Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Cycle Computers & GPS or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Halfords.

Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping

Make the most of every ride with Garmin Edge 800 the ultimate touchscreen GPS bike computer for training, touring & on the trail. With heart rate, cadence monitors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Reviews for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Review 1 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Edge 800,
February 02, 2014
By Sean3643
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: decent battery life, lightweight, sensors work well
"Bought one of these as I've just got into cycling. Used it about 5-6 times so far and everything has been absolutely brilliant with it. THey say use water for the heart rate monitor however I find it works better without. Love the way you can upload to Garmin connect and analyse your ride."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin 800/city navigator,
January 08, 2014
By Jtstrava07
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: so much data at your fingertips
Cons: expensive
"A good piece of kit. Nice now to complete a sportive without my iPhone going flat. Loads of training pages especially the virtual training partner. Handy now when on turbo trainer I can download data to strava by using the gsc 10 rear wheel/cadence sensor. The city navigator is much much better over the o/s mapping as it's more like a car GPS. Would recommend getting the forward mount for it but buy the sram mount it's half the price of the garmin one. Only downside is that it's a bit on the expensive side but I've always wanted one,all the gear but no idea lol."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Edge 800,
October 15, 2012
By Steven5
from Staffordshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Its great, wish I got one ages ago, makes solo riding fun racing your virtual partner. No more need for paper maps for my Lands End John O 'Groats ride etc."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Explore...!,
September 02, 2012
By AaronC
from Birmingham, England
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: very easy to create routes
Cons: expensive
"Easy to use, good features (i'm mainly interested in the gps capabilities rather than performance bundle). Has allowed me to explore new routes around south birmingham/worcester/warwickshire without worry of getting lost or stopping to look at maps... has added a new dimension to my cycling after 12,000 miles on familiar routes! Great. I mainly use the garmin connect web site to create routes and then download - and it is seemless. The device itself seems well-made, fairly intuitive to use, although i need to work out some bits out still (like turning on and off the direction guidance). It is very expensive - but may come down in price when the next modle appears."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Super piece of kit,
August 23, 2012
By Yojoh2o
from St Ives Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Still learning how to use the device as it has so much functionality. Major disappointment on first big outing as the file would not upload to Garmin connect. Ok since and very pleased with it but quite expensive."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Gadget,
August 20, 2012
By BarlickB
from Local Lancashire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very pleased with this gadget, wasn't sure because of price especially when attaching to my mountain bike. I've used it a few weeks and wish I'd had one for years. it's a neat size, balanced well between weight, screen size etc Fixes well to bike and quality construction. Glad I got the one with maps and love all the stats it generates such as route, speed, elevation and heart rate. Now going to use it as a sat nav!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gadget,
August 19, 2012
By Sethi
from Surrey
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Absolutely love this computer. I had a pretty good bike computer previously but always wanted to upgrade to one where I could compete against myself and others, record my performance and plan courses on the Garmin website. The 800 ticks all the boxes. I was impressed with Halfords which had the best price and super fast delivery. I wish the in store team were as good!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has the edge,
July 16, 2012
By Swinesheader
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to set up, great use interface
Cons: not cheap but then again what price functionality
"After much deliberation, and a great promo being run on the halfords site. I purchased the edge 800 with cadence/heart monitor, and european mapping.
It was really easy to set up both in terms of the unit itself and on to the bike.
Using this out on ride gives me instant access to how much climbing I have completed, and key topics like speed, average cadence etc, being able to set up the screens to your own requirements is a great feature, tailoring it to your own requirements.
Linking into Garmin connect ensure you can review your ride in real detail, as well download routes etc if your going on a sportive. A friend has an 800 and used it for a London to paris organised event, and it saved him from a wrong turn that others took, so invaluable tool.
If your thinking of buying one, take the plunge, you won't be disappointed
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin 800,
April 21, 2012
By Anonymous
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I put off buying one of these for some time - wish I hadn't. Fantastic - means I can explore all the small backroads near home without getting lost. Simply map the route and transfer to the Garmin then I m away. Highly recommended"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin good!,
April 16, 2012
By DedhamMayor
from East Anglia
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, comprehensive
Cons: pricey
"What a device. Tad expensive but with Maps and performance modules this Edge 800 is outstanding for a cyclist. Within 2 weeks I'd improved my best ride to work time (23 miles) by over 4 minutes. The Garmin software and online dashboard is an addition beyond expectation. Really delighted with the purchase and the Halfords price which was best I could find."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit,
April 14, 2012
By EddyD
from Penzance, Cornwall
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: small neat and waterproof., quickly picks up satellites., seems to be well built.
Cons: cost is expensive when compared to car units.
"Although expensive, this is a great bit of kit to have with you on the road. The interface and controls take a little while to get used to, but gives very good feedback on ride data once you have sussed it out. The Garmin instantly links with the included heart and cadence monitors keeping track of my performance."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job really well,
April 13, 2012
By Terrys
from Gloucestershire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: simple to use
Cons: none
"An excellent computer and GPS for your bike. The link to Garmin Connect is very easy and offers so much data and graphs. The ability to save your course and set new challenges and objectives as well as find other peoples rites and courses is a big plus for me. An excellent piece of kit. Virtual partner makes you train harder."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garmin Edge 800 is a slave driver fantastic!,
January 12, 2012
By garryyw
from Kirkstall,Leeds, West Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use and setup, touch screen
Cons: a bit pricey
"Had the edge 200 and upgraded to the 800 and boy what a difference to my performance, this makes you work harder against all previous times etc HRmonitor and cadence works a treat once paired nothing else to do connects everytime straight away..
easy to use even with thick gloves on touch screen is a blessing leaving only 2 buttons to press everything else is done via the touch screen.even connects to my bc1000 health monitor scales and a all the garmins the garmin connect site is a great place to find other routes etc battery life is great too lasts for well over 12 hours on single charge
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Garmin Edge 800 GPS Cycle Computer with Heart Rate, Cadence & Full European Road Mapping
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best gadget puchased for the bikes,
January 05, 2012
By avondale
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i was given the garmin as a present from my wife who knows nothing about cycling!!, this has been the best gift ever, does what it says, very very useful for the cyclist who want to know more routes and downloads, plus shows your performance fitness rates. highly recommended, price very good from halfords compared to other web sites"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.