Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Computers & Cycle GPS or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map

Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map packs up techie greatness.
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job,
February 13, 2014
By kippper
from West Midlands, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Initially I bought an alternative product brand but changed my mind and went for a Garmin because of its reputation and widely available support and accessories. Doing this cost me more money be the decision seems to have been a good one. It works well, my only criticism being that it seems a little slow to connect to satellites on initial start-up. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Which Store did you visit? STAFFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Super piece of tech,
February 03, 2014
By JoFin
from Belfast
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lovely design., easy to fit to bike.
Cons: it is a shame no bundled map for n. ireland, manual not as helpful as it could be.
" Very easy to set up and to attach to bike.
Quite responsive to touch.
Very nice review of route through Garmin Connect.
Shame no bundled maps for N. Ireland in Trail version.
Manual not as helpful / detailed as it could / should be.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CRAIGAVON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garmin has the edge!!,
January 06, 2014
By grumpyric
from suffolk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" this garmin is so easy to use and works well when you connect to garmin connect to plan routes
i have used a garmin 605 before this unit is far far better!!!!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GREAT YARMOUTH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin edge 800,
January 06, 2014
By Morph0188
from Devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: os trail maps, easy mount kit
Cons: price
" Great feature, great maps, easy to us and upload
Bit pricey but it is worth it. Get the os map option with the trail pack if you ride wild a lot.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike computer but a few glitches,
January 03, 2014
By Superkeith
from Derbyshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: all the info whilst riding
Cons: glitches persist
" All the information you could ever want with loads of options to configure the screens to you preferred settings. The 1:50k maps are really useful for planning and navigating rides across the whole of the UK. Also the garmin connect web site allows you to plan, review and analyse your rides. The computer based traing and base camp downloads are also useful.
The Garmin still has a few glitches; the elevation doesn't always give an accurate reading at the start of the ride ( try switching the device on and leaving it 15 minutes before starting the ride. Water gets in to the device and stops some of the readings working, it can also fog the screen.
Finally use google maps for planning rides abroad then download to the device as it provides a route to follow as a line on the screen but no other details but it works fine without spending a fortune on other maps.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? GLOSSOP
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic product,
September 30, 2013
By LBarnard1994
from Buckinghamshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: virtual trainer, tracking progress
Cons: a bit expensive if you won't get the usage.
" Been using this device for 2 weeks now and I can't get enough of it. It is fantastic for tracking what I want to know and in my opinion it adds to your average Mph if you know how you're doing tracking against your previous rides.
The maps also are great, with the navigation accurate. It is easy to use and navigate between the pages which makes this ideal for any mildly keen cyclist.
A definite recommendation as it will last forever and help your training. Perhaps a bit expensive for the average commuter, but definitely worth the investment if you want to track your progress. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? AYLESBURY
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great toy!,
April 15, 2013
By Wobly
from North west england
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: all it can do
Cons: what's not to like
" Had the garmin 800 for a week now and am still getting used to it but it is a great upgrade from my 305.
I also got the out front mount for my racer and it is great, viewing the screen is very easy and you can change screens easily also to see whatever information you desire.
On my mountain bike the o/s maps show all paths and bridal ways with no bother and you can zoom in or out for a better view.
All in all there is not much not to like about the garmin and it was good price because of the 810 coming out just takes a lot of playing with to use it to its full ability!!
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Harming 800,
March 09, 2013
By Leegbob
from Matlock UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: complete cycling computer
Cons: a little expensive
" Very nice piece of kit. Very pleased with it, though I was put off by the price at first I decided to take the plunge and purchase. The navigation is accurate enabling you to cycle across country with a reasonable degree of confidence of not getting lost up in the hills!!. The Garmin base camp enables you to analyse your rides , route , speed, temp, altitude, heart rate , calories burned and power plus several other things. In essence the 800 is a cool piece of kit that will add a new dimension to your cycling. In my humble opinion of course. "
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? CHESTERFIELD
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great piece of kit,
March 07, 2013
By Nickname01
from Scotland
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ability to use third party maps
Cons: os maps
" Works out of the box. Does everything it says it should. Easy to set up and personalise. Garmin Connect and other downloads work well. Connects to Strava. GPS locks on to satellites quickly and appears very accurate. Altitude has to be set each time it is used and may drift as is it is measured barometrically, but if activity is uploaded to Garmin Connect, height can be corrected from GPS record.
