Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"

The Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike wouldn`t look out of place in a 1940s period piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
53
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
62 of 64(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Review 1 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Eye catching bike,
May 01, 2016
By
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I have enjoyed the bike so far, I have put a wicker basket on it and people stop and admire it! It performs well and is light and easy to use. A pleasure to own. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfortable ride,
January 16, 2016
By
from Oxford, Oxford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Having ridden a mountain bike for the past 25 years I was amazed at how comfortable the change to a sit-up-and-beg style was. Saddle very comfortable and I've added the purpose built basket to the front. 7 gears easy to change and more than enough for village life. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? OXFORD
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike,
December 30, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great Christmas present ever. The Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike 17" it was smooth on the road, and the sit up position did not give me back ache. I will be out and about a lot more. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Christmas Gift for 19 Year Old Daughter,
December 22, 2015
By
from Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought for my daughter for Christmas so not been used yet but I'm very impressed so far. Safe in the store were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Bike looks fantastic. Can't wait to see my daughter's face Christmas day xx "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? THETFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First class bike,
December 22, 2015
By
from Felixstowe, Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Comfortable riding position allows you to keep your head up and keep an eye on the traffic while feeling more relaxed.
Light weight, great gear change and all the better for being one simple gear ratio with ample range for slopes and on the flat.
My wife loves it. A lovely product, well done Victoria!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a bygone age,
December 11, 2015
By
from camelon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the look
Cons: either hamper or lights. cant fit both
" if you want a stylish bike with a piece of nostalga and a modern twist . this is for you. love the picnic basket , shame you cat fit the lights with it. who designed the accessories. pannier looks good. built with light alloy so no heavy unlike the bikes of yesteryear. all's i need is a warm day . and off i go . on a ide back to the bygone days . along the scenic canal paths. taking life at a liesurely pace. bliss "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bike not assembled very well by Halfords,
October 06, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the cycle itself
Cons: parts falling off bike
" Within 1 week of collecting the bike a screw came off the saddle assembly if was ever there and a few days after that a pedal came off whilst the bike was being ridden. Shoddy assembly by Halfords!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? FRIERN BARNET
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good looking bike,
September 19, 2015
By
from surrey uk
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: style
Cons: bit clunky
" I love my bike, it is great for getting you from a to b, if you go off road its ok but not not really ideal if this is what you want it for, sometimes we ride down the woods and it is a little clunky, but overall i love it, with the basket as well it really is a looker. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? EPSOM
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received with damaged gears,
August 20, 2015
By
from Leighton Buzzard
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: design
Cons: having to arrange repair of a brand new bike
" Spent a couple of hours building the bike only to discover the gear mechanisim was damaged which resulted in having to go to my local store to arrange repair. They couldn't get the part initially which meant I had to wait 5 days to collect the bike. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? LEIGHTON BUZZARD
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent,
August 13, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: comfortable seat
Cons: costly extras
" Only problem is having to buy the extras. We bought the lights that go with the bike but they don't fit properly have to remove mudguard support to put in place or drill hole in guard to fit. Basket is expensive to buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In love with cycling again!,
August 01, 2015
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: all of it!!
Cons: having to pay extra for the basket!
" My husband has wanted me to love cycling as he does for a long time and I just couldn't get excited about it! Riding a mountain bike hurts, sore bum, sore wrists, not enjoying riding on the roads at all!
I wanted the bike I had as a child, when cycling was fun, not a chore and comfortable!
Then I found the Pendleton Somerby! Now I have the bike of my dreams!
It's so comfortable to ride, the upright position makes me feel safe on the roads and I can load up my basket and pannier so that I don't have to carry a bag! The gears are easy to shift and seven is plenty for everyday cycling, it's not too heavy to manoeuvre and easy to get on and off of!
I saw it in the shop and I couldnt stop thinking about it, so I bought it!
Now my husband has a wife who will go out cycling with him and I get to feel the childhood joy of cycling on my beautiful blue bike! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent bike for the price,
July 26, 2015
By
from Glasgow
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: style, affordable, comfort
Cons: front mudguard came loose
" Vintage style bikes are everywhere now so I recommend this bike to those who have a smaller budget and cannot afford other more expensive models. It is beautiful and rides like a dream, I'm scared to leave it anywhere locked up in case someone tries to steal it!
