Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav

Lose yourself in the wonders of the TomTom XL Western Europe Classic Sat Nav
Average Customer Rating:
4.578 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(341 Reviews) 341
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (341 reviews)
5 stars
225
4 stars
94
3 stars
18
2 stars
2
1 star
2
323 of 337(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 121 Answers
Customer Reviews for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Review 1 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it's supposed to.,
September 13, 2014
By Carper65
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap and easy to use, lifetime map offer
Cons: small screen
"Bought this as a replacement for an old Mio with outdated maps.
It's simple to use and cheap to buy, it also came with lifetime map updates which was a big thing for me.
You can upload many different voices, Like a change.
The screen is a little small but you get what you pay for.
Overall a good buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job, can't fault it!,
September 13, 2014
By CJ27
from Taunton, Taunton, Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, price
"Bought this TomTom for a trip to France, it didn't let us down at all. Great price, and to be honest I don't know why you would need to spend any more."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, so good,
September 10, 2014
By Zpider242
from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good lane assist info
Cons: no camera alerts
"The first unit I bought gave me a whole evening of frustration trying to update and turn it on. I couldn't get it past the Tomtom splash screen and so realising it was faulty from the outset I returned it to the store and was given a no fuss replacement. My first journey with it from Maidenhead to Bristol got me there with good accuracy. The female voice on the unit I found slightly annoying but was giving clear and detailed information. I was surprised to find that there are no audio alerts signalling speed cameras but the display does show the speed limit for any given area. The battery life seems a bit small compared to the last SatNav I had so always have the charger handy. All in all a decent SatNav to get you to your destination."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is ok,
September 10, 2014
By soulman1
from Warrington, Warrington, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this product gets me were I wont to go very quickly"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WIGAN
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value with Europe and free lifetime updates,
September 10, 2014
By MartinSK
from Buxton, Buxton, Derbyshire SK17, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: good value, clear maps
Cons: screen a bit large
"A very good buy at the price. Includes Western Europe. Free updates for lif included in the offer which was good. Regeristing for the updates does involve uploading a scan of the receipt so only works if you can do that but otherwise fine. The screen is a little larger than I would have liked but works fine."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ASHBOURNE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic but good maps and clear instructions,
September 10, 2014
By Blooey
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good maps
Cons: limited options
"Not packed with lots of options but easy to use. Detailed maps and good clear instructions while driving. Nice quality feel to unit."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Friend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great,
September 10, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"love this product, really easy to use and find the feature of showing you your lanes really helpful."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product,
September 10, 2014
By mickky
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Much better than Tom Tom one which I had for a few years.
Clearer maps far better vocal instructions.
Would Recommend the Tom Tom XL,
It offers excellent value for money.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? TOTTENHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maps for life,
September 09, 2014
By Stuartr57
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Since purchasing the product I have been unable to register for MAPS FOR LIFE!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value,
September 09, 2014
By Webbydr
from Dartford, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: the sat nav
"This is a very good value tomtom to have and is easy to use"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another excellent Tom Tom,
September 09, 2014
By Nicky987
from Suffolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: more screen detail
Cons: windscreen attachment
"Have used Tom Tom sat navs before, not disappointed with this one."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? IPSWICH (EURO RTL PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of 2 hours of my bank holiday,
September 08, 2014
By stephensonrn
from Birmingham
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: return policy
Cons: didn't work
"I was looking forward to using this for work and a future trip to Spain but the Tomtom failed to work straight out of the box. I tried to update the software, update the map, even deleting the software completely and reinstalling but nothing worked. The Tomtom would just turn on and show Tomtom with the drum noise and then it froze. I would have thought Tomtom would have perfected this product by now, especially with the free software available on smart phones. Very disappointed and I won't be trusting the brand again."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (CASTLE BROMWICH)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tomtom,
September 08, 2014
By Sheeeldz
from Stockton-on-Tees, Stockton-on-Tees, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: size maps
"Perfect value vs price, always liked the easy to use tomtom system.
I like the way the lanes come up at a junction to help, shown in main picture.
Lifetime maps was a main reason for purchase.
Recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great entry level sat nav,
September 08, 2014
By Senninha85
from Rugby, Rugby, Warwickshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros: clear directions and easy to use
"As I have a bluetooth stereo I didn't have the need for all the extras with my sat nav so this model is just right with a great price and easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? RUGBY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value quality sat nav,
September 08, 2014
By NickR111
from Worcester, Worcester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value price
"Bought this sat nav to navigate around Italy. A brilliant great value product that I would reccommend"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav,
September 08, 2014
By greygoose
from north wales uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Clear and easy to use. The lane graphics are excellent and very useful on motorways. If you take a wrong turn, it doesn't make a big fuss; just gets on the reprogramming the route."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality great product,
September 08, 2014
By Nads13
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good value for money. Clear and large screen. European maps available which great"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
plain and simple,
September 08, 2014
By Ginaanne
from Lancashire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: simplistic
Cons: very stiff window mount
"I like this sat nav. Simple to use and quick and easy to understand. My dad has the start 25m which is superior and feels and looks better quality but for the price of the xl it does what is says."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? BURNLEY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great piece of kit. !,
September 07, 2014
By Anonymous
from Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great value, great design, great features
"One piece of car equipment you shouldn't be without. !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CLACTON
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom,
September 07, 2014
By Stumpy666
from Southampton UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great item as ever from Tom Tom always up to date with there road maps and speed cameras. Still haven't received there offer of lifetime maps but hopefully will be here soon."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? FAREHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>