Navigation seems to work OK.
Only caveat is that supplied Garmin map is very basic and OS 1:50 000 map is hard to read at higher magnifications as it becomes blurred - there are several third party maps which are easy to download to a micro SD card and work better on the road. However, off road and if used for walking/running the OS maps are fine.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? ABERDEEN (KITTY BREWSTER)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Garmin for my mountain bike.,
February 17, 2013
By Twaggers
from Northampton
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: it uses os maps
Cons: very expensive for 1:25000 maps, not intuitive to use
" A good bit of kit but not as straight forward to use as you might think.
I've been out on it and it's already stopped me from getting lost.
The screen is a bit on the small side and if you want 1:25,000 maps they cost a fortune.
Still getting used to it so I can't mention too much else.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it.,
December 30, 2012
By ad123
from North Yorks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: the massive range of features, the ease of use with gloves on, the customisation settings, the ease of swapping between bikes
Cons: i look at the device more than what's ahead of me
" I was going to explain all aspects of this device and how it's improved me as a rider but it would take far too long. Here's the lowdown, this device makes cycling so much more fun and informative.
You go on GarminConnect, plan your route or download a .gpx file from a forum or website, download to the device, go on bike, follow the directions. If you're a bit geekier (I am!), you can compare against others that have done the route, or yourself if you've done it before. If you fancy a bit of a freestyle approach to A-B routes, just plug in a postcode, address or lat/long co-ords and let the device work out the route.
For the off-roaders, the OS maps are simply brilliant. I've found bridleways that I never knew existed within a few miles of where I live. There are some real gems when it comes to routes and the OS maps points out all this information you'd otherwise miss.
If you have more than one bike, the bundle comes with a second mounting set so you don't have to fiddle about swapping between bikes which is really handy. The device itself supports five bike profiles, so I have a profile that is set up for my MTB and a profile for my road bike, each profiles differs in the parameters have have displayed on the device, which saves faffing around changing them before a ride.
So much to talk about but I'd rather be out cycling and enjoying what this device has to offer.
If you're thinking about getting it, get it, you won't be disappointed.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of equipment,
December 07, 2012
By sjdee
from Blackpool, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small size, great quality, easy to use
" I wanted this specific model with this map bundle, and Halfords offered it in my local store for collection, and at a great price.
I was suprised by how small the unit is. It's very intuitive and easy to set up and use, straight out of the box. Works superbly and the mapping is brilliant and just what I wanted.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use of device and Halfords service,
November 14, 2012
By carlws
from Swindon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the decent range of features, garmin connect, basecamp
Cons: wished it went to 1:25 scale, shame you can't set it to stay one page
" I bought the Edge 800 trail bundle (1:50 scale which does work well) for trail riding and downloading routes I don't know. I use it like a map and it is brilliant for doing that as well as having some other good features. The GPS is very accurate and kept me on my routes that I have downloaded. There are many information choices you can select to see and how many on each page. From GPS accuracy to vertical descent speed, total ascent/descent, altitude and temp to name just a few. The virtual partner is another neat feature which pushes and I have already beaten times I thought I would not beat by using it. The build of the item is solid but I recommend buying the silicon case and screen protectors as mtbing could see it get knocked. The mounting bracket is very good and you get two sets for two bikes or a spare. I have a chunky stem (Thomson x4) and the bands fit around that and it is secure and having a chunky stem actually helps to protect the device. The trail bundle is a worthwhile investment rather than buying separate as this could cost more money doing it that way. The manual is sparse in information but there is plenty on the device to play with and learn about as you go along. It even has food,petrol, hotels etc and other POI on it so you can get back on the beaten track should you fancy finding somewhere to eat.
