Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Sat Nav or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps

Lose yourself in the wonders of the TomTom XL Western Europe Classic Sat Nav
Average Customer Rating:
4.551 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(381 Reviews) 381
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (381 reviews)
5 stars
249
4 stars
105
3 stars
20
2 stars
2
1 star
5
359 of 377(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 123 Answers
Customer Reviews for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Review 1 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
December 20, 2014
By Jockyfox
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Really happy with this sat nav - easy to use (idiot proof) - easy to upgrade maps etc - clear directions and lane selection - large enough to follow but not a distraction while driving - great value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll never get lost again!,
December 19, 2014
By Aimeer85
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this satnav after my old Tom Tom died (RIP). Easy to use, easy to add my favourite locations and set my home address. LOVE that it comes with free lifetime maps - no paying for map updates here!! Handy charger cable that detaches from the car adapter to plug into a USB port.
Highly recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TomTom XL Europe and UK,
December 15, 2014
By santashelper1
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great value for money - easy to use and free lifetime map make this a better buy than ever. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work, faulty,
December 09, 2014
By Ranne
from Norwich
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" bought from Halfords, connected to laptop and got all software unfortunately device never turned on.
Took to local Halfords, suggested they had problem with this model before.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brill sat nav - complex process for Lifetime maps,
December 07, 2014
By Cirrus63
from Consett, Consett, County Durham DH8, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: overall package
Cons: complex process to get free maps
" The TomTom XL sat nav is great. Not the top spec but great value for European maps and solid navigation This is my second TomTom and it is a valuable aid when on business in the UK and EU.
My only complaint is the Lifetime maps are a promotion from TomTom only valid for 30 days from purchase and within a date window to June/July 2015. Furthermore to claim on the TomTom promotion site (see very small print under Sat Nav image on website) you need to send a scanned copy of the purchase receipt, which is okay for me as I have one! Not sure how those without scanners get over this hurdle, however you have been warned. I'll update further once I get my confirmation e-mail (approx 8 day turnaround) and register the service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin....,
November 27, 2014
By DM31
from Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great price, accurate and reliable...free mapping for life, what can i say a great deal and purchase... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ASHBOURNE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good Tom tom,
November 26, 2014
By Mike1979
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I replaced my old Tom tom with this one and the features are much the same and very easy to use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom XL,
November 23, 2014
By Pooly57
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to set up, good display and packed with features.
With hindsight i would have opted for the larger screen size, this however is a personal choice and in no way reflects on the performance of the Tom Tom.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps,
November 19, 2014
By boss25
from Hawarden, Deeside, Flintshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bit of kit does what it says on the box, very easy to use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased as Extra SatNav,
November 17, 2014
By Davidwg3
from Devon, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" I purchased this SatNav as an extra SatNav to supplement my existing one. So far I've used it on a couple of long journey's with part of one of my journey's being on a road I'd never been on before. The SatNav helped me through the unfamiliar roads and found that the display on motorways to be an improvement on my previous SatNav displaying lane arrows by most intersections displaying the lane/s appropriate for the destination set. The voice titled "Kate" reads out street and place names although some names do seem to be a bit of a challenge to pronounce. When connected to my computer running Windows 8.1 to do updates it seems to connect fine except that it doesn't allow me to operate on the computer like my Tom Tom One does. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? TORQUAY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Careful with lifetime mapa,
November 17, 2014
By fishpoly
from Birmingham, West Midlands, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Be careful with the lifetime maps. It takes time and effort to establish..not straight forward. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (MAYPOLE)
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic value,
November 16, 2014
By RoverKent
from Dover, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: spoken street names
Cons: nothing to dislike!
" I've had an earlier version of this satnav for several years ( also bought from Halfords ) and it's never let me down even though I've never updated the maps due to the prohibitive cost in relation to the cost of the device itself...therefore the lure of a brand new updated device with free lifetime maps was too good to miss.....registering for this service was very quick and simple ( although if you don't posess access to a scanner you'll have difficulty in registering as it's the only way of getting your receipt to them ) and if this new unit gives me the same ( and should be even better ) service as my original one then I'll be delighted..well done TomTom and Halfords for producing a great product at a great price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? DOVER
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sat Nav,
November 16, 2014
By ivanf
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Ok product does what it says can recommend very clear instructions "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic Sat Nav, Great Price,
November 14, 2014
By corseford2
from Paisley, Renfrewshire, UK
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" Can't go wrong with a Tom Tom. This is a basic version with smaller screen than other (more expensive) models. Comes with lifetime maps which will save a lot of expenditure. If you want a basic Sat Nav that just does the job (and you need Europe maps this is a good buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Friend
Which Store did you visit? PAISLEY
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Explorer? this is the sat nav for you!,
November 14, 2014
By splitty55
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
" Purchased the TomTom XL UK from Halfords, it was amazing... the screen displayed the TomTom logo for 20minutes then ran out of battery!
Not to worry... I returned the faulty unit & was given a replacement, Happy Days!
Used the (now working) TomTom for a 60 mile journey, which at first worked perfectly. However, the TomTom decided I needed to explore my surroundings more so tried to give me a 1 hour extension to my route... it was also extremely strict, I could not re-direct, the TomTom wanted me to go 1 hour in the wrong direction at all costs.
After 30 minutes of ignoring the TomTom, it finally re-directed, giving me 20minutes of pure directional heaven.
I felt this was a fault, so went back to Halfords (Durham) to return the unit. Oh No, you cannot do that! Halfords wanted me to re-install the OS for the SatNav.
I complied, which then took me full circle, to a nice TomTom logo being burnt into my eye sockets.
Eventually, I rang TomTom, who (baffled by Halfords refusal of refund) issued me a return code, and discounted product.
They also mentioned that Halfords probably should not be selling this product due to being seriously outdated.
If you've just bought one... enjoy!!! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product!!!!!!!!,
November 14, 2014
By Woody101064
from Norwich, Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: ease of use
" I have used TomTom devces for sometime, these were purchased to help new drivers within my business, they are easy and straight forward to use and have clear instructions once a route has been set. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product,
November 07, 2014
By st3phen
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: wide screen
" Used in UK and Spain with no problems and a new unit with lifetime map updates was cheaper than updating my 3 yr old tomtom with the latest maps. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 2
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use Nav,
November 05, 2014
By Anonymous
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I bought this product to replace a NAVMAN which I have used for several years. This was my first TomTom and I must say that it was very easy to set up and the available features are excellent. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ORPINGTON
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great,
November 04, 2014
By Jayrock
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Feel confident driving anywhere now with this very easy to use aswell. Halfords staff are always so helpful also "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tomtom xl Europe,
November 03, 2014
By Anonymous
from Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I've always bought tomtom and this one is no different from the others, great quality and reliability, brilliant gadget. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? LEEDS (MEADOW RD)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>