Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps

Lose yourself in the wonders of the TomTom XL Western Europe Classic Sat Nav
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(374 Reviews) 374
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (374 reviews)
5 stars
244
4 stars
104
3 stars
20
2 stars
2
1 star
4
353 of 370(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 123 Answers
Customer Reviews for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Review 1 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom XL,
November 23, 2014
By Pooly57
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to set up, good display and packed with features.
With hindsight i would have opted for the larger screen size, this however is a personal choice and in no way reflects on the performance of the Tom Tom.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps,
November 19, 2014
By boss25
from Hawarden, Deeside, Flintshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great bit of kit does what it says on the box, very easy to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased as Extra SatNav,
November 17, 2014
By Davidwg3
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this SatNav as an extra SatNav to supplement my existing one. So far I've used it on a couple of long journey's with part of one of my journey's being on a road I'd never been on before. The SatNav helped me through the unfamiliar roads and found that the display on motorways to be an improvement on my previous SatNav displaying lane arrows by most intersections displaying the lane/s appropriate for the destination set. The voice titled "Kate" reads out street and place names although some names do seem to be a bit of a challenge to pronounce. When connected to my computer running Windows 8.1 to do updates it seems to connect fine except that it doesn't allow me to operate on the computer like my Tom Tom One does."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Careful with lifetime mapa,
November 17, 2014
By fishpoly
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Be careful with the lifetime maps. It takes time and effort to establish..not straight forward."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (MAYPOLE)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value,
November 16, 2014
By RoverKent
from Dover, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spoken street names
Cons: nothing to dislike!
"I've had an earlier version of this satnav for several years ( also bought from Halfords ) and it's never let me down even though I've never updated the maps due to the prohibitive cost in relation to the cost of the device itself...therefore the lure of a brand new updated device with free lifetime maps was too good to miss.....registering for this service was very quick and simple ( although if you don't posess access to a scanner you'll have difficulty in registering as it's the only way of getting your receipt to them ) and if this new unit gives me the same ( and should be even better ) service as my original one then I'll be delighted..well done TomTom and Halfords for producing a great product at a great price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sat Nav,
November 16, 2014
By ivanf
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Ok product does what it says can recommend very clear instructions"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic Sat Nav, Great Price,
November 14, 2014
By corseford2
from Paisley, Renfrewshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Can't go wrong with a Tom Tom. This is a basic version with smaller screen than other (more expensive) models. Comes with lifetime maps which will save a lot of expenditure. If you want a basic Sat Nav that just does the job (and you need Europe maps this is a good buy."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Friend
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Explorer? this is the sat nav for you!,
November 14, 2014
By splitty55
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Purchased the TomTom XL UK from Halfords, it was amazing... the screen displayed the TomTom logo for 20minutes then ran out of battery!
Not to worry... I returned the faulty unit & was given a replacement, Happy Days!
Used the (now working) TomTom for a 60 mile journey, which at first worked perfectly. However, the TomTom decided I needed to explore my surroundings more so tried to give me a 1 hour extension to my route... it was also extremely strict, I could not re-direct, the TomTom wanted me to go 1 hour in the wrong direction at all costs.
After 30 minutes of ignoring the TomTom, it finally re-directed, giving me 20minutes of pure directional heaven.
I felt this was a fault, so went back to Halfords (Durham) to return the unit. Oh No, you cannot do that! Halfords wanted me to re-install the OS for the SatNav.
I complied, which then took me full circle, to a nice TomTom logo being burnt into my eye sockets.
Eventually, I rang TomTom, who (baffled by Halfords refusal of refund) issued me a return code, and discounted product.
They also mentioned that Halfords probably should not be selling this product due to being seriously outdated.
If you've just bought one... enjoy!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!!!!!!!!,
November 14, 2014
By Woody101064
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
"I have used TomTom devces for sometime, these were purchased to help new drivers within my business, they are easy and straight forward to use and have clear instructions once a route has been set."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
November 07, 2014
By st3phen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: wide screen
"Used in UK and Spain with no problems and a new unit with lifetime map updates was cheaper than updating my 3 yr old tomtom with the latest maps."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use Nav,
November 05, 2014
By Anonymous
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this product to replace a NAVMAN which I have used for several years. This was my first TomTom and I must say that it was very easy to set up and the available features are excellent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
November 04, 2014
By Jayrock
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Feel confident driving anywhere now with this very easy to use aswell. Halfords staff are always so helpful also"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tomtom xl Europe,
November 03, 2014
By Anonymous
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've always bought tomtom and this one is no different from the others, great quality and reliability, brilliant gadget."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
New Tom Tom,
November 02, 2014
By Chriscool67
from Glasgow, Glasgow City, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cons: very difficult to set up the tomtom account.
"My old Tom Tom was stolen so I decided to replace it with a similar one. I imagined that this one being more up to date might have been a little better. It is too soon to tell just yet but the signs aren't good. When I tried to set my "home" destination with a post code - it does not come up with the street I live in. Very strange! It was also impossible for me to set up the TomTom computer connection to update the maps because I could not decouple my old Tom Tom. I had to set up a new e-mail address."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRAEHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value for the price,
November 01, 2014
By berty64
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: clarity
"bought this as was driving to belgium and got me there and back with no fuss. motorway lane feature good, shows the lanes and which one to be in."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ROMFORD
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My second TomTom,
October 30, 2014
By Mark1064
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"With lifetime maps and widescreen this is just short of excellent."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!,
October 13, 2014
By Anonymous
from Bellshill
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great help in the car! Easy to set up and get going!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav,
October 09, 2014
By Stennen
from Southend-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"Does what it says one the box. Good value with lifetime map offer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little sat nav,
September 30, 2014
By nelliet
from devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have never had one of these before and now wonder how i ever managed with out it ! Greta selection of voices to choose from, clear instructions when approaching junctions and roundabouts . Have already recommended this to several friends , great offer with the lifetime map upgrade from Halfords too !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (CORNWALL STREET)
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom XL,
September 30, 2014
By DirtyTester
from Colchester, Colchester, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, features
"I bought this specifically for a trip to Portugal just prior to leaving and it was very simple to set up and program with the required information.
So glad I had it as I arrived in Portugal in the dark and the instructions were clear and simple to follow. Start up time was very good and all the mapping was bang up to date. Lane guidance at this price was a real bonus.
Good secure window mount and all small enough to store in a small bag when not using. Great value too.
Graham
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>