The one downside I have heard is that it's not great if you intend on using the navigation feature (road riding mainly), it doesn't do it very well and can miss turns. There are ways to set it up to improve this but in my opinion this unit is at home on the trail as a navigation/trail reading device, you can even select what colour line you want to follow which helps when on the trails for quick glances. You can also upload your rides to Garmin connect which is great for sharing routes and has all the features of premium Strava. Basecamp is another neat feature for planning routes and putting them on the device so there is plenty of scope to make the Edge 800 work for its money.
I know Halfords like to keep service of reviews but as a cycling enthusiast I thought I would never use them but the price and service I received from them was superb and will definitely use them in the future. ordered device online (buy and pick up) on Wed morning and had a call to say it was in store by thurs 10:30.
Well Done Halfords. (never thought I would say that) "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic piece of kit but expensive,
August 02, 2012
By rstand21a
from Worcester
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: gps, halfords offer
Cons: too expensive
" The bundle from Halfords combined with the £20 off offer was enough to convince me to finally buy. The use of GPS is much better than the old fashioned magnet and the range of things the kit can do is really impressive. Definitely recommend. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin800 great,
May 30, 2012
By lesharkey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: long battery life, great for changing rout if bought with 1:50k maps
Cons: a lot of £££
" great bit of kit, had edge305 previously, my only complaint is the mounting isn't great, their old method was more secure
Never use halfords before, and apart from the order saying 4 days for dlvery when i had paid for next day they were great "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
garmin 800,
May 03, 2012
By grahamhenry
from lincolnshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, online progress tools, very good rain resistant design
Cons: none found yet
" Great price. Delivery superb. Order at 17:15 on Thursday, arrived 11:30 Friday.
The Garmin 800 is great bike satnav. Intuitive, easy to set up and good online tracking tools
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best bike computer ever??,
January 14, 2012
By DorsetMTBer
from Dorset
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" This piece of kit is excellent. I had wanted one for a while and Halfords' Christmas offer, including the OS mapping software, pushed me over the edge! I took the plunge and the unit arrived the next day.
Very easy to set up and comes with two bike mounts so can be transferred from bike to bike in seconds. The touch screen works well even when wearing full finger gloves.
Already the unit has seen quite a bit of action, getting covered in mud most rides and very wet from downpours and spray from the front wheel. Seems well put together and I'm happy with the quality. However, I have purchased the Garmin silicone case for added protection from knocks etc.
Routes can be uploaded onto Garmin Connect in seconds and then emailed / shared with your other biking mates to prove that you were there and you really went that fast! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sat nav for bikes,
January 09, 2012
By Mort465
from Birmingham
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clear large display, clear maps, good bundled softwear
Cons: expensive, expensive add ons
" Simple and easy to use once you read the instructions.
Take a day to set it up and use it a couple of times and its a dream. Even postcode input and poi.
The altimeter and route review feature is a great training tool. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing piece of kit,
January 03, 2012
By Nibbet
from Bucks
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great performance, gets you motivated to train, user friendly, robust
Cons: a lot of money
" After much deliberation I got the 800 trail bundle. The device works really well. It is great for training and garmin connect site is brilliant for finding new rides on your doorstep or anywhere else for that matter. It is not cheap, but I got mine in the Christmas sale which made it affordable. I do a lot of road and mountain biking so the extra money for the 800 over the 500 was worth it. You can upgrade with cadence sensors and heart rate monitor at a later time. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer Trail Bundle with GB Discover Map
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent device and service from Halfords,
January 02, 2012
By chbleeds
from Leeds, England
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great device., best price in the uk
Cons: not for technophobes.
" Halfords get knocked by a lot of bike snobs, but here they are selling the best GPS for bikes in the world for the best price in the UK.
The GPS itself is all you need for cycling both on road and off road. There is software that lets you plot offroad maps.
The system has FULL UK 1:50k OS maps on it, but best of all these are routable like a standard TomTom/Garmin road device, ie you can put in a postcode and it will give you turn by turn (road only!) directions to your destination...brilliant.
Optional HRM and Cadence sensors can be bought separately.
The Garmin software is not the best in the world, but it improves with each generation.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>