Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop All Clearance or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps

Lose yourself in the wonders of the TomTom XL Western Europe Classic Sat Nav
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(401 Reviews) 401
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (401 reviews)
5 stars
264
4 stars
109
3 stars
20
2 stars
3
1 star
5
377 of 397(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 123 Answers
Customer Reviews for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Review 1 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointing,
February 25, 2015
By LiamB
from Slough
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value
Cons: too many menus to navigate
" Purchased 6 months ago, use it everyday for work, travelling between 8-10 local jobs......to navigate to an address you have to go through 4 or 5 screen menu options, doing this regularly is very, very irritating. In comparison I can use the google maps app on my phone and navigate to the same address in 3 menus......might not seem a lot less, but when doing it continuously it sure is.
Sat nav doesn't sit properly in cradle, it's always loose and at an angle.
Personally I find the lane changer annoying as it flashes up in daylight colours even when night driving and you have to tap screen to stop it.
It's my 3rd Tomtom, last 2 broke/expired, it will be the last time I buy this brand. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Product is an excellent addition to travelling,
February 21, 2015
By mj38
from Poole, Poole, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Really pleased with this purchase, its small and stylish, easy to set up and was given good advice for setting up whilst in the store. Got the accessory pack half price so was happy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? POOLE (HIGH STREET)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic bit of kit with free lifetime maps offer,
February 21, 2015
By Rimexboy
from London, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, postcode search, lane feature, small and compact, great window suction fitting
Cons: no cons just a great bit of kit
" I bought 2 of these and saved some money at the same time,
Great bit of kit with the free lifetime maps included in the price,
I've used it a few times and it's easy to use and the window mount sticks and stays to the window just great unlike the older unit did...
Instructions are clear and the new lane feature is also great..
The other one I got for my dad as peace of mind as he is over 80 and drives but this item also has the help feature so if you get stuck for any reason you just press the help button and it tells you exactly whare you are, and even gives you the AA breakdown number to call, Or local garage or hospital doctors or police station...
Very happy with them both very easy to set up and get started...
One piece of free advice is never ever ever put your excact home location in as if your car or Tom tom get stolen then they know your excact address... So I just put a road near to my home address in as my home location...
Go on treat yourself and enjoy this fantastic Tom tom sat nav... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ENFIELD
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value, not so helpful outside of England.,
February 11, 2015
By Heidi29
from Kent
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great value and quality.
Cons: not brilliant outside of england.
" This sat nav has good value and quality, it's easy to use, but when navigating yourself around countries outside of England it isn't great at picking up road names etc. Will pick up the general area but you need another map of some kind to get you to your exact destination. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? SEVENOAKS
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom xl,
February 08, 2015
By Cuppa
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very easy to use , no problems finding places great value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product,
February 08, 2015
By Gaz1971
from Widnes
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Good value product with lifetime maps. Would defo recommend this product to buy. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Parent
Which Store did you visit? SPEKE
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product has great features.,
February 08, 2015
By Redmargie
from Waltham Abbey Essex
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" My purchase of the Tom Tom XL is excellent and wished I had bought one years ago. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Female
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so simple to use, excellent instructions,
February 04, 2015
By fagash
from Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very good and precise directions. unbeatable value for money.
Excellent quality and easy to follow instructions and directions. I would recommend this TomTom.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: More than 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WASHINGTON
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy operated Sat-Nav,
January 31, 2015
By jjIcanthelpitsjj
from Hereford
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros: clear screen
" Replaced a very similar product that ceased to function, therefore straight into it.
Did find it was a little poor round Reims and at Calais could not find a newish road near hospital at Coquelles.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 3
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? TEWKESBURY
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy sat nav,
January 12, 2015
By Wally8
from Dartford, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: large screen
" I needed to replace my existing sat nav and after a quick visit to Halfords.com, this one came to light.
Very easy to use, as I've found with all Tom Tom sat navs, screen is large, instructions are clear and the content including Western Europe is an added bonus for me when I visit France.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom tom,
January 11, 2015
By Chelsea2014
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very easy to use and brilliant value ! Store manager was excellent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price for the product,
January 03, 2015
By venky77
from Slough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very nice product. The features are very good showing lanes in colour is very nice feature. Overall I am veryvery satisfied. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect!,
December 31, 2014
By yanchamp
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, good value
" Easy to use and gets me where I need to be! Great value for money and free lifetime updates... Perfect! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom and Halfords,
December 29, 2014
By Marko63
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good product and very good value add that to good service from Halfords gives you a happy customer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TomTom XL WE Sat Nav,
December 28, 2014
By TheMig
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy and intuitive to use.
" Worked great straight out the box. Can't see why you would need anything more sophisticated for general use. Easy door to door trip planning. Just be aware you need to scan in your receipt to register for lifetime updates. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sat nav,
December 27, 2014
By Paul4321234
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very easy to use. Great sat navigation. Yet to find out about the lifetime map updates "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Children
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of satnav for a small price!,
December 26, 2014
By Rosey61
from Mansfield,Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: does make a target for thieves as it is as easy to
" Basic, easy to set up and use Satnav at a bargain price. It does make you wonder why other devices, for example, bike satnavs are, in comparison, so expensive. The screen is quite small but it is clear enough and small enough not to take your attention from the road ahead. My other car has a £1500 built in system but this little device is easier, if anything, to set, at a fraction of the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
December 24, 2014
By KayeN
from Worcester, Worcester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This product is so easy to use even my technophobe husband has fallen in love with it and the price from Halfords beat all the rest. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
December 23, 2014
By Andrew4913
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Simple, straightforward, at the right price. Easy to set up, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom TOM XL,
December 21, 2014
By BigAl11
from Beverley, East Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this as a present for my son as I have a Tom TOM for caravanning and it's very good, he is travelling in Europe and needed a reliable sat nav. This fits the bill. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? BEVERLEY
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>