Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"

The Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike wouldn`t look out of place in a 1940s period piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.837 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
47 of 48(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Review 1 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a bike!,
October 06, 2014
By Ju33
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: well made., lovely looking bike., comfortable and a joy to ride.
"I love this bike!
It's stylish, comfortable, easy to ride and a head turner.
I've not been on a bike for years and now I am desperate for the weather to stay nice so I can ride it to work.
What more can I say.
I would definitely recommend it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? CHELTENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike good, Halfords pre-sale prep not.,
October 03, 2014
By mcg1057
from Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: quality for price, looks great, comfortable
Cons: halfords pre-sale prep
"Having looked around for a tradidtional ladies bicycle for my wife I settled on this one as a very good balance of price and quality. would have preferred a version with hub brakes and gears but the 3/5 speed hub gear versions did not have a big enough range of gears.
I was very pleased with the bike - once I had given it a thorough going over. I haven't bought from Halfords for many years because I felt they did not have the expertise of a 'proper' bike shop, and this purchase did nothing to change that view. I had to do the following on getting the bike home:
True both wheels
Loosen both wheel bearing cones as they were excessively tight ad the wheels did not spin freely
Adjust the gears
Refit the basket which was wrongly fitted
I am used to building bikes so was able to do these things however someone without the knowledge would soon have had problems especialy with the wheel bearings.
Now all is working perfectly, the bike is great and my wife loves it!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (SEAFIELD)
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is the bees nees,
September 27, 2014
By Charlie4745
from Newquay, Cornwall, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got this bike for my girlfriend who fell in love with it the first time she saw it! She had it for three weeks now and never been off it!! The bild quality is excellent! Even down to the finer touches!! Would highly recommend it to anybody!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Fishing
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BODMIN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful bike!,
September 06, 2014
By Emthegem
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money bike
Cons: nothing fails to impress me!
"This bike not only looks far more expensive than it is but it is lovely to ride!i bought the Pendleton basket and the Halfords Eastbourne team assembled everything within a day!Best thing I have purchased in years!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many bikes: 1
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1ST CLASS BIKE,
August 24, 2014
By mrsPT
from york uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"easy to ride, comfortble riding position with all round good looks, highly recommended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? YORK
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beautiful,
August 17, 2014
By AO1986
from Chester, Chester, Cheshire West and Chester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got this bike for my birthday and I absolutely love it, especially the accessories range available to go with it.
I got the Pendleton wicker basket & saddle bag, plus a light set, front mirror and kickstand to go on it and it looks so beautifu -l I got complimented on it several times just cycling home from Halfords.
Really light to ride and gears are straight forward and easy to change.
Thanks you to Dan at Chester Greyhound park Halfords for fitting all my accessories for me too, he was very helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this bike!,
August 10, 2014
By Barbara29
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the look, comfortable, easy to ride
Cons: probably could do with a few more gears, not great for riding off road
"I bought this bike to speed up my commute to work, I've been riding it for 2 weeks now and I love it!
The lovely chaps at Halfords in Pontefract assembled my bike for me and have done a great job!
I would definitely recommend this bike for beginners or those getting back into cycling (like myself), it is very easy to ride and very comfortable.
The luggage rack is great to attach my backpack to and avoid old sweaty back on the way to work! There is space to attach a kickstand to and the integrated mud and chain guards are a godsend for soggy days. A lot of reviews have mentioned rattling mudguards which I only find I can hear when I ride over particularly bumpy bits of road.
As my route to work is pretty hilly the lack of gears isn't too much of an issue for me, it tackles hills with relative ease. If you are planning on riding your bike around flat areas most of the time you probably want a few more gears - this bike is definitely designed for pootling around on which suits me just fine but if you want something a bit faster I would probably suggest a bike with more gears!
I hoped I might be able to use this bike for leisure on country paths as well as commuting as it is supposedly a hybrid but I went out on it yesterday on bumpy paths and it didn't perform particularly well, it was very skiddy I think because of the skinny tyres so I think I will stick to roads and good paths in future!
To boot this bike looks great, I've had lots of lovely comments from passerby's. It is also not too heavy, I get on the train as part of my commute so I have to heave it around quite a bit - the main problem I have is with the size as it is quite long and can be tricky trying to squeeze it between people on a busy train!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? PONTEFRACT
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike,
August 02, 2014
By Emma14
from London, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This bike looks great, is easy to ride and very light."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? PUTNEY
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bike,
July 19, 2014
By Squiddy31
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had my eye on this bike for ages and got an absolute bargain in the mid week sale. Picked this up today from store and have just been out for my first ride. Love, love, love this bike!
It is incredibly comfortable to ride and although I haven't been on a bike for years I found it a breeze. I'm only 5ft 1" so went for the 17" frame but this is still a very large bike and I can just about manage to get on and off. If you are shorter than me I think you would struggle (luckily not many people are shorter than me!).
