Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"

The Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike wouldn`t look out of place in a 1940s period piece.
Average Customer Rating:
4.842 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 of 38(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Review 1 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful,
March 27, 2014
By NikkiJayne28
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the style
Cons: it's still pretty big for a small lady!
"When I first saw this bike I knew I had to have it! I've now owned it for about 6 weeks and it's completely lived up to my expectations. I always used to hate cycling as I found it so uncomfy and I hadn't ridden in about 10 years. Thankfully, the Somerby is much comfier than bikes I've ridden previously, and the design makes it a serious joy to ride.
The only problem I have had is I'm 5'3 but with rather short legs and had to have the seat as low as it will go: consequently, the pannier rack no longer fits on the bike as it gets in the way of the suspension on the saddle. Never mind, as I think I prefer the look of the bike without it!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bike!!!,
March 26, 2014
By Jade12345667
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: stylish and light weight!
Cons: dosent come with stand and basket is expensive!!
"I love the look of this bike haven't risen it that much yet as since buying the weather has turned! Lol really comfortable bike and nice to ride highly recommend!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? LEICESTER (ST MARGARETS WAY)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing I've ever brought,
March 17, 2014
By Charlene25
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this bike so much, It's completely designed for comfort but is an excellent little city bike I've been on medium length bike rides and it's not been a problem, I commute to work on it which is 7 miles and quite hilly but I've not had any problems, the only thing which it's not very good with is curbs and bumps but that's the style of the bike not this particular one, and it's also not as easy to put my toddlers bike seat on the back it does go on but I. Have to take the rack off the back and remove my seat to put her chair on and the put my seat back, there could be a better suited seat for this style bike but this is just the one we previously had."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many bikes: 1
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An absolutely fab bike!!,
February 19, 2014
By Tequilababe2003
from Romford, Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: everything
Cons: cause i can't ride it enough!!!!
"I bought my one last summer and love everything about it. It rides lovely and looks lush. I've also had lots of compliments. Can't want for the weather to improve so I can start riding it again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfortable and a fun to ride,
February 16, 2014
By ButterflyCyclist
from Aylesbury
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: handlebar style
Cons: nothing
"I've been coveting this bike since last summer and finally decided to stop and actually buy it this week. Picked it up today, got home and immediately took it out for a ride. Loved it.
I suffer with very tight muscles in my upper back and neck and found it impossible to ride my old mountain bike as leaning forward to reach the handlebars just put too much strain on them. This bike and it's 'sit up and beg' style alleviates the problem.
Also looks great and my little dog was quite comfy in the basket!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looks pretty good,
December 28, 2013
By Indeedge
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: the design
Cons: only 7 gears
"I bought this bike for my girlfriend for Christmas. I was worried that it might not have enough gears, but actually it has just the right amount for the kind of cycling that we wanted to do. My girlfriend loves the design as well, it looks really classy and rides well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (SUFFOLK RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!,
October 18, 2013
By 123321
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really good quality, sturdy bike.
Everyone comments on how nice it looks.
Very easy to ride and the colour makes it easy to spot!
Would also recommend buying the Pendleton basket to go with it.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pendleton Somerby Review (Wife),
October 09, 2013
By Danny55
from Near Glasgow
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: well made product
"Good quality and robust build
definetly reflects design of a bygone age."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
Other hobbies: Boating
How many bikes: 3
Which Store did you visit? IRVINE
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it,
October 06, 2013
By jennyb6004
from mansfield
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: brilliant
Cons: need a pump without a tie wrap.
