Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav

Lose yourself in the wonders of the TomTom XL Western Europe Classic Sat Nav
Average Customer Rating:
4.568 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(303 Reviews) 303
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (303 reviews)
5 stars
196
4 stars
87
3 stars
17
2 stars
2
1 star
1
288 of 299(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 114 Answers
Customer Reviews for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Review 1 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was looking forward to upgrading my existing ONE XL but...,
August 25, 2014
By AndyA
from Thornton, Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: speaking the road names, directions at complicated junctions
Cons: previous features ie itinerary planning missing
"Upgraded from ONE XL which is 6 yrs old and GPS has started to play up. But much confusion ensued as there is no menu (manual states there should be) to set up features such as itinerary planning - essential for manually planning routes where you don't want to go fastest, shortest etc. But - the menu for advanced features is missing... I spent hours trying to find it. Back to Halfords who were very helpful but also couldn't find it. Still not resolved at present so I'm disappointed that features available on my old unit don't appear to be on the new one. It'll have to go back (unless Halfords can sort it out# and I'll have to rethink my model choice :-#"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRADFORD
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
TomTom's are still at the top, but this is an ageing model,
August 24, 2014
By Alan12345
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pros: responsive, quickly reroute if missed turning
Cons: seems dated in general, impossible to search on the map feature
"From someone who has used various Sat Nav's over the years, I keep coming back to TomTom. The accuracy and clearness of directions seems to be much better than smart phones and other built in systems I've used. I just purchased this TomTom to replace a 3 year old similar model. This model has a clunky interface, I know it's been superseded by newer models, but this is still the same interface used when I purchased my first TomTom 10 years ago.
Overall, good cheap SatNav, gets you from A to B, just don't expect a slick interface."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good basic satnav,
August 19, 2014
By pigs111
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: great sucker, easy to use
Cons: can't do 2d track-up
"Good basic satnav replaces one that's 5 years old. Quick to lock on, great suction cup, easy to use."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it needs to,
August 09, 2014
By Simon76
from Bedford, Bedford, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good screen size, clear instructions when driving. Overall a good product and a fair price."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BEDFORD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good but not much improved.,
August 07, 2014
By Iain123
from Edinburgh
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: window mounting improved
Cons: unit unclips too easily from window mount...doh!
"Had a old TomTom and only bought this because it has new maps and Tom Tom were wanting 30 quid to load new maps onto my old machine. I was expecting it to be slicker but it wasn't and the Map was full of errors when we used in in Spain. Still a good unit but no better than my 6 year old one...."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? EDINBURGH (HERMISTON GATE)
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just the job!,
August 07, 2014
By Martin871
from Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great for driving in western europe
Cons: nothing
"Needed to replace my old sat nav that was well past its best. So purchased the Tom Tom XL and was suberb for our recent camping trip to France giving me confidence driving abroad for the first time.Great Price too!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HUDDERSFIELD
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly reccomended,
August 05, 2014
By Elanfan
from Nottingham, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: price and useability
"Great piece of kit,,worked well on a recent tour of France Germany, Switzerland. Italy and Austria. A bargin at the offer price at Halfords."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value - does the job,
August 02, 2014
By misterzoggs
from London, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: this sat nav
Cons: using data on my iphone
"For the price this is a great sat nag. Not the most modern and the interface is a bit frustrating however I just did a trip to paris and back and it was brilliant. Iv'e been using Google maps on my iPhone recently and had some high data bills. With this new sat nav I will not have any more data bills for navigation. I Highly recommend this sat nag."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CATFORD
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom sat nav so quick,
August 01, 2014
By Catnaps542
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Really love this sat nav, it picks up a signal instantly. I love the lane indicator feature too. Very smart and clear screen."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CHIPPENHAM
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom XL,
July 31, 2014
By karmanf47
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"easy to use, clear and precise
very good value
excellant all round product
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is very easy to use and reliable,
July 31, 2014
By Anonymous
from London
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This product is very easy to use and reliable. The audio is very clear too."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? HEMEL HEMPSTEAD
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom XL-ent,
July 30, 2014
By RKOJason
from Wallasey, Merseyside, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: it's perfect!!!