Also purchased the Victoria Pendleton basket and pannier bag which look fantastic on the bike. Only disappointment was that I couldn't have the beautiful vintage style lights that go with the bike as the basket is where it needs to be fitted, so you can only have one or the other and you just have to have the basket with this bike.
Staff in store (Gravesend) were fantastic, really knowledgeable and helpful and kindly fitted all the accessories for me.
I would highly recommend this bike. If like me you have been looking at it for a while and dithering, take the plunge and buy one today. You won't regret it."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Cycling
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? GRAVESEND
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it just buy it x,
June 14, 2014
By 2loulou
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I haven't ridden for about 10 years and then it wasn't for long, I absolutely love this bike ! I've ridden it every other day since I've bought it. If you're considering buying this bike, just do it you won't regret it, everyone who sees it comments how lovely it looks and it's a pleasure to ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? MANCHESTER (FORT)
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this !!,
May 14, 2014
By Natalie82
from Trowbridge wiltshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I adore this bike, plenty of style and a head turner!!
Best buy this year!
A big thank you to Conor , Lewis and Adam at the trowbridge wiltshire store! Very friendly and extremely helpful:) 5 star boys!!!! :))))
"
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? TROWBRIDGE
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful,
March 27, 2014
By NikkiJayne28
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the style
Cons: it's still pretty big for a small lady!
"When I first saw this bike I knew I had to have it! I've now owned it for about 6 weeks and it's completely lived up to my expectations. I always used to hate cycling as I found it so uncomfy and I hadn't ridden in about 10 years. Thankfully, the Somerby is much comfier than bikes I've ridden previously, and the design makes it a serious joy to ride.
The only problem I have had is I'm 5'3 but with rather short legs and had to have the seat as low as it will go: consequently, the pannier rack no longer fits on the bike as it gets in the way of the suspension on the saddle. Never mind, as I think I prefer the look of the bike without it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bike!!!,
March 26, 2014
By Jade12345667
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: stylish and light weight!
Cons: dosent come with stand and basket is expensive!!
"I love the look of this bike haven't risen it that much yet as since buying the weather has turned! Lol really comfortable bike and nice to ride highly recommend!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing I've ever brought,
March 17, 2014
By Charlene25
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this bike so much, It's completely designed for comfort but is an excellent little city bike I've been on medium length bike rides and it's not been a problem, I commute to work on it which is 7 miles and quite hilly but I've not had any problems, the only thing which it's not very good with is curbs and bumps but that's the style of the bike not this particular one, and it's also not as easy to put my toddlers bike seat on the back it does go on but I. Have to take the rack off the back and remove my seat to put her chair on and the put my seat back, there could be a better suited seat for this style bike but this is just the one we previously had."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many bikes: 1
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An absolutely fab bike!!,
February 19, 2014
By Tequilababe2003
from Romford, Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: cause i can't ride it enough!!!!
"I bought my one last summer and love everything about it. It rides lovely and looks lush. I've also had lots of compliments. Can't want for the weather to improve so I can start riding it again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfortable and a fun to ride,
February 16, 2014
By ButterflyCyclist
from Aylesbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: handlebar style
Cons: nothing
"I've been coveting this bike since last summer and finally decided to stop and actually buy it this week. Picked it up today, got home and immediately took it out for a ride. Loved it.
I suffer with very tight muscles in my upper back and neck and found it impossible to ride my old mountain bike as leaning forward to reach the handlebars just put too much strain on them. This bike and it's 'sit up and beg' style alleviates the problem.
Also looks great and my little dog was quite comfy in the basket!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks pretty good,
December 28, 2013
By Indeedge
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the design
Cons: only 7 gears
"I bought this bike for my girlfriend for Christmas. I was worried that it might not have enough gears, but actually it has just the right amount for the kind of cycling that we wanted to do. My girlfriend loves the design as well, it looks really classy and rides well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!,
October 18, 2013
By 123321
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really good quality, sturdy bike.
Everyone comments on how nice it looks.
Very easy to ride and the colour makes it easy to spot!
Would also recommend buying the Pendleton basket to go with it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pendleton Somerby Review (Wife),
October 09, 2013
By Danny55
from Near Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: well made product
"Good quality and robust build
definetly reflects design of a bygone age."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it,
October 06, 2013
By jennyb6004
from mansfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brilliant
Cons: need a pump without a tie wrap.
"Got my bike today and had to ride it home after not being on a bike for about five years. I found this pleasureably surprising. I have only one quibble up to yet there was no pump if you have a slow puncture and was advised by Halfords staff that I could purchase a Pump and fasten it on with a tie wrap well its not going to happen still very pleased with the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>