"Got my bike today and had to ride it home after not being on a bike for about five years. I found this pleasureably surprising. I have only one quibble up to yet there was no pump if you have a slow puncture and was advised by Halfords staff that I could purchase a Pump and fasten it on with a tie wrap well its not going to happen still very pleased with the bike."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gorgeous bike - great to ride!,
September 01, 2013
By LittleH40
from Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This bike not only looks good but it's a lovely bike to ride too. I biked it home from the store and having not biked for over ten years, after the initial 'getting used to wobbles' it was like I'd been biking for years! The gear shift is very easy, it's extremely nippy (even up hills) and I can't wait to get out again on it. I can highly recommend this bike!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A joy to ride,
August 08, 2013
By Sarah96
from Kent
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: the elegant appearance
"A beautiful looking bike that rides smoothly and is perfect for both small town journeys, or longer country rides!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gorgeous ladies bicycle,
August 07, 2013
By Migs1
from Newtownabbey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: gorgeous colour
"Love it bought from Newtownabbey store where Scott helped me really efficiently and was so good taking the time to speak with me , haven't been on bike for 20 years this is an easy bike to adjust to"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? NEWTOWNABBEY
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fab bike,
August 05, 2013
By Chessy47
from Falkirk , Scotland
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: colour basket and comfy seat
Cons: non
"My husband bought me this bike and although i have never been on a bike for 30 years i love this bike and after a few wobbles, my fault, i really enjoyed it.
The bike looks great and i got my first compliment on my new bike as i took it out store.
I love the colour and also the handy basket at the front, the gears nice and easy to use for a novice like me.
The large padded seat is very comfy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? FALKIRK
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super-stylish old-fashioned bicycle!,
August 05, 2013
By Anonymous
from Cheshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Not having cycled for a few decades I was not keen on any of the newer stle bikes but when I saw this I just had to have it.And it has not disappointed.Comfortable leather saddle,step through frame and upright ride make it perfect for the older lady rider!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Family Time
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? WARRINGTON
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike!,
July 29, 2013
By BG12345245
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the saddle - very comfortable
Cons: the bell rattles a little over bumps
"Really pretty bike for about town and sturdy enough for concrete cycle paths and the odd gravel path too. I thought it would be a bit heavy but not at all - 7 gears is perfect and very easy to ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect first bike for my wife,
July 23, 2013
By monkeydoguk
from Brighton, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: happy wife
Cons: grip shift gears
"This was bought for my wife, who has never ridden a bike; until the day after purchase where we went for a 6km ride.
This bike is great for boosting confidence. My wife not having never cycled properly before, found the bike's comfortability and stability key to reducing nerves allowing her to enjoy the ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Serious Cyclist
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? BRIGHTON
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bike,
July 22, 2013
By 123345
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great bike, comfortable, and looks amazing. I wanted a bike in this style and the Pendleton Somerby was a good choice at a reasonable price. Very pleased."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I adore my new bike,
July 21, 2013
By Ruthiesunshine
from Gateshead
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it's beautiful
Cons: doesn't have anywhere to attach water bottle
"I love this bike and when I'm riding it I can't help but smile. I'm overweight and I've got from struggling to get round the block to booking a cycling holiday for later in the year! I just love my beautiful bike!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 2
Which Store did you visit? GATESHEAD
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal for a 'bike rider' but not a cyclist,
July 20, 2013
By Geebs78
from Newcastle upon tyne
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I love my new bike, very classy and comfortable to ride. Centre of gravity changes to a mountain bike and has taken a little getting used to, can't bounce up and down curbs either, you need to use a dropped curb or ramp. But I love it. I'm very happy bike rider and use it daily. I bought the Pendleton basket too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Type of Cyclist: Just for fun
Other hobbies: Running / Athletics
How many bikes: More than 3
Which Store did you visit? NEWCASTLE (KINGSTON RTL PK)
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pendleton Somerby Hybrid Bike - 17"
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it!,
July 02, 2013
By Hollie29
from Cambridge
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Absolutely lovely bike, easy to ride and quite speedy-would definitely recommend. I'm 5'8 so ended up swapping for the 19' as it felt more comfortable. Just need to get a wicker basket and I'm all set!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Type of Cyclist: Commuting
Other hobbies: Camping
How many bikes: 1
Which Store did you visit? CAMBRIDGE
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
12next>>