a problem for people who do not have a computer.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement,
April 30, 2012
By NCFC1
from Norwich
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought to replace old sat nav, maps are up to date and easy to download updates, easy to use and program, staff at store very helpful"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pefect for my wife,
April 26, 2012
By DeepEnd
from North West
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this for my wife rather than use the sat nav on her smart phone.
Pro's - Easy to use, good size for handbag (she says) improvement over co-pilot on phone.
Con's The start up guide and website are poor as it immediately forces an update to the unit and then does not go though the full set-up. Was left to sort out the data connection/setup myself - non techie may struggle with this"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great liitle satnav,
April 15, 2012
By frankthepig
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"another great product from tomtom. i Had a few problem when first using the LIVE functions, but that was because of the servers having had a fire recently."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom - top gear,
April 09, 2012
By Essenza1404
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good quality Tom Tom, easy set up. Excellent service from Darren at Halfords Friern Barnet, where I collected it"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product,
March 31, 2012
By fideach
from Western Isles, Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy to operate, clarkson's voice
"First satnav product for me and extremely pleased with it. Does exactly what it says and Clarkson's voice is a bonus. Kids love it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely fantastic,
March 09, 2012
By NemaToad
from Leeds, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"As Tom Tom's go it obviously does exactly what it is supposed to, I find the IQ routes very beneficial as I am constantly updated to which is the best/fastest route to take and to have Jeremy Clarkson interject a bit of humor into my journey with descriptions such as 'You can't miss it, it's a large lump of tarmac full of caravans and traffic cones' for the motorway is purely a bonus."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value,
February 13, 2012
By driver2012
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"gets you from a to b. traffic updates are good, though underestimated jams."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom GO LIVE 820 Top Gear Edition Sat Nav - UK & ROI
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tom tom topgear,
February 02, 2012
By frankenstine
from sidcup kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Got this to replace my old tom tom.Realy good as it says road names.And shows what lane you should be in when leaving M/WAYS.Plus live traffic is good.Plus make sure you get your two year map uppdate within in 90days which is a good price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
12next>>