Halfords Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Halfords
Shop Car Sat Nav or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps

Lose yourself in the wonders of the TomTom XL Western Europe Classic Sat Nav
Average Customer Rating:
4.559 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(392 Reviews) 392
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (392 reviews)
5 stars
258
4 stars
107
3 stars
20
2 stars
2
1 star
5
369 of 388(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend 
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions | 123 Answers
Customer Reviews for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Review 1 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy sat nav,
January 12, 2015
By Wally8
from Dartford, Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: large screen
" I needed to replace my existing sat nav and after a quick visit to Halfords.com, this one came to light.
Very easy to use, as I've found with all Tom Tom sat navs, screen is large, instructions are clear and the content including Western Europe is an added bonus for me when I visit France.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? DARTFORD
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom tom,
January 11, 2015
By Chelsea2014
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very easy to use and brilliant value ! Store manager was excellent "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Just Me
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price for the product,
January 03, 2015
By venky77
from Slough, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Very nice product. The features are very good showing lanes in colour is very nice feature. Overall I am veryvery satisfied. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SLOUGH
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
perfect!,
December 31, 2014
By yanchamp
from Wiltshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: easy to use, good value
" Easy to use and gets me where I need to be! Great value for money and free lifetime updates... Perfect! "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: Under 25
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SALISBURY
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom and Halfords,
December 29, 2014
By Marko63
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Good product and very good value add that to good service from Halfords gives you a happy customer. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TomTom XL WE Sat Nav,
December 28, 2014
By TheMig
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: easy and intuitive to use.
" Worked great straight out the box. Can't see why you would need anything more sophisticated for general use. Easy door to door trip planning. Just be aware you need to scan in your receipt to register for lifetime updates. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sat nav,
December 27, 2014
By Paul4321234
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Very easy to use. Great sat navigation. Yet to find out about the lifetime map updates "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
How many cars: 1
Who will use this Product? Children
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A lot of satnav for a small price!,
December 26, 2014
By Rosey61
from Mansfield,Nottinghamshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: value for money
Cons: does make a target for thieves as it is as easy to
" Basic, easy to set up and use Satnav at a bargain price. It does make you wonder why other devices, for example, bike satnavs are, in comparison, so expensive. The screen is quite small but it is clear enough and small enough not to take your attention from the road ahead. My other car has a £1500 built in system but this little device is easier, if anything, to set, at a fraction of the price. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? MANSFIELD
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value,
December 24, 2014
By KayeN
from Worcester, Worcester, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" This product is so easy to use even my technophobe husband has fallen in love with it and the price from Halfords beat all the rest. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 3
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? WORCESTER
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value,
December 23, 2014
By Andrew4913
from Gloucestershire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Simple, straightforward, at the right price. Easy to set up, "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom TOM XL,
December 21, 2014
By BigAl11
from Beverley, East Yorkshire
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this as a present for my son as I have a Tom TOM for caravanning and it's very good, he is travelling in Europe and needed a reliable sat nav. This fits the bill. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? BEVERLEY
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product,
December 20, 2014
By Jockyfox
from United Kingdom
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Really happy with this sat nav - easy to use (idiot proof) - easy to upgrade maps etc - clear directions and lane selection - large enough to follow but not a distraction while driving - great value for money "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Which Store did you visit? AMBLECOTE
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll never get lost again!,
December 19, 2014
By Aimeer85
from Manchester, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Bought this satnav after my old Tom Tom died (RIP). Easy to use, easy to add my favourite locations and set my home address. LOVE that it comes with free lifetime maps - no paying for map updates here!! Handy charger cable that detaches from the car adapter to plug into a USB port.
Highly recommend.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 25 - 34
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BOLTON (MANCHESTER RD)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TomTom XL Europe and UK,
December 15, 2014
By santashelper1
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great value for money - easy to use and free lifetime map make this a better buy than ever. "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? CLEVEDON
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work, faulty,
December 09, 2014
By Ranne
from Norwich
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features/Spec 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
" bought from Halfords, connected to laptop and got all software unfortunately device never turned on.
Took to local Halfords, suggested they had problem with this model before.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Female
Attitude to Shopping: Pro-Performance - I'II always buy the best quality regardless of price
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? NORWICH
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brill sat nav - complex process for Lifetime maps,
December 07, 2014
By Cirrus63
from Consett, Consett, County Durham DH8, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros: overall package
Cons: complex process to get free maps
" The TomTom XL sat nav is great. Not the top spec but great value for European maps and solid navigation This is my second TomTom and it is a valuable aid when on business in the UK and EU.
My only complaint is the Lifetime maps are a promotion from TomTom only valid for 30 days from purchase and within a date window to June/July 2015. Furthermore to claim on the TomTom promotion site (see very small print under Sat Nav image on website) you need to send a scanned copy of the purchase receipt, which is okay for me as I have one! Not sure how those without scanners get over this hurdle, however you have been warned. I'll update further once I get my confirmation e-mail (approx 8 day turnaround) and register the service.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? CRAMLINGTON
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin....,
November 27, 2014
By DM31
from Staffordshire, UK
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features/Spec 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
" Great price, accurate and reliable...free mapping for life, what can i say a great deal and purchase... "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Single - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Proficient
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? ASHBOURNE
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really good Tom tom,
November 26, 2014
By Mike1979
from Bristol, City of Bristol, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" I replaced my old Tom tom with this one and the features are much the same and very easy to use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 35 - 44
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Value for Money - I like things to be as cheap as possible
Family: I'm Single - With No Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Expert
Who will use this Product? Just Me
Which Store did you visit? BRISTOL (EASTGATE)
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tom Tom XL,
November 23, 2014
By Pooly57
from Kent, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Easy to set up, good display and packed with features.
With hindsight i would have opted for the larger screen size, this however is a personal choice and in no way reflects on the performance of the Tom Tom.
"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 55 - 64
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 1
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Spouse/Partner
Which Store did you visit? SITTINGBOURNE
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps
Overall Rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TomTom XL UK, ROI & Western Europe Classic 4.3" Sat Nav with Free Lifetime Maps,
November 19, 2014
By boss25
from Hawarden, Deeside, Flintshire, UK
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features/Spec 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
" Great bit of kit does what it says on the box, very easy to use "
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Age Group: 45 - 54
Gender: Male
Attitude to Shopping: Quality Seeker - I'd rather spend a little extra on something if I know its going to last
Family: I'm Living with Partner/Spouse - With Children
How many cars: 2
Attitude to specs and technology: Comfortable
Who will use this Product? Children
Which Store did you visit? CHESTER (GREYHOUND PK)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>