Cons: there are none after driving 1000 miles so far.
"I bought the XL as I was desperate for an updated map of the UK and Western Europe for my trip to Maastricht recently.
My TomTom One V3 was to old to download the latest maps so I decided to buy this instead as my friend highly recommended it as it has lane assist which is very handy.
This was so easy to use adn was ready to go straight out of the box, although I did update the UK map straight away just to be sure. Where previous models and even different makes would guide you to the general area if you just used the postcode function, the XL took me straight to the Harwich ferry port entrance without any problems at all.
The lane assist is fantastic, it gives you ample time to see what lane you need to be in and move over accordingly if you need to. The screen clearly shows ALL the lanes with green arrows showing which lane you need to be in so you simply can't miss your turn-off or junction.
THIS EVEN WORKS FOR ALL ROADS/MOTORWAYS IN EVERY EUROPEAN MAP TOO!!!
Two things that are less of a function, but are crucial in my book, are the near real-time updating of your current position on the road and the extremely fast reconnecting with the satellites signal after you lose the signal after going through a tunnel, especially when you are fast approaching a juntion/roundabout is so good it's literally stess reducing. I would panic when this happened previously as it could take up to 2 minutes to receive the signal again.
This amazing unit got me from my house to the Harwich ferry port, from the Hoek Van Holland ferry port to the off the beaten track hotel in Belgium, then from the hotel to the Vrijthof Suare in Maastricht for the André Rieu concert without any hassle, stress or missed turnings. I simply can not say enough about this perfect piece of technology...even those morons who make stupid jokes about SatNavs getting you lost can't joke about this one!
Thoroughly recommended and that's saying something as I will not recomend ANYTHING unless I am 100% impressed by it from opening the box to putting it away after use.
BUY THIS, YOU NEED IT!!!!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WALLASEY
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for money !,
July 30, 2014
By Ian89
from Hertfordshire UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: great product !
"This is my first sat nav device and I am very pleased with it.Very easy to use and makes it easy for me to get around.The features are very good and more than adequate for my needs.Very good value for money and halfords were very helpful with the installation and set up of the device."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? ST. ALBANS
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tom tom xl2,
July 23, 2014
By Andyp47
from Wrexham, Wrexham, Wrexham, UKf
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought as a replacement for my previous xl2 but have had problems with the map not flipping round. Seems to navigate by compass direction and not the travelling directioni"
Age Group: 65 & Over
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? WREXHAM
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product at a great price,
January 12, 2014
By Pickhandle
from Taunton
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've always had TomToms - for me and my daughters' cars. As long as you drive with your eyes and brain engaged, you can't go wrong! In Itlay, Scotland, Ireland, France, and all over England I have saved hours of planning and map searching, and have had far smoother journeys, knowing exactly when and where I will arrive.
Halfords staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, and they sold at a fantastic price.
Go get one now!"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? TAUNTON
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use,
January 10, 2014
By Carole55
from |Lincolnshire
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Clear screen, fits well to windscreen and picks up your location quickly."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? LINCOLN (TRITTON)
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
simple and easy to use,
January 09, 2014
By rehan
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have used this product in western europe and uk. It really handy with so many features even using as hands free."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BIRMINGHAM (BORDESLEY GREEN)
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tom tom,
January 09, 2014
By Anonymous
from caistor
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: car symbol with design selection
Cons: small size
"nice satnav, still unable to figure out how to set up auto reroute automatically"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
idiot proof,
January 08, 2014
By wolzx6r
from peterborough uk
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, easy to set up, build quality
"idiot proof basic satnav which is updatable . would recommend to anyone who wants a no frills basic satnav with a good reliable name and build quality"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? PETERBOROUGH
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing bit of kit,
January 08, 2014
By phill12
from swansea
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"amazing bit of kit with the added bonus of free lifetime maps . and bought for a awesome price"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? LLANELLI
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>