The only reason it's not five stars is because after riding the bike for a few days the front mudguard came loose and fell off. The bike goes perfectly well without it so I'm happy to live without it, just a shame.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Which Store did you visit? CLYDEBANK
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
June 26, 2015
By
from Lancs
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I love this bike. It looks great and is so easy to ride. The larger wheels take a bit of getting used to, but thas the only thing.
Comes with bell, luggage rack and reflectors. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LANCASTER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User friendly,
June 15, 2015
By
from Wales, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I love the look of the bike and how easy it is to ride, really happy with my purchase. Excited to accessorise it with a basket! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant bike,
May 19, 2015
By
from Lincoln
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I love this bike!!!!
It's been many years since I'd got on a bike and when the cycle to work scheme came up at work I opted in!
I wasn't sure what bike I wanted so I went into store and was greeted by Tim M
Tim was fantastic and asked all relevant questions and eventually decided this was the bike for me, how right he was!
This is perfect for riding to work, going to the shops and nice bike rides which I be been going on regular! Not only is it very pretty it's got me biking everywhere I love it!
It's comfortable, easy to use, perfect if you've not rode in a long time! This bike is perfect for day to day use.
I also can't thank Tim enough, he spent lots of time with me, choosing helmets, locks, baskets etc. there was no pushy sales speech just fantastic Customer service! A credit to halfords :)
If your looking for a bike for general day to day activities, nice leisurely rides, easy gears this bike is the one for you! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
December 30, 2014
By
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Hop bole in every aspect. Couldn't ask for more. Just added the Pendleton bag to the bike and now it feels complete "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BALHAM
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pendleton somerby 17 inch,
December 28, 2014
By
from London, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: nice colour, easy to get on and off, gears easy to use
" Ordered online and it stated from the website I could have my bike built from selected store the next day.i recieved a call about an hour after ordering to say they don't actually have the bike in stock, they will order and build but the earliest they can do is 23rd December. On 23rd Dec I went to collect the bike, noticing that the mudguard was scratched and the paint was flaking off the rack at the back of the bike, the lady in store agreed that it wasn't acceptable and tried to find another rack, however the display model was the same so they ordered in a new one which was not damaged....bex at blacken store was very helpful and sorted everything out quickly and efficiently....slightly worried though that the bike paint will start peeling at somepoint. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BLACKFEN
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a bike!,
October 06, 2014
By
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made., lovely looking bike., comfortable and a joy to ride.
" I love this bike!
It's stylish, comfortable, easy to ride and a head turner.
I've not been on a bike for years and now I am desperate for the weather to stay nice so I can ride it to work.
What more can I say.
I would definitely recommend it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike good, Halfords pre-sale prep not.,
October 03, 2014
By
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality for price, looks great, comfortable
Cons: halfords pre-sale prep
" Having looked around for a tradidtional ladies bicycle for my wife I settled on this one as a very good balance of price and quality. would have preferred a version with hub brakes and gears but the 3/5 speed hub gear versions did not have a big enough range of gears.
I was very pleased with the bike - once I had given it a thorough going over. I haven't bought from Halfords for many years because I felt they did not have the expertise of a 'proper' bike shop, and this purchase did nothing to change that view. I had to do the following on getting the bike home:
True both wheels
Loosen both wheel bearing cones as they were excessively tight ad the wheels did not spin freely
Adjust the gears
Refit the basket which was wrongly fitted
I am used to building bikes so was able to do these things however someone without the knowledge would soon have had problems especialy with the wheel bearings.
Now all is working perfectly, the bike is great and my wife loves it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is the bees nees,
September 27, 2014
By
from Newquay, Cornwall, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Got this bike for my girlfriend who fell in love with it the first time she saw it! She had it for three weeks now and never been off it!! The bild quality is excellent! Even down to the finer touches!! Would highly recommend it to anybody! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BODMIN
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>