Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps

Lose yourself in the wonders of the TomTom XL Western Europe Classic Sat Nav
Average Customer Rating:
4.573 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(358 Reviews) 358
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (358 reviews)
5 stars
236
4 stars
99
3 stars
18
2 stars
2
1 star
3
339 of 354(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 121 Answers
Customer Reviews for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Review 1 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!,
October 13, 2014
By Anonymous
from Bellshill
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great help in the car! Easy to set up and get going!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? HAMILTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav,
October 09, 2014
By Stennen
from Southend-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use
"Does what it says one the box. Good value with lifetime map offer."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? RAYLEIGH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great little sat nav,
September 30, 2014
By nelliet
from devon
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have never had one of these before and now wonder how i ever managed with out it ! Greta selection of voices to choose from, clear instructions when approaching junctions and roundabouts . Have already recommended this to several friends , great offer with the lifetime map upgrade from Halfords too !"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? PLYMOUTH (CORNWALL STREET)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom XL,
September 30, 2014
By DirtyTester
from Colchester, Colchester, Essex, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: price, features
"I bought this specifically for a trip to Portugal just prior to leaving and it was very simple to set up and program with the required information.
So glad I had it as I arrived in Portugal in the dark and the instructions were clear and simple to follow. Start up time was very good and all the mapping was bang up to date. Lane guidance at this price was a real bonus.
Good secure window mount and all small enough to store in a small bag when not using. Great value too.
Graham
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? COLCHESTER
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent and easy to use,
September 29, 2014
By Parkie1972
from Scunthorpe, Scunthorpe, North Lincolnshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product represents quality and value for money. It is easy to use and with the maps for life offer you need never need a paper back map again. It is lightweight and small enough to put in your pocket when parking you vehicle. Excellent buy!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Friend
Which Store did you visit? SCUNTHORPE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use & Perfectly Portable,
September 28, 2014
By Anonymous
from Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Tom Tom user interface is one of the best on the market, easy to navigate around the menus etc. I had it worked out just minutes after opening the box. The in built tutorial really helps get settled to using it.
I am also very impressed with the mounting device for it. It is the most compact I have come across and easily fits into the travel case along with the Tom Tom.
All in all, a great device."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LIVERPOOL
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
did not work out of the box,
September 27, 2014
By unhappy1234567
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"froze on the front screen, useless, took back to the store within an hour of purchasing"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Which Store did you visit? DAVENTRY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent,
September 26, 2014
By Dan5467
from Angus, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: lane assist and junction view, very accurate maps has 2 month new road on it
Cons: nothing so far
"I used this on a recent trip from Dundee to London. I never had any problems what so ever. The lane assist came in very handy especially in London. I got the free map update promotion overall excellent buy. Much better than my recent Garmin."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? DUNDEE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent sat nav!,
September 26, 2014
By ecemma10
from Warwickshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had a cheaper product previously and this out does my old one on all levels. I love the added extras such as choice of images, icons, colour themes and voices. Only down side is that I have to turn my Norton firewall off everytime I plug it into my laptop as it interferes!
Other than that I love my tom tom :D"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? STRATFORD UPON AVON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TomTom XL satnav,
September 24, 2014
By Murg46
from Ferndown, Dorset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Really great value for money and complete with lifetime maps - this is a quality item and very easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? FERNDOWN
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbeatable quality and value,
September 24, 2014
By Markyboy1961
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had a Tom Tom previously, also used some of the alternatives, but this wins hands down on all fronts - from the GPS signal quality to the user changes updates, but the killer deal breaker at the moment is the free lifetime maps upgrade."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Big leap from my tomtom 1,
September 24, 2014
By Frankiedog
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to use , good features , clear instructions. Much better than my original tomtom1 .
The advantage of map updates also made my decision about this model."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Which Store did you visit? NOTTINGHAM (VICTORIA RTL PK)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
September 23, 2014
By PaulinAtherstone
from Atherstone, Atherstone, Warwickshire CV9, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I updated from an older Tom Tom model and am very pleased with this. The lane guidance at junctions is an excellent feature as is the addition info on the screen including speed limits."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? TAMWORTH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Sat Nav,
September 23, 2014
By jenjen82
from Birmingham
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: arrows make it easy to know which lane to be in
"This product is fairly easy to navigate around its features. It took me a while to work out how to input a postcode instead of a street name/ city.
I would have liked a bit bigger screen but that's only because the last sat nav I had was bigger.
The screen is clear to see and the directions are easy to follow. the voice option with street names is a good idea.
Would recommended.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? REDDITCH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent satnav,
September 22, 2014
By Anonymous
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This a reasonable priced satnav that does the job well."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
September 22, 2014
By Julie32
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to set up and use gives clear lane directions"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value with free lifetime maps promotion.,
September 16, 2014
By TomsTom
from Bristol
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Changed up from TomTom One. Much the same but slightly better features. TomTom's free lifetime maps promotion made it more sensible to change than update my old model."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (WINTERSTOKE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it's supposed to.,
September 13, 2014
By Carper65
from Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: cheap and easy to use, lifetime map offer
Cons: small screen
"Bought this as a replacement for an old Mio with outdated maps.
It's simple to use and cheap to buy, it also came with lifetime map updates which was a big thing for me.
You can upload many different voices, Like a change.
The screen is a little small but you get what you pay for.
Overall a good buy.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BASILDON (HERON RTL PRK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job, can't fault it!,
September 13, 2014
By CJ27
from Taunton, Taunton, Somerset, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: ease of use, price
"Bought this TomTom for a trip to France, it didn't let us down at all. Great price, and to be honest I don't know why you would need to spend any more."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, so good,
September 10, 2014
By Zpider242
from Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: good lane assist info
Cons: no camera alerts
"The first unit I bought gave me a whole evening of frustration trying to update and turn it on. I couldn't get it past the Tomtom splash screen and so realising it was faulty from the outset I returned it to the store and was given a no fuss replacement. My first journey with it from Maidenhead to Bristol got me there with good accuracy. The female voice on the unit I found slightly annoying but was giving clear and detailed information. I was surprised to find that there are no audio alerts signalling speed cameras but the display does show the speed limit for any given area. The battery life seems a bit small compared to the last SatNav I had so always have the charger handy. All in all a decent SatNav to get you to your destination."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? MAIDENHEAD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>